No Russian Fighter Jet for Pakistan

armyofhind

On a day India and Russia signed major defence deals worth $10 billion and other agreements, CEO of Russia’s ROSTEC Corp Sergey Chemezov says the seeming decline in India-Russia ties is a thing of the past. Mr. Chemezov, who runs Russia’s military and tech giant and is a close associate of President Putin, is often referred to as the second-most important Russian on defence issues. He spoke to Suhasini Haidar and other journalists in a select interaction in Goa.

India and Russia have signed many major agreements today, including for the S-400 Triumf anti-missile system. Could you tell us about the timeline and costs for these and the other agreements?

I can say that with the S-400, India will have the most modern system for air defence that exists at present.

By 2020, you should see the systems beginning to be delivered. As far as the costs are concerned, these will be finalised in the contract itself. The fifth generation fighter aircraft we propose will be a joint design manufactured jointly with an Indian company, made specifically for the needs of India. For the 200 Kamov 226T helicopters, we will partner with HAL (Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd.), with HAL owning 50.5 per cent at the location of HALs choice.

We have a long-standing relationship with India, and now hope to improve our civilian deals as well, including on electronics, biochemistry and optic fibres.

Russia has been overtaken by the U.S. as the largest defence supplier, and there has been a sense that the relationship has flagged. Will the deals signed on Saturday revive ties?

Our relationship with India has always been strong and fruitful in both military production and civilian areas.

Inter- governmental relations always have cycles and some parts of the cycle may be more or less active than others. Sometimes, they can be influenced by foreign factors or by internal factors.

It may look like there has been a decline in Indo-Russian relations as a result. However, in recent times, the relationship has been strengthening and broadening, and India is a strong ally and partner for Russia.

How about the new ties with Pakistan, including delivery of helicopters, and the recent military exercises? Do you plan any military sales to Pakistan, given a Russian delegation attended the Karachi DefExpo for the first time?

Our relationship with Pakistan has existed in the past as well, and while you can see areas where it has broadened, but not significantly. The military exercises in September this year were directly connected with modernising counter terror operations in Pakistan. ISIS is a global danger and doesn’t just involve terrorists in the Middle East but also in India and Pakistan. Therefore joint military exercises are important, but it must be noted that were not in any way targeted at India or at any other conflict in the region.

And military sales, given reports Russia may consider selling Su-35s in the future?

We are not delivering any military aircraft to Pakistan. We have made deliveries of transport helicopters and that contract has been completed. No contracts or plans for any other military-related equipment to Pakistan exist for present.

How badly have sanctions in the past two years affected ROSTEC and the Russian economy? Have they forced Russia to look east rather than west?

It’s true…Sanctions have affected us and some of our production also declined at the time, as we were unprepared for the action by western countries.

As a result sourcing was hit. But we have done well to overcome all the difficulties mostly through domestic production of equipment, or to source them through Asia including from India. We have also found that we have been spurred to manufacture and offer more advanced equipment than we previously would have in normal progression. In both military and civil production, we want to be less dependent on external forces.

I think the sanctions have pushed us to do better and grow quicker, and in the long run have meant no threat in any meaningful way to ROSTEC and to the Russian economy.

Even if Russia agrees in principle to sell fighter jets to the Pakis, can they afford it? One SU-35 costs a whopping $65 million! Now add the cost of infrastructure, training, weapons, spares, fuel consumption per hour and the life cycle costs, and it would touch almost $100 million a pop!

Even a squadron would cost approx $1.8 billion or Rs 18,000 Crores PKR! Seeing that they already are down the rabbit hole what with the external debt & liabilities at $60 billion slated to touch $100 billion by 2018-19, they have become a basket case!

So no dosh, no goodies. Period! They have to make do with Chinese crap like the JF Blunders!

Cheers!

No fighters for pakistan..
pakistan can take this instead( Thats a nice FB way of liking news on pakis)

In commemoration to the dead hours which our mods spent on pwning the troll statements made by paki trolls on Russian fighter jets!!!

Russia in paki is for COIN operations and Russian involvment in Syria..
Russia knows where ISIS trains its soldiers and its the ISI camp in pakistan..
So yes..Russia has objectives when it comes to pakistan and is no Happy camper in pakistan

@rock127
Maulana ji, your take on this latest development is needed here. :biggrin2:
No surprise... just because Russians did a drill in Pakistan they started treating Russia as their new Abba and thought they would gift them SU-35 free or with discount.They forgot that Russia likes hard cash and don't like giving heavy discounts. If needed then Russia might also threaten Pakis to be "bombed back to stone age" like US did if Pakis didn't become their bitch. :pound:

Pakis kept spreading FALSE propaganda(on Paki forums 1,000,000 threads were created by ISI agents like @Neo and @Zarvan ) and they started a thread here as well. I think it was me who posted a new thread in DFI that Russia rebuked Pakis that no such deal is going to happen.So after I posted that thread the propaganda thread was closed down. :lol:

Even if Russia agrees in principle to sell fighter jets to the Pakis, can they afford it? One SU-35 costs a whopping $65 million! Now add the cost of infrastructure, training, weapons, spares, fuel consumption per hour and the life cycle costs, and it would touch almost $100 million a pop!

Even a squadron would cost approx $1.8 billion or Rs 18,000 Crores PKR! Seeing that they already are down the rabbit hole what with the external debt & liabilities at $60 billion slated to touch $100 billion by 2018-19, they have become a basket case!

So no dosh, no goodies. Period! They have to make do with Chinese crap like the JF Blunders!

Cheers!
Arrre bhai... dreaming is for FREE and need $0.00 Million

The recent foothold Russia is getting in Pakistan is more to do to annoy US and not India.

Even when Russia has slapped Pakis again second time (SU deal) it didn't stop Pakis dreaming and Pakis are still posting pics of SU-35 with Paki flags on their forums.

Their high intensity instant Orgasms about "SU-35" is not gonna end so soon. :rofl:

With BRICS and our more than $ 5 billion deals with Russia has already made it clear that Russia will not provide any Su 35 or anything like that to Pakistan. Since they will not damage their relations with India for a rouge terrorist state.

Even rd93 engines are not being delivered for the thunder blunder . Only 17 reportedly delivered in last 8 years to pak.

Lets be clear, the main reason Russia might not provide jets to Pakis is that's China's market, not of any concern for India or their business here. They know they can continue to milk us given our still limited real options in strategic weapons.

armyofhind

Lets be clear, the main reason Russia might not provide jets to Pakis is that's China's market, not of any concern for India or their business here. They know they can continue to milk us given our still limited real options in strategic weapons.
The main reason Russia isn't providing jets to Pakistan is because of the latter's inability to pay.

That too, but there again, China factor comes in. If China wanted to, they could sponsor these weapons in exchange for more of Paki's sovereignty / land. Do you think Pakis are paying in hard cash for anything the Chinese are providing them like subs or missiles

Spot on! In return for the 5000 sq km of Kashmir in the Shagsgam Valley that the Porki slaves have gifted to their Chinese masters, they have received from them missile technology, nuclear plants and other weaponry at throw away prices that would put even a grand Christmas discount sale to shame. They've even helped the Porks test their atomic bomb in Lop Nor, China!!

And now these Pakis have almost gifted away the Gwadar Port to them on a 40 year extendable lease as well as permanent settlements that the 11,000 Chinese have built in Gilgit over thousands of acres for the ostensible reason of 'infrastructure development'.

These areas are out of bounds even to the Porks who need permits to enter!! The Pakis are prostituting their land for a few military goodies. Bloody shame!

Next is Balochistan which will be leased out to China for extracting the billions of dollars worth of minerals out there. The Chinese are gung-ho and would be soon laughing all the way to the bank at the expense of the shameless Porks!

No surprise... just because Russians did a drill in Pakistan they started treating Russia as their new Abba and thought they would gift them SU-35 free or with discount.They forgot that Russia likes hard cash and don't like giving heavy discounts. If needed then Russia might also threaten Pakis to be "bombed back to stone age" like US did if Pakis didn't become their bitch. :pound:

Pakis kept spreading FALSE propaganda(on Paki forums 1,000,000 threads were created by ISI agents like @Neo and @Zarvan ) and they started a thread here as well. I think it was me who posted a new thread in DFI that Russia rebuked Pakis that no such deal is going to happen.So after I posted that thread the propaganda thread was closed down. :lol:

Arrre bhai... dreaming is for FREE and need $0.00 Million

The recent foothold Russia is getting in Pakistan is more to do to annoy US and not India.

Even when Russia has slapped Pakis again second time (SU deal) it didn't stop Pakis dreaming and Pakis are still posting pics of SU-35 with Paki flags on their forums.

Their high intensity instant Orgasms about "SU-35" is not gonna end so soon. :rofl:
Maulana Rockullah...You are not just Rockullah...I proclaim you Rocketullah from this moment..
You are rocketing down the claims of pakis to a kaboom and ash!!
:clap2:

Metty

har koi thoda raham khakar muft me de dega
///////////////////////?????????????????????????
:D :D

Spot on! In return for the 5000 sq km of Kashmir in the Shagsgam Valley that the Porki slaves have gifted to their Chinese masters, they have received from them missile technology, nuclear plants and other weaponry at throw away prices that would put even a grand Christmas discount sale to shame. They've even helped the Porks test their atomic bomb in Lop Nor, China!!

And now these Pakis have almost gifted away the Gwadar Port to them on a 40 year extendable lease as well as permanent settlements that the 11,000 Chinese have built in Gilgit over thousands of acres for the ostensible reason of 'infrastructure development'.

These areas are out of bounds even to the Porks who need permits to enter!! The Pakis are prostituting their land for a few military goodies. Bloody shame!

Next is Balochistan which will be leased out to China for extracting the billions of dollars worth of minerals out there. The Chinese are gung-ho and would be soon laughing all the way to the bank at the expense of the shameless Porks!
Precisely why Baloch is a hot issue - not just because of Paki atrocities but because China views it as it next colony in Pak via CPEC.

Look at the media blitzkrieg we are pushing with Baloch atrocities. That is critical. Chinese dreams on CPEC need to be crushed. I am sure they'll respond by arming naxals and other insurgencies to a much larger degree but then we need to be prepared with Tibet and extend support to counter China in SCS.

All this while we work to reduce Chinese imports. That's critical.

Look Russians have no love for Chinese. They simply have no other options; however, India can eventually become a counter weight. That has to be above all our goal.