Nawaz Sharif says Kashmir is a national issue and jugular vein of Pak

ISLAMABAD: Describing Kashmir as the "jugular vein" of his country, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Monday said India and Pakistan should join hands to tackle poverty and disease instead of wasting their resources on wars.

Kashmir is a "national issue and the jugular vein of Pakistan" and its resolution is as dear to him as other Pakistanis, Sharif said in his first address to the nation since assuming office in June.

Sharif cautioned that Pakistan cannot achieve any target without strengthening its economy. "Alongside the Kashmir issue, we will have to pay attention to strengthening our economy, resolve our internal and external problems and tackle the power crisis and terrorism," he said.

Referring to his desire to forge good relations with India, Sharif said both countries should realise that "instead of wasting their energies and resources on wars, they should wage war against poverty, ignorance and disease".

Pakistan and India will have to join their heads together to address common issues like poverty and ignorance, he said.

"History bears testimony to the fact that progress and development of a nation is deeply linked to cordial relations with neighbours. It is because of this that we want good relations with all neighbours, including India," he said.

Sharif said he had "always wanted good relations with India" and the people had supported his contention during the general election in May.

Without referring to clashes along the Line of Control in Jammu and Kashmir, Sharif said the country is "fully prepared to defend the motherland along with its valiant armed forces".

Sharif's PML-N party won the polls with a clear majority but has been struggling with an array of challenges, ranging from a crippling energy crisis to a Taliban insurgency.

Ties between Islamabad and New Delhi too have soured since five Indian soldiers were killed in an attack by Pakistani troops along the LoC.

Turning to domestic issues, Sharif expressed his government's resolve to eliminate terrorism, improve the economy and address the power crisis.

"Pakistan is today facing serious challenges like terrorism, endangering the very survival of the country, and the worst kind of load-shedding that has paralysed the economy," he said.

Sharif said his government is determined to tackle terrorism "either through dialogue or with the full might of the state" and all state institutions are on the same page on this issue.

"The government has more than one option to tackle the problem but wisdom demands that there is no loss of innocent lives," he said. Sharif invited those "treading the path of terrorism to (join a) dialogue to end the vicious cycle of bloodshed".

He said the country's foundations had shaken by poor administration' rampant corruption and the inefficiency of the past 14 years that has brought national institutions like PIA, Pakistan Steel and Pakistan Railways to the verge of "virtual collapse".

National debt, which was Rs 3,000 billion in June 1990, has now soared to Rs 14,500 billion, he said.

Sharif listed steps taken by his government to overcome the energy crisis, including increasing the generation of electricity by 1,700 MW.

Long-term measures are being initiated to counter the power shortage and coal-based power plants with a capacity of 6,600 MW will soon be inaugurated.

Sharif further said the time had come for a bold review of Pakistan's foreign policy as scant national resources cannot be exploited for the good of the poor and the progress of the country without this. He said his dream to make Pakistan an Asian tiger is deeply linked to this.

He said his government has a "clear cut position" on US drone attacks, which are a violation of Pakistan's sovereignty, and this was directly communicated to secretary of state John Kerry.

Kerry was urged to stop the drone attacks, he said. The UN Secretary General too expressed concern at the killing of peaceful civilians in these attacks, he said.

Nawaz Sharif says Kashmir is a national issue and jugular vein of Pakistan - The Times of India

Re: Nawaz Sharif says Kashmir is a national issue and jugular vein of

For kashmir issue the pakistanis can be fooled for any adventure..even for a war.

I am sure the issue of kashmir is close to be solved but by force

Defenceindia2010

Well old Nawaz is back alright so is the jugular vein bull shit. :facepalm:

Defenceindia2010

For kashmir issue the pakistanis can be fooled for any adventure..even for a war.

My reaction to your ''Force'':rofl:

today pakis are such in mess is due to Kashmir issue, Palestine issue,Syria issue,Egypt issue,Chechnya issue

and no body is there to look into pakis own issue:p:p

for jugular vein , sorry mr nawaz, u need to go by pass operation forget kashmir

The Fox

seriously when you open ur fishing mouth you talk as if Bloody -----stan is a Superpower and crush India with just one day...... the reality is completely different first protect your self from the bombing and as long as you and your bloody country men have this mentality nothing is going to have to Kashmir and it is going to be with India and you never learn from your Mistakes do u in-case you don't know ur mistakes let me remind you 47, 65, 71, 99 still you want to do it seriously........ why don't your country try and take Kashmir and send it the Mighty -----stani Army and see what happens in 2013........ instead of fighting like a Pussy and sending Terrorists........ Once and for all lets see India Vs Pakistan

So Pakis wants us to bail out of the mess they created?

farhan, better not use the word force as pakistan has no force, your army is a terrorist organisation and have no minds on how to plan. You army is very weak. You do not have a proper economy. You are not self reliant and you depend on china for arms and ammunition and on america for money to buy those arms from china. You will loose the battle if you rage a war on India. As you launch a nuclear missile our RADARS will get the signal and our missile shield will take out your missile and in counter we will launch a full battery of BRAHMOS MISSILES with nuclear warhead and this will be disastrous as there will be no pakistan...

Stop threatening India that you pakistanis will make use of a nuclear missile. If have the courage launch a missile and then see what will happen. "EMPTY VESSELS MAKE MORE NOISE", likewise you just make noise of saying that we will use our nuclear arsenal and all sorts of rubbish.

Stop making unnecessary claims and warnings that pakistan is a nuclear power and we have a first strike policy and we will use it on India. You know and the whole of pakistan, pak army and ISI also knows what will happen if at all they make use of nuclear missiles.

As simple as nothing, THERE WON'T BE A COUNTRY CALLED PAKISTAN.

All sorts of bluffing and threatening must stop and I REQUEST THE MODS TO BAN FARHAN FOR MAKING SUCH STATEMENTS SAYING INDIA IS WEAK, pakistan WILL USE NUCLEAR MISSILE ON INDIA, WE WILL WAGE WAR ON INDIA in 2015-2016"

farhan, better not use the word force as pakistan has no force, your army is a terrorist organisation and have no minds on how to plan. You army is very weak. You do not have a proper economy. You are not self reliant and you depend on china for arms and ammunition and on america for money to buy those arms from china. You will loose the battle if you rage a war on India. As you launch a nuclear missile our RADARS will get the signal and our missile shield will take out your missile and in counter we will launch a full battery of BRAHMOS MISSILES with nuclear warhead and this will be disastrous as there will be no pakistan...

Stop threatening India that you pakistanis will make use of a nuclear missile. If have the courage launch a missile and then see what will happen. "EMPTY VESSELS MAKE MORE NOISE", likewise you just make noise of saying that we will use our nuclear arsenal and all sorts of rubbish.

Stop making unnecessary claims and warnings that pakistan is a nuclear power and we have a first strike policy and we will use it on India. You know and the whole of pakistan, pak army and ISI also knows what will happen if at all they make use of nuclear missiles.

As simple as nothing, THERE WON'T BE A COUNTRY CALLED PAKISTAN.

All sorts of bluffing and threatening must stop and I REQUEST THE MODS TO BAN FARHAN FOR MAKING SUCH STATEMENTS SAYING INDIA IS WEAK, pakistan WILL USE NUCLEAR MISSILE ON INDIA, WE WILL WAGE WAR ON INDIA in 2015-2016"

arrey ...dont u find amusement in his statement so just enjoy

vishwaprasad

what nawaz sharif says hold no meaning for India....be it jugular vein or even testicles of pakistan.....

Kashmir is ours and will remain ours....pakistan can try to take it militarily

arrey ...dont u find amusement in his statement so just enjoy
Nahi bhai, ye to bahooth bhaunkh raha hai... even dogs do not not bark like this.....

what nawaz sharif says hold no meaning for India....be it jugular vein or even testicles of pakistan.....

Kashmir is ours and will remain ours....pakistan can try to take it militarily
Not only kashmir is ours or an integral part of India, but pakistan also is an integral part of India. It has been just 67 years since the partition and here we see that they claim that there civilization is the oldest. There were no muslims in the Indus valley civilization. The fossils found were of "PASHUPATHINATH", who is none other than SHIVA.

vishwaprasad

Nahi bhai, ye to bahooth bhaunkh raha hai... even dogs do not not bark like this.....
sesha bro they (napak members) are the biggest source of entertainment on DFI...even bigger than bollywood in napakistan.....lets enjoy bro.... :)