Mumbai's Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport - Terminal 2

ninja85

The swanky world class terminal T2 at the Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport here boasts of arguably the largest art gallery at such a facility, depicting the vibrant mosaic of the country's cultural heritage and varied collage of the city's life.

The four-storey glass marvel, whose design is inspired by a dancing peacock and built at a cost of a whopping Rs 9,800 crore, was today dedicated to the nation by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

"This shows our ability to build world class infrastructure. The T2 is truly first class terminal," he said after inaugurating the opulent terminal which would become operational next month.

"It marks the beginning of a new chapter in the growth of civil aviation sector in the country," he said.

The terminal, sprawling across an area of 4.39 lakh sq m, is home to thousands of artefacts and paintings that stretch along a 3-km art wall, aptly named "Jaya He", an eulogy to the rich kaleidoscope of Indian culture.

"Jaya He" gives the visitors a peep into the country's diverse cultural heritage with rows of murals, statues and paintings behind a glass wall. Sparkling fountains and classy installations welcome them.

An attempt has also been made to capture Mumbai's life showcasing its large migrant population hoping to make a living in the city of their dreams.

Another artwork "Tincity", in which a collage of photography and corrugated metal sheets, which dot the city's landscape across numerous slum clusters, have been used, reflects the tenacity of the migrant community living in the bustling city's dark underbelly.

The dancing peacock-themed facility's peacock feather- styled roof leaves one awestruck with special dichroic lights that move with the changing direction of the sun reflecting an array of colours onto the check-in hall's floor.

The new terminal can accommodate 9,900 passengers and has 7 lakh square feet of space for retail, lounges and other travel services.

There are 8 check-in islands, 60 emigration and 72 immigration counters, 52 boarding bridges, 162 lifts, escalators and travellators and landscaping has been done in two lakh sq ft. Besides, it has the largest multi-level covered car parking in the country with a capacity to accommodate 5,000 vehicles.

The new Mumbai Airport and beautiful Marmi Bruno Zanet granite. - YouTube

10 things to know about Mumbai airport's swanky new terminal - T2

*The new terminal has been built by the GVK-led consortium has been built at a cost of over 12,500 crores.

*The T2 covers an area of over 1400 acres. Granite that can cover 27 football fields, and over 18000 metric tonnes of steel have been used in its construction.

*Though no longer India's busiest airport, the four-storey terminal will cater to an estimated 40 million passengers annually.

*The new terminal has 188 check-in counters, 60 immigration counters for departing passengers, and 76 immigration counters for incoming fliers.

*To get around, passengers will have access to 47 escalators and 73 elevators.

*For those who stress about travelling to the domestic Sahar airport for connecting flights, a six-lane elevated expressway will ease things.

*A multi-level car park has also been built to accommodate 5,000 vehicles. T2 will mostly cater to international traffic, though a few domestic airlines are expected to move operations there later.

*The terminal will also boast 21,000 square meters of area for retail shopping.

*The new terminal will have 2300 CCTV cameras for passenger safety and 4100 public address speakers.

*The X-shaped terminal also boasts of a three-kilometre-long art walk which incorporates Indian aesthetics with a white peacock theme. Titled 'Jaya He', it offers a glimpse into India's rich legacy and is an unprecedented interdisciplinary platform for the nation's cultural and creative industries.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...ass-airport-terminal/articleshow/28641970.cms
http://www.ndtv.com/article/cheat-s...umbai-airport-s-swanky-new-terminal-t2-469039

Hmmm...I think I'll take a connection on my next westbound to check that terminal out. The architecture looks straight out of Disney's Aladdin.

Some of the ceiling design may not 'fly' well with trypophobics.

venkat

^^^ where are you man all these days? have u completed ur phd? Telangana when will it come ? OT

ninja85

Hmmm...I think I'll take a connection on my next westbound to check that terminal out. The architecture looks straight out of Disney's Aladdin.

Some of the ceiling design may not 'fly' well with trypophobics.
so here other new pics.

The pic showing the escalators looks like a really expensive Ganesh pandal. I hope those columns and balconies (decorative, ethnic-looking ones) are not made of plaster, and are regularly maintained. Love the walls and gate halls along the walkways.

Phantom

I'm not a fervent Socialist or Communist, but when someone lands in Mumbai, sees the opulence of the Airport Terminal followed by the sprawling slums, I imagine it's gonna pinch somewhere near the aorta.

The access road to T2 doesn't pass through the slummy parts of Santacruz like the domestic terminal. An elevated road pole-vaults you to Western expy. From there on, you have to hope that your foreigner friends have business only in Bandra or BKC, and don't cross the big bridge down to Narnia.

ninja85

The pic showing the escalators looks like a really expensive Ganesh pandal. I hope those columns and balconies (decorative, ethnic-looking ones) are not made of plaster, and are regularly maintained. Love the walls and gate halls along the walkways.
if you are thinking that airport has given middle-eastern or arabic vibe, you are mistaking it is maharashtrian.

ninja85

what can we do? these poor people keeps coming from UP,bihar even if they have to live in slums,they still keeps coming so you gonna see slums and more slums,
and also illegal bangladeshi immigrants (thanks to corrupt congress)

Phantom

what can we do? these poor people keeps coming from UP,bihar even if they have to live in slums,they still keeps coming so you gonna see slums and more slums,
and also illegal bangladeshi immigrants (thanks to corrupt congress)
Although illegal immigration is a major issue, I wouldn't mix that with lack of cleanliness and overwhelming poverty of our countrymen. Doesn't Mumbai also have plenty of impoverished Indians, more specifically, Marathis too?

It may not be so bad if we had simpler Airports(not inefficient ones, mind you) and better accomodation facilities for the city's poor. The imbalance in wealth distribution is uglier compared to the slums!

ninja85

Although illegal immigration is a major issue, I wouldn't mix that with lack of cleanliness and overwhelming poverty of our countrymen. Doesn't Mumbai also have plenty of impoverished Indians, more specifically, Marathis too?
mumbai's 51% population is from out of maharashtra,especially north india.

Phantom

mumbai's 51% population is from out of maharashtra,especially north india.
Yup. But one can't really prevent our own countrymen from seeking greener pastures in life. Our cities seriously need to make concerted efforts to replace slums with low-cost Housing solutions.

Public cleanliness is another major major issue. People can always be seen cleaning/washing our airport corridors, but our cities paint a different picture altogether. :)

ninja85

Yup. But one can't really prevent our own countrymen from seeking greener pastures in life. Our cities seriously need to make concerted efforts to replace slums with low-cost Housing solutions.
it's not about being outsider or not,it's about limitations of population accommodation capacity of a city,
every city's population handling capacity have some limits no matter which country's city we talk about.

Phantom

it's not about being outsider or not,it's about limitations of population accommodation capacity of a city,
every city's population handling capacity have some limits no matter which country's city we talk about.
Mumbai has more people than the entire continent of Australia. But while it sounds astounding, one must also remember that Tokyo, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Jakarta, Seoul etc all have more population than Mumbai. Yet, these cities haven't cited that as a handicap and have taken impressive steps at urban planning and management. Is it too much to ask better from/to ourselves and our countrymen?

PredictablyMalicious

Punjabi
Mumbai has more people than the entire continent of Australia. But while it sounds astounding, one must also remember that Tokyo, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Jakarta, Seoul etc all have more population than Mumbai. Yet, these cities haven't cited that as a handicap and have taken impressive steps at urban planning and management. Is it too much to ask better from/to ourselves and our countrymen?
Based on experience, yes it is too much to ask. Indians need to be ruled with an iron fist.