Manmohan & Hu declare 2012 as year of India-China friendship

Manmohan & Hu Jintao meet in Delhi, declare 2012 as year of India-China friendship

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Chinese President Hu Jintao today reviewed bilateral ties including the vexed boundary dispute and decided to continue dialogue to resolve outstanding issues.

At a brief ceremony at the Prime Minister's official residence, Hu and Singh also declared 2012 as the year of India-China friendship.

"The border issue was discussed and the two leaders agreed that Special Representative process should continue to find an amicable solution to the issue," an official said.

In the hour-long meeting, the two leaders expressed satisfaction that the two countries were on course in achieving the $100 billion trade target set for 2015.

Hu also assured Singh to facilitate access for Indian goods to Chinese markets, a move that would lead to reduction of the trade imbalances, officials said.

Singh invited Chinese investments in India, particularly in infrastructure and manufacturing sectors.

The two leaders also decided to expand consultation to include West Asia, Central Asia and Africa, they said.

They unveiled a host of initiatives to bolster cultural and people-to-people contacts, including setting up of a media forum to promote better public perception of their bilateral relationship.

Singh and Hu noted that the goal of the Strategic Economic Dialogue (SED) was to further strengthen mutual trust and to expand the strategic partnership of cooperation.

The SED was held last year when Planning Commission deputy chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia met Zhang Ping, the Director of China's National Development and Reform Commission in Beijing.

Manmohan & Hu Jintao meet in Delhi, declare 2012 as year of India-China friendship - The Times of India

If by mistake, i started this thread in wrong section, Mods can shift to Joke thread. :)

Oh God. Reminds me of Nehru's Hindi Chini bhai bhai.

1) Conduct exercises to ensure readiness - Check
2) Give India a false sense of friendship - Check
3) Build up the non-issue of Arunachal Pradesh into a major issue - Check

We are all set for a repeat of 1962.

Manmohan & Hu Jintao meet in Delhi, declare 2012 as year of India-China friendship

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Chinese President Hu Jintao today reviewed bilateral ties including the vexed boundary dispute and decided to continue dialogue to resolve outstanding issues.

At a brief ceremony at the Prime Minister's official residence, Hu and Singh also declared 2012 as the year of India-China friendship.

"The border issue was discussed and the two leaders agreed that Special Representative process should continue to find an amicable solution to the issue," an official said.

In the hour-long meeting, the two leaders expressed satisfaction that the two countries were on course in achieving the $100 billion trade target set for 2015.

Hu also assured Singh to facilitate access for Indian goods to Chinese markets, a move that would lead to reduction of the trade imbalances, officials said.

Singh invited Chinese investments in India, particularly in infrastructure and manufacturing sectors.

The two leaders also decided to expand consultation to include West Asia, Central Asia and Africa, they said.

They unveiled a host of initiatives to bolster cultural and people-to-people contacts, including setting up of a media forum to promote better public perception of their bilateral relationship.

Singh and Hu noted that the goal of the Strategic Economic Dialogue (SED) was to further strengthen mutual trust and to expand the strategic partnership of cooperation.

The SED was held last year when Planning Commission deputy chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia met Zhang Ping, the Director of China's National Development and Reform Commission in Beijing.

Manmohan & Hu Jintao meet in Delhi, declare 2012 as year of India-China friendship - The Times of India
We can start a new Chicom ki Tamasha on the Lines of Aman Ki Tamasha:bounce:

WTH is wrong with these idiots. Why are they so keen on appeasing every one there is there? US does not have a hostile relation with China like us and Still they dont do these screw around like these idiots when dealing with Chicoms. Everyone knows China will backstab the moment we let our guard down, then why this Nehruvian blindness to their aggression? No one gets respect by licking or begging but by commanding it:fyeah:

john70

Whatever said and done, india today is no fool of 1962. This is diplomacy in which indians are also good, there is a lot of trade imbalance and to achieve the balance is their target.

Another eyewash and a Chinese ploy to make India drop its guard.

It happened before.

Hindi Chini Bhai Bhai and such junk!

sukhish

china is a realty , let's face it. we need to have good relations with them. this also put squezee on pakistan. what's wrong in having relationship with china. it was uncle sam who ran to china back in the 80's and now are scared to death. without china china's growth , uncle sam would not have given us nuclear deal.also wee need china's support for the NSG membership and UN permanent membership. once we get these two memberships pakistan will become a permanent demorlized enemy.

Like Hindi Chini Bhai Bhai on the occasion of Golden Jubilee ?

sukhish

Galaxy,
please sense some realty. all these times U.S has been talking freedom democracy etc. India still beleaves in these principles, but not eaxctly in the same manner as U.S . we want to have excellent relationship with these countries. yes we can still have fundamental differences, but china is not like pakistan. it is not a jihad mindset. once they start listeninig to us, that will end what ever leverage pak has on china. we don't have to buy the U.S bogey about everything. china because of it's closed society is scared of the U.S and will always be scared of them. India has to balance. and no matter what china says about tibet,
at the end they will have to talk to India about tibet. there is no way around it. India's place is tibetens heart is permanent china can't replace the buddism out tibetiens mind. once we have china listeninig the nuclear bogey of pakistan will also be reduced.

nimo_cn

Pragmatism is something Indians never believe in, I strongly suggest you guys pick up some pragmatism from China.

Galaxy,
please sense some realty. all these times U.S has been talking freedom democracy etc. India still beleaves in these principles, but not eaxctly in the same manner as U.S . we want to have excellent relationship with these countries. yes we can still have fundamental differences, but china is not like pakistan. it is not a jihad mindset. once they start listeninig to us, that will end what ever leverage pak has on china. we don't have to buy the U.S bogey about everything. china because of it's closed society is scared of the U.S and will always be scared of them. India has to balance. and no matter what china says about tibet,
at the end they will have to talk to India about tibet. there is no way around it. India's place is tibetens heart is permanent china can't replace the buddism out tibetiens mind. once we have china listeninig the nuclear bogey of pakistan will also be reduced.
:dude: Learn some geopolitics before commenting. Chicoms are cunning cun**s who are arming the Pukis to the teath just for fighting us and you are supporting friendship with them?

Pragmatism is something Indians never believe in, I strongly suggest you guys pick up some pragmatism from China.
Like we did back in 1962? No thanks. You cant cheat some one with the same trick twice.

JAYRAM

2 STRIKE CORPS
oh ..no.... now china will come crossing LoC & LAC and MAnmO'HAN' will for the first time get stronger and run away throwing away his turban..!

Both the entities have something in common:

- Hu Jintao is considered weak by Chinese.
- MMS is spineless loser here in India.

And both are about to leave the PM posts.

While China's strongman Xi Jinping is guaranteed, our strongman Narendra Modi is to be waited for.

Both the entities have something in common:

- Hu Jintao is considered weak by Chinese.
- MMS is spineless loser here in India.

And both are about to leave the PM posts.

While China's strongman Xi Jinping is guaranteed, our strongman Narendra Modi is to be waited for.
Hu is the President. Hu is considered "mediocre" but not "weak". Xi is not going to be "strong" IMO as he lacks convincing track record like his predecessors at provincial levels. His ascending to the top job is more like an outcome of conformity and balancing.

Back to the topic "India-China friendship", in simple words it's no more than sweet talk, without substance as usual. Down to grassroots there're non-believers in that "friendship" all over.