Make in India

@aditya10r , you will be able to pick up "Durbar" from Amazon or a similar site. It's breezy read and opens your eyes to the systematic way policies were designed by the dynasty to keep India poor. It has a lot of anecdotal evidence of gross mis handling of the state at the highest level.
As I said, could not find a link to the speech where NAMO says that there should be absolutely no reason India should be poor.
Talveen Singh is an author to watch for. Another good one to follow is Rajiv Malhotra.....very Dharmic...
tavleen (I know its confusing ;) ) should also be 'watched out for'. the book and her revelations may be good, I will also read it, but she is not well-trusted by those in the know. her past-present statements/actions/leanings/confusing positions is one reason I think. will say only this much.

Berkut

I know exactly where you are coming from with regards to Ms.Singh.... Her earlier leanings were very ,,,, let's call it " oh we love animals while munching on a chicken drumstick"
But she was left out to dry by the Italian high priestess and made it her mission to expose the mindset Durbaris

@OneGrimPilgrim,,. http://satsang-foundation.org/the-founder-sri-m/

Sri M has authored this fantastic autobiography called "Apprenticed to a Himalayan Master" and in it he mentioned a very enlightening account of his interaction with the RSS
haven't read the book (thanks for reminding! its in my wishlist), but had read one superbly splendid anecdote of his from the book, on some other site. I am fairly heavily into studying (about) supernormal phenomena and researches pertaining them, so got to read that anecdote on one such occasion through a cross-reference. it was about when Sri M was staying with Mahavatar Babaji and a king of one reptilian race from another star system paid them a visit. Sri M wrote the note for the readers 'to either believe it or reject it, makes no difference; just recounting his experience FWIW and as part of his journey'. since I have a better than avg knowledge about the background of 'x-phenomena' and allied matters (at the risk of sounding boastful), I was/am appreciative of the incident (told in honest terms) and much thankful to him to have shared/revealed such an 'academically-politically incorrect, taboo' but 'deep' thing (carrying quite a significance for me! as well as pleasant amazement), as also so candidly, as a matter of fact.

I know exactly where you are coming from with regards to Ms.Singh.... Her earlier leanings were very ,,,, let's call it " oh we love animals while munching on a chicken drumstick"
But she was left out to dry by the Italian high priestess and made it her mission to expose the mindset Durbaris
true.
however, she is thus also seen as someone who's found a new inclination not because of some change in ideological stance but more due to getting bitten & now wanting to get back at those who hurt her, hence the dubiousness associated with her. she still remains one of the privileged lutyens waala (either in Dilli or Mumbai) suspect with little perceivable change in ideology, letting the suspicions hover over her with some statements/articles she issues/writes every-now-and-then, like a recent one where she wrote to the effect "there's no change visible here on the ground in Mumbai/SoBo", as if 'changes' are to be only for the 'elites' & 'socialites' and not for the lower sections, before they give their approval.

Berkut

Omg @OneGrimPilgrim you seem to have quoted him almost verbatim "either believe it or reject it, makes no difference"
Another very good sadhak and an accomplished guru I feel is Shri Omswami.... check out his autobiography as well as his work on the kundalini.

Sorry won't deviate from the topic of economics, humble apologies to all the fellow travelers

Omg @OneGrimPilgrim you seem to have quoted him almost verbatim "either believe it or reject it, makes no difference"
Another very good sadhak and an accomplished guru I feel is Shri Omswami.... check out his autobiography as well as his work on the kundalini.

Sorry won't deviate from the topic of economics, humble apologies to all the fellow travelers
lol is it?! :D
anyway for those who didnt check the link shared by Berkut earlier, Sri M was born in a Muslim family. but am not implying anything. coz you see am as secular as a dove. :biggrin2: :angel:
spirituality knows no divisions, no boundaries.

Question for the gurus:
What would you think would be the potential impact if the government of India stopped taxing people's personal and business incomes?
There many projects will run out of money which could affect infrastructure, research and economy.

Making money is not the main thing.
Every Indian should be focusing on moksha. Because that is the ultimate goal for an Indian.
Moksha only works when the person works best. For that, we need work for every person. Work gives you money.
Sadguru excellently explained the concept of "Yogatha kuru Karmani". If we teach our boys that right from the childhood, we can make them great. Look at Swami ramdev and how he has revolutionized the Ayurveda, Education and change in establishment (Vyavastha parivartan). We need to feed vision in our boys. We should not tell them to just be an engineer or a Doctor.My nephew did M tech from IIT Chennai. He left a very good Job of TATA motors to do service of nation in Education field at the age of 26. Now he is highly active in Education through his NGO. We need to do this. Our PM is an example a Karma yogi. We must make our children Yogis and this country shall once again be the greatest in the world.

Karma yoga helps you. But it is very difficult in practice.
Baba Ramdev or Modi has genuine interest in doing their job. But others, we can't be sure.

Karma yoga helps you. But it is very difficult in practice.
Baba Ramdev or Modi has genuine interest in doing their job. But others, we can't be sure.
Yes, but had we been taught from childhood, it would have made a difference. We must incorporate that in syllabus from the childhood. It is an essence and we must get ready to exploit advantage from it.

I had seen various ashrama which teach Karma Yoga.
Only RSS stands top of it. Please send the children to shaka regularly. It will teach them what karma yoga is.

Niskama Karma Yoga is the best of it.

Now a days e learning is becoming very very popular. It is very unfortunate that we are still stuck in those old systems. Like government has put E books on the portal, the online lectures and explanation of mathematical and science concepts Why government make some Excellent learning Models and videos for explaining various mathematical and other models to explain various concepts.

Yumdoot

i think to end all this fuss..
1)we should recover domestic black money...2)try to make india a cashless economy....
3)end income tax....4)just charge transaction charges...
5)should help taking on corruption...
gurus your idea on this
@OneGrimPilgrim @Yumdoot @Berkut @Ancient Indian
Instead we have gold monetization, islamic banking, pink revolution, LGBT tourism, WTO ruling on solar industry MII, High interest rates, Easy money for western fund houses.

This article published two months back has summed up a lot. I think it suits title of thread too so adds some life to your topic @HariPrasad-1.
From now, I will use your thread for giving info for Indian developmental attributes like GDP per capita poverty ratio, HDI, IHDI, GHI etc., everything and posting such articles who are related to government's plan or opinion related to development and improving living standards of people.
Regards.:namaste:

10 reasons why India will enter the fast track by 2020
While growing up, we were told that for every step India took forward, it took two steps back. That indeed seemed to be the case for decades after Independence. The first big step forward was the liberalisation in 1991 – we haven’t looked back ever since.The second leap forward could be the 2014 general elections, because that was the first time someone became Prime Minister not on the basis of caste, religion or socialism, but on matters related to development and, governance and most importantly, hope.
A new India had given the Centre a new mandate.
It’s why we finally have a Union government with a long-term vision that is moving full steam ahead.Once you push forward far enough on a certain path, it becomes quite difficult to turn back (just like with liberalisation in 1991). The results of implementing such a vision are already visible in many sectors (though perhaps not talked about in mainstream media) and by the year 2020, India may finally transform itself and shed its old sluggish image.

Image credits: shutterstock
India seems to be making rapid progress in every field. Here are 10 areas that will make all the difference.
  1. Roads:First, a bit of history:One of the reasons that the US emerged from the Great Depression was the formation of the Works Progress Administration from 1935 to 1943. Apart from other projects, it is estimated that the length of roads either built or improved during that period was in excess of 1 million km.Roads power an economy and foster prosperity – even a tyrant like Hitler realised that.The Nazi regime emerged as a strong power that could challenge the worldthanks to it “Reichsautobahn” (the German road network at that time). Post-IndependenceIndia, at least in the twentieth century,had looked at road building as a formality,until now.
    While the first NDA government began pushing for this during 1998-2004, the initiative was put on the backburner under the UPA from 2004 to 2014. It’s now back, front and centre. Union Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari declared that road-making had come down to 2 km/day when the second NDA government took over (a number which has been hotly disputed). Since that controversial remark, the number snaked up to 18 km/day in FY 2014-15 and further to 21 km/dayin 2015-16. The target for the next year is 41 km/day and the government is reportedly exploring how the number can reach 100 km/day!
    Gadkari declared in a recent interview:“American roads are not good because America is rich, but America is rich because America has good roads.”Incidentally the Sagar Mala Project, apart from developing ports, will also focus on developing inland waterways.The troika of roadways, waterways and expansion of Railways certainly promises to take India to the next level.
  2. Railways:Some much-need reform is underway at the Railways too: trains are being modernized and more efficient, with a focus on long-term projects like the Mumbai-Ahmedabad high-speed rail corridor, which will be ready by 2023 and the famed Japanese Shinkansen trains will touch speeds of up to 320kmph.
    To put that in perspective, consider this: In 1988, India unveiled its fastest train, the Shatabdi Express, which travels at 150 kmph. Till 2014,there was no attempt made to better that benchmark.Now, the Gatimaan Express is our fastest train (160 kmph) and India’s “bullet trains” will more than double the Shatabdi’s speed.
    Then there are innovations like the Jaldoot Express which,via dozens of trips,carried more than 7 crore litres of water from Miraj to drought-hit Latur (a distance of close to 350 km) in Maharashtra. It is such innovations that will make India a superpower.
  3. Electricity:According to Wikipedia, the Human Development Index (HDI) is a composite statistic of life expectancy, education, and income per capita indicators, which are used to rank countries based on human development.Before the last financial crisis, both Iceland and Norway were leaders in both HDI and per capita electricity consumption index – there’sclearly a strong co-relation between the two indices!
    Until 2014, it was estimated that about one-third of India did not have access to electricity. If you count the power cuts that the remaining two-thirds experienced, then it could well have been argued that 50 percent of the country went without power at any given point in time.
    However, this is the first government that has targeted 100% electrification (it aims to achieve this by the year 2022, on the 75th anniversary of India’s Independence.)We are moving fast onthat front too.The common citizen can check the status of rural electrification by theGarv Grameen Vidyutikaran App.)
    For this project, I wanna tell you guys that we're well ahead of schedule to complete in May, 2018.:)
    For the first time in independent India’s history, we have a surplus of power (not in every state, but overall, as a country, we do). According to the Central Electricity Authority, there will be a surplus of 3.1% for peak hours and 1.1% for non-peak hours during FY 2016-17.
    Coal reserves are finally in excess (the UPA ended its second term with a shortfall) and we are on course for doubling our total capacity. The ailing Dabhol Power Plant was revived by bringing in Indian Railways as an anchor client. Power capacity is being optimised at every level.
    The almost-dead nuclear deal with the US has also been revived. That was after whirlwind negotiations between the governments of both countries. Unconventional sources like wind energy are also being pushed in a big way.We are on course to becoming a much larger consumer of solar power (we currently rank seventh in the world in terms of installed capacity):The international airport at Kochi, Kerala, became the world’s first fully solar energy powered airport.
  4. Oil: India is also signing key oil deals with several countries. The recent deal with Iran,together with an earlier one where the UAE will store oil in India and offer two-thirds of it for free, is a masterstroke.India is also in talks for an oil-for-drugs (medicines) deal with Venezuela, which has the world’s largest proven oil reserves. Venezuela, already short on supplies of medicines, owes millions of dollars to Indian pharmaceutical companies and the idea is to swap this debt for oil.
  5. Subsidies: While India has been hauled over the coals for its sluggish pace of economic reforms, there have been some encouraging steps too. Over 1 crore people in India have given up their LPG subsidy in a scheme that was first voluntary and then mandatory for households earning over Rs 10 lakh/year.Those savings will now be used to provide subsidised LPG connections to poorer households. Getting rid of the subsidy culture is a huge step forward for any developing economy.
  6. Cash transfers: The Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI),or Aadhar, has crossed a global record of 1 billion enrolments and apart from serving as an identity card, is powering cash transfers, thereby cutting out middlemen and bringing down opportunities for corruption. The Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana has already seen more than 20 crore bank accounts opened in a major step towards financial inclusion.
  7. Swachh Bharat Abhiyan: India has been known as a country with serious public cleanliness problems. The government came out with a Cleanliness Ranking for cities and towns in February and is looking at multiple ways to clean up our public spaces.But more importantly, when a government targets building millions of toilets with a vengeance to put an end to the endemic problem of defecating in public, that’s when things begin to look optimistic: maybe, just maybe, we can finally dream of going from a developing to a developed country.
  8. Bureaucracy: Another often-overlooked fact is the professionalisation of the Government of India.After 1991, almost every area in the private sector became professionalised, and we grew accordingly. But the government babu, for the most part, remained the same.Not anymore. Ministers are coming on time to work (and to events) and focusing on both short-term and long-term goals. Bureaucrats are working round the clock and hundreds of non-performers have been let go (yes, even in the IAS) – something unheard of until now. By all accounts, it appears that development-and governance-based politicsare finally coming of age – that, in my mind, is the biggest fundamental change we have seen.
  9. Foreign policy and economy: We are also getting much more respect on the foreign policy stage – every country wants to do business with us. We are finally ahead of China in terms of economic growth rate. GDP growth was an encouraging 7.9% for the first quarter of 2016.We are also less corrupt than China according to many indices. We are also emerging as the FDI capital of the world, ahead of China!
  10. Startups: When Fortune released its list of most valuable companies recently, the top 3 were Apple, Alphabet (Google) and Microsoft. That’s the power of the startup. In the past two years, we have seen the startup culture finally being encouraged in India in a big way.By 2020, expect a lot more Indian start-ups to become billion-dollar companies. Initiatives like Startup India and Make in India promise to go a long way in making India an economicpowerhouse.
    The infrastructure boost that was pending for ages is finally upon us. The Indian tiger is finally rising.If not a developed country, we are officially an NIC (newly industrialised country).All in all, India looks to be finally going to the next level from 2020 to 2025!

C295W Completes Indian Flight Trials Program

“The C295W program is progressing smoothly and we have successfully completed the field evaluation trial of the aircraft in India, as well as the maintenance evaluation,” the company confirms. While declining to provide specifics of the program's current status, it adds: “The acquisition is progressing well, as per the DPP [defence procurement procedure].”

Several further steps need to be taken as part of India’s labyrinthine and notoriously time-consuming defence procurement system, before a formal contract can be signed. The Defence Acquisition Council – which is led by defence minister Manohar Parrikar – gave its go-ahead for the program in May 2015, having deferred a decision six months earlier, and the effort to acquire the type has been under way since 2012.

To replace the Indian air force's aged fleet of HS 748s, the C295W acquisition will procure 16 aircraft to be supplied directly in fly-away condition by Airbus Defence & Space, plus 40 to be assembled in India, in partnership with Tata Advanced Systems (TASL), the designated Indian Production Agency.

India’s coastguard has also expressed interest in acquiring the C295W, and received separate briefings about the aircraft. “However, the coastguard requirement, if it materialises, does not currently form part of the aircraft that we propose together with Tata in the context of the Avro replacement,” Airbus Defence & Space has previously confirmed.

The C295W program is a cornerstone of TASL’s defence manufacturing plans in India. “We hope this will act as an anchor for us to get the type of capability and skillset that can then attract many other programs,” chief executive Sukaran Singh told FlightGlobal earlier this year. “This will really differentiate us from anyone else in India,” he added.

The baseline aircraft for India will be the new C295W, for which the Mexican navy was the launch customer.
Source>>

S Korea To Help India Build Minesweepers

India Is All Set To Sign An Agreement With A South Korean Shipyard For Building 12 Minesweeping Ships Locally.

Chairman of India’s Goa Shipyard Limited (GSL) Rear Admiral (Retired) Shekhar Mital has confirmed the news, saying that the project will cost more than INR 320,000 million. He told the press that GSL would build the Mine Counter-Measure Vessels (MCMVs) in collaboration with Korean Yard Kangnam Corporation under the Indian government’s ‘Make in India’ program.

According to the retired rear admiral, the two companies are in the final stage of concluding the agreement that will be signed in three-four weeks. The GSL chairman stressed that the proposed project would help the Indian Navy fill gaps in its mine warfare capability. The Navy, which currently has only six MCMVs imported from the erstwhile Soviet Union in the late 1970s, needs 24 minesweepers.

Meanwhile, Mital thanked the Narendra Modi government for helping the Goa shipyard to scale up its infrastructure swiftly. He told reporters that the Defence Ministry had allocated INR 4,800 million in December 2015 for expanding the infrastructure so that the shipyard could easily build MCMVs.

The shipyard also has the facilities for construction of glass-reinforced plastic hulls that can reduce the ship’s magnetic signature and allows for safer navigation through mined waters.

Minesweepers are used for keeping sea lanes mine-free. Many countries deploy mines mainly to limit the enemy’s ability to use the sea. Mines are dangerous underwater weapons as they can explode either on contact or be activated by pressure, acoustics or magnetic signature. The mine counter-measures force is deployed to detect and destroy minefields near enemy shores to facilitate offensive action. Minesweepers use mine-hunting sonars as a part of mine counter-measures combat management systems. This is a sophisticated equipment that can detonate a variety of mines. The MCMVs use side scan sonar systems to detect bottom mines placed on the seabed or ‘moored’ mines that float at pre-determined depths. These ships deploy Remotely Operated Vehicles (ROVs) to detonate mines or render them safe. The ROVs are equipped with modern sensing devices.

Mital said that the construction of the first vessel would begin in April 2018 and deliveries would be completed between April 2021 and April 2026. He revealed that several European firms, including Thales and SAAB, would be involved in the project, providing latest mine-hunting solutions.

Source>>

I would suggest to read the thread, specially page-4.

Design and Develop in India | Indian Defence Analysis

Cuz Innovation is necessary for growth, National Pride and Historic Glory.:india2:

Why scientists of Indian Origin are leaving a better life and returning to India

And people (that even such innovative) are real wealth of a Democracy, specially world's largest Democracy, talent which we must not let get leaked to others.
FYI, I'm one of lobbyists who are inviting NRIs back.
So, a humble request to NRIs to try move back to India if possible. It's your motherland whose soil sent you there, where are you today.
Let's together fight Brain Drain to
MAKE INDIA GREAT AGAIN.
:india::india:

Invisible Man, Energy-Weapons: Indian Army’s ‘Make In India’ Wish-List To Coimbatore Industry

With an aim to thwart import of legacy equipment and artillery, the Army is on a war path to modernize through indigenisation
It requires technology that will make a man invisible, manufacture smart textiles, a wristband that is a detection device, ammunition free energy weapons, and much more. Though this sounds like a wish list of some Hollywood production house, it is actually the Indian Army that needs this in its drive to indigenize its equipment capabilities.

And, this it proposes to do so not as it has been doing through import, but with the help of the Indian private sector, industry, and academia.

Starting April 2016, the Army, under the leadership of Lt Gen Subrata Saha, Deputy Chief of the Army Staff (Planning and Systems), has been conducting road shows reaching out to the industry and academia to enable them to meet the requirements of the Army indigenously. It has connected with nearly 1,400 industry representatives and three premier institutions – IIT Bombay, IIT Madras, and IIT Gandhinagar.

The one at PSG College of Technology that was held on August 10 and 11 was their fourth stop and unique in that it was the first non-IIT institution. The Army could not ignore the invitation from the Coimbatore Chapter of Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) considering the rich academic, industrial and entrepreneurial heritage that the city is famous for.

According to Lt Gen Saha, Coimbatore is a promising hub to be tapped for Defense manufacturing. “It is very encouraging and inspiring to come to Coimbatore for its tremendous industrial potential and also the science and technology expertise that the institutions have to offer”.
With an aim to thwart “import of Army equipment and artillery that had become a legacy”, the Army is on a war path to modernize through indigenisation based on the 'Make in India' model of the NDA government.

And, that Coimbatore is “gung-ho” about this move is clear from what S. Narayanan, Vice-Chairman of CII Coimbatore has to say. “A number of industries including LMW, Roots Industries, and Bimetal Bearings have been supplying parts and bearings to Defence equipment and special purpose equipment over the years. Now more industries will come forward and work on the requirements laid down by the Army, especially in the areas of engineering goods and textiles”.

For some requirements like ergonomically designed lightweight bullet-proof jackets, cold protection gear, robots, survival kits, high-calorific energy bars, night vision gear, helmets, and so on, the Army is open to solutions from both the industry and academia.

With the Defence Procurement Policy undergoing a serious change, the Army is looking at solutions in the Indian Designed Developed and Manufactured (IDDM) category. And, on these lines, it is now “opening up and sharing its requirements with the right places”.

The first six chapters of the Defence Procurement Procedure 2016 has been uploaded on the 'Make in India' portal in the Ministry of Defence website to enable interested private players to explore their level of involvement in the indigenisation initiative.
There is information about the requirements of the Army, projects it is interested in, the funding options, and so on...

The Army Design Bureau, which will be the nodal agency between the Army and the private stakeholders, will be formally launched on August 31, and will encourage interactive connectivity via the portal www.makeinindiadefence.com.

Source>>