K9 VAJRA T : make in India

flying.modi

Here is the first slot of 10 K9 VAJRA T artillery guns. ImpirteI from South korea but rest 90 guns will be manudacered in india only by L&T . Most popular and aqurate gun. More than 20ncountry and more 1000 gun are in use. India will export these guns to other contries also.

It far exceeds Pakistani, US supplied used and refurbished Paladin self propelled gun. The latter had become symbol of Pakistani power but now a poor cousin.

Samsung J7

There is nothing 'make in India' in this project. This is outright direct purchase. What r the Indian parts in this artillery. Nothing. We r too long fooled by this ToT shit.

Prashant12

There is nothing 'make in India' in this project. This is outright direct purchase. What r the Indian parts in this artillery. Nothing. We r too long fooled by this ToT shit.
You have completely screwed up Make In India concept.

Vajra has been acquired to take care of our short-term requirements, perhaps that's why we have procured only 100 units. Hanwha refused to transfer the barrel tech (just like BAE refused for M777) and unless we start forging barrels on our own on a large scale, true import substitution will never happen.

Samsung J7

Patil said L&T will not only manufacture K9 VAJRA-T in India, with over 50 per cent indigenous content, but also provide life support to the army with the weapon.

http://www.business-standard.com/ar...o-supply-howitzer-to-army-117042100487_1.html
HAL is also claiming they r manufacturing su30 indigenously. OFB also claims they r manufacturing t90s entirely in India.then why we r paying billions of dollars to Russians for same equipment.

Private sector is no different. Only difference is they will pay good amount to presstitutes to praise their painting job

patriots

Defense lover
also I am confused mazagon dockyard also saying they are building scorpion submarine s with tot France..but if we have tot then why we are seeking others help ..for further 6 submarine s

You could have ToT in building a component, not for the whole platform design.

ToT is always about a component or two which might or might not be unique to the platform. For example DRDO would be providing ToT for NAG. In that case they would be providing ToT to all its sub components, but not of the carrier NAMICA. Now you can't launch NAG from any other platform.

Samsung J7

This is how our defence ministry is fooling us for years.ToT is nothing but an screwdriving job.

Maddy_9UY

This is how our defence ministry is fooling us for years.ToT is nothing but an screwdriving job.
You can't expect defense companies to give away everything. How do you expect them to earn money?
That is why Make in India is a desi version of TOT.

Kshithij

DharmaYoddha
HAL is also claiming they r manufacturing su30 indigenously. OFB also claims they r manufacturing t90s entirely in India.then why we r paying billions of dollars to Russians for same equipment.

Private sector is no different. Only difference is they will pay good amount to presstitutes to praise their painting job
HAL actually makes Su30 in India. T90 is also indigenous.

But there is some license fees and upgradation charges for newer upgrades. Simpler components are imported liie ejection seat of Su30 as licensing fees. Nevertheless India has the technology to make them in India even without Russia. India made ejection seat for MiG21 and MiG27 and hence the ejection seat of Su30 can also be made in India.

In case of K9 Vajra, the important technology of the barrel is not provided. Korea is not asking for license fee by importing simple things like air conditioner or internal furnishings. If these simple things were the only ones to be imported, then it would still be made in India. But without critical technology, it is a problem. That is the difference between Su30 and K9.

When did MDL claim that Scorpene is made in India. It is constructed in MDL. MDL doea not claim that the parts come from India but thaat whatever construction is done, it is in MDL. French have only helped in providing the expertise and skill for submarine construction, not in making the parts and subsystem

Kshithij

DharmaYoddha
You can't expect defense companies to give away everything. How do you expect them to earn money?
That is why Make in India is a desi version of TOT.
We can't expect defence companies to give us everything but the technology is given by the country, not by company. The country can be expected to give us technology in return for favours or threats

uoftotaku

Foreign companies will continue to take advantage of us as long as we refuse to use ToT as an opportunity to pick up skills and venture into 100% indigenous design. So many years we have never progressed from screwdriver tech because no initiative is taken to study the tech in depth and understand it from an engineering standpoint. It is slowly changing (DRDO used FH-77B blueprints for Dhanush and ATAGS) but import mindset is deeply set.

Samsung J7

K9 Thunder has a rate of fire of 6rnds/min. Expect the same for Vajra.
Vajra is an indian name for k9.same like we named mig27 as Bahadur , t90 as Bhisma. We should stop giving indian names to imported weapons

If you would not have been a thick head and had done some reading instead of crying on each and everything, you would have note that there is difference in between K9Thunder and Vajra(Thunder bolt).