IS Indian Defence Getting WEAK?????

Tristan

India defense power is very strong specially it air force has its own position among the top ranked air forces of the world who know to defend their countries in the time of any danger or war.

People, I never said that Military should take control of Indian government. That would mean doom to all our future rise as a world power. But there has to be a compromise of pure democracy where the military asserts its supreme authority when it comes to national defense and related matters. If you carefully observe historical articles that mention details of wars we fought in 47-48, 62, 65, 71, 87 and 99, you all will observe that most of the setbacks have been not because of poor training, lack of discipline or dedication but because of lack of political spine, idealism, blatant treachery to nation by ruling party and most of all, needless babu intervention in a military matter or decision. THIS has to stop.

The tri-services must make it clear that whenever situations like 26/11 or looming war happen, the civilian politicians have no right or authority to take the matters into their own incapable hands but rather accept military suggestions and comply by them.

This is the difference that separates Indian tri-services from Israeli Defense Forces. Despite being a better democracy than India in every sense where it can provide freedom, rights and modern facilities of developed countries to its citizens, Israel still maintains that military matters are to be given to military and political intervention should be the least no matter who the PM is. We need to get this doctrine and now that we have an assertive Joint Chief like ACM PV Naik, I think Air Force should aggressively demand this in Parliament and make sure its displeasure is heard and supported by the entire nation.

It is condition and numerous untold agreements between the military commanders of IDF tri-services and Government that keeps IDF on a blade's edge lethality and makes Indian military tri-services look like a bunch of 10-year olds restrained by their uncles.

The COLD START is still in limbo because the political losers aren't ready to implement an aggressive doctrine against Pakistan for cheap political gains, therefore severely hampering our capability and also resulting in a failed state dictate terms to us because we don't have sufficient nuclear weapons, we don't have sufficient political spine and we don't have the initiative thanks to government civilian traitors involved in this. The Army, Navy and Air Force must make it clear that politicians no matter it if PM or president must stay clear during military matters and situations that affect the national security.

This can be pressured only when: the ruling government is weak, spineless and not assertive; and... when the Joint Chief of tri-services and 3 supreme armed forces heads are strong willed and assertive. And the time is more than right, right now. MMS government is weak and ineffective while Marshal Naik, General Singh and Admiral Verma are hard nosed and fierce leaders. The time is ripe to make the stand clear and make sure that future of warfare in India is not hampered by money and vote hungry political swines. and:

"You stay out of Military and We stay out of Politics"

This was the line last time told by General Sam Manekshaw to Indira Gandhi when the general had become a hero in the country and the PM was reduced to the status of a corrupt politician and was having nightmares of a military takeover. It is time to re-assert the same lines again.

guys the fact is we are losing in every sector what we can do

just keep watching

rohan

supreme court should intervene in the interest of country to stop delay in defence acquisition

Parthy

Air Warrior
supreme court should intervene in the interest of country to stop delay in defence acquisition
Now-a-days, nobody is respecting any order from any courts.... :emot15::emot15: Sample - SC's order for BCCI to pay taxes for IPL.

hitenray09

supreme court gives its decision whether they are implemented or not this has to be overlooked by government which is at sleep like kumbhkaran

Agantrope

unfortunately this was one of the fear since nehru days.Thats y u see seperation between army and the central police forces like CRPF and BSF etc which directly comes under home ministry not the defence ministry or the army.And there is also 1:1 ratio between army and the the central police forces.So in that sense its difficult for any army general to do coup in india.
I think you are not rite. Indian constitution was made as a replica as of British india ie the There will be a head of the state and army, naval commanders are their servitude. So there is no option for the army to do the coup. I too may be wrong

Ministry of Defence Comments on Various Issues

The Ministry of Defence made the following releases which are full text versions of comments made in the Parliament today.

Crashes of Aircraft and Helicopters
A total of 60 aircrafts including MiG 21 and helicopters of the Defence forces have crashed during the last three years from financial year 2007-2008 till 8th November, 2010 in the current financial year. Forty three service personnel and five civilians were killed in these accidents. Twenty civilians were injured.

Compensation as per extant Government order is paid for the service personnel killed and civilians killed/injured. Each crash is investigated through a Court of Inquiry and remedial measures are undertaken accordingly to check their recurrence in future. Phasing out of a particular aircraft and its replacement is decided based on operational requirements of the services, which is reviewed from time to time.

This information was given by Defence Minister Shri AK Antony in a written reply to Shri Ravindra Kumar Pandey & others in Lok Sabha today.

SRS for Post-Crash Recovery
A Request For Information (RFI) was issued in September 2010 for Combat Search & Rescue Systems (SRS). The Indian Air Force (IAF) plans to procure personal Rescue Beacons for its Fighter, Transport and Helicopter fleet and Emergency Location Transmitters (ELT) as well as Air borne Locator Interrogators for its Transport and Helicopters fleet. The estimated cost is Rs.120 crores.

During the past one year, there have been two fatal accidents and the bodies of three pilots who lost their lives in these accidents were recovered. Since these accidents took place near IAF airfields under positive control of Air Traffic Control (ATC), the present SRS was not required to be used to recover the bodies/debris.

This information was given by Defence Minister Shri AK Antony in a written reply to Shri Milind Deora in Lok Sabha today.

Defence Expenditure Review
The system of compilation of expenditure does not capture the country-wise details. Therefore, the desired information is being collected from the Service Headquarters and shall be laid on the Table of the House in due course.

Defence Expenditure Review Committee headed by Shri V.K. Misra, former Secretary (Defence Finance) was constituted to recommend measures that would bring about:

(i) Optimal efficiency in the system, with greater focus on Information & Communication Technology (ICT);

(ii) Greater efficiency and economy in supply services through outsourcing and reorganisation;

(iii) Greater transparency and accountability in regard to management of defence expenditure;

(iv) Higher efficiency in logistic supply chain management;

(v) Outcome orientation in defence spending;

(vi) Enhanced self-reliance by tapping the strength of the vibrant private sector;

(vii) High levels of preparedness/serviceability of weapon systems;

(viii) Greater efficiency and economy in training.

The main recommendations made by the Committee relate to greater use of Information & Communication Technology; Streamlining of Acquisitions and Procurement; Empowering Defence Industrial Base and enhancing private sector participation; and, improvement in logistics and maintenance management, support services, training, infrastructure, financial management and project management.

Various officers in the Ministry of Defence have been assigned the responsibility of looking into the recommendations of the Committee for further action on the same. This information was given by Defence Minister Shri AK Antony in a written reply to Shri S. Semmalai and Shri Sivasami C in Lok Sabha today.

Measures to Check Sea-Borne Threat
Government has initiated several measures to strengthen Coastal Security in order to guard against sea-borne security threat. For this purpose, the coastal surveillance and patrolling have been enhanced. Joint and operational exercises are conducted on regular basis among the Navy, the Coast Guard, Coastal Police, Customs and others to check the effectiveness of the integrated approach adopted for security of coastal areas.

In addition, continuous review and monitoring of various mechanism are done by the Government at different levels, which include various agencies, like the State/Union Territory authorities. Further, strengthening of the Indian Navy in terms of assets, based on felt needs, is an important ongoing process.

This information was given by Defence Minister Shri AK Antony in a written reply to Shri R. Thamaraiselvan in Lok Sabha today.

Defence Capability of Army

The Indian Army is operationally capable of meeting any challenges to national security. However, capability development is a dynamic process and it is the constant Endeavour of the Government to keep the Army at maximum level of operational readiness at all times.

Government has taken several steps to expedite the procurement/modernization procedure including inter alia laying down the revised Defence Procurement Procedure and Fast Track Procedure, which is regularly reviewed to improve efficiency of procurement procedure.

This information was given by Defence Minister Shri AK Antony in a written reply to Shri Pratap Singh Bajwa in Lok Sabha today.

Procurement of Submarines
Government constantly reviews the security scenario and accordingly decides to induct appropriate equipment/platforms including submarines. This is a continuous process undertaken through procurement from various indigenous as well as foreign sources in accordance with the provisions laid down in Defence Procurement Procedure to keep the armed forces in a state of readiness to meet any eventuality.

Divulging further details in this regard would not be in the national interest. This information was given by Defence Minister Shri AK Antony in a written reply to Shri Prabodh Panda in Lok Sabha today.

Irregularities in Purchase of Arms

Procurement of equipment/weapon systems under the Capital Head for the Army are done as per the provisions of Defence Procurement Procedure. The said Procedure contains, stringent provisions aimed at ensuring the highest degree of probity, public accountability and transparency.

As and when any irregularity comes to notice, appropriate action is taken as per rules. This information was given by Defence Minister Shri AK Antony in a written reply to Prof. Ram Shankar in Lok Sabha today.

http://www.india-defence.com/reports-4794

are you confused why you use is

while every one know how weak we are in our defence

Parthy

Air Warrior
I really don't understand why all Indian defense projects are getting into trouble!!! Do we have any definite cause or what???

If we are getting into cos of these things, then we can say

1. Don't have a proper planning for timely delivery - Provided 20yrs of time for LCA.
2. AJT & IJT - Mulling for years (Even for training fighter??? :emot0:)
3. Kaveri engine - Derivative of GTX37-14U started around 1977. Testing of kaveri since 1995
4. Nirbhay Missiles - Mystery missile, no official status rather than prestigious mock models...
5. Agni series - Started way starting 1980's.. Went till Agni-3 which is yet to be inducted into service. Agni-IV canceled just like that.
6. PAD & AAD - Undetermined future!!!
7. LCH - Just started its testing phase.. Again undetermined future
8. AESA Radar for LCA - Freezed updates.. No official statement either. Planned for AMCA which is yet to be started??? :emot100:
9. Rustom UAV - Rustom Mock models got Rusted.
10. Saras - Started way beyond 1991 and standing with no future??

Why it is all getting delayed when comes to all indigenous projects??? We have allocated more than sufficient funds for all R&D to all Defense agencies!! Still they function from the old 1960 buildings with old screw drivers!!! :angry_1:

Parthy

Air Warrior
But we should appreciate the Directors of the agencies when they are giving statement.. like "We will do so and so machine within these dates.. It will be using the world's unique technologies and the only derivative of its own class".....

Definitely MoD look into this issue rather than making statements and issuing bills in Parliament... This is not the right way for the defense projects for a country like India... :emot154:

venkat

parthy!!! for dusserah festival some DPSU companies got three consecutive holidays,then diwali,then Bakrid.....endless no.s of holidays.....lack of tech expertise, lack of raw material,long lead times,technology denials,Bureaucracy,unionism and finally no accountability!!!!!

ace009

Freakin' Fighter fan
The reason we have a weak defense system is because we do not have a well-developed private sector in our defense industry. All the democratic major military powers are based on a private sector R&D and production. The notable exception is India. We still follow the Russian/ Chinese model of state / public sector companies. As a result we have corruption, delays, cost overruns, and huge failures in technology development and manufacturing.
The only way forward for India to have a strong and stable national defense (not dependant upon foreign powers) is to develop a private defense sector. Till that happens, our abilities will be always behind our needs.

jayz india

the long term planning and interests r clearly missing in our defence modernisation.looking at the MRCA procurement it can be said as confucing to say the least AF doesnt even knw for what purpose they want they aircraft and hence u can see strike aircraft as well as air superiority fighters grouped in the same category and on top of that they will select the one being the cheaqpest bidder,artillery procurement is a joke to begin with if we had started mmaking our own 155mm 52 cal gun we could have done that in this longer period,plz someone tell the MOD take take some kick backs but give our soldiers something to fight with,i believe that our GDP for defence should be increased to 3.5pc and with growing economy we will have more money and quantity
if i were a defence minister i would definitely go for atleast 200 mrca with an option of 100 more procuring 180 mig 35's and 120 f18's
then buy the best artillery gun irrespective of the CBIC INQUIRY and its so called blacklisted firms and a few units of guided artillery
rapid induction of air defence MR-SAMS and SR-SAMS closer to border area
massive upgradation of infrastructure,airfields,roads advanced landing grounds
mass airlift capability and lot of transport helicopters
quick deployment of units along with light armour man portable SAMS and man portable ATGM's special divisions to be created for this purpose
get atleast 150 fighters for navy
30 submarines and 5 nuclear submarines
fighter trainers both basic and advanced
and lot more but one word.....QUICKLY

badguy2000

The reason we have a weak defense system is because we do not have a well-developed private sector in our defense industry. All the democratic major military powers are based on a private sector R&D and production. The notable exception is India. We still follow the Russian/ Chinese model of state / public sector companies. As a result we have corruption, delays, cost overruns, and huge failures in technology development and manufacturing.
The only way forward for India to have a strong and stable national defense (not dependant upon foreign powers) is to develop a private defense sector. Till that happens, our abilities will be always behind our needs.
well,Africa,Latin America and West Arabia also has private defense industry ,but their defence industry is zero.

put more attention to fix the base sections of your industry chains such as materials and machining tech,instead of those useless debate of "private VS state/public".

After all, to develope your material and machining tech is helpful to your defence industry while to debate "private vs state/public" is useless .

do you know why Chinese defence industry advances more faster than India's ? it is becasue we Chinese stopped useless debate of "private vs State/public" and marginalize red guards techs after Deng started reform in 1978 while your Indians still are debating useless topics such as "private vs state/pubic" or "democracy vs distatorship"!

Parthy

Air Warrior
Indian Armed forces facing shortage of over 15,000 officers

The three wings of the armed forces are facing a shortage of over 15,000 officers, Lok Sabha was informed Monday.

"In Army, there is a shortage of 12,510 officers. The Navy is short of 1,747 officers and the Indian Air Force (IAF) is short of 1,016 officers of its sanctioned strength," Indian Defence Minister A K Antony said in a written reply to a Lok Sabha query.

He said the authorised strength of officers in the Army was 47,864 officers, in the Navy 9,719 while the IAF has a sanctioned strength of 12,211 officers.

Antony said the shortage of officers was attributable to a number of factors including tough selection procedures, difficult service conditions coupled with perceived high degree of risk involved in service career.

He said a number of steps have been taken to do away with the shortage and attract a large number of youth to join the armed forces.

http://www.brahmand.com/news/Indian...hortage-of-over-15000-officers/5559/1/13.html