Is Indian class system the reason for India's poverty?

jouni

Is class system and low IQ the reason for India's poverty?

There is a very concerted attack from USA on Russian interests in Ukraine. The events and "news" are being shaped to bring about a particular outcome.

Mr @jouni has a viewpoint but he seems to be uninformed. He goes more about feelings and opinions rather than by facts.

The fact is Anglo American empire is imperialistic despite its success. The USSR was people centric despite its failure.

As a student of Veda for last 7 years, I know the reason very clearly. The Veda defines four classes in which Brahmin is put on the top. Brahmin is the intellectual. Kshatriya is below Brahmin who is warrior. So Vedas put highest emphasis on intellect. USSR's socialism failed to implement Vedic model so it failed.

Vedic classes is based on qualities and qualification and not by birth. When Indian society swayed from Vedic class system by implementing it by birth, the society started to decline.
Interesting point. Many of my friends say that Indian class system is the reason for India's poverty. Majority of Indians ignore the 400 million poor, only ones helping them are western aid organizations. How can you develop the country if you believe that a big part of the citizen are inequal by birth?

In Nordic model poor families get special attention to make sure that they can give children the same opportunities than everybody else. Also IQ is one factor, smart people can reach consensus on important matters.

Psychological comments: Lapps, Finns, cold winters and intelligence

The average intelligence quotient (IQ) of Indians is around 80-85, with SIGNIFICANT potential to increase | Sanjeev Sabhlok's revolutionary blog

Should under UK be formed "advisory boards" consisting members of smartest countries people to help other countries get better results. Finland rose in hundred years from one of the poorest countries of Europe to one of the richest. It is only natural to share this knowledge.

jouni

Ok, great. All is in order then. That's great.

Voldemort

What was your intention behind opening of this thread? If it was to know more about social problems of India, then you wouldnt have been making one line sarcastic remarks.

He did not open this thread. I did. He asked this question in another thread.

jouni

I did not open it, I was answering to a mail and then my friend pmaitra opened this thread. Basically I don't wanna talk about Indian class system or poverty. Those numbers are so big and I have not been in India to see it myself, so it is difficult to say something wise on that matter.

Voldemort

I did not open it, I was answering to a mail and then my friend pmaitra opened this thread. Basically I don't wanna talk about Indian class system or poverty. Those numbers are so big and I have not been in India to see it myself, so it is difficult to say something wise on that matter.
I dont quite follow, but I apologise.

India is one of the richest country in the world before British landed and looted these lands.

After independence, over population and socialist policies took the toll on the country's economy.

Since 1992 i.e the time the reforms started, India's GDP and standards of living are increasing gradually.

Last Decade the GDP growth rate is good, This decade we are expecting a better growth rate once the reforms kicks off, by the Modi Govt.

jouni

India is one of the richest country in the world before British landed and looted these lands.

After independence, over population and socialist policies took the toll on the country's economy.

Since 1992 i.e the time the reforms started, India's GDP and standards of living are increasing gradually.

Last Decade the GDP growth rate is good, This decade we are expecting a better growth rate once the reforms kicks off, by the Modi Govt.
What is the reason behind over population? Religion? Climate? Beautiful females?

Mostly it is the climate, the foods we eat, Beauty varies from person to person .

Rice is a good baby food and the climate we live helps most of the babies to survive.

Plus Migrations that happened through out the history into these lands.

Interesting point. Many of my friends say that Indian class system is the reason for India's poverty. Majority of Indians ignore the 400 million poor, only ones helping them are western aid organizations. How can you develop the country if you believe that a big part of the citizen are inequal by birth?

In Nordic model poor families get special attention to make sure that they can give children the same opportunities than everybody else

Class system may not be a factor for poverty in the future, Problem has been identified and to an extent rectified via reservations in education and jobs. considering the numbers this may take some time. Earlier government used to run behind people from rural areas to ask them to send their children to schools, now they are sending them on their own. Once education comes good times will follow.So we are on the right track there.

Firstly:
Current numbers of poverty can be partially attributed to class system followed in the past. India had been a agricultural economy like any other country for a long time. Majority of the land was always with upper castes.Feudal system existed to an extent after independence for some years, Government brought in Land ceiling act where excess lands were re-distributed among the poor and landless. This led to some amount of re-distribution of wealth however this was not sufficient to alleviate poverty.

Secondly:
The main reason in my opinion. The state of economy was obviously very weak at the time of independence,adding to this we adopted a socialistic approach. socialistic approach stopped people from becoming rich. For example we used to have a system called "License raj" which restricts private companies from producing goods annually beyond a certain quota allotted by the government. This license raj was lifted in 1990 as part of economic reforms. India as we know it today is all thanks to those economic reforms taken in 1992.

Poverty in 1994 is roughly 35% of 850 million which is roughly 300 million
Poverty in 2014 as per world bank is 178 million.
which means about half a billion escaped poverty in the last 20 years, which is not bad if you ask me.

Final thought:
Contrary to general opinion that india story starts in 1947,in my opinion india story actually started in 1992 which is just 22 years earlier.

Free Karma

Mostly it is the climate, the foods we eat, Beauty varies from person to person .

Rice is a good baby food and the climate we live helps most of the babies to survive.

Plus Migrations that happened through out the history into these lands.
Nope, it has nothing to do with that.

Most asian societies (and others) it is considered good to have many children. This helps populations grow, populations grow when the replacement rate is greater than the death rate. Having greater access to resources, the ability to treat diseases, ensure a good environment, and a good lifestyle in general contribute to the survival of a child.

If you look at the population of Europe, it actually grew massively only during the colonial era, during the 18th century, UK alone registered a 300% growth from 70 lacs in 1901 to 3 crores in 1901. Compare that to India,we were actually already at 20 crores in 1801.

India and China have always been richer than Europe,that too by magnitudes and for an overwhelming large majority of known history (if you look at economics India + China=50% world economy) and hence could support much higher populations. Fertility rates in these areas seem similar or sometimes lesser than europe (16 China's Demography in Perspective), which could only indicate that these areas reduced deaths, had more access to scientific advances, created societies where kids survived and went on to have more kids...basic darwin stuff really. Thus India's population being large is not very surprising at all

What is interesting is the shrinking european population, despite this still being one of their better times, to the point where many of them rely on immigrants.

Ashutosh Lokhande

Caste system was a problem and also the cause of poverty. low caste people were not allowed to go school or get educated thats why they never came up and there generations were born and stayed in poverty. this was like many years back and is history and no longer true.

Nope, it has nothing to do with that.

Most asian societies (and others) it is considered good to have many children. This helps populations grow, populations grow when the replacement rate is greater than the death rate. Having greater access to resources, the ability to treat diseases, ensure a good environment, and a good lifestyle in general contribute to the survival of a child.

If you look at the population of Europe, it actually grew massively only during the colonial era, during the 18th century, UK alone registered a 300% growth from 70 lacs in 1901 to 3 crores in 1901. Compare that to India,we were actually already at 20 crores in 1801.

India and China have always been richer than Europe,that too by magnitudes and for an overwhelming large majority of known history (if you look at economics India + China=50% world economy) and hence could support much higher populations. Fertility rates in these areas seem similar or sometimes lesser than europe (16 China's Demography in Perspective), which could only indicate that these areas reduced deaths, had more access to scientific advances, created societies where kids survived and went on to have more kids...basic darwin stuff really. Thus India's population being large is not very surprising at all

What is interesting is the shrinking european population, despite this still being one of their better times, to the point where many of them rely on immigrants.
It has every thing to do with the points I have mentioned. Actually you have augmented my points.

Economy is directly related to climate before the Industrial and technology revolutions. India and China have good climatic conditions one of the reasons why they are bigger economies which are agriculture based.

Cold countries even though they produce more children, survival is tough because of the climate. Most of the year they are covered in snow and during the olden days before industrial revolution food becomes scarce and living becomes tough.

The death rate has to do with the food and the liquor they drink to survive in that harsh climates.

Since India and China have good climatic conditions and sunlight all the year, survivals and food availability is more. Considering these lands have plenty of rivers.

If we check the most densely populated areas India and China.

Both are rice eating people.

I am searching for the documentary where the "rice is the main thing that has contributed to baby's survival and multiplication of population". I will post the link if I find it.

Rice is easily digestible and a preferred food for babies who are 1 or 2 years old.

Yes technological advancement also added to the survival and multiplication of populations. But that alone is not the reason for more population in India and China.

ninja85

thats right caste system is a barrier in progress but the main reason that it became this worse is selfishness of politicians.

jouni

thats right caste system is a barrier in progress but the main reason that it became this worse is selfishness of politicians.
You blame Christianity of lot of things, but Christian god takes everybody in, all they have to do is believe. What is your opinion about this? Do you think it has helped the "west" to prosper?