Is Eurofighter Typhoon also out of the MMRCA-2 game?

Can Gov's recent decision to scrap the deal of Black Shark torpedoes from Finmeccanica affect MMRCA-2 deal ? There is actually a high possibility. Torpedo maker Whitehead Alenia Systemi Subacquei (WASS) is a subsidiary of Italian arms manufacturer Finmeccanica. The MoD believes Finmeccanica subsidiary AgustaWestland paid bribes for the 2010 purchase of 12 VVIP helicopters for Rs 3,760 crore. And hence scrapped the deal.

What interesting thing is, the Eurofighter Typhoon is a twin-engine, canard-delta wing, multirole fighter manufactured by a consortium of three companies, Alenia Aermacchi, Airbus Group and BAE Systems. Alenia Aermacchi is a subsidiary of Leonardo-Finmeccanica’s Aircraft and Aerostructures Divisions.
Recently ,Finmeccanica has threatened to reassess its business in India, a few days after New Delhi said it would blacklist the company over the alleged payment of bribes . Now if, really this company stops doing business in India, will not it affect the MMRCA-2 project? Eurofigher Typhoon is one of the contenders in this. If it is been chose , Typhoon will be manufactured under Make In India scheme. Some days ago, it was told (unofficially) Only a twin engine fighter jet will be chosen as new fighter jet , automatically scrapping the possibility of F-16 Viper and JAS-39 Gripen (no official statement has been released yet) . Now if Typhoon too taken out (due to scrapping the deal) , the only competitors remain F-18 , Rafale and a unnamed Russian one.

However, we have to wait for official Gov. Statement to get clear picture.
https://www.facebook.com/TeamINDRA/photos?ref=page_internal

PM Modi must intiate process of procuring F- 18 Advance Super Hornet during his to US. With Eurofighter Typhoon is knocked out of competetion and Rafale is too costly. Only option left F-18 advance Super Hornet.
F-18 advance Super Hornet engine and tejas mk1a ,tejas mk2 and AMCA are same. We can easily squeeze TOT from US.

Ankit Kumar

Unlike SAAB which has been promising TOT ( Albeit Falsely ) , Boeing has till now shown no intent even indirectly to provide any kind of TOT either on the Super Hornets Radar , its ECM or its power plant.

PM Modi must intiate process of procuring F- 18 Advance Super Hornet during his to US. With Eurofighter Typhoon is knocked out of competetion and Rafale is too costly. Only option left F-18 advance Super Hornet.
F-18 advance Super Hornet engine and tejas mk1a ,tejas mk2 and AMCA are same. We can easily squeeze TOT from US.
There is a proverb in India .................. gareeb aadmi ki a$$ mein do daant hote hai.

Let me make some changes in it ........................ Indian politicians ki a$$ mein do socialist daant hote hai.

Correct me if I am wrong.

Eurofighter is too much of a complicated mess with all the different countries involved tot and parts will be major problem. Better to toss it out right from the start.
Yeah you are right we must reject right from start because Italy won't allow us buy EuroFighter Typhoon. It is better buy F-18 Advanced Super Hornet.

Yeah you are we must reject right from start because Italy won't allow us buy EuroFighter Typhoon. It is better buy F-18 Advanced Super Hornet.
Boo Hoo now we can't give them billions of dollars what a terrible dilemma

Akask kumar

i just checked the specification of both.. euro fighter typhoon has edge over F-18 .whether its speed , rate of climb,range..
some one told me we should go for F18 , as its made to be fitted on carriers.. but in terms of dimension wise Euro fighter is smaller than F18. by 1m in both lenghtn and wing span.. it has more powerful engine..

only logical sense so far i think is - same engine will be used in F-18 and Tejas MK2.. and its a big difference plus F-18 has better Radar..as far as accessing spare part is concerned europe and USA belongs to NATO. so i think problem will remain the same..

so i think its a close call.very tough.

does any one think that induction of Euro fighter typhoon will help india in its Tejas program as both of them are delta wing?

curryman

i just checked the specification of both.. euro fighter typhoon has edge over F-18 .whether its speed , rate of climb,range..
some one told me we should go for F18 , as its made to be fitted on carriers.. but in terms of dimension wise Euro fighter is smaller than F18. by 1m in both lenghtn and wing span.. it has more powerful engine..

only logical sense so far i think is - same engine will be used in F-18 and Tejas MK2.. and its a big difference plus F-18 has better Radar..as far as accessing spare part is concerned europe and USA belongs to NATO. so i think problem will remain the same..

so i think its a close call.very tough.

does any one think that induction of Euro fighter typhoon will help india in its Tejas program as both of them are delta wing?
Don't understand why India would pursue EF when they are receiving Rafales. It makes no sense. Pick one or the other and then pursue the heavy fighter like the Su-35.

I would like India to pursue the F-35B model. With the recent retirement of Sea Harriers, they need a VTOL.

Akask kumar

coz rafale are over priced. much better craft can be bought in that price in good numbers. Su-35 is air superiority craft. we need mulit role.

Don't understand why India would pursue EF when they are receiving Rafales. It makes no sense. Pick one or the other and then pursue the heavy fighter like the Su-35.

I would like India to pursue the F-35B model. With the recent retirement of Sea Harriers, they need a VTOL.

Ankit Kumar

coz rafale are over priced. much better craft can be bought in that price in good numbers. Su-35 is air superiority craft. we need mulit role.
To replace the capability of 1 Rafale you need 1 Su35, 1 Su34 and 1 Growler. Add all of them and then talk.

Further for high price , just know this that the cheapest candidate of MMRCA , SAAB Gripen ...
It was 2012 and the offer was for 105 million USD for fly away cost of 1 Gripen C/D without spares, weapons, infrastructure , training, local manufacture or TOT.

Further have a look at Australian F18SH deal price, you will forget " Over priced " and Rafales.

Ankit Kumar

F35B is the last aircraft a country without a new STOVL aircraft carrier and good budget will buy.

No platform for India to operate those birds. F35A makes sense in case PAF acquires J31 early.

Akask kumar

To replace the capability of 1 Rafale you need 1 Su35, 1 Su34 and 1 Growler. Add all of them and then talk.

Further for high price , just know this that the cheapest candidate of MMRCA , SAAB Gripen ...
It was 2012 and the offer was for 105 million USD for fly away cost of 1 Gripen C/D without spares, weapons, infrastructure , training, local manufacture or TOT.

Further have a look at Australian F18SH deal price, you will forget " Over priced " and Rafales.
ok if Rafale is so good , why so few countries are operating them in so few numbers..
qatar- 26
egypt- 6..
thats all.. it gives u the better picture.. plus look at the ratio of - no of accidents / no of craft operated across the globe.. its high

Ankit Kumar

ok if Rafale is so good , why so few countries are operating them in so few numbers..
qatar- 26
egypt- 6..
thats all.. it gives u the better picture.. plus look at the ratio of - no of accidents / no of craft operated across the globe.. its high
F22 is operated only by USAF, so its less capable. Does this argument makes some logic ?

The number of aircrafts in service in foreign nations do not reflect its capability.

It has always been F16 beating Mirage 2000 in exports, does this mean Mirage 2000 is any less capable and not worthwhile for operations ?

Forget EFT it's too costly, and already out of the MMRCA.

curryman

qatar- 26
egypt- 6..
It's an expensive aircraft. Not many countries can afford it. Not many takers for EF or Gripen either.

smestarz

But then in a way it does convey that, If an American plane is available then many countries prefer American plane rather than French plane.
F22 is operated only by USAF, so its less capable. Does this argument makes some logic ?

The number of aircrafts in service in foreign nations do not reflect its capability.

It has always been F16 beating Mirage 2000 in exports, does this mean Mirage 2000 is any less capable and not worthwhile for operations ?

Ankit Kumar

But then in a way it does convey that, If an American plane is available then many countries prefer American plane rather than French plane.
Its not countries preferring American jets , its NATO countries and " Peace Series anti Soviet countries " preferring them, or more simply its US providing its allies with F16.

Whereas France was always more of a neutral power with its resources directed in its ex colonies in Africa .

Ankit Kumar

It's an expensive aircraft. Not many countries can afford it. Not many takers for EF or Gripen either.
So are others. Do have a look at what price Australia bought F18SH.

Lots of politics is involved.

Ankit Kumar

plus look at the ratio of - no of accidents / no of craft operated across the globe.. its high
I forgot to answer this part.

Just for fact , of all the accidents of Rafale , only " ONE " was of airforce one.
Rest were during carrier operations.

Compared to " Six" accidents of Eurofighters .

Carrier operations are totally a different ball game.