Indian Special Forces (archived)

Quad Tube cost 30 lakhs on Average
So just arming one squad will cost us some 600,000 $.
And
Cost of Arming a Squad with full modern gear will be min 800,000 $

apoorv465

Read that Marcos uses APS amphibious rifle. Is that true? Are there any pictures?

Lupus

SG has finally got a Wiki page but unfortunately it contains nothing that we already don't know. It even has some errors but anyways check it out.

[The Special Group
(SG) is the special forces unit of India's Research and Analysis Wing which is tasked to undertake covert operations. The unit is considered to be comprised of the most elite soldiers of India and is responsible for conducting such operations with which the Government of India may not wish to be overtly associated. Since the unit is confidential in nature, most of the information about its activities is highly classified.

Origin
The Special Group was created in 1981 as a classified unit of the Research and Analysis Wing (RAW) tasked for undertaking covert operations. The Directorate General of Security, which was a confidential organisation created with assistance from the CIA after the Sino-Indian War of 1962, went under control of RAW in 1968. In 1982, Project Sunray was initiated by the Directorate, under which an officer from the Para SF of the Indian Army was tasked to raise a unit comprising 250 personnel. In early 1983, a group of six personnel were sent to a confidential military base in Israel. There they received training from a specialist team of Mossad for a few weeks. This team, which had earlier rescued hostages from Uganda's Entebbe airport with some assistance from RAW, was comprised of commandos from the Sayeret Matkal.

Organisation
The Special Group functions under the Directorate General of Security (DG Security) of Research and Analysis Wing, which is India's foreign intelligence agency. The DG Security also oversees the Office of Special Operations. The unit serves under the command of the Prime Minister through the Cabinet Secretariat.

The SG is primarily based at Chakrata in the state of Uttarakhand and Sarsawa in Uttar Pradesh, where it is headquartered. All of its personnel are from the Indian Army, mostly from the Para (Special Forces). SG personnel are distributed in three to four companies. An SG team is kept on high alert for contingencies round the clock. SG squadrons consist of four soldiers, each of whom has a specialized skill-set. The SG has dedicated branches specialising in intelligence gathering, operational planning, communications and training.

Responsibilities
The responsibilities of the Special Group includes clandestine intelligence operations and covert operations, with which the Government of India may not wish to be overtly associated. The SG is also responsible for developing tactics and training procedures for other special forces of India.

Training and equipment
The Special Group is considered to be the most capably trained special forces unit of India and is considered to be very well equipped.]

Full Link: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special_Group_(India)

Lupus

NDTV News Flash.

NSA is setting up a new SOF unit - To operate in Denied Areas Covertly - Cadre to be drawn from Across the military SF units

CO - Army

- Assault Force - 124 members - Assaulters
- Planning/Support Force - 90 members - Recce, Intel (HUMINT/SIGINT/ELINT), Logistics

- Unit will eventually get its own budget

Both Units will work together.

=============
@rkhanna @Unknowncommando 2

This unit appears to be very different from the AFSOD, any idea what happened to it ?

Lupus

#BREAKING

AFSOD has been officially deployed in Kashmir.

Army, Navy, Air Force Special Forces deployed jointly to hunt terrorists in Kashmir valley

NEW DELHI: In a major step towards enhancing jointness among the three services, the special forces of Army, Navy and Air Force have been deployed in the Kashmir valley to carry out combined counter-terrorist operations.

The three special forces, namely, the Army's Para (Special Forces), Navy's Marine Commandos(MARCOS) and Indian Air Force's Garud Special Forces are being deployed in the Kashmir valley under the Defence Ministry's newly-raised Armed Forces Special Operations Division (AFSOD), senior Defence sources told ANI.

The induction of the joint special troops of the three forces has already started as the Army Para (SF) elements have already been inducted into an area considered to be a traditional terror hotbed near Srinagar, they said.

The elements of the MARCOS and the Garuds would also be getting fully inducted into the anti-terrorist operations very soon, they said.

Although small teams of Navy's MARCOS and IAF's Garuds have been operating in the Kashmir valley, this is the first time when the three services would be deployed jointly there.

The MARCOS commandos are deployed in and around the Wular lake area while the Garud teams have been operating in the Lolab area and Hajin.

The Air Force Special Forces had a very successful stint in the Kashmir valley as they managed to eliminate six terrorists in one go in Operation Rakh Hajin for which its Corporal JP Nirala was also awarded the Ashok Chakra posthumously.

The aim of joint Special Forces deployment in the Kashmir valley is to give the troops exposure of operating jointly in real operations. The AFSPD has already carried out two exercises in different locations practising assault on strategic enemy positions and taking back captured areas.

The first exercise of the AFSOD was in the Kutch region codenamed Ex Smelling Field while the second was in Andaman and Nicobar Islands codenamed DANX-2019.

The first head of the Armed Forces Special Operations Division (AFSOD) is Major General Ashok Dhingra.

The division has performed well since it came into existence and is still facing issues involved in raising including manpower and equipment shortcomings.

Gessler

An Eotech quadtube NVG costs $42499. Where as a mono tube is around 4k and double tube is around 10K. Considering the budget allocations, buying quad tube in large numbers is highly unlikely
These are not for service issue to regular troops. Even US issues only PVS-14s in binocular configuration for regular infantry. These are meant only for elite units where the concept of 'bang-for-buck' has no place and the mantra is 'maximum buck, maximum bang'.

Like NSG for instance. Sure it can be a costly system (we don't really know how much Tonbo one costs), but once you determine it can give a definitive edge for night-time/lowlight CQC to a unit fighting to stop another 26/11, the cost becomes worth it.

Of course like you said the ones allocating the budgets have to see it that way as well.

But in recent times, the budgets of all MHA forces have seen a substantial increase or so I've heard. But I will say one thing - I feel its much more likely that NSG under MHA will end up adopting the Tonbo BNVD-P much sooner than any military/MoD unit in India.

rkhanna

Another example of how American R&D is aimed at making the basic warfighter more efficient.

The example here is of military dogs.

https://sofrep.com/news/making-sof-and-conventional-canines-deadlier/

@rkhanna @Unknowncommando 2

This unit appears to be very different from the AFSOD, any idea what happened to it ?
The Current AFSOD is a completely different idea from what i heard first and from what was first initially reported (and that narrative quickly dissapeared)

I have no idea whats going on. so i am going to reserve commenting on the AFSOD going forward. Right now all i am going to do is shake my head.

Another example of how American R&D is aimed at making the basic warfighter more efficient.

The example here is of military dogs.

https://sofrep.com/news/making-sof-and-conventional-canines-deadlier/

The Current AFSOD is a completely different idea from what i heard first and from what was first initially reported (and that narrative quickly dissapeared)

I have no idea whats going on. so i am going to reserve commenting on the AFSOD going forward. Right now all i am going to do is shake my head.
AFSOD is still finding its feet and in the process of being raised. That they are looking to test/validate it under operational conditions is surely positive but I hope they remain focused on promoting AFSOD as a strategic asset.

rkhanna

AFSOD is still finding its feet and in the process of being raised. That they are looking to test/validate it under operational conditions is surely positive but I hope they remain focused on promoting AFSOD as a strategic asset.
The narrative has gone from a "New" Tier I unit raised from existing Cadre to a Prototype experiment in Joint Command.

Strategic or not time will tell.

ALBY

Section Moderator
These are not for service issue to regular troops. Even US issues only PVS-14s in binocular configuration for regular infantry. These are meant only for elite units where the concept of 'bang-for-buck' has no place and the mantra is 'maximum buck, maximum bang'.

Like NSG for instance. Sure it can be a costly system (we don't really know how much Tonbo one costs), but once you determine it can give a definitive edge for night-time/lowlight CQC to a unit fighting to stop another 26/11, the cost becomes worth it.

Of course like you said the ones allocating the budgets have to see it that way as well.

But in recent times, the budgets of all MHA forces have seen a substantial increase or so I've heard. But I will say one thing - I feel its much more likely that NSG under MHA will end up adopting the Tonbo BNVD-P much sooner than any military/MoD unit in India.
Me too was not referring to Special forces. Its highly optimistic to even think about distributing quad tube NVGs to whole SF. Even in US, only Tier-1 SF have been issued quad tubes.

I think corner shot is the most practical gun when it comes to urban combat scenario.

It can be put to use in NSG, CRPF, Police SF.

We already have our indigeneous version, just need the babus to make up their mind.

https://bharatshakti.in/made-in-india-corner-shot-rifle-undergoes-user-trials-by-army/
Fate of any weapons system in India:
Developed in 2 year, on Trial for 10 years.

A private Comapny had also made an attempt. Here's the thread.

https://defenceforumindia.com/forum...nveils-shootedge-cornershot-equivalent.76621/

The ones we are operating now is bought from Israel.

Currently used by NSG and some police SF like Force One, Hawk and small no with JKP

Meanwhile Poopistan OFB has churned out its own Version.

Was going through product catalogue of Pakistani OFB, I was quite suprised at what they have achieved.

rkhanna

No idea about this. Roles mention above are actually related to Special Group but this new unit seems something different. We will have to wait for anything related to it in future.
BTW just for reference this is the link to the new unit description i had posted previously. Its from Dec 2018.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/new...behind-enemy-lines-government-sources-1957469

"The government has chosen 96 members for the planning group, and 124 for the assault group.

The assault group is further divided into two sub-units -- as is the practice in all special force units of the world -- namely, attack and support units to ensure smooth deployment and seamless coordination.

The unit is the brainchild of National Security Adviser Ajit Doval, a senior officer of the National Security Council said. "A note pertaining to it has been sent to the cabinet committee," he said. "Threats from air and sea are multiplying every day, so in the times to come we need to be prepared, that's why this unit is being created," he said.

The soldiers in the attack unit, apart from having top fighting skills, will know specialised field craft such as reading hi-tech maps and coordinating with air support, which the unit will eventually get. The support group will have soldiers who have local knowledge of the target area and can provide intelligence inputs to the assault unit."

The Above to me sounded like a true blue Tier I asset being set up.

AFSOD as we have it now seems like a Joint Command being set up.