Indian special forces carry out cross border operation into Myanmar. Several militants killed

You might sleep tight tonight. NDTV , Burkha says that army sources say that casualty is indeed 50+. :)
Yessssss....... :biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2:
That makes me happy....atleast 3x kills.

Voldemort

Rajyavardhan Rathore says to NDTV it was a surgical strike to take out terror camps... So it was not just about chasing a band of terrorists. Rathore says: "This country does not tolerate strikes against us. We will hit them wherever they are... We will cross over and we will hit. Absolutely, we went inside Myanmar territory...and carried out the strikes. To eliminate militancy is extremely important...we have great co-operation by nations around (suggesting Myanmar)... Two camps were completely annihilated, not a single Indian casualty".

Voldemort

New Delhi, June 9: The operation that the Indian army launched along the Myanmar border today was possibly one of the toughest in the region till date. Over a 100 army personnel with aerial support combed the area extensively and inflicted severe damage on the militants who have been hiding along the Myanmar border.

It is an ongoing operation which will last a couple of weeks. It is important that the militants are forced to move out of Myanmar and seek shelter on the Indian side of the border so that they can be neutralized. A mechanism with the help of Myanmar is already in place to ensure that the militants are pushed into the Indian border, sources informed OneIndia. Hunting the militants down: This is an ongoing operation and will last several weeks, officials informed.

The militants who have been beaten down considerably today will look to hit back and the army would need to be on high alert at all times. The border is being monitored closely and none are allowed to cross over. Major General Randhir Singh says that the army has inputs that the militants would be planning more strikes and hence the operation to neutralize them had been launched. The militants were planning on using the same men who carried out the Manipur attack he also said.

The operation by the army is being assisted by choppers which are picking up the movements of the militants. There are several militants who are trapped along the border with this offensive being launched. Most of them will try and stay on the Myanmar side, but efforts are being made to flush them out. There is a great deal of coordination too by the intelligence bureaus of both sides. Local support to be hit:

In addition to operations along the border, the Indian army is also looking for their local support in India. Militants enjoy a great deal of local support who have been intimating them about the movement of the security forces. There is a massive operation launched in various parts of North East to identify and tackle the local supporters. If these local supporters are nabbed then the militants would find it extremely difficult to operate in India. While they may take shelter in Myanmar they do rely heavily on the local network for intelligence. These militants have managed to rope in a good number of people especially along the border areas who provide them with local support. The local supporters are drawn towards these groups either for the lure of money or just because they support them ideologically. There are also a good number of persons who are forced to part with information out of fear.

Targeting the leaders: The Indian army for now will target the foot soldiers of these outfits. The leaders never come to the forefront and prefer to hide in the jungles or in other countries. The targeting of the leaders would come up in the next phase of the operation. While the neutralizing the foot soldiers would weaken these groups to a large extent, targeting the leaders would demoralize them further. In order to nab the top leadership, India is working out an operation which would involve intelligence sharing with various countries.

http://www.oneindia.com/new-delhi/m...my-is-flushing-out-the-militants-1772485.html

http://www.ndtv.com/india-news/army...militants-behind-manipur-ambush-killed-770152

NEW DELHI: The Indian Army, in a joint operation with the Air Force, engaged groups of militants at two locations on the Indo-Myanmar border today and said it had inflicted "significant casualties." Initial reports suggest that about 50 or more militants have been killed in the operations.

Sources said among the militants killed today are those behind last week's ambush of an Army convoy in which 18 soldiers were killed in Manipur's Chandel district, the deadliest attack on security forces in two decades.

Starson Lamkang of the National Socialist Council of Nagaland or NSCN(K), who is suspected to have played a key role in organising the June 4 ambush, is reportedly injured in today's operations.

RELATED

Mi-17 helicopters of the Air Force were deployed and, sources said, the Assam Rifles and the Army's Special Forces - 21 Para (SF) - carried out surgical strikes inside Myanmar, where the militants had fled to, entering about 2 km into the neighbouring country, something that was not confirmed by the Army.

"It is not like a kabaddi match where you can come in and go back. We will cross over and we will hit, we were supported by the Myanmar army," Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore told NDTV.

Major General Ranvir Songj said today's operations followed "very credible and specific intelligence" that the militants were planning to carry out more attacks. "Early this morning, the Indian Army engaged two separate groups of insurgents along the Indo-Myanmar border at two locations, along the Nagaland and Manipur borders. Significant casualties have been inflicted on them. As a consequence, threats to our civilian population and security forces were averted," the General said.

Sources said the operations took place in Ukhrul, Manipur, and in Tuensang district of Nagaland, where a mixed group of militants attempted to infiltrate into India.

Militants belonging to People's Liberation Army (PLA), United National Liberation Front (UNLF) and Kanglei Yawol Kanna Lup (KYKL) have been killed.

The Army has said it is "in communication with Myanmar authorities and look forward to working with them to combat terrorism." General Songj said the Army would firmly deal with any threat to India's security.
@Rowdy

indiandefencefan

It's just NDTV. I'll wait a bit before celebrating....
The army might keep any information about the ops classified until the operation which from what I have heard might go on for the next 2-3 weeks until it is finished.
Lets hope that more information is released soon.

aliyah

The army might keep any information about the ops classified until the operation which from what I have heard might go on for the next 2-3 weeks is finished.
Lets hope that more information is released soon.
nice kill them all and need to give birth to somemore anti china outfits in china......tit for tat....u kill ours covertly,we will kill urs

Khagesh

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore on India TV spoke something about hot pursuits to the effect that:

Yeh koi khel nahi hai ki apne paale mein chale gaye to koi haat nahi laga sakta.

Translates as - This is not a play that you go to your side and cannot be touched.
:drool:

Some Indian sports like Kabaddi and children games like Pala etc. have this rule that once a member of one of the competing side goes back to his own side, after having made one raid/ingress into the opposing side's part of the ground, then he cannot be touched after having returned back. He is safe per rules of the game.

These BJP walas have a very earthy feel to their understanding.

Got the real quote:
"It is not like a kabaddi match where you can come in and go back. We will cross over and we will hit, we were supported by the Myanmar army," Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore

Yeh koi khel nahi hai ki apne paale mein chale gaye to koi haat nahi laga sakta.
:rofl: :rofl:
Kya bola hai .... Ok I will wait the few weeks...then I want 10x dead at least 180.

:rofl: :rofl:
Kya bola hai .... Ok I will wait the few weeks...then I want 10x dead at least 180.
calm down... or soon we will be having a nuclear war to satisfy your blood-thirst!!!:brahmos::cowboy::shoot:

can we expect some similar action on western border?

aliyah

yeah pak media will have that discussion and keep satisfying themselves with there aatmi bamb(nuclear bomb)

iNDiAN.96

Troll Soldier
Loved how Army said in press conference: "Karara Jawab Milega.."

Well done Indian Special Force :india:

This 50 number came from That ex-ndtv defence journo(now freelancer,sorry forgot his name) during the barkha dutt debate. i first heard it as 15 during the debate, but the idiot shudhi ranjan made it into 50. Since it was live TV, The ex-journo did not correct this during the show.

i say Shudhi ranjan of NDTV an idiot because if you look at his reports now a days, he gives very little facts. Looks like he has lost access to South block corridors. he tries to convert a single piece of information into a 15 mins of elaboration. i really doubt he has any exclusive access either in Home or defence ministry. Hence the title "IDIOT".

21st Parachute (Special Forces) and IAF’s MI-17 Participated in Myanmar Operations

Crack 21st parachute commandos along with Indian air force Mi-17-V Choppers were involved in operations, which were carried out deep inside into Myanmar border areas can be confirmed by idrw.org at this point of time.

idrw.org can confirm that 21st para commandos did not suffer any casualties and Operation clearance had come directly from PMO after Myanmar Cleared India’s request for Cross-border raid.

IB and R&AW had pinpointed NSCN Camps in Myanmar which were planning many more Ambush against Indian Army in days to come as per Intelligent reports. Recent Cross-border raid was to send a strong message to North-eastern Insurgent who have united under one umbrella organisation on instance of People’s Liberation Army (PLA) of China which have been using bases in Myanmar to attacks Indian forces .

idrw.org in the past report had hinted that Para commandos likely will be pulled in to carry out cross-border raids. Army carried out Two cross-border strikes in Two Camps in Myanmar and in both operations no Myanmar troops had participated in the raids.

http://idrw.org/21st-parachute-special-forces-and-iafs-mi-17-participated-in-myanmar-operations/

power_monger

Latest updates:

Updating figures: 22 insurgents killed, 15 seriously wounded in twin cross-border strikes in Myanmar by 21 Para Many missing

Latest updates:

Updating figures: 22 insurgents killed, 15 seriously wounded in twin cross-border strikes in Myanmar by 21 Para Many missing
source?................................

indiandefencefan

Latest updates:

Please dont post facts withought quoting a source.
Theres no way I can believe that information withought knowing where it came from.

aliyah

mizzima.com/news/chinese-gunrunner-and-myanmar-businessman-key-players-ambush