Indian Military Trucks

armyofhind

most vehicles available to civilians today will make it. I'm not saying the safari will not make it.That is not the point. It's not the same as me driving up to Khardung la. In combat situations where it has to pull a lot of weight very quickly across rough terrain. That is the issue. I could actually feel the drop in performance when I was driving my friends Scorpio which was not even heavily loaded up harshil and that's only about 12000 feet. Imagine carrying 800kgs of men in full combat gear and possibly towing something else as fast as possible under enemy fire at 15000 feet where every second matters..
Not getting the EFI system tuned for high altitudes at the service centre before commencing the trip could be one of the reasons.
That is one problem with an EFI. One cannot tune it by oneself.
Carburettors are ahead in this respect. Thats why bikers going to ladakh on carburetted machines face less of a problem there. Any biker worth his salt or even a local mechanic can tune the fuel/air mix for higher altitude with lesser oxygen content.

Krusty

Not getting the EFI system tuned for high altitudes at the service centre before commencing the trip could be one of the reasons.
That is one problem with an EFI. One cannot tune it by oneself.
Carburettors are ahead in this respect. Thats why bikers going to ladakh on carburetted machines face less of a problem there. Any biker worth his salt or even a local mechanic can tune the fuel/air mix for higher altitude with lesser oxygen content.
Agree. This is why I hate electronics in cars. To be fair, just resetting ECU will allow it to recalibrate according to the temperature and pressure. However, get it wrong and you will be stuck with an immobile vehicle. Pretty risky. Carbs are crude, but awesome. But when it comes to military vehicles, one of my main concern is all the ECU/EMU chips are made in China. It doesn't take a lot to give away your position. I'd be very VERY skeptical unless we make our own electronic components.

The version of Safari Storme for the army is quite different from the one available for civilians. The drivetrain has been upgraded and the suspension has been majorly modified to take care of off-road capabilities.
The army wanted to move away from a GS 500 (General Service 500kg) platform, which includes the Gypsy, to a GS 800 (800kg) platform as the need was for a hardtop vehicle with a heavier payload carrying capacity.
Source : http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-news/maruti-gypsy-out-tata-safari-new-army-vehicle-403693.aspx

Krusty

Can I buy 1 aut kitna deti hai??????????

I won't Mind giving away my Tiago for that thing....
Check if they are up for auction. I live near Avadi and there are so many army vehicles that are put up for auctions regularly. It's awesome.you will find all sorts of gems.

@Kunal Biswas bhai, found a new truck pic of OFB made in VRDE site

can you give me any idea about... it looks like it had punch...

This is a old photo the vehicle is perhaps under use ..

Wow WTF?
I think its safe to assume that this is the chassis used for TELs. There was some post some time back (can't remember which thread) which was discussing how Indian TELs are pathetic (even by Paki standards). I suspected otherwise, this might confirm it.
Question is was there some ToT to industry on this? Is this incorporated in the new TATA and Ashok Leyland vehicles?

Why would there be unless OFB outsourced production to them.

Besides, btoh TATA and AL should have the means to create something similar.

Interesting which vehicle is this ??
Wow WTF?
I think its safe to assume that this is the chassis used for TELs. There was some post some time back (can't remember which thread) which was discussing how Indian TELs are pathetic (even by Paki standards). I suspected otherwise, this might confirm it.
@Kunal Biswas

Anyone else think the cab at least looks quite similar to the MAN HX/SX series:

This OFB vehicle though looks FAR more powerful and specialised, a true beast, I am genuinely very impressed by OFB- I didn't think they had the ability to create such a monster.

@Kunal Biswas

This OFB vehicle though looks FAR more powerful and specialised, a true beast, I am genuinely very impressed by OFB- I didn't think they had the ability to create such a monster.
that wheel configuration didnt suit Man, Tata or Tatra 12x12, only suited with Chini trucks & Maz models,

front 3 back 3 --OOO--OOO--

that wheel configuration didnt suit Man, Tata or Tatra 12x12, only suited with Chini trucks & Maz models,

front 3 back 3 --OOO--OOO--
Agreed, the OOO--OOO-- arrangement is quite unique and certainly unlike ANYTHING we have seen in India thus far, the only other place I can find it is, as you point out, with Chinese and Russian TELs.

kurup

@Kunal Biswas

I asked about that truck in BR and reply I got was that it was a MAN truck that was trialled against TATRA but failed to become the L1 contender .

But the funny thing is there is not even a single picture of a MAN 12X12 truck .... o_O