Indian Economy: News and Discussion

I have always been wanting to know, what exactly are these hardcore reforms that everyone keeps talking about?
Land and labour reforms.............these 2 are most important
Well sorry for late reply ....

I am not expert in this commerce/finace/economic thing

But i think i can post here

first of all what most this pink papers and their journalist post/print is really dream list of chor type business men who just want to steal land resources so as to sell in future on high prices they are not interested in establishing any industry...

this pink papers just keep on arguing land and labor reforms from central gov without explaining what it means or what they want from gov...

form what what i understand is all they want is gov to acquire land on behalf of them (big firms) and then sell them at cheap rates to them

Ok now both these points are in concurrent list of constitution , state gov can change both laws in there respective states but apart from rajasthan gov none of states changed it labour law in last 5 yeras .some states change their land laws but is specific for gov projects only

Also changes made by last upa/cong to land reforms have made it impossible for any gov to acquired land without any bad optics..gov are not able to acquire land for there infra projects forget about acquiring it for business /firms/industry

What current central and various state gov can do is this gov have large set of lands allocated to various defect psu which are hardly working..What i suggest is that gov can transferre this psu eomplyee to central.state equivalent job and lease those land to any serious business entity .....

this way those psu employee wont be forced vrs and also any firms would get land at cheap rates

About labour i donot have any suggestion

India Launches TechSagar Knowledge Repository For Businesses, Startups And Researchers
The platform will host over 4K business and research entities

TechSagar will provide insights of 25 technology areas like IoT, blockchain, etc

The platform aims to provide better opportunity to businesses

To facilitate knowledge-sharing and holistic growth in the Indian tech industry for big corporations and startups, the National Cyber Security Coordinator’s office in partnership with Data Security Council of India (DSCI), launched a digital portal TechSagar on October 21. TechSagar is meant to act as a repository of over 4K businesses and research entities focusing on technology— IT industry, startups, academia and individual researchers.

TechSagar is a consolidated and comprehensive source of India’s cyber tech capabilities which will provide insights across 25 technology areas such as internet of things (IoT), Artificial Intelligence (AI), Machine Learning (ML), blockchain, cloud, virtualisation, robotics, automation, AR or VR, wireless and networking, among others.

“In order to combat the growing threat from cybercrime, there is an urgent need to collaborate and develop cyber technology capabilities in India. With the launch of TechSagar, we have sown the seed for start-ups to prosper in cyber tech,” Lt. Gen Rajesh Pant of National Cyber Security Coordinator of India of TechSagar, told Mint.

https://inc42.com/buzz/india-launch...tory-for-businesses-startups-and-researchers/

India ranked 102nd on the Global Hunger Index, an index of 117 Countries

Well, who prepared the Report?

A German NGO called WeltHungerHilfe

OK, who r the members of this NGO

Left Parties, Left TradeUnions, CatholicChurch,Evangelical Church...

Now check how coupta gave a air of legitimacy to the report and the organisation Behind it..

BSNL, MTNL to be merged; Cabinet approves four-way revival plan

In order to revive loss-making telecom PSUs BSNL and MTNL, the government today decided to merge the two ailing firms as part of a revival package that includes raising sovereign bonds, monetising assets and voluntary retirement scheme (VRS) for employees.

As part of the revival package, MTNL will be merged with BSNL. Pending this, MTNL will act as a subsidiary of BSNL.

Announcing a four step revival plan for the two companies, telecom minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said government wants to make the two state-owned telecom companies more competitive by putting in Rs 29,937 crore.

Prasad said the government will raise Rs 15,000 crore through sovereign bonds. "Assets worth Rs 38,000 crore will be monetisated in four years," Prasad added.

Prasad also announced that 4G spectrum will be allocated to BSNL and MTNL. He also said that government will offer an attractive VRS package for employees in both the companies.

Giving an example of the VRS package, Prasad said any employee above the age of 53 and half, who opts for the VRS, will be given 125% remuneration of the salary, pension and gratuity till the age of 60.

BSNL, which is yet to pay employee salaries, has a monthly bill of Rs 850 crore on this count, and has a staff 1.76 lakh on its roll.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...val-plan-for-the-two/articleshow/71721833.cms
More of our money down the drain to prop up useless PSUs.

This was dated till MTNL was making money. Now that they are both screwed, merger is ok.

Craigs

More of our money down the drain to prop up useless PSUs.

This was dated till MTNL was making money. Now that they are both screwed, merger is ok.
Both of these license raj monopoly anachronisms have to go. Along with AI and OFB. The only sector still requiring govt control is consumer banks - thats it. The reason being if they screw up whether public or private we still end up paying the bill so better have it govt owned. Everything else must be privatized.

republic_roi97

Yo , Our oil dependence will reduce from volatile west Asia and strengthen partnership with the Russians. Very important step.
Well the. chinese will be able to do the same thing we can do to them, that is cutting them off of their oil in case of war. If I were there, I wouldn't wanna increase our oil dependence on Russia. And let our majority of oil to come from middle east which is just across a sea.

Deathstar

Well the. chinese will be able to do the same thing we can do to them, that is cutting them off of their oil in case of war. If I were there, I wouldn't wanna increase our oil dependence on Russia. And let our majority of oil to come from middle east which is just across a sea.
This would lessen the insecurity chinese have against us. .......good move.

Deathstar

So, India's wealth has more than doubled since past report.
1. US at 105 trillions
2. China over 60 trillions
3. Japan over 24 trillions
4. Germany
5. France
6. UK, all 3 close at 14 trillions
7. India at 12.6 trillions, still behind but has caught up very close.
https://www.credit-suisse.com/about-us/en/reports-research/global-wealth-report.html

https://www.credit-suisse.com/media.../publications/global-wealth-databook-2019.pdf
No use of this wealth. India has one of the highest economic inequality. 1% controls 22% wealth. Equitable distribution is more important

22% would have been fantastic sir. I think it was 1% controlling ~60% of wealth.
But that was based on only income tax returns filed a few years back. It may improve a bit if we take into account the new filings. I doubt if it will reach 22% anytime soon though.

Equitable distribution will never happen, it’s a pipe dream just like climate change activism.

The name of the game is try to move up the pyramid to the best of ones own ability.

Deathstar

Equitable distribution will never happen, it’s a pipe dream just like climate change activism.

The name of the game is try to move up the pyramid to the best of ones own ability.
I know its a pipe dream but we need to strive for it as far as we can. We have too much inequality in India despite being a socialist state since independence. Better to have 30 billionaires with one billion dollar each than a single with 30 billion dollars

You can be a billionaire too if you have the determination to achieve it. Best of luck, assuming you are not a billionaire already. ;)