Indian Economy: News and Discussion

But the essential nutrients of manure is what matters. The carbon part is useless. We need N-P-K part. How can manure have more of these than consumed? Some amount of N-P-K will become inactive too due to chemical change in cow's stomach or partial digestion. So, it will become slightly less potent and will need some time for decay and replenishment
There are two ways to add those elements in this soil. One is to add them superficially. Next is to create such bacterial activities in the soil which results into uh absorption of npk and other materials from the nature. This is called the the Jaivik kheti in which soil is made alive bye creating lots of bacterias in the soil itself and as a result soil will become porous and will absorb a lots of water keep it wet from inside even in the hot Sunny season. Bacteria shall make all food required by plant.

Vijyes

There are two ways to add those elements in this soil. One is to add them superficially. Next is to create such bacterial activities in the soil which results into uh absorption of npk and other materials from the nature. This is called the the Jaivik kheti in which soil is made alive bye creating lots of bacterias in the soil itself and as a result soil will become porous and will absorb a lots of water keep it wet from inside even in the hot Sunny season. Bacteria shall make all food required by plant.
The point here is that adding nutrients in direct form is faster whereas to add bacteria to recycle, we need to keep the farm fallow for some periods in between and hence lose productivity. This is what I am telling - fertiliser is important

That message was in sarcastic tone showing big number. Btw it is a 15 billion + 1 billion (BP stake sell) dollars coming in, I watched the whole of AGM as loyal share holder :biggrin2::biggrin2:.

Yaa FDI was not an appropriate term, never the less dollars coming in is a good news and can be sure that Saudi would kick pakis in the nuts when push comes to shove.

Looks like Wajahat Khan is the first victim :p

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...-20-of-refining-to-saudis-at-75-billion-value
Trust me DFI is doing great when it comes to propaganda.

I have witnessed so many of our debates picked up by Pakistanis, even the specific words we use to enrich our sophistry.

Porki Twitter trolls are nothing but earthworms rolling on the salt and dying due to their own illiteracy.

The point here is that adding nutrients in direct form is faster whereas to add bacteria to recycle, we need to keep the farm fallow for some periods in between and hence lose productivity. This is what I am telling - fertiliser is important
Now this is called talking bull shit. Literally :pound:
No offense dudes... found it really funny.

Vijyes

Now this is called talking bull shit. Literally :pound:
No offense dudes... found it really funny.
May be you should read about efficiency factor and recycling of nutrients before commenting.

If you really think that you can recycle nutrients infinite number of times without losing it as erosion or efficiency loss dring recycling, you are a fool

May be you should read about efficiency factor and recycling of nutrients before commenting.

If you really think that you can recycle nutrients infinite number of times without losing it as erosion or efficiency loss dring recycling, you are a fool
No sir. Not interested. There are experts on the topic, and I will take their word for it.
I just found the conversation funny.

Haldiram

Amul has issued a statement saying Britannia is not putting enough butter in their Good Day biscuits, aaj Britannia ki pitai hogi.

Amul says that they put 20% real butter in their biscuits and claims that Britannia and Parle put less than 5%. Investors be like "are baapre! itta butter! toh benco, kabhi stock markit pe apna stock daalo na khusboo lagake." :drool:

Never thought I'd see a day where biscuit makers will fight with each other over butter and flour for market share.

That is what we are following for last few decades. Where 25 kg of chemical fertilizer was sufficient for a piece of land few decades ago, now 10 times more fertilizer is not sufficient. Soil is totally spoiled due to chemical fertilizer and water retention capacity of soil has reduced to 10 to 20% of what it used to be before the use of chemical fertilizer. This is the main reason for flood and drought. It is becoming costly day by day due to excessive requirement of fertilizer every next year. Chemical fertilizer is the main reason of ruining of agriculture sector and suicide of farmers. Chemical fertilizer prepared agriculture products are inferior to organic or natural fertilizer.It is harmful to health as well and bad is test.

Vijyes

That is what we are following for last few decades. Where 25 kg of chemical fertilizer was sufficient for a piece of land few decades ago, now 10 times more fertilizer is not sufficient. Soil is totally spoiled due to chemical fertilizer and water retention capacity of soil has reduced to 10 to 20% of what it used to be before the use of chemical fertilizer. This is the main reason for flood and drought. It is becoming costly day by day due to excessive requirement of fertilizer every next year. Chemical fertilizer is the main reason of ruining of agriculture sector and suicide of farmers. Chemical fertilizer prepared agriculture products are inferior to organic or natural fertilizer.It is harmful to health as well and bad is test.
How many times I said that fertiliser must be applied according to soil Condition? When fertiliser is applied this season, the soil Condition will change. So, in next season, we have to apply different fertiliser or at least add some additional micronutrients and macronutrients like zinc, magnesium, copper in addition to fertiliser. Also, if the soil has become acidic because of urea, some amount of gypsum or lime has to be added to deacidify.

If one simply applies same fertiliser every year, he is bound to go wrong.

Also, just because chemical fertiliser is used doesn't mean gobar is not applied. Manure or gobar is always applied during tilling to ensure the soil becomes soft and increases its water retention capacity in addition to providing some nutrient.

What you are recommending - only organic fertiliser - is unfeasible.

How many times I said that fertiliser must be applied according to soil Condition? When fertiliser is applied this season, the soil Condition will change. So, in next season, we have to apply different fertiliser or at least add some additional micronutrients and macronutrients like zinc, magnesium, copper in addition to fertiliser. Also, if the soil has become acidic because of urea, some amount of gypsum or lime has to be added to deacidify.

If one simply applies same fertiliser every year, he is bound to go wrong.

Also, just because chemical fertiliser is used doesn't mean gobar is not applied. Manure or gobar is always applied during tilling to ensure the soil becomes soft and increases its water retention capacity in addition to providing some nutrient.

What you are recommending - only organic fertiliser - is unfeasible.
I repeatedly told you the demerits of chemical fertilizers and I also told you that next time higher quantity of fertilizer is required. Chemical fertilizer is an outdated concept.
Second, you told that every time different fertilizer should be added. No it should not. You have to add urea, DAP etc every time. These are main type of fertilizers which is added every time according to crop you want to take. can you skip urea or DAP ?

Yes micro neutracians should be added but there is no substitute of chemical fertilizers in chemical fertilizers. They are bound to spoil your soil irrespective of which chemical fertilizer you add. Every time higher amount of fertilizers shall be required than previous year. It will kill bacteria in soil as well which absorbs nitrogen from air and supply to plants.
Moreover, the quantity as well as quality of food grain or fruit is deteriorates as well. Chemical fertilizer is destruction of your agriculture. There are numerous examples in Maharashtra as well as in rest of India where the agriculture of farmers using chemical fertilizer is destroyed completely while those who uses bio fertilizers have lush green farms producing lots of agriculture items without any cost.

Vijyes

Do you see the productivity of UP, Haryana etc which use chemical fertiliser? Can such productivity arise from manure?

The requirement of fertiliser per plant remains same. I don't see why would someone need large amount of fertiliser increasing progressively. In the initial years the field may have its own nutrients and hence need less fertiliser bit over time the amount of fertiliser will have to increase till a saturation level is reached. It won't increase beyond that.

But yield will not just depend on NPK fertiliser. Yield also depends on macronutrients and micronutrients. Farmers fail to add these nutrients and hence they find yield yo be decreasing. If all nutrients are also added in addition to fertiliser, the yield will remain stable. Government has started "soil health card" for this reason. Farmers have to add nutrients and also other chemicals to make the soil pH stable in addition to fertiliser.

If all the above items are added properly (fertiliser, nutrients and pH stabiliser) then the productivity won't come down. Manure also is better added while tilling to increase soil water holding capacity. But manure itself is not enough for fertilising.

I repeatedly told you the demerits of chemical fertilizers and I also told you that next time higher quantity of fertilizer is required. Chemical fertilizer is an outdated concept.
Second, you told that every time different fertilizer should be added. No it should not. You have to add urea, DAP etc every time. These are main type of fertilizers which is added every time according to crop you want to take. can you skip urea or DAP ?

Yes micro neutracians should be added but there is no substitute of chemical fertilizers in chemical fertilizers. They are bound to spoil your soil irrespective of which chemical fertilizer you add. Every time higher amount of fertilizers shall be required than previous year. It will kill bacteria in soil as well which absorbs nitrogen from air and supply to plants.
Moreover, the quantity as well as quality of food grain or fruit is deteriorates as well. Chemical fertilizer is destruction of your agriculture. There are numerous examples in Maharashtra as well as in rest of India where the agriculture of farmers using chemical fertilizer is destroyed completely while those who uses bio fertilizers have lush green farms producing lots of agriculture items without any cost.

Do you see the productivity of UP, Haryana etc which use chemical fertiliser? Can such productivity arise from manure?
Yes. It has already risen. Read something about the farmers who have pioneered organic farming like Subhash palekar and Bharat Bhushan Tyaggi who has got Padma awards. Who were called by Niti Ayog to discuss the plan to double the farmer's income.
The requirement of fertiliser per plant remains same. I don't see why would someone need large amount of fertiliser increasing progressively. In the initial years the field may have its own nutrients and hence need less fertiliser bit over time the amount of fertiliser will have to increase till a saturation level is reached. It won't increase beyond that.
Educate yourself.
But yield will not just depend on NPK fertiliser. Yield also depends on macronutrients and micronutrients. Farmers fail to add these nutrients and hence they find yield yo be decreasing. If all nutrients are also added in addition to fertiliser, the yield will remain stable. Government has started "soil health card" for this reason. Farmers have to add nutrients and also other chemicals to make the soil pH stable in addition to fertiliser.
Agreed. Like desi fertilizers, there are desi ways to add micronutrients to soil. It can be taken from different stones, Copper or zink waste, Various dals, and oil seed. I have already started doing that.
If all the above items are added properly (fertiliser, nutrients and pH stabiliser) then the productivity won't come down. Manure also is better added while tilling to increase soil water holding capacity. But manure itself is not enough for fertilising.
Manure added in particular manner is more than chemical fertilizers and gives higher yield and better quality. This is well established now. The farmers who have taken record production are using organic fertilizers only.

Haldiram

Amul has issued a statement saying Britannia is not putting enough butter in their Good Day biscuits, aaj Britannia ki pitai hogi.

Amul says that they put 20% real butter in their biscuits and claims that Britannia and Parle put less than 5%. Investors be like "are baapre! itta butter! toh benco, kabhi stock markit pe apna stock daalo na khusboo lagake." :drool:

Never thought I'd see a day where biscuit makers will fight with each other over butter and flour for market share.
Amul has gone full nigga on their competitors.

They've recently entered the butter biscuit market (total biscuit sector is valued at rs 15,000 crores in India) and immediately started challenging Britannia, ITC, Parle for a share of that sweet 15k crore pie, with some aggressive marketing. Expect ITC and Britannia stocks to be down minimum -20% from wherever they are presently. Amul is going to eat their market share like a biscuit.

Earlier em niggas had attacked Kwality Walls over cream content in ice-cream, now that company is down in the dumps.

https://www.businesstoday.in/top-st...itannia-itc-foods-and-parle/story/368157.html

Haldiram

Any possibility of getting some good deal?
View attachment 37541
SBI seems inclined towards 190 - 210. This could be a good contrarian buy. They already absorbed 5 small banks. In the future, SBI and HDFC might become a duopoly in the banking sector. HDFC is in a completely different league, no questions about it, but the stock price is also commanding a high premium so it's a good company at an expensive price. SBI may be a better buy than HDFC purely from a stock returns point of view, even though it is not a better company. The rains have caused a lot of losses, let's see what story the November balance sheet tells.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The slowdown continues unabated. Bosch has just reported -35% decline in Q1 profit. Balkrishna profits -25% down. BS6 norms will take another year to come into force, until then people will postpone their vehicle purchase so this year is going to be dull. Would still accumulate good auto stocks at deep discounts to intrinsic value.

Bosch's Indian Unit Says Outlook For Auto Industry "Extremely" Challenging

DG7867

View: Four options to revive the Indian economy
The obvious indicator is GDP growth and the immediate timeline is 2019-20 and 2020-21.
ET CONTRIBUTORS|
Updated: Aug 12, 2019, 10.40 AM IST

By Bibek Debroy

Where is the economy headed? The answer depends on the timeline and indicator. The obvious indicator is GDP growth — that is, real GDP growth — and the immediate timeline is 2019-20 and 2020-21.

For 2018-19, there was real annual growth of 6.8%. But for the four quarters, the number was 8%, 7%, 6.6% and 5.8%, respectively, a progressive slowing. Both the Economic Survey and budget expect real GDP growth to be 7% in 2019-20. In its latest projections, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) also expects 6.9%, with 5.8-6.6% in the first half, and 7.3-7.5% in the second.

Sundry other organisations and individuals have their own numbers. Most of these are around 7%, a few decimal points higher or lower. Implicitly, if not explicitly, there has to be some assumption about inflation, measured by the GDP deflator. There is near unanimity about this being 4%.

None of these projections are based on sophisticated modelling. That is close to impossible. Therefore, there are subjective calls to make. The critical one is about Q4 2018-19. Was that an aberration? If it was, then basing oneself on 6.8%, 7% in 2019-20 is eminently doable. After all, if one contrasts 2017-18 with 2018-19, there have been no remarkable changes in the growth components of consumption, government expenditure, investments and net exports.

However, if 5.8% was no an aberration? If it was, then basing oneself on 6.8%, 7% in 2019-20 is eminently doable. After all, if one contrasts 2017-18 with 2018-19, there have been no remarkable changes in the growth components of consumption, government expenditure, investments and net exports.

However, if 5.8% was no an aberration, given the progressive slackening over several quarters, then 7% is implausible. When Q1 2019-20 figures become available at the end of the month, there will be more clarity, and we will be better informed. But as things stand now, a little less than 6% in the first half of 2019-20, and a little more than 6% in the second half of 2019-20, are not unlikely. In other words, 6% in 2019-20, not 7%.

Time Lags
Consumption, investment, government expenditure and net exports — which of these indicates a breaking away from a band of 6-6.5% (6% in 2019-20 and 6.5% in 2020-21)? There is a long list of desirable reforms (such as reform in factor markets) that can trigger these. But they take time to deliver, and when reforms are delivered, there are time lags before delivery manifests itself in the form of higher growth.

Meanwhile, if we take $5 trillion as an objective, 8% required growth computed by the Economic Survey becomes elusive. (In any event, required growth will be higher than 8%.) The long list of desirable reforms typically involves state governments, legislature and judiciary, and there is a political economy attached to pushing these. Therefore, options for the Union government — Union government being properly defined —are limited.

But there are options, though these too will have time lags of at least a year before they manifest as higher growth. Here are four to make the transition to 8%, and all four are Union government prerogatives.

Remove CSR
1. Direct taxes: The task force on direct taxes has now received an extension till August 16. Thus one doesn’t know the recommendations. Essentially, exemption reduction is a red herring. For both personal income tax and corporate tax, they must be eliminated. Anything short of that is incremental tweaking, such as special treatment for this slab or that.

If all exemptions are eliminated, compliance costs decline, & tax rates can drop significantly for both corporate tax and personal income tax. Without taking a revenue hit, surcharges and corporate social responsibility (CSR) can both be removed. The world isn’t neatly divided into salaried taxpayers who pay personal income taxes and corporate business. Unincorporated enterprise is covered by personal incometax provisions. If all exemptions are removed, median tax rates for both will probably be around 20%.

2. GST: Though indirect tax rates are decided by the Goods and Services Tax (GST) Council, the Union government has a voice. Now that GST has been in the works for some time, we need three rates — something like 6%, 12% and 18%. As with direct taxes, exemptions and special treatment are antithetical to streamlining and simplification, and do not facilitate procedural easing.

3. Public expenditure: The 15th FinanceNSE -4.80 % Commission will submit its recommendations towards the end of the year, and they will come into effect from April 1, 2020. The present package of central sector and centrally sponsored schemes also ends on March 31, 2020.

Ostensibly, the number of such schemes has been reduced to 28. But these 28 are umbrella schemes, and the large number of existing schemes were simply gathered under one or the other of these parasols, without really reducing the number. Because of fiscal consolidation commitments, there are limits to increasing public expenditure. However, existing levels of public expenditure can be made more efficient by pruning the number of centrally sponsored schemes to not more than 10-15.

4. Privatisation of ‘central’ public sector enterprises (PSEs): This should start with an inventory of land, both because valuation of land is contentious and because such PSE land often belongs to state governments, with leases for a specific purpose.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...-of-revival/articleshow/70634378.cms?from=mdr

Expect money to start coming back to India in 7-10 days: Sunil Subramaniam, Sundaram Mutual Fund

It has been quite a turbulent market in the last few weeks with consistent foreign fund outflows because of the FPI surcharge issue. What is your view on the market sentiment?

FPIs naturally have been upset with the taxation issue and meetings have been held with the finance minister. Last, we understand that it has also been escalated to the PMO in terms of the tax. So, we remain reasonably optimistic that some sort of correction on the taxation front either a rollback or some modification to favour the FPIs would be coming through in the coming weeks.

But that apart, we also observe on month to date basis, that there have been FII outflows from all emerging markets. So I would say that while initially post budget it did get triggered by this taxation issue, today it is the larger issue in terms of money flow coming out of emerging market as a whole and it is not so much India specific. So, we do think that with the situation developing, money should start coming back to India in about a week, ten days time as there is some resolution on the taxation front.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...sundaram-mutual-fund/articleshow/70660309.cms