Indian Air Force Collaborates With Uttar Pradesh Government To Have Its First Road Runway

armyofhind

For people saying it's not possible in India, they should know better than to shoot their mouth off without having any knowledge of what's what.

Mirages and Jaguars have been doing it by operating from dispersed locations as part of exercises for years now.
This thing has just begun to be covered by the press.

The airbase at Ambala is already a part of the highway and there's an emergency highway to be used in contingencies and such not far from the base.

Yamuna Expressway already exists and for people saying it can't be maintained, they need to take a drive on it first.

smestarz

Airports aur air strips kya kam pad rahe hai?
What abt the security and maintenance of these "air strips"
Even express ways are becoming shitty, what if they start to maintain the strips and then war starts?
F*** ed
Bhai highway landing toh defense- strategic asset hai.
Politics se iska kya relation?
:biggrin2:
Safai pe toh kaam chal raha hai.
Tyagi pakda gaya, :prison: auron ko bhi pakdenge.:salute:

Airports aur air strips kya kam pad rahe hai?
What abt the security and maintenance of these "air strips"
Even express ways are becoming shitty, what if they start to maintain the strips and then war starts?
F*** ed

There is no dearth of airports today. But bro, in war you need redundant and resilient infrastructure to support your war machine.
Abbe have some shame. Learn something from Taiwan and how it organises its defence in the face of certain defeat. Do they not use most of their highways for this purpose? That is how a country that takes its threats seriously reacts. If India is doing this, its good. It means maybe we have started taking things a bit more seriously. Its not good defense policies (such as increasing infrastructure resilience and redundancy) that get you fu**ed if war starts, its the laid-back attitude (like the one you just displayed) that causes 1962-type disasters.

8 IAF fighter jets to touch down Agra-Lucknow Expressway on Nov 21
PTI Representative image,
AGRA: What could be termed as historical event, 8 Indian Air Force fighter jets will touch down on Agra-Lucknow expressway on its grand opening on November 21, the eve of Mulayam Singh Yadav's 78th birthday.
UP expressways industrial development authority CEO Navneet Sehgal confirmed this to TOI. He said, "All arrangements have been made to conduct the grand inauguration. A squadron of eight fighter jets will land and take off from newly constructed expressway."
A dream project of UP CM Akhilesh Yadav, the 302-km expressway, which has been completed in a record time of 22 months and has cost Rs 13,200 crore, will get operational by December.
On Saturday, several officials including Sehgal and Air Vice Marshal Rajesh Issar, senior officer administration of Central Air Command inspected the expressway stretch in Bangarmau of Unnao district, for the event.
Several attempts were made to contact IAF officials to get more details about the event, but none responded.
Though IAF official source on anonymity said, "To conduct safe landings of eight fighter jets, necessary safety requirements such as bird clearance, safety services, rescue vehicles and temporary air traffic control need to be set up."
According to UPEIDA source, "A dedicated 2 km stretch has been built for war-like emergencies on expressway, though we have also ensured that eco-system on the stretch is not disturbed."
Last year in the month of May, in a first for military aviation in the country, IAF successfully landed a French Dassault Mirage-2000 fighter jet on the Yamuna Expressway near Raya village, Mathura, as a part of elaborate trials to see how many other highways can be used for war-like emergencies.
At present, countries such as Germany, Poland, Sweden, South Korea, Taiwan, Finland, Switzerland, Poland, Singapore, Czechoslovakia and Pakistan have dedicated stretches on their expressways and highways for airplanes to land and take off in case of an emergency.
IAF Landing on Road Strips, pretty good, landing for ocassion of birthday of Mulayam Singh Yadav, hell!:dude:

Duplicate post purged!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

smestarz

Its never fun replying to retards. but here goes

The big difference between India and countries like Taiwan, Sweden, Finland is that their land is limited.
If you do not really know Geography, Taiwan is an island, and they have excellent and well developed industry, thus their need takes them to think of using Highways as emergency runaways. Further you can compare the road discipline in Japan or Taiwan and then compare it with India.

Further, are you aware that most of the black money is funneled through Bihar /UP area? How does that happen without local political support?

Airport ek ghante close hua to tumhari phatti hai, imagine closing the highway for a day,. everyhthing will get chocked specially delhi.

1962 was really a disaster by Nehru, do have a nice read about it,. he sent a guirella force behind the chinese lines and expected these soldiers to live off the inhospitable land..

To correct you, 1962 did not happened because of stupid people like me but because people like you voted for Tharki uncle, Do read about JFKs and other leaders notes, Tharki uncle was more interested in chasing Jackie than having talk with JFK.. When the country is in hands of a man who only thinks of romantic ventures with videshi maal.. aisa hi hoga..

There is no dearth of airports today. But bro, in war you need redundant and resilient infrastructure to support your war machine.
Abbe have some shame. Learn something from Taiwan and how it organises its defence in the face of certain defeat. Do they not use most of their highways for this purpose? That is how a country that takes its threats seriously reacts. If India is doing this, its good. It means maybe we have started taking things a bit more seriously. Its not good defense policies (such as increasing infrastructure resilience and redundancy) that get you fu**ed if war starts, its the laid-back attitude (like the one you just displayed) that causes 1962-type disasters.

smestarz

BTW the guy in picture is as bald as Tharki uncle ... thats the tip and did look as desperate as tharki uncle when the JFKw as talking about politics .. thats how we lost 1962

Its never fun replying to retards. but here goes
Call me a retard or whatever you want, I do not take affront to personal remarks.

The big difference between India and countries like Taiwan, Sweden, Finland is that their land is limited.
If you do not really know Geography, Taiwan is an island, and they have excellent and well developed industry, thus their need takes them to think of using Highways as emergency runaways. Further you can compare the road discipline in Japan or Taiwan and then compare it with India.
Taiwan, Sweden, Finland are all using highways as emergency runways due to their absence of strategic depth.
I am sure you are aware that we lack strategic depth of the sort China has. Given our limited strategic depth, its only prudent we increase resilience and redundancy of our infrastructure.

Also, expressways are in their infancy in this country but are fast expanding. It will take time before we see such expressways in other areas of strategic importance. Until then practicing such tactics on currently operational expressways is a good step.

Airport ek ghante close hua to tumhari phatti hai, imagine closing the highway for a day,. everyhthing will get chocked specially delhi.
If the situation is so bad that we have to use emergency landing strips so close to the capital during a war with PRC, surely the citizens of India would not mind spending an extra 2 hours covering the Delhi-Agra stretch via NH19/44 instead of crying foul over the shutdown of the Yamuna expressway.

1962 was really a disaster by Nehru, do have a nice read about it,. he sent a guirella force behind the chinese lines and expected these soldiers to live off the inhospitable land..

To correct you, 1962 did not happened because of stupid people like me but because people like you voted for Tharki uncle, Do read about JFKs and other leaders notes, Tharki uncle was more interested in chasing Jackie than having talk with JFK.. When the country is in hands of a man who only thinks of romantic ventures with videshi maal.. aisa hi hoga..
I am well aware of why we lost 1962. My point being, not being militarily prepared and adopting Nehru's "forward policy" was a bad defense policy that lost us the war whereas increasing resilience and redundancy of war infrastructure is a sound policy.

Further, are you aware that most of the black money is funneled through Bihar /UP area? How does that happen without local political support?
Yaar news main black money sun-sun ke pak gaya hoon.
Idhar bhi black money?

giphy.gif

smestarz

Still using highways during war is not going to be vialble,
Though its good for emergency take off or landing ..
Its a nice highway we have got, ones it gets completed fully, its going to look and feel like a autobahn like expressway.

republic_roi97

Still using highways during war is not going to be vialble,
Though its good for emergency take off or landing ..
I think that is the whole purpose of this activity. They would use for emergency landing and takeoff.

republic_roi97

I think that this highway is the fastest ever to be materialized in uttar pradesh.

IAF to conduct full War drill on Agra-Lucknow Express on October 24
Thursday, October 12, 2017 By: News Nation Source Link: CLICK HERE

Indian Air Force is all set to carry out full war drill on Agra-Lucknow Expressway at Bangarmau in Uttar Pradesh on October 24.

Sources close to News Nation in the Uttar Pradesh government and Indian Air Force confirmed the development.

According to plans, more than 20 aircrafts and cargo planes of the Indian Air Force will participate in the war drill on the expressway.

Sources told our reporter that Sukhoi, Tejas, Mikoyan MiG-29, Dassault Mirage 2000, Jaguar, MiG-27ML, MiG-21, Boeing C-17 Globemaster III, Ilyushin Il-76MD and Lockheed C-130J Super Hercules will take part in the drill.

According to a senior Indian Air Force, official Hercules will be a major attraction of the Indian Air Force drill as it is one of the largest carrier vehicles.

The official added all the planes will take off and land on the Expressway.

According to an Uttar Pradesh administrative official stationed at Bangarmau told News Nation that preparations for the drill have begun.

“We have received a list of requirements from the Indian Air Force. We are accordingly preparing,” added the administrative officer.

“Such drills are must during peace days. We have to identify the places where are jets can land and take off during wartime if enemy manages to destroy are major A-strips,” said Maj Gen KV S Lalotra (Retd) who has held important command and staff positions in the Indian Army. Maj Gen Lalotra commanded the strategic 17 Mtn Division along the Indo-China bprder at Sikkim and was the ADG Territorial Army.

The Agra-Lucknow Expressway is 302-km six-lane Expressway which can be expanded to 8-lane. The expressway starts from Agra to reach Lucknow via Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etawah, Oraia, Kannauj, Hardoi,Kanpur Nagar and Unnao.

The 302 kilometer-long expressway was completed in a record time of 22 months at the cost of Rs 13,200 crore.

Six fighter jets of the Indian Air Force participated at the opening ceremony of last year in November at Unnao, around 50 km from Lucknow.

Last year in the month of May, in a first for military aviation in the country, IAF successfully landed a French Dassault Mirage-2000 fighter jet on the Yamuna Expressway near Raya village, Mathura, as a part of elaborate trials to see how many other highways can be used for war-like emergencies.
http://www.defencenews.in/article/I...-on-Agra-Lucknow-Express-on-October-24-404065