India Could Have Saved The Sino-Indian War of 1962 and lives of its Soldiers Too!

Yatharth Singh

Knowledge is power.
I came through this today only while listening to "Aye mere watan ke logo" by Lata Mangeshkar and this is really shocking.

As most of the Indians consider it as a sudden attack by Chinese but actually it was not. Our then Defence Minister V.K. Krishna Menon and Prime Minister Nehru were told repeatedly about it for a Chinese aggression 3 years before the War.

It is a very famous incident known by everyone that Prime Minister Nehru cried while listening to this song. But Nehru cried not because of the song alone but because of his guilt of not considering the repeated warnings given by the then CHIEF OF ARMY STAFF Kodendera Subayya Thimayya.

This was the man who predicted the Sino-Indian war years before. And resigned early because his reports were not taken into serious consideration. He wanted to prepare the army on the Eastern Front for the so called havoc.

From Wikipedia, a short briefing,
General Kodandera Subayya Thimmaiah assumed charge of the Indian Army, as the 6th Chief of Army Staff, on 7 May 1957. He briefly resigned his post in 1959 over a dispute with V. K. Krishna Menon, then minister for defence, He retired from the army in 1961, almost 15 months before.
In 1959, he handed his resignation in protest to Prime Minister Nehru due to Defence Minister V.K. Krishna Menon's refusal to consider his plans for preparing the Army for the forthcoming Sino-Indian conflict of 1962. Prime Minister Jawahar Lal Nehru refused to accept it and persuaded him in withdrawing his resignation. However, little action was taken on Thimayya's recommendations and he continued as the Army Chief till his retirement on 7 May 1961, completing 35 years of distinguished military service.
Kodendera Subayya Thimayya - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

It left me crying that even knowing about all this and the precious life of our infantryman could be saved, our politicians did this. I usually thought that this habit of neglecting the armed forces by politicians is recent. But after knowing about all this, I`m sorry but i`s wrong. POLITICIANS ONLY KNOW TO SPEAK SHIT FROM THEIR BL**DY MOUTH BUT WILL NEVER REALIZE THE VALUE OF A LIFE AND THAT TOO OF A SOLDIER.

And it also makes one thing clear that, "ISS DESH ME EK JAAN KI KOI KEEMAT NI HAI".
A salute to Kodendera Subayya Thimayya and curse upon Nehru. :'( :(

Phenom

Even if we had prepared, its unlikely that the war would have been avoided. Chinese would still have launched an attack, but our forces may have fared far better and may not have lost so much territory.

Wikipedia is not always a reliable source of information. Truth is that India was unprepared militarily & politically, so suffered a loss.

rockstar

Always hope for the best and prepare for the worst..Thats the best option

Yatharth Singh

Knowledge is power.

Yatharth Singh

Knowledge is power.
...................................so suffered a loss.
How easy for you to say this, so simple na? Ya indeed it is, what are you losing in saying this, NOTHING.

Just go and ask those wives what they have lost during 1962. Go ask those those children what they have lost. Go ask those parents what they have lost. ASK EACH AND EVERY INDIAN WHAT THEY LOST DURING 1962. They lost their honor. Nehru should have been buried then and there only.

OUR SOLDIERS LOST THEIR LIVES WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN SAVED. Your "LOSS" contain a hell lot of things which you yourself wouldnt understand.

Today you smoke like this(your avatar) because we have our soldiers protecting us. RESPECT THEIR LIFE AT LEAST IF YOU ARE AN INDIAN OR I DONT KNOW WHAT, I JUST SIMPLY DONT CARE. I know what I have to do.

That's true. Even when we were initially being considered as an Indian protectorate, there were repeated discussions at out places in local level where we were apprehensive of a Chinese attack when they started slowly meddling inside Bhutan. Though our king was not a far-sighted one, he made it a point to tell Nehru that it wasn't safe the way Nehru had left Sikkim and Arunachal (NEFA at that time).

Not just that but repeated warnings from DM as well as general Thimayya. TO stem this, there was also a plan to approach both USSR and USA for weapons in advance before we went for an indigenization program. USSR was even ready to offer weapons for sale. But Nehru wanted to scrap off the Army and was ready to gift China east Ladakh to ensure that Mao would not attack India!!
The rascal actually went that low to appease the Chinese rather than build up defense. However, without heeding warnings when things were getting tough, Nehru sobered and decided with the stupid FORWARD POLICY rather than first building up the military.

And in the end what he wanted to gift to Mao, was actually taken by the PLA.

Even today, CONgress don't understand Chinese strategy of acquiring land; they study the borders for months to understand the pattern of guard patrol of opposite Army-- when they stay when they leave. Once they're out, the first thing that is sent is their road builders. As they build roads alongside the LAC, they inch into Indian and Bhutanese territory, encouraged by the PLA. Since media is in their control, they mobilize them to start putting Chinese logic behind the grabbing and threaten the use of force to our soldiers.

When IA demands that they be allowed to retaliate, the new is suppressed by the UPA to this date. This practise still continues as it is evident in the eastern borders.

DMF

That's true. Even when we were initially being considered as an Indian protectorate, there were repeated discussions at out places in local level where we were apprehensive of a Chinese attack when they started slowly meddling inside Bhutan. Though our king was not a far-sighted one, he made it a point to tell Nehru that it wasn't safe the way Nehru had left Sikkim and Arunachal (NEFA at that time).

Not just that but repeated warnings from DM as well as general Thimayya. TO stem this, there was also a plan to approach both USSR and USA for weapons in advance before we went for an indigenization program. USSR was even ready to offer weapons for sale. But Nehru wanted to scrap off the Army and was ready to gift China east Ladakh to ensure that Mao would not attack India!!
The rascal actually went that low to appease the Chinese rather than build up defense. However, without heeding warnings when things were getting tough, Nehru sobered and decided with the stupid FORWARD POLICY rather than first building up the military.

And in the end what he wanted to gift to Mao, was actually taken by the PLA.

Even today, CONgress don't understand Chinese strategy of acquiring land; they study the borders for months to understand the pattern of guard patrol of opposite Army-- when they stay when they leave. Once they're out, the first thing that is sent is their road builders. As they build roads alongside the LAC, they inch into Indian and Bhutanese territory, encouraged by the PLA. Since media is in their control, they mobilize them to start putting Chinese logic behind the grabbing and threaten the use of force to our soldiers.

When IA demands that they be allowed to retaliate, the new is suppressed by the UPA to this date. This practise still continues as it is evident in the eastern borders.

You Indians have your own perspective of the 1962 war, from China side, we have our own viewpoint, at the year of 1962, China still recovering from the 3 years big famine, we are enemy of all the west world, having a big row with the soviet, and the border arear are far from any China city, the logistic is a deadly task, China has no intention and at no positon to have a war with India, but dear Mr Nehru pushed his forward policy very hard, without a fighting, he will keep on pushing. The war took place in two phases, before the main battle, India get assitance both from USA and the Soviet, the Chinese army took many new weapons from India, and return them all, many new things China army never see before

You are feed with heaps of untrue propaganda. Your army was acclimatizing troops three years before 1962 during 3 big ! famine. So please spare us with this bias and it has already been debunked here at DFI. Indian army fought with hands at many posts they lost because of lack of equipments and weapons, i do not know which latest weapons your army took away from men fighting with punches and knives.

debasree

man all the chinese friends here are come here after serious brain storming from their chineese media ,which are govt controlled ,so they have many rubbish idea ,so they are posting all of garbage ,

That's what I said: Our war with you was lost because of that douchebag called Nehru. Nothing else.

New weapons? Come on! The whole damn reason we were outdone by PLA at that time was because Nehru the cur refused to buy new weapons. The klutz actually wanted to scrap Indian military and become a Gandhian (a.k.a weak and cowardly) state!! Most of IA was armed with only WW-2 weapons and some that we bought during the post independence war with Pakistan. That's all.

If he had got swanky weapons like you said, things would have been deadly different during that war.

You are feed with heaps of untrue propaganda. Your army was acclimatizing troops three years before 1962 during 3 big ! famine.

Give me an indian source clearly stating which chinese army involved. The fact is you can't. Then you just tell me that you know our army was acclimatizing 3 years before 1962? Who are you tring to fool? Chinese? or Your countryman?
It is quit normal for any intellegence to expect a potential war caused by territory dispute. But saying you can find Chinese military preparation 3 years ago is just too far.

Indian army fought with hands at many posts they lost because of lack of equipments and weapons, i do not know which latest weapons your army took away from men fighting with punches and knives.
Really? How about Cannon, machine gun and rifles.

1962ÄêÖÐÓ¡Õ½Õù£º°ÑÎäÆ÷²Á¸É¾»»¹¸øÓ¡¶ÈÈË[×éͼ]_ÎÄ»¯¶ÁÊéÉçÇø_ÐÂÀËÍø

man all the chinese friends here are come here after serious brain storming from their chineese media ,which are govt controlled ,so they have many rubbish idea ,so they are posting all of garbage ,
Yes, india was so open that your goveronment's report regarding sino-india war is still kept secretly untill today.

P

pi314159

Wonder how Indian members here comment on the book "India's China war" written by Neville Maxwell. Google Neville Maxwell.

Give me an indian source clearly stating which chinese army involved. The fact is you can't. Then you just tell me that you know our army was acclimatizing 3 years before 1962? Who are you tring to fool? Chinese? or Your countryman?
It is quit normal for any intellegence to expect a potential war caused by territory dispute. But saying you can find Chinese military preparation 3 years ago is just too far.
Really? How about Cannon, machine gun and rifles.

1962����ӡս��������ɾ�����ӡ����[��ͼ]_�Ļ���������_������
No one here going to get you news links of 60s..

Here a Example:

Indian Army in 60s

1. 303 bolt action
2. Bren LMG with 30rnd mag
3. 120mm Mortar
4. 75mm Low pressure guns

PLA in 60s

1. SKS & AK
2. Ptrd
3. Mortar of all caliber
4. Guns with American Air burst ammo

Yes, india was so open that your goveronment's report regarding sino-india war is still kept secretly untill today.
Their is nothing hidden truth was obvious, Politics will be always a game of treachery..

At-least we know abt it..

ALBY

Section Moderator
After seeing this image please dont tell your army was just a peasant's army who was desperate to acquire brand new 303s and ultra modern stens of indian army

DMF

Was this photo taken in 1962? What rifle were in the hands of PLA? By the year of 1962, China do not have AK 47, when China have prolem with Veitnan in 1979, Chinese solders were useing 56 rifle, a semi-auto rifle with a 10 bullits cartridge, later changed to 65 semi-auto rifle,and then to 81 rifle, these are copies of AK 47.
The weapon is one factor in the war, but not the decisive one, at the year of 1962, less than 10 years of the Korean war, the PLA foght against USA in Korea, a much bloody 3years war, pushed UN army back from China border to the 38 line, the North Korea saved and exite untill now, so I can tell you that it's not the weapon which failed the Indian Amy. In 1962, the Chinese army was at far better position for fighting skill and spirits.