How did the ancient Chinese and Indians view each other?

ericliang313

I am a Chinese student, and I am very fascinated by the ancient relationship between two of the oldest civilizations in Asia. But what is more intriguing to me personally is that we know so little about it.

I know something of how ancient China viewed India, but how did the Indians view China and the Chinese? Can anyone help me?

Yusuf

GUARDIAN
Super Mod
Country flag
Let us start with the ancient Chinese view of India. Why don't you let is know?

satish007

I am a Chinese student, and I am very fascinated by the ancient relationship between two of the oldest civilizations in Asia. But what is more intriguing to me personally is that we know so little about it.

I know something of how ancient China viewed India, but how did the Indians view China and the Chinese? Can anyone help me?
DFI tradition is you introduce everything in member corner before you ask questions. Ancient counties had not email,mobile,Internet,nuke,few people care far far away places,but now even a 3 years old Indian knows Chinese have even invaded unprepared India so that we can not be bhai.

amoy

@satish007 Guru my perception is @ericliang313 is a Cantonese based on my pan-Chine experience :cool2: Am I correct Eric?

Last edited by a moderator:

ericliang313

Let us start with the ancient Chinese view of India. Why don't you let is know?
Very well. Buddhism has indeed influenced China tremendously, enriching Chinese philosophy, medicine, literature, and other aspects of Chinese culture, and this influence is seen everywhere in China, from Shaolin temples, to dramas, movies, parodies, video games, and childhood cartoons based on the immensely popular story of the Journey to the West.

http://news.xinhuanet.com/english/indepth/2012-11/26/c_132000063.htm