Hindu spiritual organisations are not socially conscious

SILENCE IS NOT ALWAYS GOLDEN

KG Suresh

The long-held perception that Hindu spiritual organisations are not socially conscious and they do not have deep impulse for public service, has greatly affected India's image as a whole, as it implies that the majority faith groups of India are somewhat wayward

In a high-profile television debate recently, following RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat's statement on Mother Teresa, a well-known spokesman of the Catholic Church and a leading light of inter-faith circuit, shocked many of his admirers when he lambasted the Hindu community for keeping in poverty and hunger, a majority of its people under what he called the 'obnoxious' theory of karma.

The utterances evoked sharp reaction, not only from the Hindu panellists but also from the anchor, who outrightly condemned the Christian priest's remarks which virtually implied that Hindus did not engage in social work. Interestingly, a diplomat-turned politician of the Janata Dal (United) who proclaimed himself to be a 'proud Hindu' pontificated that Hindus need to learn social service from the Christian community.

Opinion is sharply divided in the country over the role of Mother Teresa, with her supporters equating her with Mahatma Gandhi and even comparing the criticism against her with the outrage in the majority community against Wendy Doniger's book which denigrated Hindu deities; and her critics quoting eloquent testimonies including documentaries by Western scholars, and journalists such as Christopher Hitchens questioning various aspects of the late missionary nun's life and times.

But the larger issue here is the perpetuation of the myth, deliberately or due to ignorance, that Hindus are a materialistic lot and Hindu organisations indulge only in spiritual pursuits and are least concerned about the society at large, which is contrary to the facts.

This long-held perception that Hindu spiritual organisations are not socially conscious and they do not have deep impulse for public service, has greatly affected India's image as a nation and of the Indian people as a whole, as it implies that a majority faith groups of India are not socially conscious. In a world of rising religious and civilisational consciousness, this adverse image is also affecting the image of the Indian civilisation and its contributory capacity as a whole.

Apart from deliberate attempts by vested interests to highlight this distorted picture, this impression has also gained ground largely due to the intrinsic Hindu trait not to tom-tom their philanthropic activities and silently keep working for the good of the society. In this age of information warfare and aggressive evangelism, there cannot be anything more suicidal for the community.

Moreover, since the Hindu spiritual institutions are a commonwealth of faiths with spiritual, but not temporal, unity, they do not have a church like organisational infrastructure to bring them under one roof, nor has been there any ecumenical effort to bring about a networking of the Hindu institutions.

In this regard, it is pertinent to mention here that in 2009, the Global Foundation for Civilizational Harmony (India) took a historic initiative to bring under one umbrella, different Hindu organisations engaged in multifarious social activities at the first Hindu Spiritual and Service Fair in Chennai.

The organisation, an eastern initiative for conflict avoidance launched by His Holiness the Dalai Lama and former President APJ Abdul Kalam in the presence of spiritual leaders from all communities including the archbishop of Mumbai and the chief of Darul Uloom, Deoband, felt that it was necessary to bring together different Hindu spiritual and service organisations to showcase their public service activities for proper imaging of the Indian civilisation in the global discourse.

The objective of the event was not only to showcase before the community, the service activities of Hindu religious and spiritual organisations which have avoided media glare and publicity and silently worked for decades among women, children, youth, villagers, tribals and other deprived sections of the society as also natural disaster affected persons but also to enable other communities to understand the service aspect of the majority community, which is critical to inter-faith harmony.

Since then, the event has become an annual feature in Chennai and has attracted hundreds of organisations from across the country, to highlight their service activities in areas ranging from teacher schools (Ekal Vidyalaya) in the far-flung regions of the North-East to running of orphanages, hospitals, schools, cow shelters, centres for the physically and mentally challenged etc.

Often, visitors at the fair are surprised to know that the RSS, portrayed more as a remote control of the BJP in the media, alone runs over 1,40,000 service projects. The Arya Samaj, known more for its temples, runs some 24,000 educational institutions. The Sathya Sai organisation, delivers free ration to the poor and needy in many remote villages while Mata Amritanandamayi Math provides free housing for the natural disaster affected from Tamil Nadu to Uttarakhand, to cite a few instances.

Similarly, thanks to the negative media coverage, the mere mention of Vishwa Hindu Parishad, reminds many of the Ram temple movement, Bajrang Dal volunteers sporting bandana on their foreheads and battle cries of 'Jai Sri Ram'.

But the organisation labeled as extreme Right-wing alone runs 826 projects in the education sector including balwadis, secondary schools, hostels, libraries, coaching centres; over 800 medical service projects such as hospitals, mobile dispensaries, ambulances etc; 345 self-reliance projects including women self-help centres, sewing centres, animal husbandry centres besides orphanages, legal aid centres, working women hostels, women rescue centres. It also organises medical and health camps, tree plantation drives, drinking water and other rural development projects.

In the wake of the Nirbhaya incident, the Women's Wing of Prajapita Brahma Kumaris Ishwariya Vishwa Vidyalaya, launched an all India campaign on "Woman Safety — Our Safety" and "Save Women Save Nation" aimed to create public awareness and sensitisation against atrocities, injustice, deprivation, discrimination, ill-treatment and violence in all forms perpetrated on women at all levels of society — whether at home, workplace, community or during socio-cultural and religious rites and rituals.

Much before the launch of the Swachch Bharat campaign, Mata Amritanandamayi, launched the Amala Bharatam Campaign. Her impact can be gauged from the fact, that within three days of her taking up the task to clean the surrounding of Sabarimala, the abode of Lord Ayyappa and the largest pilgrimage centre in Kerala, 5,097 volunteers participated in the initiative and collected 50,000 bags of waste in 72 hours and turned the area spotless clean.

As the current debate on conversion rages on, it would be most appropriate to remember, Mahatma Gandhi had stated, "(If) instead of confining themselves purely to humanitarian work such as education, medical services to the poor and the like, they would use these activities of theirs for the purpose of proselytising, I would certainly like to withdraw.

Every nation considers its own faith to be as good as that of any other. Certainly, the great faiths held by the people of India are adequate for her people. India stands in no need of conversion from one faith to another."

In fact, addressing a distinguished gathering in Delhi some months back, the Dalai Lama had said, "While some of our Christian brothers and sisters totally devoted to God are rendering a great service, perhaps the greatest service to education, sometimes they also carry conversion activity. That is unhealthy. They should not change as faith, philosophy and culture are nurtured in different environment." It's time for some real objective reflection.

(The writer is Senior Fellow and Editor, Vivekananda International Foundation)
Silence is not always golden
Is it that Hindu activist are hitting back at the 'secularity' that has been showcased as downgrading Hinduism for 'secular' good?

If so, why?

Why this sudden backlash?

warriorextreme

Re: The long-held perception that Hindu spiritual organisations are no

The best thing about Hinduism i.e. room for multiple views on everything is also something that weakens it when compared with organized abrahmic religions.

Will hindus leave behind their caste & language barriers and unite against the common threats? I think not until organizations like VHP, RSS & individuals like Shankaracharyas work beyond declaring who is god or not & start remediation from the root causes viz. caste system, superstitions, gender bias, child marriages.

Samar Rathi

The best thing about Hinduism i.e. room for multiple views on everything is also something that weakens it when compared with organized abrahmic religions.

Will hindus leave behind their caste & language barriers and unite against the common threats? I think not until organizations like VHP, RSS & individuals like Shankaracharyas work beyond declaring who is god or not & start remediation from the root causes viz. caste system, superstitions, gender bias, child marriages.
I have nothing against RSS and they are moderate hindu organisation but i very much dislike VHP/bajrang dal :/

sgarg

Everybody spoke Sanskrit in Vedic society. Vedic society had no caste, no superstitions, no gender bias, no child marriages.

All major religions are based on VEDIC CONCEPT OF GOD.

Even Jesus Christ came to India in his learning phase. It is a fact that Taxila university was the largest university in the world in ancient times.

What happened to people of India?? People stopped learning Veda. People stopped learning science. Kings became greedy and ignorant. Kings stopped performing their duties. Eventually political power declined, regional languages took root, and the entire country became ignorant and poor.

India's strength is its Vedic roots. It is not some "Hindu" religion. People of India need to discover Vedic dharm.

Swami Dayanand Saraswati (founder of Arya Samaj) made a valiant effort to awaken people of India. For this he was poisoned multiple times, still he was successful in accomplishing his goal partially.

sgarg

I have nothing against RSS and they are moderate hindu organisation but i very much dislike VHP/bajrang dal :/
Militarization of people is necessary. People of India are the MOST DEMILITARIZED society. People are incapable of self-defence. This is a disaster.

The number of soldiers need to increase and soldiers need to come from all sections of society.

RSS is important as it teaches people self-defence.

Reactions: jus

sgarg

Basic tenets of Vedic dharm:

1. NO statues
2. NO temples for God or gods
3. Daily agnihotra by public in home or in designated places ('mandir' means house; 'mandir' can be any place, not necessarily a place of worship)
4. No surnames of people
5. Classes of people (Brahmin, Shatriya, Vaishya and Shudra) never affected harmony and wellbeing of society. This qualification is to only establish order. The differentiation is on the basis of qualities and education, not birth.
6. There is ONLY ONE GOD that NEVER TAKES BIRTH. There is NO 'avatar'.

sgarg

Manusmriti says clearly that Brahmin can marry a shatriya, vaishya, or shudra girl. Such a marriage does not affect Brahmin's status. Similarly Shatriya can marry a Vaishya or Shudra girl.

Marriage was allowed in lower class.

Vedic society also allowed polygamy (up to 4 wives) to Arya. (Arya is a title given to nobles or graduates of Gurukul).

The current society has adopted myriad superstitions and stories as religion. I am sorry but I need to repeat that so called "Hinduism" is not a religion at all. It can be called a classification of people but religion - no.

sgarg

Donation is a very important aspect of Vedic religion. The king and rich people are expected to donate money to the cause of education, provide food to poor etc.

The word 'daanvir' means a very kind person. The tradition of donating is very strong in Indian society due to its Vedic roots.

Only recent Indians have become selfish due to "moorti pooja" where such "pooja" is supposed to give all kind of benefits. Such a "pooja" in reality gives no benefit except destruction of society. However people are ignorant and superstitious that keeps them wedded to their incorrect beliefs.

Bullshit. RSS gets to the spot of any natural disaster or accident even before NDRF does.

Basic tenets of Vedic dharm: ?

1. NO statues
2. NO temples for God or gods
3. Daily agnihotra by public in home or in designated places ('mandir' means house; 'mandir' can be any place, not necessarily a place of worship)
4. No surnames of people
5. Classes of people (Brahmin, Shatriya, Vaishya and Shudra) never affected harmony and wellbeing of society. This qualification is to only establish order. The differentiation is on the basis of qualities and education, not birth.
6. There is ONLY ONE GOD that NEVER TAKES BIRTH. There is NO 'avatar'.
Sounds like socialist version of Vedic dharma.

sydsnyper

Thats hardly true.... well they do not have the dollar amounts the evangelical samaritans have and hence are limited financially, but how can they oversee the numerous ashrams that have free hospitals, schools, home for the elderly....

Peter

Pratik Maitra

Manusmriti says clearly that Brahmin can marry a shatriya, vaishya, or shudra girl. Such a marriage does not affect Brahmin's status. Similarly Shatriya can marry a Vaishya or Shudra girl.
Yes that is true but a Shudra marrying a higher caste girl is not allowed in manusmriti. I think warriorextreme is saying about that discrimination. Anyway manusmriti was corrupted during the fifth century AD and its original text has probably been lost. I believe Indians need to forget all distinctions and develop an Indian identity.

sgarg

Sounds like socialist version of Vedic dharma.
There is NO socialism in Vedic dharm.

The structure of Vedic society is pure capitalist society.

What this thread doing in FORUM/WORLD AFFAIRS/AMERICAS

rather it should be in cultrual thread

sgarg

Yes that is true but a Shudra marrying a higher caste girl is not allowed in manusmriti. I think warriorextreme is saying about that discrimination. Anyway manusmriti was corrupted during the fifth century AD and its original text has probably been lost. I believe Indians need to forget all distinctions and develop an Indian identity.
Shudra can marry only a Shudra girl. However a Brahmin marrying Shudra girl without stigma is a big deal still. This proves that there is NO caste system in Vedic society.

When classes were NOT BY BIRTH, a child of a Brahmin can still be considered Shudra. I have said before that Arya is a title which has to be gained. The title of Arya is NOT available just because you are born in a Brahmin family.

Peter

Pratik Maitra

Shudra can marry only a Shudra girl. However a Brahmin marrying Shudra girl without stigma is a big deal still. This proves that there is NO caste system in Vedic society.

When classes were NOT BY BIRTH, a child of a Brahmin can still be considered Shudra. I have said before that Arya is a title which has to be gained. The title of Arya is NOT available just because you are born in a Brahmin family.
Why can a Sudra not marry a Brahmin girl? What you are promoting is actually casteism. In fact you proved there was casteism in Manusmriti.

Who determined the qualities in a person? Are you so naive that you think that a brahmin would allow his son to be called a shudra even if he has no skills. Placing restrictions on marriage promotes casteism and divides the society. Fortunately Bengalis hardly follow such age old rules . I believe there should not be a restriction on the ability to marry a person.

Why can a Sudra not marry a Brahmin girl? What you are promoting is actually casteism. In fact you proved there was casteism in Manusmriti.

Who determined the qualities in a person? Are you so naive that you think that a brahmin would allow his son to be called a shudra even if he has no skills. Placing restrictions on marriage promotes casteism and divides the society. Fortunately Bengalis hardly follow such age old rules . I believe there should not be a restriction on the ability to marry a person.
Who says Brahmins have not married Sudras?

I am aware of such cases amongst close circles and beyond.

I personally feel, there has been a little too much discussion on caste, casteism, intermarriage, etc. in the last few days. The presence of that Dharti pe Bojh from Mahilpur is responsible for this, to a large extent.

All these concepts are totally irrelevant in today's world. Seriously, who cares what you caste is? I want to know what is your achievement, what is your identity? What have you achieved as an individual? How intelligent are you, how rich are you, how powerful are you? What is your merit? In simple Hindi, which the Mahilpur bumpkin will understand more easily - teri khud ki aukaat kya hai?

I know that most members on this forum are discussing casteism on this thread purely for academic and knowledge purposes. Its more of a history debate. Apart from the Mahilpur bumpkin, no one cares about caste on this forum, everyone looks at individual merit.

The world has changed. RSS and VHP are starting massive campaigns to root out caste discrimination. Fossils like the Mahilpur bumpkin are the worst enemies of Hinduism, and of India. Such people encourage missionary activities and conversions to Islam, and then we wonder why missionary campaigns are successful. Simple: Hindus are losing ground in India because we allow poison like the Mahilpur bumpkin to live among us freely. We allow such toxic elements to run riot, we need not scratch our heads about why Hindus are losing ground.

The message needs to go out loud and clear, that the world has changed, and there is no place for the likes of @Jatt.Hindustan anymore.

Peter

Pratik Maitra

Who says Brahmins have not married Sudras?

I am aware of such cases amongst close circles and beyond.
Yes sir,that is what I am telling that in Bengal there is no restriction on inter caste marriage. In fact even I know that Shudras can marry Brahmins and viceversa in Bengal. I am referring to @sgarg 's post who thinks he knows everything about Vedic life.

Peter

Pratik Maitra
I personally feel, there has been a little too much discussion on caste, casteism, intermarriage, etc. in the last few days. The presence of that Dharti pe Bojh from Mahilpur is responsible for this, to a large extent.

All these concepts are totally irrelevant in today's world. Seriously, who cares what you caste is? I want to know what is your achievement, what is your identity? What have you achieved as an individual? How intelligent are you, how rich are you, how powerful are you? What is your merit? In simple Hindi, which the Mahilpur bumpkin will understand more easily - teri khud ki aukaat kya hai?

I know that most members on this forum are discussing casteism on this thread purely for academic and knowledge purposes. Its more of a history debate. Apart from the Mahilpur bumpkin, no one cares about caste on this forum, everyone looks at individual merit.

The world has changed. RSS and VHP are starting massive campaigns to root out caste discrimination. Fossils like the Mahilpur bumpkin are the worst enemies of Hinduism, and of India. Such people encourage missionary activities and conversions to Islam, and then we wonder why missionary campaigns are successful. Simple: Hindus are losing ground in India because we allow poison like the Mahilpur bumpkin to live among us freely. We allow such toxic elements to run riot, we need not scratch our heads about why Hindus are losing ground.

The message needs to go out loud and clear, that the world has changed, and there is no place for the likes of @Jatt.Hindustan anymore.
Exactly Jatt Hindustan has been spreading all kinds of casteist remarks in this forum.