Hillary Clinton starts “Foreign Affairs Policy Board”

Discussion in 'Americas' started by ejazr, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. ejazr

    ejazr Stars and Ambassadors Stars and Ambassadors

    Oct 8, 2009
    Likes Received:
    Hyderabad and Sydney
    On Dec. 19, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton will host the first-ever meeting of a panel made up of outside experts that will advise Clinton -- and her successor -- on the top priorities facing the State Department.

    Brookings Institution President Strobe Talbott, a former deputy secretary of state, is the chair of the new "Foreign Affairs Policy Board," which is modeled after the Pentagon's Defense Policy Board. He will work with Jake Sullivan, director of the policy planning office at State, to coordinate the board's activities.

    The Dec. 19 meeting will focus on Clinton's economic statecraft initiative, a State Department official said. The board members, who will serve two year terms, include a mix of Democrats and Republicans, former officials and experts from the military, diplomatic, and development fields. They include former Deputy Secretary of State Jim Steinberg, former Policy Planning Director Anne-Marie Slaughter, former Congresswoman Jane Harman, former National Security Advisor Steve Hadley, former Joint Chiefs Chairman Adm. Mike Mullen, Brookings Institution scholar Bob Kagan, and many more.

    Clinton has been trying to build up the State Department's policy infrastructure since she came into office. For example, she initiated and then executed State's first ever Quadrennial Diplomacy and Development Review, which was modeled after the Pentagon's Quadrennial Defense Review.

    And even though Clinton is widely expected to retire next year, she intends for the new Foreign Affairs Policy Board to continue its work even after she steps down.

    "The Board is composed of 25 members who will meet at the Department of State periodically to discuss issues of high priority for the Secretary and the Department," reads a press release set to be issued later today. "It will focus on broad strategic questions and provide the Secretary and other senior Department officials with insights, perspectives, and ideas. Secretary Clinton will meet with the Board several times during the duration of her tenure."

    Read the full list of board members after the jump
    Liaquat Ahamed
    Ann Fudge
    Helene Gayle
    Nina Hachigian
    Stephen Hadley
    Jane Harman
    Carla Hills
    Alberto Ibargüen
    Robert Kagan
    Rachel Kleinfeld
    Jim Kolbe
    Stephen Krasner
    Ellen Laipson
    Mack McLarty
    Mike Mullen
    Vali Nasr
    John Negroponte
    Jacqueline Novogratz
    Tom Pickering
    John Podesta
    Anne-Marie Slaughter
    James Steinberg
    Strobe Talbott
    Laura Tyson
    Rich Verma

    We have two people of Indian origin on the board, Liaqat Ahmed a highly sucessful businessman and Richard Verma who works as a lawyer focusing on WMD and proliferation issues.
  3. W.G.Ewald

    W.G.Ewald Defence Professionals/ DFI member of 2 Defence Professionals

    Sep 28, 2011
    Likes Received:
    North Carolina, USA

    Almost half are women. Political correctness and bureaucracy running unchecked.
  4. asianobserve

    asianobserve Elite Member Elite Member

    May 5, 2011
    Likes Received:

    Better that than faking WMD without the benefit of a Policy Board of sorts... The cowboy sees a calf and the cowboy snagged the calf.

Share This Page