Dragon At Gwadar

Dragon at Gwadar

Feb 15, 2013

Arun Kumar Singh

As a reaction to the US' "Pivot Asia" policy, the Chinese are debating a new policy, "Marching West" i.e. to focus on increasing Chinese influence and presence in South Asia, West Asia and Central Asia. The first beneficiary of this new initiative appears to be China's all weather ally Pakistan.

On February 1, 2013, the Pakistani government terminated its March 2007 agreement (valid for 40 years) and transferred the management-cum-development of the Gwadar port from the Port of Singapore Authority International to China's Overseas Port Holdings. Sixty per cent of China's oil imports transit through the Strait of Hormuz, located just 180 nautical miles (nm) from the Gwadar port.

This strategic port, on the Balochistan coast, near the Iranian border, will be used by Chinese oil tanker ships to offload crude oil from West Asia. That is why, from Gwadar, there's a proposed rail, road link and pipeline to transport oil and other goods to China, thus avoiding the Malacca and Singapore straits which can be closed during wartime or are vulnerable to piracy.The Chinese are not just helping Pakistan build the Gwadar port, but have provided practically all the funding.

These developments, when seen along with the Chinese-built ports in Hambantotha (Sri Lanka) and new terminals at Chittagong and Sonadiya port (both in Bangladesh), and China's move into the Maldives (where it's reportedly providing "security assistance"), indicate troubled times ahead for India, as they complete the final links in the Chinese "string of pearls" strategy — to safeguard its sea lanes for energy imports, encircle India and dominate the Indian Ocean region.It will take China about 20 years to convert the Gwadar port into a full-fledged naval base comprising facilities to repair warships and submarines, set up ammunition dumps for arming them, and build a suitable airfield for maritime surveillance and interdiction using drones and aircraft. And it is true that in the event of war, the Gwadar port and its installations could be destroyed by the Indian Navy and Air Force (as well as the US Navy), using land attack cruise missiles and fighter aircraft, but such an action against China and Pakistan — two nuclear powers — would have serious repercussions.

Work on Phase 1 of the Gwadar port commenced in March 2002 and was formally completed in March 2005, though ships had started using it by 2003.The total cost of this phase was $248 million (of which the Chinese contributed $198 million). The Gwadar port has a 4.5 km approach channel of 11.5 metre depth, and three multipurpose berths. Pakistan's former President Pervez Musharraf is reported to have stated, "In the event of war with India, Pakistan will not hesitate to invite the Chinese Navy to Gwadar".

Phase 2 was completed in January 2006, with nine additional berths and the approach channel was deepened to 14.5 metre, thus permitting larger ships of about 50,000 DWT (deadweight tonnes) to enter and leave the port. The port was formally inaugurated in March 2007, and the Pakistan Navy is reported to have set up a base there. It may be noted that all oil tankers from the Gulf bound for India's Vadinar Oil Terminal in the Gulf of Kutch generally pass about 40 nm south of Gwadar port and would be vulnerable to interdiction by Pakistani or Chinese units based at Gwadar. Some unconfirmed media reports indicate the possible presence of a Chinese electronic "listening post" at Gwadar.

To fully understand the implications for India, we need to note that 70 per cent of India's oil imports come by sea, from the Gulf (with tankers exiting through the Strait of Hormuz). Seventy per cent of our imported oil arrives at ports in the Gulf of Kutch, the Gulf of Cambay and the Mumbai port. Indeed, in 2007, the Gulf of Kutch received 1,100 oil tankers (passing some 40 nm from Gwadar), and this number will grow to 2,100 by 2012 and over 4,000 tanker ships by 2025, when India's oil imports would have quadrupled to 320 million tonnes (China's imports would also rise to over 600 million tonnes and hence the possibility of conflict of interest between these two largest consumers of oil).The global strategic implications are also serious since the Gulf region has 75 per cent of the world's proven oil reserves and 50 per cent of the world's proven gas reserves. About 16 million barrels of oil pass through the Strait of Hormuz daily on tanker ships (worth over $200 billion annually). This amounts to over 90 per cent of the oil exported by the Gulf region and over 40 per cent of the entire world's oil trade.

The Chinese Navy's activities in the Indian Ocean region need to be monitored as closely. Thanks to availability of shale oil deposits in the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of the US, new oil fields in Russia, and oil fields off Brazil's EEZ, West Asia may not remain the primary source of global oil after 2030, but its proximity to India will still ensure that it's of great strategic importance to us as an energy source.

China now imports more oil from West Africa (Nigeria and Angola) than it does from West Asia, and this oil will still need to move by sea through the Malacca and other straits in Southeast Asia (Sunda and Lombok). However, in a crisis situation, China does have the option to move this West African oil to Gwadar port and then pump it to China via the proposed land-oil pipeline.
The time for fence sitting is over. We need a strong 200 ship Indian Navy, inclusive of 12 tactical nuclear submarines (SSNs) and 500 aircraft. In addition we need allies, amongst like-minded maritime nations of the Indo-Pacific Region, and we need to take bold decisions befitting a nation which will have the third largest GDP in the world by 2030.

The writer retired, as Flag Officer Commanding-in-Chief of the Eastern Naval Command, Visakhapatnam

Dragon at Gwadar | The Asian Age

biggest development in the history of pakistan

and a best step ever taken by Pakistan.

Not just economically 200+billions USD trade of china with Middle east will continue from here but a strategic site

Now we should even exclude the para military along the LOC as india won't dare to step up into Pakistan administrated kashmir because of thinking of yet another 1962 with arunchunal/assam being taken by china as it belong to them

Ok farhan_9909 can post what future infrastructre is begin proposed . And why all i am raod + rail + oil pipeline .Either one of them would be beneficial to china . mostly rail link/or pipeline .

second when the port was constructed by chinese they why its administration was handed to an singaporean firm . it should straight away handed to chinese.

All rubbish, IMHO.

Gwadar is not a strategic port for conduct of strategic naval operations for China. Hemmed between Diago Garcia, Chabahar and Indian ports of the Western coast what can Chinese Neval presence do there. Gwadar has very less military value.

Gwadar only has economic value but only if the route from Gwadar to Afghanistan and then central asia and Xinjiang becomes a reality. Considering volatality of Balochistan and Pakhtoon areas it is going to remian unsafe.

A route from Gwadar to Xinjiang throgh Khunjareb is also not economically vaiable for transportation of goods and oil at large scale. It would remain close for four months and would be a difficult route. Besides India for sure is going to capture Northern Areas if not Rahim Yar Kahn to cut this route.
(ashlay tellis)

It can be an alternative to supply through Malaca Straight. China will have to come to Malca Strait to face USN and IN.

China presently does not have a very large navy to take out its naval assets out of SCS and deploy those in large number in Gwadar. It would take another 10 -15 years to do so. They can maximum deploy one odd ship or submarine there with nuclear missiles so that Pakistan gets hit in nuclear exchange and not China. That would be wrong strategy.

Hanbantotta is not going to be Chinese Naval base - that is out of question.

Gwadar in all scenarios will remain an isloted and unsupported base.

Chinese are only pleasing the generals at Pindi and keeping them in good humour. After all who does not want such a free gift. And Pakistan is desperate to give it to them at least for running it which Pakistan can not afford to run.

Reactions: sob

Leave everything aside

it would still be of economic importance to pakistan

2xkpc-3 ssbn,
4xf-23p,
3x Qing class submarine with upto 40+ SLCM in each submarine.(each SLCM having a warhead upto 40kt)

can provide full term protection to gwadar

Now we should even exclude the para military along the LOC as india won't dare to step up into Pakistan administrated kashmir because of thinking of yet another 1962 with arunchunal/assam being taken by china as it belong to them

This kind of thinking and false hopes have let down Pakistan in 1948 (British support), 1965 (sabres and pattons and some more coming) and 1971 (seventh fleet and Chinese coming) and Kargil ( Chinese help). You guys have done disservice to the country and the people.

Now you think Gwadar will save you ??

Para Militray on LoC is welcome. India will not march into Pakistan without telling you and giving you sufficient time.

Pathetic soch .

This kind of thinking and false hopes have let down Pakistan in 1948 (British support), 1965 (sabres and pattons and some more coming) and 1971 (seventh fleet and Chinese coming) and Kargil ( Chinese help). You guys have done disservice to the country and the people.

Now you think Gwadar will save you ??

Para Militray on LoC is welcome. India will not march into Pakistan without telling you and giving you sufficient time.

Pathetic soch .
No,this is all because of zia warning in 1987

Leave everything aside

it would still be of economic importance to pakistan

2xkpc-3 ssbn,
4xf-23p,
3x Qing class submarine with upto 40+ SLCM in each submarine.(each SLCM having a warhead upto 40kt)

can provide full term protection to gwadar
Wow..

they will deploy that much ar Gwadar and bare their ass in SCS to be had by the Japanese, Phillipinoes, Vietnamese and most of all the pondy Amirkhans.

You must be crazy.

Wow..

they will deploy that much ar Gwadar and bare their ass in SCS to be had by the Japanese, Phillipinoes, Vietnamese and most of all the pondy Amirkhans.

You must be crazy.
these are all PN assets

Aissa hai to Hat ke dikhao udhar se !!

You guys are really Namunas..
we have already removed 1lac troops from indian border..do you want us to completely empty the border?

[=farhan_9909;680750]these are all PN assets

PN assets - SSBN or SSN... Ha Ha Ha... so what will those PN assts do there ? Save Karachi ? PN will pay for port services in their own country. Hilerious. PN will operate from Chinese run Port in Pakistan? Remeber what happened to the talks of Mushraff from China.

we have already removed 1lac troops from indian border..do you want us to completely empty the border?

Ham se pooch ke ...Hamari Rajamandi se .. Amirkhans se poochh lo.

OK come on topic - Jate the Rangoon Pahunch gaye Cheen samajh gaye Na...

PN assets - SSBN or SSN... Ha Ha Ha... so what will those PN assts do there ? Save Karachi ? PN will pay for port services in their own country. Hilerious. PN will operate from Chinese run Port in Pakistan? Remeber what happened to the talks of Mushraff from China.

Ham se pooch ke ...Hamari Rajamandi se .. Amirkhans se poochh lo.

OK come on topic - Jate the Rangoon Pahunch gaye Cheen samajh gaye Na...
Read about KPC-3..they wont be active before 2020 though..PN is already building a naval base in gwadar

even if chinese opt for naval base..that will be operated under PN.

Tum se puch kay?..ohh ray bhai kabhi humne apko kuch puchne k qabil samja ha?

Jate Jate aik hamari bhi pakarr

Ap kehte ho Pahunch gye cheen.chalo maan lia parr rangoon to aap ho gye,baychain to aap ho gye

Translation plz. The only word I recognize is Rangoon. Do u mean a pincer attack from both the west and the east wing i.e. Burma?

Sent from my 5910 using Tapatalk 2

Read about KPC-3..they wont be active before 2020 though..PN is already building a naval base in gwadar

even if chinese opt for naval base..that will be operated under PN.

Tum se puch kay?..ohh ray bhai kabhi humne apko kuch puchne k qabil samja ha?

Jate Jate aik hamari bhi pakarr

Ap kehte ho Pahunch gye cheen.chalo maan lia parr rangoon to aap ho gye,baychain to aap ho gye

Translation plz. The only word I recognize is Rangoon. Do u mean a pincer attack from both the west and the east wing i.e. Burma? [/qoute]

Pakistan open for all with cash :welcome:, all you can exploit for a minimal fee.
you mean, first the Greeks, then Turks, then Arabs then Persians, then Mongols, then the British, then.... and then US and Nato, then Chinese and now everyone ...

Indians included !!!

Ha Ha Ha..

Defenceindia2010

you mean, first the Greeks, then Turks, then Arabs then Persians, then Mongols, then the British, then.... and then US and Nato, then Chinese and now everyone ...

Indians included !!!

Ha Ha Ha..
Correct :thumb:

Ha Ha Ha, Brace yourselves up for Dragon to clip India's wings

Planned Gwadar - Kashgar railway

Gwadar Port to take shape

And the Burma-China pipeline to complete this May

Sam2012

Not just economically 200+billions USD trade of china with Middle east will continue from here but a strategic site

So u begger cowards agree u want China to Stop India , where did One pakistani = 4 Indians equation go ?:thumb:

What did China do in 1965, 1971 & 1999 when we whipped u beggers so bad ? :taunt::thumb:

Sam2012

Ha Ha Ha, Brace yourselves up for Dragon to clip India's wings

Planned Gwadar - Kashgar railway

Gwadar Port to take shape

And the Burma-China pipeline to complete this May
Thanks for clipping India's wings , wish u all the best:thumb: