Do you use Swadeshi products ?

What I know is that we always try to buy multinational or foreign brand products for our daily needs like toothpastes, mobiles, soaps, laptops etc. I don't think that it is good for the economy and infrastructure of our local market. It discourages the local manufacturers and harms us. Moreover we ignore and miss good things like Ayurvedic medicines and products in doing so. But I may be wrong, what do you guys think about this, so please share your thoughts ! :)

What I know is that we always try to buy multinational or foreign brand products for our daily needs like toothpastes, mobiles, soaps, laptops etc.
What does a brand mean to you ? What makes a brand, a good brand ?

==
I don't think that it is good for the economy and infrastructure of our local market.
You want to bring back the golden era of Hindu Growth ?
===

It discourages the local manufacturers and harms us.
Have you ever read where the said products were manufactured ?

==
Moreover we ignore and miss good things like Ayurvedic medicines and products in doing so.
Research backed scientific products are bad ?

==
But I may be wrong, what do you guys think about this, so please share your thoughts ! :)
Maybe you should work under the assumption you may be right, some of the time ?

^^ :rofl: :rofl: thanks for contributing to the thread. By Swadeshi I didn't mean Hindu product, but desi products be it from any religion.

Of course, only an idiot would assume otherwise. Why did you assume that I assumed otherwise ?

Sorry I didn't get you, please make it easy for me.

To reiterate why did you bring in religion to denote Swadeshi and why did you assume I conflated Swadeshi with Hindu products ?

I basically said the same thing re: your post #3. What made you write, what you wrote ?
Sorry I am not getting it, poor English of me. I rofled because you use the term 'Hindu era'. However replying to your earlier post:-

What does a brand mean to you ? What makes a brand, a good brand ?
Actuall I don't want to go in that depth, the criterion of my thread is to see how many people buy 'made in India' products rather than 'assembled in India' products. So far as brand name is concerned, brand names are not made I think it is earned through good products and service.

You want to bring back the golden era of Hindu Growth ?
Which era ? I just want to encourage local products and manufacturing.

Have you ever read where the said products were manufactured ?
Yup, 'made in India' tag in many products but many things are only assembled in India rather than MII.

Research backed scientific products are bad ?
Did I oppose them ? nope, I only asked if an Indian version of the same is available then why to buy foreign products, e.g. toothpastes and soaps.

Maybe you should work under the assumption you may be right, some of the time ?
Well ! many times I found myself to be right.

To reiterate why did you bring in religion to denote Swadeshi and why did you assume I conflated Swadeshi with Hindu products ?
Because you used the term 'Hindu era" .

Sorry I am not getting it, poor English of me. I rofled because you use the term 'Hindu era'. However replying to your earlier post:-

Hindu rate of growth - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Basically, you are advocating for the exact leftist policies which landed us in the glorious Hindu Growth Rate Era. You are a natural Leftist, you'll realize this when you come out of the closet.

===

Actuall I don't want to go in that depth, the criteria of my thread is to see how many people buy 'made in India' products rather than 'assembled in India' products.

So far as brand name is concerned, brand names are not made I think it is earned through good products and service.
Whom should I give my money to ? A company which happenstances to make products in my country, or a company which has earned its reputation through quality and service ?

==
Which era ? I just want to encourage local products and manufacturing.
See wiki link.

===
Yup, 'made in India' tag in many products but many things are only assembled in India rather than MII.

Did I oppose them ? nope, I only asked if an Indian version of the same is available then why to buy foreign products, e.g. toothpastes and soaps.
My questions still stand.

==

Well ! many times I found myself to right.
If you take left you'll be right all the time.

Because you used the term 'Hindu era" .
I used the phrase "golden era of Hindu Growth".

"The recently released GDP growth of 4.8 per cent in the first quarter of 2013 has all but shut the door to double-digit growth dreams. It has also opened the window to the deprecating term – Hindu rate of growth.

Professor Rajkrishna, an Indian economist, coined the term 'Hindu rate of growth' in 1978 to characterise the slow growth and to explain it against the backdrop of socialistic economic policies. "

What's a 'Hindu' rate of growth | Business Line

The same socialist policies you are advocating (whilst claiming to be a rightist)

Swadeshi products should be able to compete with products from international corporations if I am going to buy them, in both quality and cost. If they can do that, then sure I'll buy it; however I will not make a businessman rich by buying his substandard products just because they happen to be manufactured in India.

Free Karma

TVS Mechanical Keyboard! Cheapest, quite sturdy, and really good. They cost about 2000 as opposed to 5000 (minimum) for other mech keyboards.

though I think this is a very niche market, only people who play certain games, or type a lot at work will use these kinda keyboards. But after you use one you can never go back to a membrane one, provided you can take the noise.

Do Indian movies count?

Thanks for the link, I didn't get you in an earlier post, now got it. BTW the link you posted itself says that the term "Hindu rate of growth" is derogatory, I felt the negativity of the same and so laughed in a previous post.

Basically, you are advocating for the exact leftist policies which landed us in the glorious Hindu Growth Rate Era. You are a natural Leftist, you'll realize this when you come out of the closet.
I guess I am a Centrist, however I do not want to go into the terminology.

Whom should I give my money to ? A company which happenstances to make products in my country, or a company which has earned its reputation through quality and service ?
I used soaps like Lux :D and toothpastes like Colgate all my life, but now a days I am prefering made in India products such as Patanjali trust's products, their products are very good, specially the toothpaste.

My questions still stand.
I have already said that I didn't oppose research based scientific products, what can I say when I myself have used foreign brands for all my life?

I am not good in economics, but I understand one thing for sure, we should try to use locally manufactured/ or Indian brand products, and that's all.

If you take left you'll be right all the time.
Not often!

TVS Mechanical Keyboard! Cheapest, quite sturdy, and really good. They cost about 2000 as opposed to 5000 (minimum) for other mech keyboards.

though I think this is a very niche market, only people who play certain games, or type a lot at work will use these kinda keyboards. But after you use one you can never go back to a membrane one, provided you can take the noise.
Colgate didn't save my teeth from yellowing, but Patanjali toothpaste has worked well in my case in a good price, I don't want to go back to the Colgate now. (Sorry for mentioning the name Colgate, but I have used it for life so written here)

Yes I do.

But I use Amway Glister Toothpaste for my brushing my teeth.

I am a heavy smoker and I must say that of all the toothpaste I have used, it is the best.

Yes I do.

But I use Amway Glister Toothpaste for my brushing my teeth.

I am a heavy smoker and I must say that of all the toothpaste I have used, it is the best.
I have used only one product of Amway and it was good i.e. Carwash liquid. Actually a friend of mine joined Amway and he used to harass :D me to buy Amway products which were good IMO too, but due to high prices I didn't use them.

Thanks for the link, I didn't get you in an earlier post, now got it. BTW the link you posted itself says that the term "Hindu rate of growth" is deragatory, I felt the negativity of the same and so laughed in a previous post.
There are a few threads on this on DFI.

==
I used soaps like Lux :D and toothpastes like Colgate all my life, but now a days I am prefering made in India products such as Patanjali trust's products, their products are very good, specially the toothpaste.
Colgate and Lux are also made in India, and they are listed on Indian bourses.

==
I am not good in economics, but I understand one thing for sure, we should try to use locally manufactured/ or Indian brand products, and that's all.
You are a Congressi of the pre-92 era

There are a few threads on this on DFI.
Oh ok ! you can merge it with them if you deem it fit.

Colgate and Lux are also made in India, and they are listed on Indian bourses.
Ok, but isn't it a USA company?

You are a Congressi of the pre-92 era
I am ashamed of myself then, lol. Actually I oppose too much use of foreign products but not completely.

BTW I was really a Congressi when I voted for the first time, later I started to support BJP but not because of the religious reasons, now I do support BJP for all the reasons, I'll also support AAP but not now.

Ok, but isn't it a USA company?
What do you mean by American Company ?

Colgate has sales of say 1000 Crores, it makes 100 Crores in Profit. Do you think they give back 100 Crores to their parent company in USA ?