China Can Surely Repeat 1962 If India doesn't take any Action

captonjohn

The Sino-Indian relations are getting tougher due to some China's behavior with India. Of course, this couldn't happen by one side but India is also repeating its mistakes and it clearly indicates that India has never learnt any lesson from disastrous defeat of 1962 Indo-China war. China's increasing economical growth and its continuous military modernization has started showing its effect on south Asian countries especially on India. It is always said that India has learnt many lessons from 1962 but Indian government's slow moves to counter this situation clearly indicates that they have not judged the circumstances accurately and seems repeating its mistakes which they did before. Indian leadership doesn't keen to understand the seriousness of situations and treating it like a simple problem.

After carefully analyzing the situations in south Asia in respect with India it sounds that India is repeating some biggest mistakes which it had made in 1962. Some mistakes Indian government is repeating are:

China can't repeat 1962

This one is biggest misconception which Indian government is making to not understanding Chinese strategy for south Asia. There are several times such statements has been given publicly by Indian authorities that this is NOT 1962 and India is not a weaker like was in 1962, so a Chinese attack in 1962 style is not possible. But reality seems different from their wrong estimations. China is continuously developing infrastructure along Indian border which includes rail, road and air base development. Now China has far better infrastructure than India has on its border and this has given a capability to move its land forces to border in few hours as compared to Indian army's move which takes minimum one week to reach to border. Here is some comparison about infrastructure on both sides:

1. China has established a long distance rail link between Beijing and Lhasa and this service would later be extended to Xigaze, South of Lhasa, and then to Yatung, near Nathu La passes. The rail project, when complete, would be a technological marvel, but it will be useful to keep in mind that it is being developed on the Tibetan plateau, and thus can provide China with a strategic advantage by enhancing the PLA's logistic supply chain.

• Chinese authorities have announced plans to widen the Karakoram Highway, which links China to Pakistan, from the existing 10 meters width to 30 meters to allow heavier vehicles to pass throughout the year.

• According to an Indian military analyst, China has deployed "13 Border Defense Regiments, the 52 Mountain Infantry Brigade to protect Southern Qinghai-Tibet region, the 53 Mountain Infantry Brigade to protect the high plateau in the Western sector, the 149th Division of the 13th Group Army in the Eastern Sector and the 61st Division of the 21st Group Army in the Western Sector" [3]. This is a substantial military concentration, which can provide a forceful initial response in case of a breakout of hostilities across the Himalayas.

• Similarly, the PLA Air Force (PLAAF) has established airfields at Hoping, Pangta and Kong Ka, two airfields at Lhasa and an additional four in the region that can be rapidly operationalized [4]. Beyond just supporting fighter aircraft, these air bases have enhanced PLA airlift capability that includes division strength of troops (20,000), air-drop a brigade (3,500 troops) and helicopter lift of approximately two battalions. These figures are for a single lift

All these factors indicate that India is in urgent need to modernize its forces and increase its strength along Indo-China border. At present Indian politicians are still facing Chinese war phobia and afraid to take any strong action by fearing any aggression from china. Unfortunately China has strength and capability to take Arunanchal within 48 hrs and Indian government has not that much strong will power to start a full scale war against China. [/LIST]

If China attacks then US & Russia would provide active military support and it could turn into another world war.

Another big misconception which is seen widely in many political leadership including Indian government which thinks that if China attacks then Russia and US will help by their military. This is not a cold war era where countries were fighting for their allies. At present China is a big market for US & Russia both and nobody would like to lose such a big market. Another reason why US & Russian can't provide active military support because of China's military capabilities and world has just emerged from global economic crisis and no any country would like to sink its economy by engaging in a full scale war which has 100% possibility to turn into a nuclear war. Military add is possible but active military support doesn't seems possible by both countries so India would have to fight with China alone.

Indian MRCA deal won't seem to finalize soon in future hence MRCA would enter in IAF after 2015. Indio-Russian jointly developed fifth generation fighter aircraft PAK-FA is in its development stage and would not be able to enter in service before 2016. In land army, India is already has more than 70% outdated weapons which is needs to replace urgently. Since last 20 years no any artillery gun has been purchased. Indian army is conducting a field trial of US ultra light howitzer but would be effective only if we could deploy it effectively before any Chinese aggression. Similar mistakes being done by Nehru and now present government is again repeating these mistakes. China can only be controlled by strong Indian foreign policy and defense policy in which India should clarify in strong words that any aggression on even an inch of Indian part would lead to a large scale war.

An old saying clearly applies here that "If you want peace then you must be ready for war".
India really needs an Eisenhower or Indira Gandhi to handle this situation.

ajtr

China has already repeated 1962 on india in sept-october 2010 when PLA took virtual control of norther areas -Gilgit ,Baltistan in october of 2010 and like in 1962 GOI was found sleeping at the the topmost level when this news broke in NYtimes first.India has again lost another strategic part of kashmir like askai chin and Saksham valley.

The worst thing Is to know what going to happen and you cant do nothing abt it!

When Shamelessly Corrupt GOI, Babus, media personalities such as Burkha Dutt, Vir Sanghvi et al, seek to eat up Rs. 1.06-1.70 Lakh crore (this is a known scam, other such scams we will never get to know), do you think such people give a hoot about what happens to the country in an event of a war (we very well know how Nehru purposely undermined the armed forces and deliberately kept armed forces week for two obvious reasons 1> He was paranoid and scared of army and its generals & 2> Second Obvious reason was that he was trying to please a foreign power by keeping armed forces weak, he even invited its dignitaries to prove how shamelessly peaceful we were, by showcasing our ordinance factories producing coffee machines).....In an event of this nature, you will see flight of elite govt. politicians, babudome, industrialists, media barons etc in a similar fashion as we have seen the flight of our hard-earned money into their swiss bank accounts (simply put they will abandon the country as they have enough assets abroad)!!

badguy2000

take it easy! as many Indians guys here said once,most of PLA's weapons are all outdated than that of Indian arm force.

Indian arm force has a quality edge on PLA and can asskick PLA easily..so take it easy and have a good sleep.

take it easy! as many Indians guys here said once,most of PLA's weapons are all outdated than that of Indian arm force.

Indian arm force has a quality edge on PLA and can asskick PLA easily..so take it easy and have a good sleep.
Eating popcorn, looking for arguments!

Gud luck with that! :happy_7:

ahmedsid

Top Gun
Look, China cant do a 1962! This is Paranoia! If China has made strides in Defence, so Have we! Our Infrastructure is not as much developed as theirs, but do you think our Govt and Forces will wait it out will China marches in?

1962 was a Different Era! We had just got independence and fresh off the NON VIOLENT mode! 1962 was our First True Military Action (barring 48). We were left wanting, and in 1965 we got out act back somewhat and in 71 we redeemed our Fighting Skills! In the 80s, we showed the Chinese we are serious about our Security!

So anyone saying we will just let the chinese walk in, is living a dream, a fools dream! We can give them back, just as bad as we get! We have enough to fight a war, and remember China is not the USA, to bomb us to the stone age! Whatever they got, we too got!

All this talk of China makes them look like the USA and we CUBA!

Topic is a dead horse that has been flogged over and over again. China cannot do a 62 again. Time is gone for that. There can only be a very bloody war for both sides not necessarily a nuclear one which will result in a stalemate. A stalemate at this stage of Chinas rise as a superpower is as good as a loss of face on world stage. That's why china is using proxies like pakistan to bog india down.

ahmedsid

Top Gun
The Title of the Thread is dumb, in the sense, it expects India to NOT TAKE ACTION!

I mean, why would India sit with their hands tied down when China takes over Arunachal and other areas? I mean, what logic is that? Why do we need to look upto USA and Russia to fight a war for us? Are we pakistan? NO! The thread starter is actually degrading our Country and Armed Forces with such thoughts! We are perfectly capable to holding off the chinese!

And as for AJTR talking about Baltistan and all, well those areas were not under our Control! It was under Pak control and they sold it to China, and I would have bought your Argument if the Chinese annexed it from us, which is not the case. The onus is on Pakistan, as they the Protector of the Muslim Kashmir, sold off a piece of Muslim Land to the Godless Chinese for a piece of Pie, in this case JF17

China has already repeated 1962 on india in sept-october 2010 when PLA took virtual control of norther areas -Gilgit ,Baltistan in october of 2010 and like in 1962 GOI was found sleeping at the the topmost level when this news broke in NYtimes first.India has again lost another strategic part of kashmir like askai chin and Saksham valley.

That's rich logic!

So, when the Chinese were being allowed by Pakistan to do as they feel like in the part of Kashmir held by them, what was India expected to do?

Drop a nuke?

NYT may have published it, but can you indicate that officials in India had not taken note when it occurred?

It was well known that China was making tunnels in the area with its Army purportedly to build them so that the gas pipeline from Gwadar could go through!

i know about only one thing our at persent our babus at higher end as well as political leaders are dead sure that we donot loose even inch of our land what we have in any acts of war . some legal give and takes possible . we have shown chinse in 1967 where pla had to retreat from sikkim and also in 1987

johnee

Yep, China are trying to defeat India without firing a bullet and they have headstart. They are on a spree to claim one part of India after the other. They have gobbled Tibet which had close connections with India. They are playing games in Nepal to the detriment of India. Now, the latest salvo is annexing POK from right under our nose. Yet, India stands impotently. From no where, China is making itself a party to 'Kashmir dispute'. They are issuing a different passport for Kashmiris. They are sending loud signals that China is becoming part of 'Kashmir dispute'. They already claiming Arunachal Pradesh. They have still not made it clear whether they believe Sikkim to be a part of India or not? On the other hand, we have accepted that Tibet is an integral part of China.

China seems to have learnt from 1962, instead of trying to defeat India militarily, they are trying to constraint and defeat us strategically and our Govt seems to be blissfully inactive in responding to the challenges thrown by Chinese.

johnee

NYT may have published it, but can you indicate that officials in India had not taken note when it occurred?

It was well known that China was making tunnels in the area with its Army purportedly to build them so that the gas pipeline from Gwadar could go through!
What matters is what did our 'officials' do about it, if they were aware of the ongoings? And whatever our officials did, does not seem to have worked because the Chinese have successfully invaded into a place that we claim as ours without any loss to themselves.

ajtr

That's rich logic!

So, when the Chinese were being allowed by Pakistan to do as they feel like in the part of Kashmir held by them, what was India expected to do?

Drop a nuke?

India can send tons of dossiers.Anyway paper is cheap in india after print media revolution.Sorry,truth hurts but thats the way it is.Truth is ind is not in any position to do anything now.As honee said above china is being aggressive on india's soft underbelly called kashmir and arunachal and knowing all this india is just making ambiguous statements like ,"be sensitive on kashmir as we are on tibet".And world knows china dont get deterred by mere statements alone for to deter it india need to show aggressive actions on the ground.Actions speaks more than the words.

India can send tons of dossiers.Anyway paper is cheap in india after print media revolution.
Sure. Tons of paper can be sent.

But do you have any better options in mind that the Indian Govt has forgotten and you can better them?

What matters is what did our 'officials' do about it, if they were aware of the ongoings? And whatever our officials did, does not seem to have worked because the Chinese have successfully invaded into a place that we claim as ours without any loss to themselves.

Isn't it that all is not always in the public domain?

India can do very little in areas not under their physical control except activate the diplomatic pressure.

And China is hardly a nation that cares about any other country's opinion, but their own!

johnee

Isn't it that all is not always in the public domain?

India can do very little in areas not under their physical control except activate the diplomatic pressure.

And China is hardly a nation that cares about any other country's opinion, but their own!
But there is little doubt that China has cocked a snook at India quite successfully with out suffering much damage in return. China has won in whatever light we see it: diplomatic, geo-strategic, military, real-politik...etc. China has annexed a location that India lays claims to. India has not been able to avert it. India has not been able to make China suffer in retaliation(diplomatic, geo-strategic, military...etc). Sure, not everything is in public domain, but this much is clear to everyone. That is what I am whining about. Whatever India is doing behind the curtain did not seem to work.

ajtr

Sure. Tons of paper can be sent.

But do you have any better options in mind that the Indian Govt has forgotten and you can better them?
Two foremost things india can do to start with.....
1.Start full diplomatic relation with taiwan.
2.Re-consider statement on Tibet.

captonjohn

Of course IA can take PLA and can stop any advancement of PLA on indian region but I'm not talking about full scale war. I'm talking about a strong blow to India within very short time and India can't affort any such "PUSH" or any miltiary Blow. I'm concerning about the possibility of such a blow to indian region.

ahmedsid

Top Gun
I wish all these Arm Chair Prime Ministers and Generals would think a bit beyond their narrow mindset! Its not easy in the Real World Politics and Power Games! You all can sit here in a forum and air your views, and it ends there! Try starting Diplomatic Relations with Taiwan, and see what happens! The Very Next Moment, China will pursue its Pakistan Policy even more aggressively! Right now theres a status quo! Taiwan has a Pro Mainland Govt, and they wont heed to indias overtures and we are not the USA for them to look upto us to suplly F35s!

There is a lot more than writing in forums that goes into politics! Its a game!!

When the News came out in the NYT, India did voice concern and Pakistan denied everything, as usual! What could India have done? Go to War? I suggest you all folks calling GOI impotent first join the Army and live the life out and then talk of aggressive posturing and tactics!