China builds 5km road inside LAC: Face-offs continue

PTI Leh, May 26, 2013
First Published: 15:41 IST(26/5/2013) | Last Updated: 15:55 IST(26/5/2013)

India and China may have announced an end to their 20-day stand-off in Ladakh sector, but the situation has not entirely settled down judging from a recent incident when the Chinese intercepted an Indian Army patrol and prevented it from going to Line of Actual Control (LAC).

The incident took place near Finger-VIII area, also known as Siri Jap, on May 17, two days before Chinese Prime Minister Li Keqiang arrived in New Delhi after it was announced that the stand-off resulting from a 19-kilometre deep Chinese intrusion had ended. It was claimed that the intruding Chinese troops had gone back to their previous positions.

While the Udhampur-based Army spokesperson refused to comment on the incident, official sources said there was a brief stand-off at the Finger-VIII area after which army patrol returned without proceeding to the LAC.

The sources said that after the incident all patrols were stopped by the Ladakh-based 14 corps including the one proposed to be sent in Depsang plain, where Chinese Army had pitched tents for nearly three weeks beginning from April 15.

China has managed to construct a road upto Finger-IV area which also falls under Siri Jap area and is five km deep into the LAC, the sources said.

Chinese claim in their maps that this area falls under its area where as Indian Army has been claiming it to be part of Ladakh and have often cited the 1962 war when armies of both the sides fought bitter battles in this area. Major Dhan Singh Thapa was awarded Param Veer Chakra for fighting PLA in the area.

Face-offs continue; China builds 5km road inside LAC - Hindustan Times

lato ke bhoot baaton se nahi mante, hope we are prepared this time. BTW who manned our border, they have no idea that road has been build. :tsk:

Prepared? GoI has instructed to stop border patrols so that Chinese can incurs without any face-off! You think we will ever be "READY"???

:mad::mad::mad:

:fp::fp::fp:

lato ke bhoot baaton se nahi mante, hope we are prepared this time. BTW who manned our border, they have no idea that road has been build. :tsk:

This is Siri Jap... Approximately 15km west of Khurnak Fort where the original IB was. Its in the middle of India claim line and China claim line.

What a soft pushover state we are!!!

That is matter of concern. things have gone beyond diplomatic solutions

Deceptive, treacherous Chinis. We really need a solid strategic plan to counter them.
Let us first make proper preparation and then attack them, when they least expect us. It will be advisable to be prepared for thermo nuke in short notice, just in case China and Pak decided to play tag team with us.

Plus we should start doing China specific tests.

Sir, where does the article says that Indian border patrolling party had no knowledge of the road being built?

EDIT: Got confused with finger area of Sikkim.

Deceptive, treacherous Chinis. We really need a solid strategic plan to counter them.
Oh please Sir, if you show sign of weakness the enemy will exploit it. Let's not get the Paki syndrome.

aerokan

They made the tactical retreat with gains to make sure Li's visit to go unhampered. And he went to Pakistan and made a deal to develop a corridor in POK using the 'soverign nations' argument. And we on the other hand ended up reducing the border patrols and border build-ups to be 'sensitive' towards our senseless neighbours.

If you ask me.. up the ante on the border and and get things settled asap and pitch up border establishments right to LAC in a few days. If we get area-denial from Chinese, make full use of the Japanese visit and make some colloborations between two 'soverign' nations. :namaste::thumb:

tooo much of diplomatic effort makes u buzdill (coward) (chakka)

:sad::sad::sad::wave::wave:

MAYURA

tooo much of diplomatic effort makes u buzdill (coward) (chakka)

:sad::sad::sad::wave::wave:
It has been the case with us since 18th century and certainly since 1947 when we hoped to solve all issues on basis of "diplomacy".

my road is not in good condition will china make . good work by china .

TrueSpirit

Prepared? GoI has instructed to stop border patrols so that Chinese can incurs without any face-off! You think we will ever be "READY"???

:mad::mad::mad:

:fp::fp::fp:
I can see some of us getting too dis-heartened by the latest developments. It is ok to be so. In fact, it is great to be dis-contented & vexed, since the prevailing atmosphere calls for it.

Having said that, now lets save all this anguish & frustration in our hearts & channel them through the right medium, at the apt time.

On the poll day, let no excuse bar us from exercising our fundamental constitutional right to determine & shape our destiny. ; at all levels: Panchayat, City, State, Nation).

Please, do not sit in comfort of our AC rooms unless we have caste ballot. Ensure a clean sweep for the deserving candidate & party, by rising above all partisan considerations.

And, make sure all our kins, friends & acquaintances follow suit. That's the least we can do.

& meanwhile, till the date comes, we try to influence public opinion on this issue through all channels at our disposal (think, RTI, social media, direct dialogue & anything else you can imagine).

We are an ancient civilization, having passed the test of time (when all others have withered or simply faded away, including Confucians) & now we have evolved into an immensely huge, buoyant, young nation with boundless energy & unlimited supply of vigorous manpower.

Time is on our side, provided we do not reconcile with our current fate & instead, lets take charge of our destinies.

We do everything we can think of, in our own capacities & our collective efforts.

Make a pledge to yourself that we do our bit for us, for our own good, in our own interest.

Yeah, if we have any country left by then after giving away free land to all our neighbors. Nehru giving away PoK & CoK... Indira giving away Coco islands... Now Sonia giving away more of Ladakh to China and WB+Assam lands to BD. Why stop there? let's give away the 7 sisters and WB to China, Burma & BD... Let's give away TN and Kerala to SL... Lets give away Rajasthan, Gujrat, Punjab & Haryana to Pakistan... Lets give Uttarakhand to Nepal and Sikkim to Bhutan...

Baap ka maal hai, dete jao...

EDIT: Don't reply to this post please. I am ranting due to extreme frustration.

I can see some of us getting too dis-heartened by the latest developments. It is ok to be so. In fact, it is great to be dis-contented & vexed, since the prevailing atmosphere calls for it.

Having said that, now lets save all this anguish & frustration in our hearts & channel them through the right medium, at the apt time.

On the poll day, let no excuse bar us from exercising our fundamental constitutional right to determine & shape our destiny. ; at all levels: Panchayat, City, State, Nation).

Please, do not sit in comfort of our AC rooms unless we have caste ballot. Ensure a clean sweep for the deserving candidate & party, by rising above all partisan considerations.

And, make sure all our kins, friends & acquaintances follow suit. That's the least we can do.

& meanwhile, till the date comes, we try to influence public opinion on this issue through all channels at our disposal (think, RTI, social media, direct dialogue & anything else you can imagine).

We are an ancient civilization, having passed the test of time (when all others have withered or simply faded away, including Confucians) & now we have evolved into an immensely huge, buoyant, young nation with boundless energy & unlimited supply of vigorous manpower.

Time is on our side, provided we do not reconcile with our current fate & instead, lets take charge of our destinies.

We do everything we can think of, in our own capacities & our collective efforts.

Make a pledge to yourself that we do our bit for us, for our own good, in our own interest.

TrueSpirit

Despite your request not to reply, I could not help myself.

Please do not limit your frustration to yourself. Spread it far & wide & morever, keep the rage burning; at least, till the apt time comes.

You know what to do.

"Arise, awake & stop not, till you've Mission Accomplished": A great man of yore once said.

Yeah, if we have any country left by then after giving away free land to all our neighbors. Nehru giving away PoK & CoK... Indira giving away Coco islands... Now Sonia giving away more of Ladakh to China and WB+Assam lands to BD. Why stop there? let's give away the 7 sisters and WB to China, Burma & BD... Let's give away TN and Kerala to SL... Lets give away Rajasthan, Gujrat, Punjab & Haryana to Pakistan... Lets give Uttarakhand to Nepal and Sikkim to Bhutan...

Baap ka maal hai, dete jao...

EDIT: Don't reply to this post please. I am ranting due to extreme frustration.

They can never be trusted..proved again..
In a way the whole world is reading PRC human behaviour.
Them fail