Brazil Wants to Buy Russian Anti-Aircraft Weaponry

average american

baghdad was the most heavly defended airspace out side of moscow and the twice US Airforce took out targets at will with impunity, there may be effective antiaircraft systems, but it does not seem that Russia builds them. Theres a lot of differance in shooting down a plane that wanders in to your airspace and a deliberate attack by planes evading anti aircraft systems. www.averageamerican.com

one

Russia antiaircraft missiles does not seem to be doing Syria much good. If Syria was transporting missiles you would have though they would have some ready to use when Israel attack their convoy this past week.
Why do you compare between a fisherman and a fish????? Hai ji:rofl:

Damian

baghdad was the most heavly defended airspace out side of moscow and the twice US Airforce took out targets at will with impunity, there may be effective antiaircraft systems, but it does not seem that Russia builds them. Theres a lot of differance in shooting down a plane that wanders in to your airspace and a deliberate attack by planes evading anti aircraft systems. www.averageamerican.com
Iraqi air defense was manned by poorly trained and poorly motivated crews, try that with well trained and motivated crews and you might have problems, US Army aviation wing during training in Poland was many times defeated by Polish air defences because our soldiers were well trained and motivated, and we used the same or even worse AA systems than Iraqis did. Remember that Iraqis were also using NATO made systems like Crotale,

And Pansir-S1 is a very dangerous system if used properly by well trained and motivated crew. Actually there is no doubt that Russians make one of the best if not the best AAD systems.

average american

Iraqi air defense was manned by poorly trained and poorly motivated crews, try that with well trained and motivated crews and you might have problems, US Army aviation wing during training in Poland was many times defeated by Polish air defences because our soldiers were well trained and motivated, and we used the same or even worse AA systems than Iraqis did. Remember that Iraqis were also using NATO made systems like Crotale,

And Pansir-S1 is a very dangerous system if used properly by well trained and motivated crew. Actually there is no doubt that Russians make one of the best if not the best AAD systems.
Poland has a military budget of less then ten billion dollars,,,,I doubt if its dangerous to any thing.

Damian

Poland has a military budget of less then ten billion dollars,,,,I doubt if its dangerous to any thing.
You might doubt, but our anti air systems, manned by well trained and experienced crews, were capable to destroy completely (of course it was training only, no real ammunition used) US Army AH-64's regiment supported by M270 MLRS.

Technology itself is not the most important, more important is training, experience, good command. Our soldiers many times surprised US Army and USMC troops with their competence and how well trained they are. I know opinions of at least several US Army soldiers that have a very good opinion about Polish Armed Forces.

What we actually lack is more of newer weapon systems, but this slowly change.

Damian

There is no question of "if" or "one of."

They have the best. Period. :)
IMHO there are other very good AA systems. I know opinion of one soldier that for a very long time served on Russian made AA systems and had a chance to train on Patriot. He said that Patriot is not worse, but more proper would be to say it is different system.

So there are many good systems, IMHO Russian made once are better in terms of mobility and 360 degrees protection, Patriot for example is better in other aspects and west European systems will have their own advantages and disadvantages. I would be far for making something absolutely the best.

average american

There is no question of "if" or "one of."

They have the best. Period. :)

Can you show any proof of that what Russia sold Iraq clearly didnt work ,, nor the one they sold Syria. Sams did some damage 50 years ago,, but countrer measures are lot more sopisticated now days.

Damian

Can you show any proof of that what Russia sold Iraq clearly didnt work ,, nor the one they sold Syria. Sams did some damage 50 years ago,, but countrer measures are lot more sopisticated now days.
And can you turn your brain on, and start to think? Iraqis used obsolete anti air defense systems, that are uncomparable with modern ones.

average american

Damian

Dont you ever get tired of makeing excuses for Russian Junk.... 500 crash migs, blind T90 tanks, Rusty Aircraft carriers that dont have engines, antiaircraft systems that dont work. Army war machine: Night-blind, old and unfit - Rediff.com News
I am tired of poorly educated morons like you, without any education in subject of weapon systems or national security issues, your only source of information are some silly internet sites, which automatically makes you avarage idiot.

This is your homework, start to read proffesional books from around the world, this means you also need to learn languages or at least using a translator. Next, try to search official US Army magazines where proffesionals write about possible enemies weapon systems, mostly Soviet or Russian made. For example Mr. James Warford who was a tank commander in US Army and written for ARMOR Magazine, I know him from TankNet forums, he have very high opinion about Soviet, Russian and Ukrainian tanks, as well as he actually seen many of them in person, last year he was in Kubinka tank museum near Moscow. And there is more such people in tanks enthusiasts community.

And I take their knowledge and experience both with western and ex soviet, Russian and other nations designs, as far more credible, than opinion of idiot (this means you) who not only shows in his every post how stupid he is, but also creates more and more negative stereotypes about his own nation.

You should watch and learn from @W.G.Ewald, who shows exceptionally high intelect, and understanding of world, as well as he is knowledgeable and in the same time is not arrogant, but also listen and learns from other people and nations.

But I think that any argument is just waste of time, simply because people like you, with intelect below that of a grasshoper, are completely immune to any knowledge, wisdom, argument.

average american

Northrop Grumman Delivers CIRCM System to U.S. Army

Read more: Northrop Grumman Delivers CIRCM System to U.S. Army | Army & Land Forces News at DefenceTalk

Northrop Grumman Corporation (NOC) has delivered the first of eight Common Infrared Countermeasures (CIRCM) missile defense systems to the U.S. Army two months ahead of schedule.

Northrop Grumman successfully completed acceptance testing with the Army on the first CIRCM suite of equipment and delivered a complete hardware set. This testing, which confirmed system performance, size, weight and power compliance, was completed two months ahead of schedule and validates the Northrop Grumman offering as capable and mature.

The system was delivered under a $31.4 million Technology Demonstration contract to develop the next generation of aircraft survivability equipment to defend helicopters against man-portable air-defense systems and other heat-seeking munitions. The system is now scheduled to enter reliability testing.

"With the growing proliferation of infrared threats, it is more important than ever that our troops have effective protection from these missiles," said Jeffrey Palombo, vice president and general manager of Northrop Grumman's Land and Self-Protection Systems division. "This early delivery confirms the maturity of our CIRCM solution and is an important step toward getting this technology into the field. We will make certain that our CIRCM system performs beyond the Army's expectations and remains ready to address evolving threat contingencies at a moment's notice."

CIRCM is a lightweight, low-cost, highly reliable, laser-based countermeasure system designed to work with missile warning systems for rotary wing, tilt-rotor and small fixed-wing aircraft across the military services. Northrop Grumman is developing its solution with its partners SELEX Galileo and Daylight Solutions.

Northrop Grumman is an industry leader in directional infrared countermeasures system design and manufacture. The company's infrared countermeasures systems have been installed on more than 800 aircraft representing 50 different aircraft types, including large and small fixed-wing, rotary-wing and tilt-wing platforms.

Northrop Grumman is a leading global security company providing innovative systems, products and solutions in unmanned systems, cybersecurity, C4ISR, and logistics and modernization to government and commercial customers worldwide.

Read more: Northrop Grumman Delivers CIRCM System to U.S. Army | Army & Land Forces News at DefenceTalk

average american

I am tired of poorly educated morons like you, without any education in subject of weapon systems or national security issues, your only source of information are some silly internet sites, which automatically makes you avarage idiot.

This is your homework, start to read proffesional books from around the world, this means you also need to learn languages or at least using a translator. Next, try to search official US Army magazines where proffesionals write about possible enemies weapon systems, mostly Soviet or Russian made. For example Mr. James Warford who was a tank commander in US Army and written for ARMOR Magazine, I know him from TankNet forums, he have very high opinion about Soviet, Russian and Ukrainian tanks, as well as he actually seen many of them in person, last year he was in Kubinka tank museum near Moscow. And there is more such people in tanks enthusiasts community.

And I take their knowledge and experience both with western and ex soviet, Russian and other nations designs, as far more credible, than opinion of idiot (this means you) who not only shows in his every post how stupid he is, but also creates more and more negative stereotypes about his own nation.

You should watch and learn from @W.G.Ewald, who shows exceptionally high intelect, and understanding of world, as well as he is knowledgeable and in the same time is not arrogant, but also listen and learns from other people and nations.

But I think that any argument is just waste of time, simply because people like you, with intelect below that of a grasshoper, are completely immune to any knowledge, wisdom, argument.
At least I can face reality, how do you fight a tank battle with out thermal or night vision equipment, evidently you cant and that was what was told to the Indian Goverment by your generals. No matter how much you rant and rave nothing is going to change that fact.Indian Army tanks battle night-blindness ~ ASIAN DEFENCE http://dailymailnews.com/dmsp0204/16-0110.htm
Illusions commend themselves to us because they save us pain and allow us to enjoy pleasure instead. We must therefore accept it without complaint when they sometimes collide with a bit of reality against which they are dashed to pieces. ~Sigmund Freud

Damian

At least I can face reality, how do you fight a tank battle with out thermal or night vision equipment, evidently you cant and that was what was told to the Indian Goverment by your generals. No matter how much you rant and rave nothing is going to change that fact.Indian Army tanks battle night-blindness ~ ASIAN DEFENCE
You have absolutely no knowledge about tanks. Tanks have backup sights (not all of them though), not to mention that these night sights were French made, so this is not fault of Russian made tank, but it is problem with French made electronics.

Frankly French made thermals are the only thermal sights I heard that have problems in hot wheater conditions. American, British or German thermal sights are working good even in tanks that don't have air conditioning.

Also the article clearly says that night vision devices and thermal sights are not Russian made. So I ask, WTF you are talking about? Or perhaps you don't even know how to properly read with understanding?

average american

You have absolutely no knowledge about tanks. Tanks have backup sights (not all of them though), not to mention that these night sights were French made, so this is not fault of Russian made tank, but it is problem with French made electronics.

Frankly French made thermals are the only thermal sights I heard that have problems in hot wheater conditions. American, British or German thermal sights are working good even in tanks that don't have air conditioning.

Also the article clearly says that night vision devices and thermal sights are not Russian made. So I ask, WTF you are talking about? Or perhaps you don't even know how to properly read with understanding?
Are you sure about that, perhaps I know more then you think.

Russia to start production of French's licensed thermal imaging cameras for T-90 tanks

Posted by ThunderBolt on May 21st, 2010

MOSCOW,, Russia will launch in July the licensed production of thermal imagers developed by a French firm as part of efforts to gain access to advanced foreign technologies, a Russian daily said on Friday.

A plant in the city of Vologda in central Russia will assemble the Thales-developed Catherine FC thermal imaging cameras for T-90 tanks in service with the Russian army.

"It is not a simple knock down assembly. We use Russian-made components to assemble the control system. After 2012 we will start using Russian optics and mechanics on these devices," the Gazeta newspaper quoted the plant's general director Alexander Korshunov as saying.

Localized production will allow Russia to reduce production and maintenance costs by at least 5-10% and manufacture thermal imagers for civilian purposes in the future.

Thermal imagers could be used for monitoring the efficiency of thermal insulation and detection of heat leaks, among other applications.

Russia might only be able to export thermal imagers produced at its plant with the permission of the French authorities. The list of potential customers will exclude so-called rogue states such as Iran.

According to experts, Russia is lagging 20-30 years behind the West in many areas of technological progress and is attempting to close the gap by purchasing production licenses abroad.

Russian military expert Pavel Felgenhauer contends that the development of Russia's defense industry in the next few years will be based solely on licensed production of foreign military equipment. "We are so far behind the West that it is cheaper to buy technology (abroad) than to invent our own," Felgenhauer said.

Russia is holding talks on the licensed production of the Italian Beretta handguns, Israeli spy drones and French Mistral helicopter carriers. Felgenhauer said the turn to licensed production was a logical and necessary move, as Russia had always developed its industry by borrowing technologies from the West.

"The Soviet Union bought tool-making equipment and whole assembly lines in the United States in the 1930s, Peter the Great brought technologies from Holland. Even the Kremlin, as we know, was built by Italians," the expert said. (RIA Novosti)

Russia to start production of French's licensed thermal imaging cameras for T-90 tanks | World Military Forum - Latest Military News | Army, Navy, Air Force, Missiles

average american

Illusions commend themselves to us because they save us pain and allow us to enjoy pleasure instead. We must therefore accept it without complaint when they sometimes collide with a bit of reality against which they are dashed to pieces. ~Sigmund Freud

Damian

Are you sure about that, perhaps I know more then you think.
Yeah, you know, a lot of bollocks.

Russia to start production of French's licensed thermal imaging cameras for T-90 tanks

Posted by ThunderBolt on May 21st, 2010

MOSCOW,, Russia will launch in July the licensed production of thermal imagers developed by a French firm as part of efforts to gain access to advanced foreign technologies, a Russian daily said on Friday.

A plant in the city of Vologda in central Russia will assemble the Thales-developed Catherine FC thermal imaging cameras for T-90 tanks in service with the Russian army.

"It is not a simple knock down assembly. We use Russian-made components to assemble the control system. After 2012 we will start using Russian optics and mechanics on these devices," the Gazeta newspaper quoted the plant's general director Alexander Korshunov as saying.
Russia to start production of French's licensed thermal imaging cameras for T-90 tanks | World Military Forum - Latest Military News | Army, Navy, Air Force, Missiles
Funny thing is that they use licence builded French thermal cameras for armored vehicles for very long time. The difference is that these earlier cameras were build on Bellarus by company named Peleng, now it seems they want to place production in Russia.

Well, you definetely live in world of illusions, which is typical for people with low intelect and lack of knowledge.

average american

Damian

You are ridiculous, first you claim that this is fault of Russian tanks, but thermal sights and night vision devices are not made by Russians but by French and Israelis, so who's fault it is? I say definetely not Russians fault, but original manufacturers.

I can say that Polish Army also purchased some Israeli made products and we also had problems with their quality in cold wheater conditions. The only working good Israeli product were Spike ATGM's.