BJP wins bypoll to 5 seats, deals body blow to Cong

Discussion in 'Politics & Society' started by S.A.T.A, Feb 18, 2011.

  1. S.A.T.A

    S.A.T.A Senior Member Senior Member

    Mar 28, 2009
    Likes Received:
    BJP wins bypoll to 5 seats, deals body blow to Cong

    The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday won all the five seats in byelections held in Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Gujarat and Chhattisgarh, dealing a psychological blow to the Congress. The Congress, already facing a hard time, also tasted defeat at the hands of Trinamool Congress — its UPA ally — in Manipur.

    The real setback for the Congress came in Madhya Pradesh where it lost the Kukshi seat, held by Leader of the Opposition Jamuna Devi, to the BJP after 21 years. The veteran Congress leader passed away recently, necessitating the byelection, and her niece Nisha Singhar was the Congress nominee this time. BJP’s Mukam Singh Kirade, husband of Madhya Pradesh Minister Ranjana Singh Baghel, defeated Nisha by a margin of over 16,000 votes.

    The BJP also won the byelection to the Sonkatch Assembly constituency, with party nominee Rajendra Verma defeating Arjun Verma of Congress by over 19,000 votes. The BJP wrested this seat from Congress after a gap of 15 years.

    Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda also won the Kharsawan byelection, defeating his nearest rival by over 17,000 votes. Principal opposition parties (Congress and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha) and some other regional outfits had fielded a joint candidate against Munda, who is a Lok Sabha member from Jamshedpur.

    The bypoll was necessitated to help Munda enter the State Assembly within the mandatory six-month period after becoming the Chief Minister on September 11 last year. Sitting BJP legislator Mangal Singh Soy had vacated the seat to pave the way for Munda’s entry into the State Assembly.

    The BJP also retained the Khadia Assembly seat in Gujarat, defeating the Congress by around 2,500 votes. Khadia has been BJP’s bastion for the last 25 years. Late veteran BJP leader Ashok Bhatt, who was also the State Assembly Speaker, had held Khadia for eight terms and the bypoll was necessitated following his death in September last year. The BJP had fielded the former Speaker’s son, Bhushan Bhatt.

    The BJP also won the Sanjari Balod seat in Chhattisgarh, with its candidate Kumari Bai Sahu defeating her nearest Congress rival by over 9,500 votes. The death of Sahu’s husband and BJP legislator Madanlal Sahu last year had necessitated the bypoll.

    Trinamool Congress candidate K Sarat won the Konthoujam Assembly constituency in Manipur’s Imphal (West) district. Trinamool candidate K Sarat got 9,592 votes while his nearest rival S Ranjan of the Congress polled 8,937 votes.

    “The election did not take place in one State. The results only reflect the mood of the nation. It also establishes that people were opposed to the UPA and Congress. They have also approved the BJP’s stand to take up the issue of corruption in a big way,” BJP spokesperson Syed Shahnawaz Hussain told newspersons here on Thursday.

Share This Page