Be patient when you chase big deals in India

No MBA will teach you the art of dealing with Babudom or how to deal with extensive clan networks

This issue has come in the right time. Just yesterday I posted about how you have to come to India now and you will reap the benefit in the French thread.
Exactly what I am talking about. In spite of the problems associated with doing business in India, major companies around the world would do well if they are patient and put up with all the difficulties.

As thy say mehnat Aur sabar ka phal meetha hota hai

amitkriit

This issue has come in the right time. Just yesterday I posted about how you have to come to India now and you will reap the benefit in the French thread.
Exactly what I am talking about. In spite of the problems associated with doing business in India, major companies around the world would do well if they are patient and put up with all the difficulties.

As thy say mehnat Aur sabar ka phal meetha hota hai
Its simple, if you wish to do business in India, do it in the Indian way and stop complaining. You cannot change the system in a day, but yes gradual change in the right direction is necessary.

microsoft India chief today declared that India is no longer suitable for IT. all the companies around the world has halted their investment into India since past two years and he pointed out that many countries are providing better talent and perks for doing business in their countries thus taking away money meant for India.

even the IT is gone. now we are empty handed.

the business channels are also speculating the iip nos for past month which are really depressing. the core sector to have -5.1% growth against 1.9% MoM and 10.8% YoY.

economy shattered.

microsoft India chief today declared that India is no longer suitable for IT. all the companies around the world has halted their investment into India since past two years and he pointed out that many countries are providing better talent and perks for doing business in their countries thus taking away money meant for India.

the business channels are also speculating the iip nos for past month which are really depressing. the core sector to have -5.1% growth against 1.9% MoM and 10.8% YoY.

economy shattered.
This is very interesting (IT), and deserves a separate thread. Agentperry please make a new one on IT with a link.

amitkriit

economy shattered.
May be that's why companies like Face-book, Google etc made a beeline in front of IITs, and almost all students were placed within first week. I think truth lies somewhere else. Microsoft had been chasing big government projects and it could not get what it expected. Intel gave similar statements when GOI decided to deny it preferential treatment in return to setting up a fab/design unit inside India.

Indian IT companies have been growing out, roles have been reversed, its us who have been expanding ourselves globally now. Companies like TCS will keep the service sector hot. Let these US multinationals sulk, that's their nature.

amitkriit

This is very interesting (IT), and deserves a separate thread. Agentperry please make a new one on IT with a link.
India has become a factory which produces incompetent white collar laborers. We need to move up in the value chain. Our home-grown companies are the major employers, and not the companies like Microsoft. If they wish to be treated like kings, they are free to go wherever they desire.

The biggest problem is

1)Service Tax

2)Bad Infra

3)For AP:Erratic power

4)Since the UPA came to power the Road Infra has come to a standsstill both Kamalnath and T.R Baalu are useless

5)The only savings grace is MNC's still have faith in MMS rather than Sonia Gandhi

microsoft hire people even from pakistan and bangladesh. hiring of iitians is not anyway related to investment into India, facebook hires and take away that person to us of a. thats not the investment but brain drain.
slumburger hires from my college with 45 lakh rupees package and then make them all NRIs. this is not investment. microsoft is betting big in India. they have collaborated with many colleges including mine for skill enhancement.

btw do you know the hiring procedure of FB, they gave one common coding to all the students in India with i guess one week time to do it at home/ hostel wherever with all reff possible,
no one except one 2nd year guy of iit can make it successfully. that 2nd yr guy was selected.
but yes they do hire for typewriting work

The problem with Indian IT is that they have not moved from backend work to develop something big on their own. With so much manpower why hasnt an Infosys or a Wipro not made an effort to say develop operating systems, anti virus etc?

It is really disappointing that we have not transited to the next level. Companies like microsoft looking for cheap options will obviously find India getting expensive. Indian call center industry has slowed down and been over taken by the phillipines. India has to innovate to stay relevant in the IT sector.

I actually am not too worried about what happens in the IT sector. For India to become a big power, we need world class manufacturing. That is the key. We need those big manufacturers from the west to get their tech and come to india. Then learn from them and adapt it to our own needs.

The problem with Indian IT is that they have not moved from backend work to develop something big on their own. With so much manpower why hasnt an Infosys or a Wipro not made an effort to say develop operating systems, anti virus etc?

It is really disappointing that we have not transited to the next level. Companies like microsoft looking for cheap options will obviously find India getting expensive. Indian call center industry has slowed down and been over taken by the phillipines. India has to innovate to stay relevant in the IT sector.

I actually am not too worried about what happens in the IT sector. For India to become a big power, we need world class manufacturing. That is the key. We need those big manufacturers from the west to get their tech and come to india. Then learn from them and adapt it to our own needs.
Yusuf Iam going to be racist here

1)We need to drastically alter our Labour laws drafted by Bengali Babus who do not have an iota of pragmatism.This is needed for manufacturing

2)Laws which are win-win are rare in India

Yusuf Iam going to be racist here

1)We need to drastically alter our Labour laws drafted by Bengali Babus who do not have an iota of pragmatism.This is needed for manufacturing

2)Laws which are win-win are rare in India
dude if you follow all the laws in India een now, then sorry you cant do any business. they wont allow you to do business in this birth atleast

Perfectly correct.Crappy Socialism that helps none

amitkriit

OS and Antivirus markets are already mature, there is not much scope for further development, since most of the vendors support the current platforms/environments. For example, even if we manage to develop a a new desktop processor, it will be hard for us to sell it, reason being 99% of all desktop systems work on X86-compatible machines, and there will be compatibility issues, which are not so easy to get resolved.

We will have to wait for some time, who knows we will be able to create something which will revolutionize the industry. If we wish to go big, 10% or 20% improvement will not do, we need to achieve 200%.

Our IT companies have changed a lot, they know well that to survive they need to innovate, but under the market constraints.

amitkriit

Perfectly correct.Crappy Socialism that helps none
Employees are better protected in USA. In USA they cannot make a person to work beyond the official hours, which is a norm here in India. Hire and Fire will not work in a country like India, because supply is many-folds more than the existing demand.

But crappy labour laws are only increasing contract labour

When I started working I felt that my whole education is utter waste don't know what sort of work the IIMs alumni do but the indian street is the bert te2her

Idiot, my entire batch of mechanical engineers took up software jobs!!!
Infosys, wipro, Satyam, TCS.

What they studied and what job they took up!!

Well I did engineering not for career but because of interest "shaukiya" as they say in Hindi. I always wanted to get into business and my business line is very much related to mechanical field.

Yusuf the current trend in education in South India must change.Learning has no meaning literally nowadays.Add to that crappy laws which do not provide opprotunitier