Atlast Indian govt Pumps $75 Mil to Build Bofors Howitzers for Army

Nirvana

The Indian government has made the following statement in Parliament today:

The government had secured the right of transfer of technology during the purchase of Bofors guns. Though all the technological documents as per the ToT contract were received by OFB from M/s AB Bofors, the Transfer of Technology was not carried forward as the dealings with the technology provider, (M/s AB Bofors) were suspended. Further, no indent was placed by Army on OFB for manufacture and supply of complete gun system. Capital expenditure of Rs.376.55 crore has been sanctioned by the Government in March, 2012 for creation/augmentation of Large Calibre Weapon manufacturing capacity in Ordnance Factories.
Livefist: Indian Govt Pumps $75-mil For In-House Howitzer Line

So Bofors it is!

Good news. Better late than never!

I have never seen such an inept system. For years we have been looking for guns and they "forgot" they had ToT and could make te guns themselves? Ridiculous. Thank God all those companies got blacklisted or else we would have purchased them while the ToT would have rotted somewhere.

We need thousands of these guns. Let's get going.

But then, this is 80s tech. I hope they incorporate newer tech into it.

hope they will add car radiator type system to cool the barrel in future so that more rounds can be fired from the gun. Super news at least GOI has shown confidence in Indian maker.

The earlier TOT was of 39cal not 52cal..

New guns will have OFB 45cal barrel as well as 39cal Swedish tot barrels..

52cal is other project..

GOI says

Capital expenditure of Rs.376.55 crore has been sanctioned by the Government in March, 2012 for creation/augmentation of Large Calibre Weapon manufacturing capacity in Ordnance Factories.
Kunal sir does it means 52 Caliber gun ??

Nirvana

The earlier TOT was of 39cal not 52cal..

New guns will have OFB 45cal barrel as well as 39cal Swedish tot barrels..

52cal is other project..

OFB will build six prototypes , two basic FH-77B 155 mm/39-calibre guns, two upgraded 155 mm/45-calibre howitzers and two with upgraded onboard computers

Nirvana

OFB has stated that it will bring out 6 Prototypes for Trail for Indian army by end of 2013 - Source Jane's defence

OFB will build six prototypes , two basic FH-77B 155 mm/39-calibre guns, two upgraded 155 mm/45-calibre howitzers and two with upgraded onboard computers
I came to know the 45cal also 39cal have on board digital firecontrol computer but the rest two more are ULH version..

The complete upgradation is probably going to be done by L&T on the lines of the Upgraded L70 they displayed at DEFEXPO last time around.
OFB shall do a minor Upgrade now.

Nirvana

I came to know the 45cal also 39cal have on board digital firecontrol computer but the rest two more are ULH version..
Ok....and what happened to BEML 155mm gun that was offered to army ? we will probably also go ahead with M 777 ULH ? I think the evaluation report of M 777 was submitted to MOD

Nirvana

Ok, so this Gun's to be Procured will be 155mm/52 caliber howitzers based on Bofor's Blueprints as said by P.Raju.DRDO Seperately will be developing 155 mm /52 cal Artillery for which preliminary work has begun already.OFB recently had developed a Prototype of 155mm/45 cal Gun.

Ok....and what happened to BEML 155mm gun that was offered to army ? we will probably also go ahead with M 777 ULH ? I think the evaluation report of M 777 was submitted to MOD
The M777 is a different grade of product as is the BEML gun , What the OFB is making is the TOWED howitzer while BEML is working on SPG's and the M777 is a highly specialized product we are purchasing for the himalayan heights. all three are in progress.

BEML got tot from Slovakian with Zuzuana Wheel SPGH, Wheeled RFI is cancelled so does BEML offer..

M777 is ordered so does these prototypes..

Ok, so this Gun's to be Procured will be 155mm/52 caliber howitzers based on Bofor's Blueprints as said by P.Raju.DRDO Seperately will be developing 155 mm /52 cal Artillery for which preliminary work has begun already.OFB recently had developed a Prototype of 155mm/45 cal Gun.
I think DRDO is the one working on 52cal, The link may report wrong info..

BEML got tot from Slovakian with Zuzuana Wheel SPGH, Wheeled RFI is cancelled so does BEML offer..

M777 is ordered so does these prototypes..
Are you sure abt the BEML offer being cancelled , i think it has merely been shelved to allow the PSU to get it's act together !