Astra BVRAAM

tharun

Small changes to ASTRA missile it can be used as iron dome.

tharun

Astra is used as QRSAM. Iron dome is for unguided rockets, not for planes, UAV or cruise missiles.
Who said iron dome is only for unguided rockets? It has a range upto 70km it can take out uav and precision guided munitions also.

S.Balaji

We are developing a canister launched QRSAM as point def different from akash system.QRSAM Subsystems r being tested incrementally.i think very recently ejection? tests were done at wheeler.

tharun

Iron dome is not a benchmark for SAM systems...
We too had similar projects under development
Who the hell told you to compare iron dome with a SAM system,it's a point defense C-RAM.

TPFscopes

Rest in Peace
What's your problem...........................?
No problem with you, bro.

I want to just clarify some points:
Modified Astra is used on QRSAM as an interceptor. It can interceptor IAVs, helicopters , aircrafts and even cruise missiles. Further specifications are:

For your desire regarding the use of Astra as C-RAM , the feasibility is already tested but plan was dropped down due to the High operation cost and some other minor reasons.
But there is another development going on for C-RAM Which might take a long while.

Due to higher cost of interceptor missile , Israel also wants to replace the Tamir interceptor missile with an economic solutions.

So, I hope that all your queries and desires about IRON DOME like air defence systems are cleared.
Don't feel irritated, please feel free to ask, share and discuss....:yo:

tharun

For your desire regarding the use of Astra as C-RAM , the feasibility is already tested but plan was dropped down due to the High operation cost and some other minor reasons.
Thank you for your reply..
What is the estimated cost of ASTRA? Meanwhile irone dome missile costs 6 lakhs/missile.

TPFscopes

Rest in Peace
Thank you for your reply..
What is the estimated cost of ASTRA? Meanwhile irone dome missile costs 6 lakhs/missile.
The cost of one unit of Tamir interceptor is $40,000 USD or nearly Rs. 26,00,000
http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/israel-missile-defense-systems
Whereas the BDL is trying to cap the unit cost of Astra by Max 10 lac. The actual cost will be calculated after the mass production only.

Astra is used as QRSAM. Iron dome is for unguided rockets, not for planes, UAV or cruise missiles.
Iron Dome lies in the category of C-RAM (rocket , artillery &mortar) and Short range air defence (UAV, aircrafts, missiles and UAVs)

TPFscopes

Rest in Peace
10 lakhs is way cheap..most of the BVR missiles cost b/w half a million to 1.2 million $
It was the BDL's desired cost for modified Astra for SAM role. But Astra for AAM role may be somewhat higher than it.