Afghan military requests military aid from India

The Hindu : News / National : India faces Afghan test, as ally calls for military aid

New Delhi fears significant military assistance to Afghan forces could create tensions with Pakistan

Afghan military commanders and intelligence officials have begun urging India to provide direct military assistance to the country's fledgling armed forces following a series of skirmishes with Pakistani troops this autumn, highly placed government sources in Kabul told The Hindu.

Key equipment sought by the Afghan National Security Forces (ANSF), the sources said, include medium trucks that can carry 2.5-7 tonne cargos, bridge-laying equipment and engineering facilities. India was also asked to consider the possibility of supplying light mountain artillery, along with ordnance, and to help Afghanistan build close air-support capabilities for its troops in preparation of drastic scaling-down of western forces in 2014.

The requests followed fierce fighting along the Afghanistan-Pakistan border that raged from July to September, in which both sides used artillery — and comes amidst fears that Afghanistan may be unable to hold together in the face of renewed jihadist assault in the run-up to the country's Presidential election.

India's Afghan test

For India, the Afghan military demands present a strategic dilemma, as well as the first real test of the Strategic Partnership Agreement signed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and President Hamid Karzai on October 4. The accord, Afghanistan's first with any country, opened up the prospect of significantly expanding military cooperation far beyond training the country's military and police personnel, India's main contribution so far.

"India agrees to assist as mutually determined," clause 5 of the section on political and security cooperation reads, "in the training, equipping and capacity building programmes for the ANSF."

Now estimated at 3,52,000-strong, the ANSF cost over $4 billion to support—far beyond the government's resources. Participants at the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation's summit in Chicago this May agreed to continue to foot the Bill until 2017, but also sought "gradual, managed force reduction" to about 2,28,500. Kabul fears the social consequences of putting over 1,00,000 trained soldiers out of jobs, and worries that recession in the West could lead to a further scaling back of support.

Nor is there clarity on the precise nature of how many troops the United States will maintain after 2014, though its government has said some numbers of personnel will remain. Vanda Felbab-Brown, an expert at the Washington, DC-based Brookings Institution, recently warned that "if the definition of [the post-2014] United States mission then is only very narrow counter-terrorism for its own contingents and on-base counter-insurgency training for the ANSF, the United States may be severely constrained in providing crucial and necessary resources to the ANSF."

Strategic dilemma

India, diplomatic sources in New Delhi said, however fears being sucked into a military relationship with Afghanistan that could enrage Pakistan — a country which has long worried that its northern neighbour could be used as a base for aggression by its historic eastern adversary. Islamabad has, in the past, alleged that India's intelligence services are using Afghanistan to back secessionists in Balochistan, as well as jihadists fighting the Pakistani state.

"Frankly," said Sushant Sareen, an expert at the Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses in New Delhi, "I think its worth New Delhi's while to take the risk. Pakistan says it is happy for Afghans to decide their own future. It is time to put that claim to the test."

President Karzai's administration is engaged in a last-ditch effort to secure Pakistani support for the 2014 transition, by seeking its support for negotiations with Taliban leaders based in Peshawar and Quetta. Mr. Karzai has even offered Pakistan a strategic partnership agreement, like that signed with India. However, Afghan government sources said, the military leadership believe Indian assistance will be critical if these efforts fail — and snowballing violence within the country leads to future skirmishes along their border with Pakistan.

Fighting along the Durand Line — the 2,640 km frontier drawn by British administrator Mortimer Durand of British India and Afghan Amir Abdur Rahman Khan in 1893, but never ratified by Kabul — has erupted periodically since 9/11.

In the summer of 2003, the Afghan government claimed Pakistan established bases up to 600 metres inside its territory, along the Yaqubi Kandao pass. Even though the skirmishes that broke out were local, they set a pattern. In 2007, clashes broke out again when the Pakistan army sought to erect fences inside Afghan territory in the Angoor Adda area, along the border with South Waziristan. Like this autumn, both sides exchanged artillery fire.

The latest clashes, Afghan army sources told The Hindu, were sparked off by a succession of attacks by jihadist groups operating in the Kunar area, including the Lashkar-e-Taiba, which are alleged to have the backing of local Pakistan army units.

we have only soldiers and nothing we have

send LCA, Arjun, INSAS and any desi stuff which our army and AF dont want, in return ask for airforce base with 50 fighters facility.
rigths said .. you steal my words

Why the eff should india worry about what Pakistan will think abd whqt sensitivities of Pak will get hurt?
On the contrary India should seize the opportunity with both hands.

Two reasons
1) Keep Pak on the boil on its western front so that India faces lesser troubke oj its bordersa

2) Golden opoortunity for India to supply its home grown weapons.
a) Arjun Tank
b) Akash SAM
c) newly developed howitzer
d) Pinaka MLRS.
e) assault rifles

All this will give us battlefield results of our systems and chance to improvee further

datguy79

We have been asking for stuff for the last decade, only for India to be concerned about "regional sensitivities".

I would rather the US spend the cash it has alloted us on decent Indian equipment, rather than Mi-24s and shitty super tucanos.

sasi

medium trucks that can carry 2.5-7 tonne cargos, bridge-laying equipment and engineering facilities. India was also asked to consider the possibility of supplying light mountain artillery, along withordnance, and to help Afghanistan build close air-support capabilities.
~is it hard for us to provide this ? They are not asking super dooper weapons !

Victor Sierra

India should help Afghan.
It will surely hold the Pak on two fronts & if they dare to mess we can kick them from 3 sides.

It will be a great future investment. Surely Pak will try move towards Afghan, like what they did in Kashmir. If you notice, they always try to increase their land.

mikhail

well when our Afgan brothers are asking for military help we should help them with whatever equipment we make.we should provide them:-
1)200-300 Arjun MBTs at a minimum profitable price.
2)2-3 squadrons of LCA mk-1 and possibly another 2 squadrons of Tejas mk-2 when it'll be ready.
3)large nos. of Akash SAM.
4)around 50-60 Dhruv-WSIs or Rudras.
5)large nos. of INSAS rifles.
5)some 200-500 105mm Indian Field Guns and Light Field Guns.
6)hundreds of Nag ATGMs and possible large nos. of Nag man portable ATGMs whenb they are ready.
7)a couple of squadrons of LCH when it will get ready.
with all these equipments the Afgan Armed Forces will be in a much better position to fight those rag-tag talibans and will become a formidible force in the central and south asian region!:thumb:

The Hindu : News / National : India faces Afghan test, as ally calls for military aid

New Delhi fears significant military assistance to Afghan forces could create tensions with Pakistan
Bas ye baat ne dhuki kiya hua hai.

Fokin..people are proliferating nuclear technology against you, launching military use satellites for your enemies, building their navy on loans and you clowns are sucking this same line for many decades.

@Yusuf; good post, add large fleet of trucks for ANA troop mobilization.

The very request must have made the Govt quake in its boots.

Already Maldives has told India to 'rasta napo'!

And we sit as mute spectators!

jalsa

well when our Afgan brothers are asking for military help we should help them with whatever equipment we make.we should provide them:-
2)2-3 squadrons of LCA mk-1 and possibly another 2 squadrons of Tejas mk-2 when it'll be ready.
6)hundreds of Nag ATGMs and possible large nos. of Nag man portable ATGMs whenb they are ready.
with all these equipments the Afgan Armed Forces will be in a much better position to fight those rag-tag talibans and will become a formidible force in the central and south asian region!:thumb:
And BrahMos too? that will send shivers down the paki's spine.

jalsa

We have been asking for stuff for the last decade, only for India to be concerned about "regional sensitivities".

I would rather the US spend the cash it has alloted us on decent Indian equipment, rather than Mi-24s and shitty super tucanos.
Well.. don't expect anything till this Congress Govt is in power, things will only change once this party is out of power.

This government is going to seriously lose the plot if they don't capture this opportunity to provide military assistance to Afghanistan.

Before we go about providing military aid however, we need to ramp up intelligence capability in Afghanistan; and by that I mean logistical intelligence on ties between the Afghan Taliban and Pakistani agencies. Unless we have that, our economic (and developmental) presence, which is now concentrated in the south and west of the country, will be in serious jeopardy from Pashtun-dominated tribal areas in the vicinity of the Pakistani border post 2014. Technology will be another key mediating instrumental variable in the intelligence face-off that is sure to follow, and here India has the advantage: because it has the political setup in its pocket. A multi-agency, multi-pronged approach may also be more suited to the Afghanistan mire than the single-agency one.

My instinct is this Government is committed to a deepening, long run military relationship with Afghanistan, hence the Strategic Partnership Agreement. But it will remain low key and covert- and mostly through what will be our versions of Direct Commercial Sales (DCS) and Transfer of Excess Defence Articles (EDA).

Anoop Sajwan

It is waste of time thinking about giving indigenous weapon to AFGHANISTAN bez he already receiving material from other country on subsidiary.

Saar, our Afgan "brothers" are in no position to pay. They need aid!
If they were in a position to pay, they'd have asked the US to send latest gizmos.

All that you mentioned will have to given for free. And India should do it. It secures Astan and also helps our domestic defence industry. Nothing like learning from battlefield performance of weapons system. Why else is the US leading in defence? They are always at war.

send them all and ask them for airbase for 99 years of lease near Mazare-sharif, with option for additional airbase. Have this and you will get Pakistan by its balls. Plus it will put something for China.

mikhail

Saar, our Afgan "brothers" are in no position to pay. They need aid!
If they were in a position to pay, they'd have asked the US to send latest gizmos.

All that you mentioned will have to given for free. And India should do it. It secures Astan and also helps our domestic defence industry. Nothing like learning from battlefield performance of weapons system. Why else is the US leading in defence? They are always at war.
well then Yusuf Sir we should provide all these weapons as aid to our Afgan brothers!its in our interest to have a formidible Afgan Armed Force in the near future when the NATO led ISAF forces leave Afganistan so that they will be able to counter successfully both the taliban and pakistani arned forces!:cool2:

mikhail

send them all and ask them for airbase for 99 years of lease near Mazare-sharif, with option for additional airbase. Have this and you will get Pakistan by its balls. Plus it will put something for China.
you have made a very valid point Sir!we should provide them with all the indigenous state-of-the-art weapons we have in our disposal as aid and ask them in return to lease us a couple of air bases in western Afganistan for 99 years.in this way we'll be able to keep the pakis at bay and at the same time will be able to help the Afgan govt. deal with those talib terrorists!:thumb:

mikhail

And BrahMos too? that will send shivers down the paki's spine.
surely we should also provide them BrahMos missile and help them to form a couple of BrahMos Missile Regiments in the near future!that will definitely drive the pakis crazy if not mad!:wave: