ADA Tejas Mark-II/Medium Weight Fighter

[
You need just 1 per strike package. Countermeasures and evasive manuevers were used.
There is no such rule that you have to carry just one.

2. Rafale N doesnt have foldable wings. It is also not in production. MIG 29K is an older aircraft and has maxed out it's design space and also not in production.

F 18 SH is in production for a long time (USN ordered 110 for multiyear contract) and has a lot of the features as Rafale like AESA radar with specialization for Naval role and design maturity.

3. Tejas MK2 will come before AMCA and it is essentially a Gripen E/F variant. It will hold the fort till Su 57 gets Item 30 engines and full 270° - 360° AESA radar/antenna coverage and lower RCS and is inducted around 2025-26. AMCA will arrive by 2029-2030 and may even have indigenous engines by then.[/QUOTE]

1. Sorry but if you think a growler like platform can be replaced by an Israeli jamming pod .
1. Firing at DMax has nothing to do with terminal guidance. Jammer pods disabled AMRAAMs before they hit MKIs. In Rafale, SPECTRA EW can perform SEAD missions! You thus don't need to buy a Growler variant because Rafale is a 2 in 1.

2. Rafale N doesnt have foldable wings. It is also not in production. MIG 29K is an older aircraft and has maxed out it's design space and also not in production.

F 18 SH is in production for a long time (USN ordered 110 for multiyear contract) and has a lot of the features as Rafale like AESA radar with specialization for Naval role and design maturity.

3. Tejas MK2 will come before AMCA and it is essentially a Gripen E/F variant. It will hold the fort till Su 57 gets Item 30 engines and full 270° - 360° AESA radar/antenna coverage and lower RCS and is inducted around 2025-26. AMCA will arrive by 2029-2030 and may even have indigenous engines by then.
Firing at Dmax essentially means even if it reached near around Sukhoi it had no energy to take down a manuevering Sukhoi .

A growler like platform would have never let the situation come to this . Do you know the no. Of jammer it carries and if you believe Israeli jamming pod ELL-8212/22WB is better I doubt that.

The radar warning and jamming pod a very advance communications receiver and jamming system for sead role

It's on another level bro.

And don't forget our communication were jammed too. Ew warfare capability should never be taken lightly.

2. It's not abt Rafale have foldable wings or not that was not the point. Rafale have naval as well as airforce version.

Rafale have slight advantage in its smaller size if not folding wings anyway. Mig 29k is still a beast what it need is funding but not much benefit for us anyway. The larger Mig 35 take care of short range and capability issue too.

But it's just a point I made for F 18 not being useful for Airforce as you suggested.

3. Date of AMCA is around 2032 it won't come before that later Yes :)

Mk2 is a decade away too. Airforce is looking for another fighter jet and we were discussing that since Rafale turns out to be costly and if MMRCA 2 ain't Rafale then F 18 is a good option with industrial development a very capable platform.

[

There is no such rule that you have to carry just one.

3. Tejas MK2 will come before AMCA and it is essentially a Gripen E/F variant. It will hold the fort till Su 57 gets Item 30 engines and full 270° - 360° AESA radar/antenna coverage and lower RCS and is inducted around 2025-26. AMCA will arrive by 2029-2030 and may even have indigenous engines by then.

1. Sorry but if you think a growler like platform can be replaced by an Israeli jamming pod .

Firing at Dmax essentially means even if it reached near around Sukhoi it had no energy to take down a manuevering Sukhoi .

A growler like platform would have never let the situation come to this . Do you know the no. Of jammer it carries and if you believe Israeli jamming pod ELL-8212/22WB is better I doubt that.

The radar warning and jamming pod a very advance communications receiver and jamming system for sead role

It's on another level bro.

And don't forget our communication were jammed too. Ew warfare capability should never be taken lightly.

2. It's not abt Rafale have foldable wings or not that was not the point. Rafale have naval as well as airforce version.

Rafale have slight advantage in its smaller size if not folding wings anyway. Mig 29k is still a beast what it need is funding but not much benefit for us anyway. The larger Mig 35 take care of short range and capability issue too.

But it's just a point I made for F 18 not being useful for Airforce as you suggested.

3. Date of AMCA is around 2032 it won't come before that later Yes :)

Mk2 is a decade away too. Airforce is looking for another fighter jet and we were discussing that since Rafale turns out to be costly and if MMRCA 2 ain't Rafale then F 18 is a good option with industrial development a very capable platform.
1. Rafale using SPECTRA are capable of SEAD! That's what a Growler does. You get 2 for 1 in Rafale.

2. How do we differ here? You are repeating exactly what I have said previously.

3. Rafale has a huge number of India specific modifications due to which it is sure shot win for MMRCA 2.0.

Even Gripen India CMD knows this. A follow on order of 36 is all but guaranteed.

SAAB India’s chairman and managing director (CMD) Ola Rignell made the cost claims in an interview to ThePrint, but added that he wouldn’t be surprised if India went in for additional 36 Rafale fighters in the coming years, circumventing the ongoing process to acquire new jets in larger numbers.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/thepri...ll-tech-transfer-local-production/298778/amp/

MK2 will be inducted by mid to late 2020s now that the IAF is actually serious about the project.

https://www.google.com/amp/www.newi...w-version-of-tejas-in-3-years-hal-1942111.amp

https://www.google.com/amp/s/m.econ...o-plan-to-import/amp_articleshow/71444141.cms

We will have 144+ FGFA while we wait for AMCA. If further investment is given to HAL and ADA then the timelike can be accelerated as well.

F 18SH has no future as an IAF jet. Only as IN carrier squadrons it has chance.

charlie

1. Rafale using SPECTRA are capable of SEAD! That's what a Growler does. You get 2 for 1 in Rafale.

I have no wish to debate but would like to point you out that our tejas and B 52 bomber both are capable of bombing! . You get 10 for 1 in tejas.:)

3- AN/ALQ-99 + 1 AN/ALQ-218(V)2 +1 AN/ALQ-227 in block 1
just a preview of future NG midband by Raytheon

Kharavela

Pilatus didn't end HTT 40 despite not as strategically necessary as Tejas is.

Gripen would have instead helped the tejas design to mature fast and instead of stretching mk2 dev in 2030 we would have it now. Tejas mk2 specs we are talking about are the the one we wish to achieve. We didn't get them yet. There is another 7-8 years for it.

And may be we would have dropped mk2 and just refined mk1 and then went for AMCA either way IAF would have been in good position and industry would have learn it's lesson.
Your expert opinions are devoid of logic & laughable at best. Did MiG 21, 25, 27, 29 or Su 30MKI helped to develop any indigenous fighter ?
Rather unwavering support & feedback from IAF would help. Like Indian Navy, IAF should take development & production of Tejas into their own hands & appoint own personnel for supervising & steering the project.

Sent from my ASUS_X00TD using Tapatalk

Your expert opinions are devoid of logic & laughable at best. Did MiG 21, 25, 27, 29 or Su 30MKI helped to develop any indigenous fighter ?
Rather unwavering support & feedback from IAF would help. Like Indian Navy, IAF should take development & production of Tejas into their own hands & appoint own personnel for supervising & steering the project.

Sent from my ASUS_X00TD using Tapatalk
I can't even laugh at yours . You are talking about Logic ?

We didn't build Mig 29 23 25 in India

Mig 21 and mig 27 mainly assembled.

With Su 30 mki we have learnt a lot Infact Al 31 f is built from raw materials now.

On the other hand the MMRCA was linked to Tejas development . Like With Rafale Snecma needs to help out in dev of Kaveri.

Now i don't need to waste my time on same repeated comments over and over again which you can continue to make.

You can go and tell IAF what to do yourself as they are completely incompetent and stupid in front of you.

I have no wish to debate but would like to point you out that our tejas and B 52 bomber both are capable of bombing! . You get 10 for 1 in tejas.:)

3- AN/ALQ-99 + 1 AN/ALQ-218(V)2 +1 AN/ALQ-227 in block 1
just a preview of future NG midband by Raytheon
:rofl::india: You just killed it with your one-liners mate.. lol

2. How do we differ here? You are repeating exactly what I have said previously.

3. Rafale has a huge number of India specific modifications due to which it is sure shot win for MMRCA 2.0.

Even Gripen India CMD knows this. A follow on order of 36 is all but guaranteed.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/thepri...ll-tech-transfer-local-production/298778/amp/

MK2 will be inducted by mid to late 2020s now that the IAF is actually serious about the project.

https://www.google.com/amp/www.newi...w-version-of-tejas-in-3-years-hal-1942111.amp

https://www.google.com/amp/s/m.econ...o-plan-to-import/amp_articleshow/71444141.cms

We will have 144+ FGFA while we wait for AMCA. If further investment is given to HAL and ADA then the timelike can be accelerated as well.

2. We differ here simply because F 18 's foldable wings doesn't mean Rafale ain't capable for Navy role . That was a very dumb point to make.

With its smaller size it the somewhat negates advantage of larger F 18 too .

And the original point that you made F18 is only for Navy because it's used by US Navy that's lame

Mk2 timeline itself says production to start from 2027 so forget 2025 for now. So as I said a decade to wait from 2019 to even field one squadron.

You can fantacize abt the circus of 3 new foreign platform Rafale F 18 and FGFA? ( Indian specific derivative from Su 57 ) I have no issue with that.

Let's rewind. You don't remember ornhave lost the plot of discussion which was

If IAF ask for MMRCA 2 which is likely considering the low no. Of squadron strength .

Then Rafale seems to be the best but will be high on cost.

In that scenario IN choice will be crucial A Rafale will mean Rafale production in India .

Or F 18 SH with IN a cost effective measure which may get into IAF

Gripen is discussed for the 2008 scenario when we could have bought it and sort out the squadron strength.

Now if you remember it you can understand where we are.

darshan978

Darth Vader
I can't even laugh at yours . You are talking about Logic ?

We didn't build Mig 29 23 25 in India

Mig 21 and mig 27 mainly assembled.

With Su 30 mki we have learnt a lot Infact Al 31 f is built from raw materials now.

On the other hand the MMRCA was linked to Tejas development . Like With Rafale Snecma needs to help out in dev of Kaveri.

Now i don't need to waste my time on same repeated comments over and over again which you can continue to make.

You can go and tell IAF what to do yourself as they are completely incompetent and stupid in front of you.
to ham konsa gripen yaha BUILD karne vale he?
same old screwdrive giri will happen if we buy the gripen...
so stop supporting gripen as saab themselves don't BUILD over 70% of sub system of gripen...
so your buying gripen would provide assistant to tejas program is laughable...

Megalomaniac

The LCA Tejas story has been a journey of learning, perseverance and grit. Qualities that to my mind defines my contemporary Bharatiya Citizenry. A Citizenry, which is not convent educated and which is not deracinated. A Citizenry which is humble yet ambitious. A Citizenry which dreams beyond its means and works to make such dreams possible.

But before we delve into why LCA Tejas is humble yet ambitious like the rest of us let us ponder over this clueless article. I feel no urge to dispel the stuff that Mr. Abhijit Iyer Mitra has produced but I feel that despite all these years, we Bharatiyas have not got down to appreciating what the Tejas has done to Indian defense sector in the true sense or its entirety.

A plane called LCA Tejas

A historical perspective may help here. At the time of Indian Independence, Bharat had a fairly well-developed MIC (Military Industrial Complex) which had come up to support the Allied WW2 efforts. It was certainly the best in Asia and probably second only to the actual Allied powers of WW2 (Including the Soviets/Russia). The Japanese had been crushed. We should have taken off from there but instead we focused elsewhere, and MIC was left to rot and die. Over the years capabilities were lost while the capabilities of adversaries’ world over and especially those of China continued to develop.

From a vibrant private sector in defense manufacturing, the domain became an exclusive preserve of DPSUs. The OFBs, HALS, etc. became the only place where India made her own systems for self-defense. Given that the end customer was Armed Forces (GOI), the producers were DPSUs (GOI) and the financer were the Tax Payers (through GOI), the competitive environment was lost. The need to stay ahead and serve the customer was lost and what remained was a stagnant, decaying body of organizations which had so much conflict of interest that it was a miracle that we produced anything. A bigger miracle, also a tribute to the Bhartiya perseverance, was that despite this atmosphere, there existed centers of excellence within this cold desert of assured Government contracts with foreign Governments for weapons / systems of convenience (not necessarily choice) and Technology Transfers (ToT) which were paraded as some sort of achievement though mostly they resulted in very little spins offs.

One such center of excellence was the team that went onto design, develop and produce to a limited extent the HF 24 Marut. The Marut is both a success story and a tragic story. It could have done to Indian MIC what the LCA Tejas is doing now but perhaps it was before its time. Maybe “necessity Is the mother of invention”. Our failure to continue with Marut program and develop spin offs was probably because there was a lack of urgency in the need for an indigenous fighter given that we had easy access to the Soviet MIC of that time.

In fact, in the early stages of the LCA program we can clearly see very constrained funding, lack of continuity between different dispensations of the GOI and also a lack of urgency from the both the users and developers. It is only a few years after the collapse of the Soviet Union and the lack of easy access to the Soviet MIC which itself was crumbling that we see a concerted effort to develop Indian weapons. Our military planners did use this situation to our advantage in one stupendous Su 30 MKI deal, which to my mind remains one of the few occasions we have been truly smart to a Geopolitical opportunity.

With the access to the Soviet MIC now gone and Russia, while a friend, was no more a willing benefactor but at best a transactional erstwhile benefactor keener to help Raj Kapoor than Akshay Kumar, the need and urgency to be self-reliant was no more a tag line. The Designers and Developers of LCA now had a more cooperative military with them. India was also becoming self-reliant in other domains like the “A-Bomb” with its own unique consequences. While we did become a Nuclear power, the cost was crushing sanctions and also seizing of laptops and data worth years of hard work by our scientists working on LCA Control Laws, who were just then in the US.

Despite, these setbacks and initial lack of support, poor funding, through the early 2000’s the LCA program achieved major milestones. First flight and production of more prototypes were just a few. A more excited IAF now saw possibilities and added new QRs while the IN pitched in with requirement of LCA Navy which would be a more powerful bird. The IAF jumped at this too and its equivalent of the LCA Navy would be the LCA MK II.

The LCA Tejas program has since started seeing major spin offs, maybe not always directly – the setting up of CEMILAC – Center for Military Airworthiness and Certification gave India a unique capability and institutionalized aircraft development capabilities. NFTC (National Flight Test Center) under ADA is a similar long serving development. DRDO labs which started breathing new life trying to develop newer systems and technologies and subsequent transfer of technology to private sector for production of LRUs or sub systems were indeed major benefits which will far eclipse the LCA program and serve India for a long time after the LCA Tejas production has come to an end. A capability lost post-independence is being recreated with small but definite steps.

Today, the LCA Tejas program has multiple components – The LCA Mk 1, LCA Mk1A, LCA MK II or the MWF and the LCA Navy. Clearly the LCA is both scalable and can diversify into newer domains. It is also cost effective. Its Intellectual Property belongs to Bhartiyas. The Control Laws developed for LCA Tejas are probably the finest tale of Indian ingenuity and genius. The aircraft features some of the most advanced 4+ gen aircraft capabilities, all in a real estate which would make the old warrior Mig 21 go green with envy. Its performance, for its class, is at once unmatched and breath taking. It’s current load out and future integration leaves me with no doubt that the aircraft will hold its own in any contested airspace. Tejas is already an adversary you don’t want to mess with. The LCA Mk1A will be the definitive light multirole 4th Gen fighter anywhere in the world – Beautiful, unmatched, easily upgradable, maintenance friendly and at a cost where Western Fighters will never be able to compete. Have no doubts that though India has heavily favored the Russian fighters, Tejas is inspired with the design philosophies of the Western Fighters. It owes its form to the IAFs loved Mirage 2000 and in its next version, the MWF, it will be a more competent fighter in all respects than its inspiration.

To list a few stunning features either already part of LCA Tejas or will shortly be a part of the aircraft:

1. Low visual and radar visibility in air defense role
  2. With AESA radar (in pipeline) range >100km good Beyond Visual Range (BVR) reach
  3. Network centric LPI radio link makes it make do for lower range radar
  4. Delta wing bomb truck with precision dumb bomb delivery
  5. High endurance & range with mid-air refueling & On-Board Oxygen Generator (OBOG)
  6. Carefree handling allows pilot fight instead of monitor & control airplane
  7. Very high instantaneous turn rate to launch missile at favorable angle & scoot
  8. Spoof proof software (indigenous)
  9. Full source code for all current & future weapons
  10. All weather day/night mission
  11. Tremendous Room to grow:
  • Engine thrust & Thrust Specific Fuel consumption (SFC),
  • internal fuel capacity,
  • Self-Protection Jammer(SPJ),
  • Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Machine learning
  • IIRST / hyperspectral identification,
  • Conformal Fuel Tank (CFT)
  • Control laws
  1. Affordability, economies of scale (>250 units)
  2. Reliable & safe (no crash to date)
  3. Automatic stall recovery
  4. Upgradable man machine interface, Glass Cockpit and HUD
  5. Simpler to maintain
  6. Hot refueling
  7. Cold Start
But much more than the above list is the creation of generation of admirers and defense aware young Indians that have grown living and following the Tejas story along with the confidence and belief it has instilled in us. The pride that we who have watched the Tejas come to fruition since we had first heard of it as young boys. The Tejas has created a new breed of Indians who believe our MIC can deliver us the best. ACM Bhaduria’s recent statement of IAF’s support to the Tejas speaks volumes about its confidence in the machine and the men who are behind the machine. The IAF plans to acquire 123 LCA Mk 1 variants and probably 200 + LCA Mk II aircraft as mentioned here https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...to-5-generation-jets/articleshow/71445334.cms

The development of the Tejas has helped in

• Developing institutions which will help in all future aircraft development
  • Developing Labs and testing facilities which will expedite future development\
  • Initial steps in development of a private sector MIC
  • A model for future partnership with the private sector in defense manufacturing
  • Many systems and LRUs which will be used as certified in future fighter programs thus cutting down development timelines.
  • Creating a talent pool which is already seeing spin offs in the development of HTT 40 and hopefully many other successful programs
Keep the Aspidistra Flying…

Image Courtesy - https://www.livefistdefence.com/201...as-of-indias-amca-5th-generation-fighter.html

The Indian Fifth Generation Fighter Aircraft will not be an import. The sooner those unlicensed pens of the Iyer Mitras understand this the better it is for them. The foreign dallals are facing the grit and determination of the humble yet ambitious Bhartiya. The AMCA is India’s Fifth Generation Fighter Aircraft. Period. Not taking the Tejas forward to the AMCA will be committing the same mistake as we committed with the Marut. Institutional Learning will have failed if we were to import an uber expensive deluxe FGFA from US or Russia to fill the pockets of “dallals” and deny the growth of Indian MIC. I for one will take a 5th Gen minus in 2040 rather than an imported F22 (for export only model) with its frills and fancies and costs and debilitating limitations on use cases which the seller will force on us.

The development cycle of the AMCA will be shorter, again thanks to the Tejas with most of the subsystems (eg Landing Gears) and LRUs already being developed for the Tejas. The Tejas program has taught us so many new solutions to complex problems and has helped us develop capabilities that it would be a crime, in fact, traitorous to let them whither.

The AMCA therefore must succeed the LCA and it must keep the Aspidistra Flying.

Praise for those who deserve

The Tejas development program has overcome financial, institutional, governmental, international non-cooperation, denial, lethargy and unwillingness through the perseverance and grit of a few select individuals across organizations to have survived and then come to a successful induction into the IAF. There are still challenges and the foremost among them will be the mighty pens of publishing houses and writers who would try to kill the program and defame it. The attacks from usual suspects against all things “desi” is to be expected. To the people who have overcome all the above challenges and continue to fight new ones along with the old, my heartfelt Salute! Please continue to touch the sky with glory.

“उत्तिष्ठत जाग्रत प्राप्य वरान्निबोधत,

क्षुरासन्न धारा निशिता दुरत्यद्दुर्गम पथ: तत् कवयोवदन्ति |”

Acknowledgements – several passionate members at https://forums.bharat-rakshak.com

Header Image courtesy - Indian Air Force twitter account

Source: MyIndMaker

@Haldiram could you look into this company Advent International 's shareholders? They are buying up the UK based Cobham company which supplies in-flight refuelling probes and quartz crystal domes for Tejas MK1 and possibly MK1A and MK2 in the future.

Any Saudi, Chinese or EU based companies?

Cobham Delivers New Quartz Radome, In-Flight Refueling Probe For India’s Tejas

https://www.defenseworld.net/news/1...ueling_Probe_For_India___s_Tejas#.XdUfJ9UzbIU

British government signals support for Cobham takeover by private equity firm Advent

https://www.defensenews.com/global/europe/2019/11/19/british-government-signals-support-for-cobham-takeover-by-private-equity-firm-advent/

Haldiram

@Haldiram could you look into this company Advent International 's shareholders? They are buying up the UK based Cobham company which supplies in-flight refuelling probes and quartz crystal domes for Tejas MK1 and possibly MK1A and MK2 in the future.

Any Saudi, Chinese or EU based companies?

Cobham Delivers New Quartz Radome, In-Flight Refueling Probe For India’s Tejas

https://www.defenseworld.net/news/1...ueling_Probe_For_India___s_Tejas#.XdUfJ9UzbIU

British government signals support for Cobham takeover by private equity firm Advent

https://www.defensenews.com/global/europe/2019/11/19/british-government-signals-support-for-cobham-takeover-by-private-equity-firm-advent/
It's a private equity firm. They don't reveal their shareholder's details. They collect money from people and invest it. It's like a mutual fund, but exclusive to a few people only.

Any information on major equity partners and money sources? Any links to US defence firms or Chinese state companies or ''businessmen'' or the like?

Haldiram

Any information on major equity partners and money sources? Any links to US defence firms or Chinese state companies or ''businessmen'' or the like?
It's a very big firm, it has Chinese and Indian money as well. Such firms specialize in investing in companies that are not listed on the stock market. They invest in startup stage companies.

Just yesterday they bought a controlling stake in Bharat Serum. They have a lot of investment in Indian companies (CARE hospital, CAMS mutual fund tracking). Dixcy underwear me bhi inka investment hai. Most of these investments were done prior to 2007.

Sirji headquarters is in USA, founder was American as @Haldiram sir said it is PRIVATE firm ya very PRIVATE, don't know why but I think it has link with Pentagon and US Congress.

Most military projects are critically dependent on suppliers. Unless HAL can make quartz radomes and IFR probes, we need to monitor this deal very closely.

dude00720

Is anyone wondering how we will develop a 110KN engine(Wet thrust) , if kaveri was not able to get 98KN .
a) Can we not do it, without foreign help?
b) Will ISRO have some contribution?
c) Could DRDO define problem statements in a distributed format in research instutions across India?
d) Will IITs get involved?
e) Why will rolls-royce work with us?

Is anyone wondering how we will develop a 110KN engine(Wet thrust) , if kaveri was not able to get 98KN .
a) Can we not do it, without foreign help?
b) Will ISRO have some contribution?
c) Could DRDO define problem statements in a distributed format in research instutions across India?
d) Will IITs get involved?
e) Why will rolls-royce work with us?
Work is going on, what I know is that a new engine is on the card because lot's of new technologies have came aboard now.
So, definitely the way new materials research is now going I AM having thoughts it can be developed.
WE will need only consultation work with foreign engine manufacturers but RIGHT NOW THEIR IS ONLY ONE COUNTRY with that engine development experience and you know that country name.
And also they are less willing but I think in coming years INDIA can develop that engine.
For more @Gautam Sarkar and @porky_kicker and other relevant authorities here can answer.

asianobserve

This SPECTRA is overmarketed. Well to bring down to the real World the Frenxh Rsfales and Mirage 2000s relied on USN Growlers over Lybia.

SPECTRA is s self-protection EW suite much like what's on current frontline fightets. It is designed to protect that particulsr aircraft. Growler and the upcoming EF SEAD/EW variant have powerful EW systems designed to neutralize radars over a large swat of area.

The biggest difference right now netween ordinary EW systems on fighters and dedicated Growlers is the power source. Jamming, spoofing, confusing large and powerful enemy radars or multiple airborne enemy radsrs need a lot of power. Current fighters such as Rafale does not have it. The FA/18 uses pods with turbine power generation

5th gen fighters like F-22 and F-35 produces more power allowing them to conduct mini AWACs duties if necessary and EW like Growlers (albeit with much lesser power output) enough to burn through enemy airborne rsdars.