1962 China war can't be repeated: Indian Army chief

Sound nice and indeed ok, But IA have less or no Capability to do so..

---------------------------------------------------------------

How does this help present situation..

thanks for history lesson, But irrelevant to this thread..
Yah, this reminds the commanders of the IA how badly they still need to encourage the local population and local administration to breed that beast and increase its numbers. It is ultimately that animal which is going to carry about 30 kg of their load to their inaccessible post.

And by the way, who are you to decided on the relevance ?? Even if you are God of this Forum refrain from personal comments. You may have photos but you do not not their relevance..

I know you will delete this post but not without some mirchi ...

your photo is also irrelevant to the thread... Ha Ha Ha

Cruise also Balletic Missiles are just one more tool in any kind of War with anyone Now or in near future, There are bigger issues than Scared Politicians..
are those ballistics gonna be used ?? - otherwise we'd better put them in the store room .- or musuems

question is , - in a small-time and limited land grab , which is dragon's style , will the goi press the buttons for ballistic missiles to be used ?

the RUSSIANS would ! .... 1983 , they missiled a korean airlines CIVILIAN plane which only slightly strayed off-course

would our goi ? ....because if they wont , then dragon will do that AGAIN

i say again - because that is what they did in '62 - and now that is again on the cards - and in a few decades or less later, they will do it again

most unlikely would dragon attack delhi and all that - they just do it slow and easy

Tactical BM are different from Strategic BM..

------------------------------------------

Tactical Ballistic Missiles are not necessary meant for Nuclear always..

In tactical sense one can use balletic Missiles for various roles..

1. Target Enemy Infrastructure ( Air fields, large size infrastructure )

2. Command and Control locations ( HQ and Even reserves )

Warhead can be a variety of conventional warheads such as pre-fragmented explosives, bomblets, incendiary, cluster munitions, sub-munitions, fuel-air explosives and high-explosives..

-----------------------------------

Tactical BM are operational in Army but there is possibility that there is Political influence on its use..

Just like days in 1962, Neharu ban Air-force use..

Tianshan

btw one thing i noticed - except for one post , the other of our chicom members are staying away from this thread - afraid of inadvertently giving tatctics away ?? hehehehehehe
we "chicoms"... don't want you guys to realize that you are worrying over nothing, since china is in no position to wage an offensive war. given that we are now so dependent on the global economy.

not that there is EVER any excuse to cut back on defence preparedness.

Dixit13

Indian and Chinese troops came face to face many time patrolling disputed territory claimed by both parties, but no shots where fired unlike in case of Pakistan, where cross border firing is a every day job. Neither china nor India will go to war until unless their economy is directly threatened by each other . China is building infrastructure across its border and is better prepared, while India is catching up.

Coming to the point , even though India is two steps behind china. 1962 wont be repeated if war starts tomorrow. While they have numerical advantage in terms of weapons (mostly reversed engineered copies) and man power, we have technological advantage on our side (especially Air-force n Navy). :grouphug:

Off topic: After doing lot of researching i can fairly say that Arjun and LCA Tejas is no bullshit programs. Air force should induct at least 500+ LCA MK2 with or without AESA radar (EL/M-2032 or zhuk-ae/any Aother) but with atleast 65+KN of dry thrust, BVR capabilities and 5500Kg payload.

Hindu - Chini bhai bhai :namaste:

next war with China will be war of missiles not the kind, what our Chief is thinking. China has cruise missiles with range and quantity, that can take out our infrastructure, man and material. Wont be surprised if missiles start landing at New Delhi or Hindon airbase to scare off our politicians. Plus Pakistan taking advantage of situation and start doing all sort of mischief. Worse case would be two front war. Every day we are getting stronger, hope it get delayed next 5-7 years, then CHINA will know it wont be worth fighting this war. By that time all our major weapon system will become operational, including Nirbhy in thousands.
China has IRBM 's pointed at Indian cities from tibet

China preparing Tibet as future war zone

Another major infrastructure development is the construction of new missile bases in Tibet. According to recent reports, China has placed advanced Dong Feng-21 medium-range ballistic missiles along the borders it shares with India. During a future conflict with India, the PLA could easily move 500 to 600 mobile ballistic missile launchers to bases close to the Indian border from their current deployment opposite Taiwan.

average american

next war with China will be war of missiles not the kind, what our Chief is thinking. China has cruise missiles with range and quantity, that can take out our infrastructure, man and material. Wont be surprised if missiles start landing at New Delhi or Hindon airbase to scare off our politicians. Plus Pakistan taking advantage of situation and start doing all sort of mischief. Worse case would be two front war. Every day we are getting stronger, hope it get delayed next 5-7 years, then CHINA will know it wont be worth fighting this war. By that time all our major weapon system will become operational, including Nirbhy in thousands.
Missiles wont do it,,,, missiles hold a 1000 to 2000 lbs of explosive. If you do the math,,,to just destroy a square mile takes a hundred missiles.,, if you want to do the math,,, find the blast radius of 1000 or 2000 lb bomb and see how many it would take to destroy a sq mile...... About the only use is they can take out communications maybe a command and control center if people are stupid enough to have one that is not protected, but really missiles are not that effective weapon.

EzioAltaïr

Missiles wont do it,,,, missiles hold a 1000 to 2000 lbs of explosive. If you do the math,,,to just destroy a square mile takes a hundred missiles.,, if you want to do the math,,, find the blast radius of 1000 or 2000 lb bomb and see how many it would take to destroy a sq mile...... About the only use is they can take out communications maybe a command and control center if people are stupid enough to have one that is not protected, but really missiles are not that effective weapon.
We are in the 21st century not in the World Wars. If one says "we wanna take out infrastructure", it means he is going to launch one missile to destroy the crucial targets. Ever heard of PGMs? We don't need to bomb the whole city to blow up one factory, it takes a very limited number of bombs now.

Chinese have to supply troops in a difficult terrain with limited options of rail and air
if the winter comes the rail lines will freeze. How will any gains be maintained??
Chinese in their history have not fought a war far from home even a border war with
Vietnam resulted in getting their asses kicked. Even when the Chinese economy was
a 100 times bigger than vietnamese economy as members like to point out. During
Chinese olympics there was a Tibetan uprising, it took almost a week to get the
Chinese gestapo into Tibet and about a month to get the Tibetans under control even
with the freedom of a shoot on sight order for Chinese Soldiers. Very impressive??

http://www.idsa.in/chronology/TibetanUprisingandthe2008BeijingOlympics

Tibetan Uprising and the 2008 Beijing Olympics: A Chronology

vishwaprasad

Chinese hitting targets near Delhi with cruise missiles is a big worry...we must consider changing our refuelling planes base from Agra to some other place. I am not sure but I think we have stationed all our such planes in Agra which is very vulnerable to Chinese cruise missile attack and will seriously damage capacity of our MKI's to stay longer in the air.

Dixit13

Chinese hitting targets near Delhi with cruise missiles is a big worry...we must consider changing our refuelling planes base from Agra to some other place. I am not sure but I think we have stationed all our such planes in Agra which is very vulnerable to Chinese cruise missile attack and will seriously damage capacity of our MKI's to stay longer in the air.
First of all, not all the Aerial Refueling planes are not stationed at Agra. Secondly any of the country if decides to use cruise or ballistic missile, it will be restricted to the conflict zone (border areas). NO country (India/China) in their right state of mind launch a cruise or ballistic missile on any major city of its counterpart because radars only gives warning about incoming missiles and not about the payload they are carrying (conventional or nuclear). Do they want ""MAD""??? :scared1:

If enemy have arrows it will surely fall under once castle, But more important is the gates of castle..

If gates are lost the castle is lost.

------------------------------------------------------------

Cruise Missiles are common in today`s War, If one have he will surely use it, but its no wonder weapon, First operational during WW2, And its solutions are the same even today..

SAM System like osa-ak engage targets size of football over 10 - 15kms away at firing range, With a hit probability of 98%..

Further you have Akash for ranges over 25kms, At short range you have tunguska with cannons, Hitting Delhi is not so easy as many would think..

------------------------------------------------------------

Tactical BM like Agni-1, 1000kg HE targeted for some bridge and tunnel, HQ and Airfield is way more than enough, Its effect are :

1. Explosion at spot wipe out anything at 100-150m and make a wide crater of more than 30m or more..

2. Shock wave cause further damage to man and materiel over 500m -1000m, People die cause of brain damage mostly..

3. Beyond 500ms is the shrapnel size of a human arm fly around to kms..

Brahmos range is 290kms, Anything important beyond that is AGNI-1 in tactical sense..

One MUST also note how many PJ-10 batteries we have till date, Only two units are ever created..

Cant say about AGNI-1 which is under SFC, But highly unlikely would be use for tactical means..

Dixit13

"""Hitting Delhi is not so easy as many would think.."""

In first place,....Do you think they dare to hit Delhi or in our case Beijing??? Read my last Post.
Btw we also have S-300 and S-300v4.

Lurk before post..

Read the First page for the start, The IAF is good so does IN, BUT here its IA what is in the limelight..

There is nothing call 'dare' what count is the tactics by which one can bring down the other first..

1967 & 87 both are interesting part of history over LAC and time to time things goes wrong..

Dixit13

""Dare"" = foolishness in case of nuclear weapons, that's what i mean. And that goes for both countries.
MAD = Mutually assured destruction