14 Muslims in BJP’s Ist List of 45 Candidates for Jammu and Kashmir Po

Discussion in 'Politics & Society' started by AVERAGE INDIAN, Nov 4, 2014.



    Sep 22, 2012
    Likes Received:
    Detroit MI
    14 Muslims in BJP’s Ist List of 45 Candidates for Jammu and Kashmir Polls

    SRINAGAR: The BJP on Monday released its first list of 45 candidates, which also includes 14 Muslims for the upcoming state Assembly polls to be held over five phases from November 25.

    And the list of names to be fielded in 32 seats in Jammu, 11 in Kashmir and two in Ladakh followed the BJP Central Election Committee meeting chaired by party president Amit Shah on Sunday. The meeting was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Finance and Defence minister Arun Jaitley and all members of the party’s Central Election Committee.

    There are 46 Assembly seats in the Valley, 37 in Jammu and 4 in Ladakh. Nine of the Muslim candidates have been fielded from Kashmir and the rest from Jammu. Hina is the lone woman candidate from Kashmir. She is daughter of former NC MP and MLA, Mohammad Shafiq Bhat. Her father was also associated with the Congress and had won the Amira Kadal seat in Srinagar on Congress ticket in the 2002 polls after being denied ticket by the NC. Hina will be contesting against National Conference’s Nasir Aslam Wani and PDP’s Altaf Bukhari.

    The party surprisingly dropped seven sitting legislators, including Legislature Party Leader Ashok Khajuria. The six dropped legislators had indulged in cross-voting in the 2011 J&K Legislative Council elections for National Conference-Congress candidates.

    Besides Khajuria, six party legislators who were not given renomination include Baldev Sharma (Reasi), Durga Dass (Hiranagar Reserve), Master Lal Chand (Bani), Jagdish Raj Sapolia (Basohli), Bharat Bushan (Domana-Reserved) and Gharu Bhagat (RS Pura-Reserved). These six MLAs were expelled by the BJP in 2011, after they were found to be involved in cross-voting. The party had later revoked their expulsion.

    Congress MP from Udhampur-Doda Lok Sabha seat, who recently joined the BJP, will contest from Basohli seat in Kathua district. He had won the seat in 1996 and 2002 Assembly polls but lost to BJP’s Jagdish Raj Sapolia in 2008 elections.

    The BJP also named candidates for two Assembly seats from Ladakh -- Tsering Dorje from Leh and Tenjing Galik from Nobra.

    In the 2008 Assembly polls, the BJP had won 11 seats.

    14 Muslims in BJP’s Ist List of 45 Candidates for Jammu and Kashmir Polls - The New Indian Express
    Voldemort and maomao like this.

Share This Page