11 scientists bag country's highest science prizes

Discussion in 'Strategic Forces' started by RPK, Sep 28, 2009.

  1. RPK

    RPK Indyakudimahan Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2009
    Likes Received:
    13° 4'60.00"N 80°16'60.00"E

    11 scientists bag country's highest science prizes

    New Delhi, Sep 26 (PTI) Abhishek Dhar of Raman Research Institute, Santosh Honavar of L V Prasad Eye Institute and Venapally Suresh of Hyderabad University were among the 11 researchers selected for the country's highest science awards for 2009.

    The announcement of prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize was made by Council of Scientific and Industrial Research Director General Samir Brahmachari at the institution's 67th Foundation Day Celebrations here today.

    While Dhar has been awarded for his contribution to Physical Sciences, Honavar and Suresh were selected for their research work in the fields of medical and mathematical sciences respectively.

    Rajesh Gopakumar of the Harish-Chandra Research Institute was also selected for his contribution to physical sciences.

Share This Page