DRDO develops protective 'chilli' spray for women

Sam2012

Look what DRDO has developed hurray:mad::frusty:

Managing the growing number of sex crimes against women is often proving to be a massive challenge for police/security forces nationwide, especially as they are trying to grapple with the paucity of personnel.

The approach when it comes to protecting women should therefore be multi-pronged, including providing equipments for self-defence that does not actually put them in harms way, something that has been tried by the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO).

The organisation has just completed development of Capsispray, an eco-friendly, non-lethal spray based on Bhut Jolokia (Capsicum assamicum) oleoresin.
Bhut Jolokia, also known as Naga Chilli, is the world's hottest chilli.

Chilli power is measured in Scoville Heat Units (SHUs) and the Naga chilli measures over a million SHU, far higher than California Red Savina Chilli which measures 5,77,000 SHU.

"We know the kind of problems women in our country, especially in urban areas, are facing. We believe that the product, which has been developed to exploit the hotness and pungency of Bhut Jolokia, will be helpful in situations that call for personal protection and self-defence," a senior scientist (rank G) told Deccan Herald.

With the trials of the hand grenade, meant to be used against terrorists in such areas proving successful in pulling out targets from hidden positions, work on the spray and other products meant to control violent situations in urban areas such as riots had begun, senior scientists said.

The spray will be available in containers of different sizes (50 ml can to 50 l cylinder) and the DRDO is already in the process of transferring the technology to companies that will put the product in the market. The development of the spray was an offshoot of the initial research and development meant for the defence forces operating in low intensity conflict areas.

Explaining the product, another scientist said: "The oleoresin is a thick oily liquid which is absorbed in a composition. On ignition the composition reacts to liberate heat which evaporates the active sensory irritants in the atmosphere along with smoke liberated due to decomposing.

DRDO develops protective ?chilli? spray for women | idrw.org

Sam2012

Why don't you nincompoops design bullet proof T-shirt , Jeans etc for women . This will be the first defence & reasearch institute in whole world developing spray for womens, even a petty shopper can do that fools , U are the masters in eating Tax payers money:mad::cry:

Nirbhay failed today , did u use the spray in the place of fuel ? . LCA LSP-8 is yet to take off , Naval LCA still awaiting serious modification on landing gear & etc , LCA mk2 still in drwing board, Trishul project a flop .Kaveri as good as dead , Akash delayed , Maithri SAM delayed , Arjun tank delayed , LRSAM delayed the list goes on & u people are busy making sprays:facepalm:

I wish Joseph stalin was Indian defence minister he would have strainght away executed or sent u guys to Andaman , only then u people will learn u dumb fools:shoot:

What u people will do if a attacker snaches the spray , add a anti goonda missile to a spray u nincompoops:mad:

Spindrift

i hope that the chilli spray can does not blow up in the hands of person using it...

DRDO is developing lots of things that are already invented. Why are they re-inventing the wheel? Sure, sometimes it is necessary, because military technology is not easily accessible; but for technology that is widely available, is it justified? Last time there was news of DRDO having developed or planning to develop toilets for trains?

So let us see in which decade they are able to commercialize this thing & make profits ! :facepalm:

Indian women should apply pepper spray to bullets before loading their handguns..

Sam2012

Keep it up , hope one day u will come up with a system similar to Anti ballastic missile eating tax payers money:hail:

Called Anti Sex crime missile:thumb:

How reemarkable.

From defence to social!

The OFB used to make coffee machines till 1962 hit them in the face.

DRDO is developing lots of things that are already invented. Why are they re-inventing the wheel? Sure, sometimes it is necessary, because military technology is not easily accessible; but for technology that is widely available, is it justified? Last time there was news of DRDO having developed or planning to develop toilets for trains?

I presume it is cheaper to access commercial patents and technology than defence patents and technology.

They have to make themselves useful after all. A lot of taxpayers money is being shovelled in to keep them in good fettle!

They should go into producing cosmetic products and give P&G, Hindustan Lever, Body Shop a run for their money and open up exclusive showrooms in the malls that are mushrooming around the country!

Attaboy DRDO.

We are all so proud of you!

Sad that your good old Chief Saraswat who was lobby so hard for an extension is not being given the same by Saint Anthony.

A miracle actually, if one asks me, where in a babu who says he is a scientist is being denied his usual and tradition perk of high office - extension!

Sam2012

How reemarkable.

From defence to social!

The OFB used to make coffee machines till 1962 hit them in the face.
Everyone makes the mistake, problem is from learning we repeat the same. That is is my point & hence i opened this thread

Should DRDO get involved in spray , perfume , powder etc?

Then who will develop ammos ? , DRDO is not able to give a reliable Assault rifle even Para military is not ready to buy INSAS now after repeated failure during combat

And we end up making Spray & all kind of jokes really hurts:mad: