China's take on US Defense Authorization Act

Double blow to ties

The Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2013, which has two amendments relating to China, was passed by the US House of Representatives and the Senate at the end of last week. The amendments, though not legally binding, sent the wrong signal to the Asia Pacific region and could cast a shadow over Sino-US ties.

In the amendment on the Diaoyu Islands, the United States once again repeated its official line that it does not take sides in the maritime territorial dispute involving China and Japan. However, at the same time, it explicitly recognizes Japan's administration of the disputed isles. In an apparent move to bolster Japan's unwarranted claims, the document goes even further to say that the US-Japan security treaty applies to the dispute, should the islands come under attack.

This is a blatant violation of China's sovereign rights. The US-Japan security pact, as a bilateral agreement, should not be cited as a legal basis for the US to meddle in the maritime dispute. Japan should also be soberly aware that the US' involvement does not grant it the isles and waters it is not entitled to.

The US' meddling in the dispute over the Diaoyu Islands is detrimental to regional peace and stability, as it will only embolden the increasingly rightist Japan.

The second amendment is a blunt interference in China's internal affairs as it suggests the US sell advanced fighter jets to Taiwan. This breaks the pledge by the US to phase out arms sales to the Chinese island. The US arms sales to Taiwan, an inalienable part of China, are the most sensitive issue standing in the way of bilateral ties. Any mishandling of the issue could derail what is widely seen as the most important bilateral relationship in the world.
Although neither of the amendments would necessarily result in any policy change, as they only express "the sense of Congress", Obama would be wise to reject them both, as they will do a disservice to the building of a constructive China-US relationship based on mutual respect and mutual benefit.
The best choice at this moment is for the two countries to maintain the current good climate for bilateral ties, rather than provoking each other over sensitive issues.

(China Daily 12/24/2012 page8)

Double blow to ties|Editorials|chinadaily.com.cn

It appears that China is really upset with the US maintaining US' sovereign right to formulate their own policy.

It is surprising that the Chinese feel that everyone should toe the Chinese line of thought.

US has stated that it will not interfere and that should be enough, but China is not satisfied.

The islands are under the Japanese and so how can any country not acknowledge this fact.

It is interesting that China discards others' sovereign rights and shrill whines that China's rights are being meddled with!

All countries cannot display the unique logic that China displays, or can they?

One wonders how China will counter the US and its 'meddling' in China's sovereign right to claim everything that comes with the horizon of the Pacific as that of China.

China is rising.

It rose what they called peacefully, but the carefully camouflaged skin has peeled and the real aggressive and imperialist intent has been unfolded.

China requires land for food, minerals for development and it has to follow the policy of Lebensraum.

On the other hand Japan is no pushover and Vietnam is well conversant with warfare against larger countries.

What are China's chances and what should it do to fulfill her dreams?

Is the US overstepping her brief?

Can the US contain China?

Can the coalition when it happens of interested nations lead by the US contain China?

Or will China goosestep over all nations around her periphery?

He can not because Indian is founder of non-aligned movement.
once China have enough allies, US is a dead man.
Exactly who are your allies cash strapped Bangladesh,Pakistan or Sri lanka compare to US its allies in your immediate neighbourhood South Korea,Japan both large economies in the world not to forget EU.

China at the moment cannot match the US militarily but its catching up fast.

Can you name the future allies....
The counties which are open for auction and sold to the higest bidder since such countries have become or are becoming failed states and with their economy in the doldrums.

satish007

Can you name the future allies....
"Chinese allies are Chinese --- Hitler", Do you really think a country bigger than India, almost same as EU need ally? Even India does not need.
we have Tibetan, East Turkestan and tons of US ass kisser and few pro-India guy like me. they are China future allies.
The only way to stop Chinese are Indian who at least have time as their ally.

"Chinese allies are Chinese --- Hitler", Do you really think a country bigger than India, almost same as EU need ally? Even India does not need.
we have Tibetan, East Turkestan and tons of US ass kisser and few pro-India guy like me. they are China future allies.
The only way to stop Chinese are Indian who at least have time as their ally.
Satish ji, China's allies are Army and Navy, plus Air Force --- Alexander II

However, every power, more or less, has a few buddies. Like America having Israel and making countless vetos for Isreal, China fortunately has got Pakistan and North Korea. Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are still in the waiting queue :p

satish007

Satish ji, China's allies are Army and Navy, plus Air Force --- Alexander II

However, every power, more or less, has a few buddies. Like America having Israel and making countless vetos for Isreal, China fortunately has got Pakistan and North Korea. Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are still in the waiting queue :p
o, yes, thanks for correcting, Pakistan is a good bhai, but I really don't care others. Imagine what India and China could accomplish if we followed US-UK example.
we should not consume with personal ambition. we should not obsess over the differences. we should work together (may be work back-to-back or face-to-face, so that we don't need to worry about back stabbing, we both good at that) and bhai bhai forever.

o, yes, thanks for correcting, Pakistan is a good bhai, but I really don't care others. Imagine what India and China could accomplish if we followed US-UK example.
we should not consume with personal ambition. we should not obsess over the differences. we should work together (may be work back-to-back or face-to-face, so that we don't need to worry about back stabbing, we both good at that) and bhai bhai forever.
That bhai-bhai fantasy is a delusion, My Guru.

Unlike UK and US, China and India are bordering each other, vying for the same leading position, and limited resources worldwide, needless to mention the territorial dispute. In India's wild dream, the US and its lapdogs (like Japan +++) would do the job for India of containing or beating China hands on, so that India could take advantage.

The US, however, as a sophisticated and responsible superpower, won't make a cat's paw of itself, to say the least. A chess player rather than the chess to be played :namaste:

One should not mistake US to be a paragon of virtue with their policies and actions as per international niceties.

The US is only concerned of their national aim and not how the world reviews them.

If they were above board, then the activities in South America would not have been embarked upon. I could enumerate them, but then it is not really required. Each action was in the US interest even if not totally above board.

Likewise the attack on Iraq had nothing to do with Freedom and Democracy. It was a strategic requirement, one, to break up the OPEC cartel and bring them to their sense not to blackmail the world, two, to put a squeeze on Russian underbelly and three, be centrally positioned so that quick reaction forces are readily available to react to any activities which are anti US. Check the location of Iraq and you will find that it has a border with all the trouble spots.

It is not that the US will contain China to please what you term so quaintly as 'lapdogs'. It will be be contained for US strategic interest that interestingly, coincides with the ones you call 'lapdogs' - a term one could use for China when there was the USSR!

Of course, Mao's term was 'running dogs'! That could also apply to Communist China of yore, instead of the term 'lapdog' just to be close to the Communist lexicon!

DivineHeretic

WRT to the article, We should all take the writing and the arguements with a sack of salt. Primarily because these articles are not meant for reading but rather serve as propaganda, and a pretty blatant one at that. But it does give an insight to the fact that the CCP are trying to stir up the public emotion with nationalistic rantings. So it might be possible that this article is really a clever ploy to rally the people of China to the CCP's side, particularly given the recent uprisings against corrupt govt. Officials.
I could be wrong though

SPIEZ

One should not mistake US to be a paragon of virtue with their policies and actions as per international niceties.

The US is only concerned of their national aim and not how the world reviews them.

If they were above board, then the activities in South America would not have been embarked upon. I could enumerate them, but then it is not really required. Each action was in the US interest even if not totally above board.

Likewise the attack on Iraq had nothing to do with Freedom and Democracy. It was a strategic requirement, one, to break up the OPEC cartel and bring them to their sense not to blackmail the world, two, to put a squeeze on Russian underbelly and three, be centrally positioned so that quick reaction forces are readily available to react to any activities which are anti US. Check the location of Iraq and you will find that it has a border with all the trouble spots.

It is not that the US will contain China to please what you term so quaintly as 'lapdogs'. It will be be contained for US strategic interest that interestingly, coincides with the ones you call 'lapdogs' - a term one could use for China when there was the USSR!

Of course, Mao's term was 'running dogs'! That could also apply to Communist China of yore, instead of the term 'lapdog' just to be close to the Communist lexicon!
Can you please emphasize further on the same???

Despite superficial "double blows" and the rhetoric in response, China and the US are a perfect pair of Yin-Yang across the Pacific, and beyond. America is always China's beacon of inspiration in many respects, of her values, culture, innovation, etc. etc.. In return whenever China stirs up a situation the US gets chances to fleece minors in the periphery with, such as over-priced arms deals. In the duo China shall model herself on America as an aspirant to sort of power status, including -

* How to back allies - Again Israel comes to mind
* How to keep neighbors at bay - What do we think of Mexico? Floods of illegal emigrants? Drug mafia? A tramp sleeping next door to a billionaire?
* How to deal with tartars in close proximity - 50 years of embargo on Cuba after its pro-US regime was over.

No doubt China has got tips as to getting over the trouble waters of SCS, ECS and Indian Ocean.

t_co

Despite superficial "double blows" and the rhetoric in response, China and the US are a perfect pair of Yin-Yang across the Pacific, and beyond. America is always China's beacon of inspiration in many respects, of her values, culture, innovation, etc. etc.. In return whenever China stirs up a situation the US gets chances to fleece minors in the periphery with, such as over-priced arms deals. In the duo China shall model herself on America as an aspirant to sort of power status, including -

* How to back allies - Again Israel comes to mind
* How to keep neighbors at bay - What do we think of Mexico? Floods of illegal emigrants? Drug mafia? A tramp sleeping next door to a billionaire?
* How to deal with tartars in close proximity - 50 years of embargo on Cuba after its pro-US regime was over.

No doubt China has got tips as to getting over the trouble waters of SCS, ECS and Indian Ocean.
China won't play US-style power politics for a while. Not there yet, nothing is certain. China would do far better to learn how to handle economic downturns without suffering political instability, which is a trick only the United States and Britain have been able to master. Not even France (1968) and Germany (1933) were able to pull them off.