Prahaar Short Range Tactical Missile System

let us concentrate on topic at hand and not make useless and unwanted comments guys. That goes for all, including me.

plugwater

The work was given to them, with a ready made base of others work (Hint AAD), that is why they are able to deliver it quickly, please don't make arrogant remarks without knowing the history
The DRDO chief, who always prefers to reach the launch site in Balasore on a speed-boat, leaving the comforts of a VIP vessel, said that the whole missile was developed by scientists, below 35 years of age. "Be it the controls, navigation, propulsion, guidance, system engineering or structures – it is DRDO's 3rd generation scientists who developed Prahaar. I am delighted to say that it is their gift to India," Saraswat said.
I wonder what else is there in a missile other than the above mentioned systems.

PDV ain't a new missile lot of things are taken from PAD and AAD.

i want to ask one question here . what amount of time does it requires to prepare such missiles. pakistan had developed their nasar and must have planned for it past 2-3 years back . did indian governement had intelligence report over it and instructed DRDO to develop counter to it. i also read in some previous post that drdo developed this missile alone without GOI approval. i want to ask whether some defence organisation (eg army or GOI) asked unofficially to develope Prahaar missile considering that pakistan was developing nasar.

i asumed that goi/army intelligence had information about pakistan developing nasar so they asked for counter of it from drdo
What is so special about Nasr it is nothing more than a rocket common in all MBRL's??

i want to ask one question here . what amount of time does it requires to prepare such missiles. pakistan had developed their nasar and must have planned for it past 2-3 years back . did indian governement had intelligence report over it and instructed DRDO to develop counter to it. i also read in some previous post that drdo developed this missile alone without GOI approval. i want to ask whether some defence organisation (eg army or GOI) asked unofficially to develope Prahaar missile considering that pakistan was developing nasar.

i asumed that goi/army intelligence had information about pakistan developing nasar so they asked for counter of it from drdo
Tell me what does quick reaction means

with respect to IA asking this pic will satisfy you, DRDO cannot make anything on its own, it needs to get GSQR from IA only then it work on it.

I wonder what else is there in a missile other than the above mentioned systems.

PDV ain't a new missile lot of things are taken from PAD and AAD.
Boss, you are trying to say that these guys got hired by someone, they just invented these things on there own in two years, and launch the missile, is that is what you are trying to convey. If you really think that is the case, that this shows hollowness of your understanding.

This is a major system we needed in Army, It have nothing to do with Pakistan military developments..

They claim it is akin to ATACMS. That means

It is deep strike precision weapon

capable of engaging time critical targets at high precision
under all weather conditions

Multiple Launch Rocket System (MLRS) family of launchers category

High Mobility Artillery Rocket System (HIMARS) launcher category

Effective against air defense targets.

C4ISR nodes or C2I or C4I buster.

To be used against sophisticated enemy, equipped with early warning capabilities,

can maintain an element of surprise

Capability to launching attacks off axis. ( shaping the ballistic trajectory to 'hide' the objective and target it is aimed at). I of it has that characterstics.

capable of delivering various types submunitions from a single dispenser foundation or more foundations.

Delivery of Dual-Purpose Improved Conventional Munition (DPICM), Anti-Personnel/Anti-Materiel (APAM), Sense and Destroy Armor (SADARM) and Brilliant Anti-Armor (BAT) type submunitions.

weapon would be optimized for the attack of deeply buried targets, such as command posts and weapons of mass destruction (WMD) storage caches.

Only thing is the warhead is about 200 kgs which could further be enhanced to 500 kg to be underground command post buster.

Well I suppose that is going to be a good support system if cost of production is reduced.

US ATACMS system costs about one million dollars per piece. We should be able to do it at Rs 20 lakh per piece or less.

ATACMS is presently in service with Taiwan and South Korea.

For Nasar it is stand off distance.

USA has used ATACMS in both Iraq war very effectively to dgrade Iraqi AD and C4I systems in conjuction with attack heptrs.

So cheers guys. I only hope Pakistan does not provide an opportunity to to India to use Prahar en mass. They must realise their vitals are all within 150 kms of Indian border. There is nothing very vital in side India within 60 km for Nasar. I sincerelly hope better sense prevails upon Pakistani folks to launch first Nasar on GHQ rather than towards India.

Can any one tell me if Kahuta is within 150 km. May be yes.

Kahuta will not be a target when cold start is launched.

well we need to walk more lots of lots things we have to do

Kahuta will not be a target when cold start is launched.
True we dont want to take out Khauta, as radiation would effect us, but just thought of Mach4 one after another that too with precision would cause havoc into their air defence.

This missile is said to be capable of hitting targets from 50 to 150 kms. The toughest challenge will be to test it to hit this distace with precision, best of luck to DRDO for that. Now the production agencies have to get there act to geather, and ensure that these missiles gets delivered in quantity with proper quality control. I hope private sector too gets a decent pie in to this project, will be good stepping stone.

I hope IA induct this system like they did with BrahMos, so that the process of setting up the infrastructure starts in parallel, rather then insisting on having all test done, and then giving orders.

Six tube TEL is something very crucial for the success of Prahar and i believe it must be under development for fact that AAD (endo-atmospheric) always required 6 tube TEL and the upcoming 120 km range Pinak-2 with almost similar(weight and size) rocket to Prahar will require too. So by developing a common TEL DRDO can serve three different systems.

I hope IA induct this system like they did with BrahMos, so that the process of setting up the infrastructure starts in parallel, rather then insisting on having all test done, and then giving orders.

That is the biggest problem. if DRDO made this missile on Services QR and fulfilled it, then they have all the rights to demand its order and induction. Otherwise, it is for the user to decide if they wants this system at all or wnat something else. DPSU and DRDO can not write down a doctrine and tactics for the Armed Forces. That is their forte and their task / responsiblity.

DRDO and DPSU (that is MoD) has No reason, logic or right to claim for a captive market and a slave user. Inventing is their right and so is marketting but Monopoly in India is prohibited by MRTPA which should be applicable to DPSUs and DRDO. Then only these entities wil improve.

Their efforts and hard work should be louded and appreciated but they can not become monopolistic parasites. That will kill the idea and spirit behind what was intended by their creation and existance MRTPA. Rules of business must apply to them as for Lockheed Boeing or GE in USA.

They always cry about "Foreign Mal" without revealling that majority of their product is nothing but assembled foreign mal. In effect they show desperation about loss of their middlemanship in foreign mal when it comes to imports.

Prahar as a system, not much revealled though, should be welcome and louded.

i wonder how the missile reach its target with precision at 150 km.
The CEP is less than 10 which is very precise. I am guessing that the radar we are using is the one developed for Maitri -3D CAR

Another one of LRDE's major products is the 3D Central Acquisition Radar (CAR). It is capable of handling 150 targets in Track-While-Scan (TWS) mode and a detection range of more than 150 km at 7.5 rpm. It is designed to operate in heavy ECM environments and features extensive system BITE with independent BITE for the antenna. 3D-CAR is an integral part of the Akash air-defence system.

That is the biggest problem. if DRDO made this missile on Services QR and fulfilled it, then they have all the rights to demand its order and induction. Otherwise, it is for the user to decide if they wants this system at all or wnat something else. DPSU and DRDO can not write down a doctrine and tactics for the Armed Forces. That is their forte and their task / responsiblity.
I have never seen an instance where DRDO tried to get in to writing the doctrine, or demanded that some products have to be ordered, even when there is no need for it. If you have came across, please point it out.

DRDO and DPSU (that is MoD) has No reason, logic or right to claim for a captive market and a slave user. Inventing is their right and so is marketting but Monopoly in India is prohibited by MRTPA which should be applicable to DPSUs and DRDO. Then only these entities wil improve.
DRDO is not stopping private players to enter, that is GoI's decision to make, please put the blame where it is due.

Their efforts and hard work should be louded and appreciated but they can not become monopolistic parasites. That will kill the idea and spirit behind what was intended by their creation and existance MRTPA. Rules of business must apply to them as for Lockheed Boeing or GE in USA.
I am lost here, can you explain what you are trying to convey

They always cry about "Foreign Mal" without revealling that majority of their product is nothing but assembled foreign mal. In effect they show desperation about loss of their middlemanship in foreign mal when it comes to imports.
I have seen transparency, instead of what you are crying about. They have clearly mentioned what is foreign in there products, in India we have lot more milestones to achieve. In fact public sector is transferring technologies to private sector, they are not trying to be monopolistic.

I have never seen an instance where DRDO tried to get in to writing the doctrine, or demanded that some products have to be ordered, even when there is no need for it. If you have came across, please point it out.

Many examples. Look at what is happening in the name of buy and make. It has become import and assemble. DRDO made a good gun in INSAS but look at how it is made. The point is about lack of synergy between user, developer and maker.

Arjun is an example. Using Arjun in our scenario tentamounts to writting a doctrine. Third is DRDO scuttling 155 Howitzer deal.

There are many and many.

DRDO is not stopping private players to enter, that is GoI's decision to make, please put the blame where it is due.

That is true. Govt is maker, braker and scammer. I think DRDO plays a significant part in it. DRDO does feel threatend by private players and there is no example of DRDO incopting Private industry for something which they can do. They are incopted when DRDO can not do.

I am lost here, can you explain what you are trying to convey

Please do not be lost otherwise what will happen to Armed Forces waiting for the promised DRDO Moon since decades.

I have seen transparency, instead of what you are crying about. They have clearly mentioned what is foreign in there products, in India we have lot more milestones to achieve. In fact public sector is transferring technologies to private sector, they are not trying to be monopolistic.
There can never be transperency in DRDO and DPSU unless user is incorprated at decision and supervisional levels with them. In USA Services are part of development teams even with Private Sectors. Here back home that is missing even if all are under on MoD roof. MoD mendarins are one of the three agencies.

DRDO of late has been scuttling direct imports by claiming they will invent and then make it. Leave aside IGMDP, all other spheres have same story.

You do not know how much people of India whish you success and how much the soldiers look upto that fat DRDO.

Har saakh pe Ullu Baitha hai - is the famous Indian proverb.

I only meant this much and please do not take any other meaning.