Yasin Bhatkal walked out of Kolkata jail as 'Bulla Mallik'

Ten days before the twin blasts struck Hyderabad, the Mumbai police announced a Rs 10 lakh award for information on Yasin Bhatkal. It was a desperate attempt for a breakthrough in the hunt for a 30-year-old who, since 2007, has been named almost every year in a terror attack in the country, but who has always managed to escape.
As the Indian Mujahideen is named in the Hyderabad attack, Yasin, its co-founder, is again among India's most-wanted.

Only, by his own account and those held along with him, "Mohammed Ahmed Siddibappa" could have been long behind bars.

In December 2009, Yasin — by then already a key accused in the twin Hyderabad blasts of August 2007 and the Delhi blasts of September 2008 — was picked up by the Kolkata police in a case of theft. The complaint was filed by a man named Karishma Dhavan Seth.

However, Yasin managed to walk out of Kolkata's Shakespeare Sarani police station on December 29, 2009, a few days later, having convinced officials that he was Bulla Mallik, 26, son of Karthik Mallik, a resident of "No. 9, North Range, Kolkata-17". Two other persons arrested in the case identified themselves as "Mohammed Nowsad, 38, s/o Md Islam, footpath dweller of AJC Bose Road, Kolkata" and "Mohammed Jahangir, 36, s/o late Md Sabbir, footpath dweller, AJC Bose Road, Kolkata".

A report filed by the Bangalore police in the Chinnaswamy Stadium blasts case of April 2010, in which Yasin Bhatkal is the prime accused, mentioned how the Kolkata Police had held him and let him ago. As per the documents filed in the case, the Kolkata Police ordered the release saying "nothing fruitful came out" of the arrest. Three other key accused arrested in the case reportedly corroborated this fact. Of the three, Mohammed Qatil Siddiqui, who was with Yasin in Kolkata, was killed in Pune's Yerawada prison on June 8, 2012, allegedly in a prison fight.

Though Shakespeare Sarani police station officials initially stated that no one by the name of Yasin Bhatkal had been arrested by them, they later identified him from a photograph. This was the photograph Yasin submitted at the Ranchi passport office as part of his passport application on January 20, 2010. The application was moved under the name 'Anjar Hussain', say records in the stadium blasts case.

Siddiqui, who also applied for a passport in Ranchi along with Yasin under a fake identity, reportedly told the Bangalore police that while Yasin had been arrested, he himself had managed to return home to Darbhanga, Bihar. He also revealed that Yasin, who popped up in Delhi in January 2010, days after his release, told them he was arrested because a man he had gone to meet in Kolkata was a dealer in counterfeit currency. Siddiqui also identified two Kolkata locals "Asif" and "Anzar" as being close friends of Yasin who operated a counterfeit currency racket.

Two other terror accused in custody, 31-year-old Mohammed Tariq Anjum, who allegedly was in engineering college with Yasin, and Gauhar Aziz Khomani, also 31, too told the Bangalore police that Yasin had talked about his arrest.

Once earlier, in October 2008, Yasin had had a narrow escape when the Karnataka Police had delayed a raid on a hideout near Kopa in Chikamagalur following raids on IM operatives in Mangalore. More recently, in November 2011, Yasin evaded capture when his father-in-law Irshad Khan and his associates were picked up from Chennai and Delhi.

Among the attacks linked to the IM in which Yasin lurks as a key entity are the August 2007 twin blasts in Hyderabad, the Delhi blasts of September 2008, the Pune German bakery blast of 2010, the Bangalore cricket stadium blasts of April 2010, the July 2011 blasts in Mumbai and the Pune blasts of August 2012.

In their February 11 announcement, the Mumbai police also announced Rs 10 lakh reward for information on three suspected current associates of Yasin — Tahseen Akhtar Shaikh, 23, Asadulla Akhtar, 26, and Waqas alias Ahmed, 26.

Yasin Bhatkal walked out of Kolkata jail as 'Bulla Mallik' - Indian Express Mobile

This is telling isn't it. It says India has no system in place to identify terrorists. I mean isn't there a "databank" on picture, fingerprints, voice samples etc that can be run to find out who te person is.

People can easily take themselves and get away. Electronic intel with NTRO is pretty good and many of the intel leads come from it. I bet we have voice samples of all known terrorists. Then how can thu slip away like this?

It really calls for a new approach to fighting terror as well as crime across te country with a unified police and terror fighting mechanism.

Indian jails are jails only for poor and innocent people.

Thuley operating and administering these jails work there for time pass not correction and making sure the notorious criminals serve their terms per jail manual.

How can police be stupid , i have never heard name like Karthik Mallik

Second seriouslly when this people are going to establish database for it.

GPM

This is telling isn't it. It says India has no system in place to identify terrorists. I mean isn't there a "databank" on picture, fingerprints, voice samples etc that can be run to find out who te person is.

People can easily take themselves and get away. Electronic intel with NTRO is pretty good and many of the intel leads come from it. I bet we have voice samples of all known terrorists. Then how can thu slip away like this?

It really calls for a new approach to fighting terror as well as crime across te country with a unified police and terror fighting mechanism.
Once arrested finger prints are taken. Again inside finger prints are taken. These prints should be matched with those of who are released.

But we know WB has been ruled by sickulars sinvce 77. Mamta is even worse.

Once arrested finger prints are taken. Again inside finger prints are taken. These prints should be matched with those of who are released.

But we know WB has been ruled by sickulars sinvce 77. Mamta is even worse.
Finger print is taken but is it put up on a central data point which is accessed by all. The finger print taken is digitized or not for easy reference across India. And finger print is not enough isn't it. We have taped voices of intercepts. But no one would use either seen him or have any photo of him. Even if he caught on any petty crime, he will go away Scott free like this Bhatkal guy. These guys manage to make multiple fake passports. For ordinary citizens, making a legitimatr one is a hassle. Bottom line is that security is taken very lightly in our country. Action is usually after the horses are bolted and even that is shabby.

GPM

Sure. You may not like to use any data at all. Once secularism kicks in everything else takes a back seat.

I do not trust WB in such cases.

Sure. You may not like to use any data at all. Once secularism kicks in everything else takes a back seat.

I do not trust WB in such cases.
It's a question of no such capability existing than a question of secularism.

If our security agencies or system do what they suppose to do then there is very less chance that this sort of guys can escape but our agencies are busy in spying over opposition political parties.

GPM

It's a question of no such capability existing than a question of secularism.
It is question of WILL, and will has to come from top.

After 77 election Advani addressed the journalists, editors etc. : You were asked to bend but you chose to crawl. Has this syndrome disappeared completely? If Mamta is seen offering namaz [with a view to appease], why can't the govt staff appear to do so? Terrorists vanishing from the jail so easily is not heard of daily even in corruption ridden India.

It is question of WILL, and will has to come from top.

After 77 election Advani addressed the journalists, editors etc. : You were asked to bend but you chose to crawl. Has this syndrome disappeared completely? If Mamta is seen offering namaz [with a view to appease], why can't the govt staff appear to do so? Terrorists vanishing from the jail so easily is not heard of daily even in corruption ridden India.
NDA rule didn't see any such capability being developed although security was one of the biggest agenda of theirs.
Politicizing and communalising the issue of security is very dangerous for India. Sooner we realize the better.

NDA rule didn't see any such capability being developed although security was one of the biggest agenda of theirs.
Politicizing and communalising the issue of security is very dangerous for India. Sooner we realize the better.
Can't even see the security or the capability developed during last two term of UPA . Useless to talk about the last 60years of Congrass rule. We are here stand as a divided nation, thanks to Congress/UPAs & it's policy of minorty appeasement.

India has lacked the strategic culture, security culture for ever. We have never been serious about it. We didn't lost 62 war just like that. We don't appreciate the concept of strategic foresight at all. How many think tanks does the govt have on this issue?

Very true! When people in power are looking for immediate return on their investment who wish to think strategically.

There is strong need to form advisory group of experts consisting of MEA, MOD, MoF, Intelligence & IN/IA/IAF defense services to chart out India's strategic future interests & policies in various scenarios in a holistic manner. At present whatever if we have is not effective. As a nation we need to plan for the next 50 years.

GPM

Gujaral played a great destructive role in weakening intelligence. RAW assets in Pakistan and B'desh were abandoned, his diktat about no snooping in the country discouraged the intelligence agencies. After that external and internal intelligence has gone worse every year.

NDA showed a will, but intelligence is not built up in a day. Takes time. If NDA did something [it will never come out] and UPA pursued it then by now some results should be there.

Gujaral played a great destructive role in weakening intelligence. RAW assets in Pakistan and B'desh were abandoned, his diktat about no snooping in the country discouraged the intelligence agencies. After that external and internal intelligence has gone worse every year.

NDA showed a will, but intelligence is not built up in a day. Takes time. If NDA did something [it will never come out] and UPA pursued it then by now some results should be there.
Some in the intel community say that we cannot Tom Tom our success and the number of successes we have. But failures will always be magnified. The govt says the same. Really never know what's what as I really doubt the overall capability of Indian law enforcement and more important "protection" agencies as well as intelligence agencies in preventing terror attacks. How Bhatkal slipped away after being caught is shocking.

There has to be a centralized system where even a pickpockets finger print, voice, retina etc is scanned and stored for reference. So if an XYZ police station in the country catches someone even if on a case of wife beating has his fingers, eye voice scanned and compared to the national data repository to see if this guy is not someone say for example matches the voice of a terrorist whose call was intercepted. I mean we are talking of high tech capital intensive modernization of India's law enforcement as well as intelligence agencies.

GPM

Some in the intel community say that we cannot Tom Tom our success and the number of successes we have. But failures will always be magnified. The govt says the same. Really never know what's what as I really doubt the overall capability of Indian law enforcement and more important "protection" agencies as well as intelligence agencies in preventing terror attacks. How Bhatkal slipped away after being caught is shocking.
Intelligence sure cannot tom tom their successes or assets. Does not happen and cannot happen anywhere in the world. Yes, but failure too is highlighted everywhere. But Bhatkal's case is not of intelligence but simply and brutally a case of crass negligence. Such a thing cannot happen without complicity of authorities, far above the jailor in charge.

There has to be a centralized system where even a pickpockets finger print, voice, retina etc is scanned and stored for reference. So if an XYZ police station in the country catches someone even if on a case of wife beating has his fingers, eye voice scanned and compared to the national data repository to see if this guy is not someone say for example matches the voice of a terrorist whose call was intercepted. I mean we are talking of high tech capital intensive modernization of India's law enforcement as well as intelligence agencies.
Need for centralised collation, analysis and timely dissemination of information is a crying need. In every country there are a number intelligence agencies.

But who will go for technology quantum jump. Who has the will to do it? It will need constant upgradation.

Last. What use the tip off from IB if it is vague? What is the guarantee that inspired, "liberal" etc states will not ignore it?