World's largest Hindu temple to come up in Bihar

People who have no knowledge about INDIA and its cultural heritage are talking about INDIA. It is a shame that people who do not have good knowledge are being made respected members in a REPUTED FORUM. I personally request the MODS to educate the respected members properly about INDIA or else please select people who are well educated and more knowledgeable about INDIA and its CULTURE and ORACLE does not deserve to be a RESPECTED MEMBER.......

Siddhivinayak temple gold auction fetches Rs 36L

MUMBAI: The Siddhivinayak temple in Prabhadevi, which sees over 24,000 visitors daily, held a public auction of gold ornaments offered by worshippers on Sunday.

Gold ornaments weighing 1,092gm and worth Rs 36 lakh were auctioned in a five-hour period, according to Mangesh Shinde of the Shree Siddhivinayak Ganapati Temple Trust.

Deeming the auction a success, trust officials said the highest bidder was a devotee, Bhavnani, who bid Rs 3 lakh for a 103gm necklace. He bought gold ornaments worth over Rs 10 lakh in the auction, all of which he re-offered at the temple. He said he wanted the money that would be raised from the bids to be used for social welfare activities.

Mumbai's famous landmark the Siddhivinayak temple in Prabhadevi which sees over 24,000 visitors daily held a public auction on Sunday of gold offered by worshippers to the Lord Ganesh. Gold ornaments totaling 1,092 gm and worth Rs 36 lakh were auctioned in a five hour period, according to Mangesh Shinde of the Shree Siddhivinayak Ganapati Temple Trust.

Saying the auction had gone off successfully, trust officials said the highest bidder was a Lord Ganesh devotee who identified himself as Bhavnani who bid Rs 3 lakh for a 103 gm gold necklace. Interestingly, he bought gold over 10 lakh in the auction, all of which he re-offered at the temple. He wanted the money that would be subsequently raised from its bid to be used for social welfare activities.

Siddhivinayak temple gold auction fetches Rs 36L - The Times of India
He bought gold for 10 lakhs at temple auction, then returned it

Inflation is no match for devotion. Even as the GDP remains sluggish at 6.1 per cent, there are some in the city whose piety will take them to extreme lengths of altruism. At an auction of gold offeri..:frusty::frusty::frusty::frusty:

He bought gold for 10 lakhs at temple auction, then returned it
I really cant understand one thing what can that fellow do to curb inflation???? Is he running the govt???? Why should 6.1% growth matter here???? For all i care this could give jobs to thousands and is actually a good investment

And about poverty- the only people responsible for being poor are the politicos and the poor themselves---- they are blessed with a democracy and free market and yet if they remain poor then- they are real :crazy:

India is not Hindu country, according to constitution,you can not challenge law....
Really???? then why is the govt dolling out haj subsidies????:frusty::frusty:

And why is there a religion based reservation:frusty:

And why are we having a seperate law for muslims(shah bano case)????

Really???? then why is the govt dolling out haj subsidies????:frusty::frusty:

And why is there a religion based reservation:frusty:

And why are we having a seperate law for muslims(shah bano case)????

That's y India is not Hindu country

I really cant understand one thing what can that fellow do to curb inflation???? Is he running the govt???? Why should 6.1% growth matter here???? For all i care this could give jobs to thousands and is actually a good investment

And about poverty- the only people responsible for being poor are the politicos and the poor themselves---- they are blessed with a democracy and free market and yet if they remain poor then- they are real :crazy:
well i mean religion teaches us to do welfare of human being. So he could have spend 10 lakhs to blind school,or orphanage. iam sure God will be more happy by that

Poseidon

yes our religious system has failed.

Other wise this person would have used that money for human welfare, He should have donated that 10 lakh to blind school or old age home or orphanage , Iam sure lord Ganesha will be more happy with him rather than what he did ..

Interestingly God gives money to silly people lollllllllllllllll
Yep,
A temple or a mosque or a Church is not going to change anything.

well i mean religion teaches us to do welfare of human being. So he could have spend 10 lakhs to blind school,or orphanage. iam sure God will be more happy by that
Hmmmm.. this looks more like the good old days of socialist thought process....

You see if the temple is built, it by itself will provide a long term benefit to the poor.... Do you know how many poor are being supported in various temples in India???? And as many point it out here it will improve the economy of the nation significantly....

besides those jobs are already being done by various Self styled organisations with GOOD intentions at heart, so why bother with more....

But I think nothing is better than the economic upliftment of the people which again as we all make it clearly, is the work of the govt....

"Give a man a fish- you feed him for a day, teach a man to fish you feed him for a life time"... So instead of asking us why no help poor, ask govt why there are poor....

Hmmmm.. this looks more like the good old days of socialist thought process....

You see if the temple is built, it by itself will provide a long term benefit to the poor.... Do you know how many poor are being supported in various temples in India???? And as many point it out here it will improve the economy of the nation significantly....

besides those jobs are already being done by various Self styled organisations with GOOD intentions at heart, so why bother with more....

But I think nothing is better than the economic upliftment of the people which again as we all make it clearly, is the work of the govt....

"Give a man a fish- you feed him for a day, teach a man to fish you feed him for a life time"... So instead of asking us why no help poor, ask govt why there are poor....

Does Hindu temple offer free Langer to everybody,everyday.even to low caste people????

do they run free schools and hospital for poor people???

Does Hindu temple offer free Langer to everybody,everyday.even to low caste people????

You will be surprised if you found out!!!!!!;);)

Yep there are several Hindu organisations involved in free schooling and stuff... Go to the last few pages of RSS thread for more info....

And i dont think many people get it... Its not the Temples which discriminate low or high caste but the society as such.... It snot the fault of the temple or its worshippers now is it????

You will be surprised if you found out!!!!!!;);)

Yep there are several Hindu organisations involved in free schooling and stuff... Go to the last few pages of RSS thread for more info....

And i dont think many people get it... Its not the Temples which discriminate low or high caste but the society as such.... It snot the fault of the temple or its worshippers now is it????

we are talking of society,that person who bought 10 lakh of gold from temple and return to the temple again,shows people are sick.

If you really have money to play than do some for the people, so that actual meaning of religion should be realized..

Religion is not going to temple or gurudawara everyday but its being a good human

Satya Sai Baba super speciality at Whitefield, Bangalore treats poor people free of cost and regardless of caste or creed. Poor from all over India come here including Bihari Muslims. The ancient Krishna temple at Udupi serves lunch to all pilgrims every day. Ramakrishna Mission runs several free schools [`balakashramas`]. Some Swamiji's in the order are of Dalit caste originally.

Have seen temples providing food to poor in N India as well. The temple in the Tamil area near my house also serves free lunch every day to all without discriminating, poor Christian families also come to have food there. Christian organisations if they provide help it comes with a catch i.e. indoctrination as well! Muslims also do charity esp during their festivals when they give away clothes and mutton [during bakrid I think] - without strings attached.

we are talking of society,that person who bought 10 lakh of gold from temple and return to the temple again,shows people are sick.

If you really have money to play than do some for the people, so that actual meaning of religion should be realized..

Religion is not going to temple or gurudawara everyday but its being a good human
This is not about religion as anything as far as i am concerned... It will become an International monument for us if done correctly....

And please get out this Nehruvian mindset.... Its his money and it is upto him what he wants to do with it....

Lets not rob the workers to pay the lazy please...????

Satya Sai Baba super speciality at Whitefield, Bangalore treats poor people free of cost and regardless of caste or creed. Poor from all over India come here including Bihari Muslims. The ancient Krishna temple serves lunch to all pilgrims every day. Ramakrishna Mission runs several free schools [`balakashramas`]. Some Swamiji's in the order are of Dalit caste originally.

Have seen temples providing food to poor in N India as well. The temple in the Tamil area near my house also serves free lunch every day to all without discriminating, poor Christian families also come to have food there. Christian organisations if they provide help it comes with a catch i.e. indoctrination as well! Muslims also do charity esp during their festivals when they give away clothes and mutton [during bakrid I think] - without strings attached.

This is what we want. devotees money should be spend back on welfare of human being..

well i can only comment on gurudwara. All gurudwara provide free food 24/7 to everybody. some also provide free school and free doctor service.

but I need to see more from SGPC who control most of gurudawaras management and funds in India. to do more for mankind

Paaji, will you find it acceptable if the govt decides one day to auction the gold leaf of Golden temple or say the priceless artifacts ?
In South India all temples are run by the state `Muzrai` department. Different states have their own version of Hindu Charitable Endowments Act by which the income from Hindu temples is appropriated by the respective state govt. The much maligned Yeddyurappa ji, Karnataka CM , during his tenure freed several important Hindu temples from the Muzrai department. Maharashtra govt is planning a similar Act to take over Hindu and Jain temples as well as gurdwaras.

If India is truly secular, then all mosques, churches , gurdwaras should be run by the government without discrimination and the money dropped in the `hundi` used for the good of all Indians, not only Christians or Muslims or Sikhs. Truth is India is not a secular country to begin with. The word secular was added by Indira Gandhi by a constitutional amendment some time in the 70's.

Private money, private decision. An individual can construct a temple or a Playboy mansion with his own money. Public sentiments can not party to these matters. Move on.

Can somebody tells us list of social welfare work done by Siddhivinayak temple trust in Bombay???

Does it make Siddhi Vinayak temple secular if Abdul Rehman Antulay is one the trustees ? Well, there was a scandal in which an NCP politician diverted several crores of the trust money to himself.

Paaji, please reply to my question re Golden Temple...:namaste:

Does it make Siddhi Vinayak temple secular if Abdul Rehman Antulay is one the trustees ? Well, there was a scandal in which an NCP politician diverted several crores of the trust money to himself.

Paaji, please reply to my question re Golden Temple...:namaste:
i never Q secularism of hindu temple. my Q was does trust of sidhivinayak temple do people welfare work.

As far as golden temple is concerned. Iam against the amount of money is being donated their by devotees. but i have seen at least they provide free food to LAKHS OF PEOPLE everyday.

If SGPC gets so much money ,they must built super speciality hospital and university for poor people ..

Not to forget corruption also prevails in SGPC. Money ha to honey hai lollllllllll