Why Sri Lanka should not sign the Economic and Tecchnology Co-operative Agreement (ETCA) with India

Chinese don't invade us culturally as India does. Therefore India is a more of a threat to Sri Lanka culturally than China is.

Sri Lanka and China has a long standing healthy friendship. India is just a neighbor. But not a friend.
First time I heard that cultural invasion is a threat for national security. :pound:
Why don't India use that money on providing sanitary facilities on it's own citizens or providing electricity or a better health care? What kind of world super power has so many poor people with in it's borders. :D
If you know we are doing it. That even faster than any other country in the world.
We have roughly halved poverty in 2 years, improved sanitation by 35% and has now 5000 unelectrified villages left in against 1 lakh few years ago.
We will bring it to zero by 1 May 2018,
We will bring our per capita income, HDI, Literacy and sanitation at par with Highly Developed countries by 2022 and by won't be seen trolling us over that.
We have already outpaced ASEAN countries in many such aspects.

Trolling us over that is useless. :taunt:
Military ships from many countries visit Sri Lanka each year. Don't get riled up by that. China cannot dominate IOR unless India is incapable of guarding it.
It isn't matter with Sri Lanka that China wants to dominate IOR or not.
We will take care of them ourselves.

But a Chinese sub was few kilometers from our coasts, whwhich really matters.
Name one good investment by India in Sri Lanka which has actually benefited Sri Lanka?
Train and roads, many aspects very long list.
But best one is Indian Peacekeeping Forces which your people condemn despite of fact that if we would not have intervened in SL Civil war, Sri Lanka would have been divided today.
You also could be one of displaced or dead people due because of this tragedy.
We can't sacrifice our development just because India doesn't like China.
We have no problem with development.
But can you guys keep their military away from us at least. If there's a military base in Sri Lanka from PLA, it will surely dedicated for targeting India.
Yet you are giving us license to bomb your bases as well.
India should learn to respect Sri Lanka's decisions.
We respect till its acceptable. But we aren't fools to do anything blindly.

And if Sri Lanka only knows to draw it's interests and doesn't want to respect Indian interests, you must get a permanent cut from us.
:dude:

Does it say that the "Lanka" mentioned in Ramayana is the island today we call Sri Lanka. Don't lie.
READ SCRIPTURES I AM TELLING YOU! Nothing to lie, check out yourself

Sri Lanka will always welcome Indian industries. But I don't think Sri Lanka will ever open it's service sector to India. It's pretty obvious why Sri Lanka is reluctant to open it's service industry.

Moreover, Sri Lanka never tried to finger India. Sri Lanka knows her capacity within the subcontinent. You people should study more about what happened before commenting here. Refueling the Paki aircraft has nothing to do with Indian help on LTTE.
Sri Lanka is wrong if its not opening its service industry. Indian Service industry is manpower intensive. And if India can source more manpower from UK and China, the why not Sri Lanka? An economic pact is about integrating economies of two countries in such a way that people and goods of both country move across easily and both countries should benefit.

Sri Lanka did finger India by showing overt animosity(she was was openly flirting with Pakistan and USA during cold war against India) and treated another ethnic Indian community in Sri Lanka bad and that led to creation of LTTE. The moment Sri Lanka showed right intentions back, support to LTTE was withheld and India assisted overtly and covertly in eliminating it. India can do the same again, but why would it do to a friendly regime? Here right now India is seriously planning to make Indian subcontinent (barring Pakistan of-course), to make them stand on their own feet and not just become dumping grounds. Sri Lanka should pitch favorable conditions for Indian companies/access to ports. Will be a win win situation. India would definitely like to develop northern Sri Lanka and make people to people contact much easier for our southern states and Lanka.

It request aid because India whined about Chinese investment in Sri Lanka. SLG tried to balance the both powers at the same time.

How can we keep our internal politics aside when India is actually meddling with them?
Why do you need to balance both powers?
Actually, why do you need to handle Twp powers. One is in your neighbor, other has nothing to do with IOR.
IMG_20160324_172739.JPG

VaghaDeva

sum gai
No respect yaar......
Three Indian fishermen arrested by Sri Lankan coast guard
This is the fifth detention of Indian fishermen by the Sri Lankan navy this month on the charge of fishing in the island nation's waters.
By: PTI | Colombo | Published:March 24, 2016 3:37 pm
This is the fifth detention of Indian fishermen by the Sri Lankan navy this month on the charge of fishing in the island nation’s waters.
At least three Indian fishermen have been arrested by Sri Lankan coast guard for allegedly crossing the International Maritime Boundary Line and fishing in Lankan waters, the fifth such detention this month.

They were arrested yesterday in north west of Jaffna’s delft islet. They have now been brought to Kankesanturai and will be handed over to Fisheries and Water Resources officials there, Sri Lanka Navy said. They were arrested by the Coastal Guard officials with the assistance of the Navy.

This is the fifth detention of Indian fishermen by the Sri Lankan navy this month on the charge of fishing in the island nation’s waters. At least 28 Indian fishermen were arrested on March 13. Eight fishermen were arrested on March 3, while 29 others on March 6 and another batch four on March 10 by the Sri Lankan Navy at different locations in mid sea.

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa had written letters to Prime MinisterNarendra Modi seeking a permanent solution to the recurring arrests. She had also sought the Centre’s intervention for the release of all the arrested Indian fishermen and their fishing boats in the custody of Sri Lanka.

HeinzGud

you are speaking English and watching hollywood movies even your Profile/Account name is German + English. You are already brainwashed!

Don't come up with stupid argument. We know South Indian movies are more famous in Lanka. STOP SPREADING LIES. I have been to candy and there is no such thing like what you mention. People with full heart and Mind worship God Vishnu or Sri Lankan Buddhists chant Om Mani Padme Hun.
I never denied American cultural invasion. What I said was Chinese cultural invasion is lesser than the Indian one.

South Indian movies aren't as culturally dominating as Bollywood movies.

India has no balls to attack Sri Lanka. So there is no need of China.
Intelligent person.
:rolleyes:
India can wipe out your entire nation in few seconds and no one gonna give a damn about it for long.

By the way, where is Sri Lanka, it is very difficult to see such small and weak countries on the map.
Like little babies. :baby::baby:

HeinzGud

I'm not lying, temple of Rama are still present in Ceylon.
Run how long you can from reality, your origin is India and will remain.
What? Are you smoking? There is no ancient "Rama", "Seeta" or "Ravana" temple in Sri Lanka. All are modern creations.

Even structures of Ayodhya and Vrindavan in India are modern creations.
Do you think, 5500 years old structures will exist otherwise? :biggrin2:
But given the address of scriptures, Ceylon is no distinct than other parts of South Asia aka Greater India.

I never denied American cultural invasion. What I said was Chinese cultural invasion is lesser than the Indian one.

South Indian movies aren't as culturally dominating as Bollywood movies.
what is your culture please define that first.

HeinzGud

Even structures of Ayodhya and Vrindavan in India are modern creations.
Do you think, 5500 years old structures will exist otherwise? :biggrin2:
But given the address of scriptures, Ceylon is no distinct than other parts of South Asia aka Greater India.
What? Do you know anything about archaeology? BTW if the structures cannot survive 5500 years how come the scriptures survived that much of a time?

structures were prone to natural weathering unlike scriptures

HeinzGud

If you know we are doing it. That even faster than any other country in the world.
We have roughly halved poverty in 2 years, improved sanitation by 35% and has now 5000 unelectrified villages left in against 1 lakh few years ago.
We will bring it to zero by 1 May 2018,
We will bring our per capita income, HDI, Literacy and sanitation at par with Highly Developed countries by 2022 and by won't be seen trolling us over that.
We have already outpaced ASEAN countries in many such aspects.
Yeah talk about being a super power after completing that.

Train and roads, many aspects very long list.
But best one is Indian Peacekeeping Forces which your people condemn despite of fact that if we would not have intervened in SL Civil war, Sri Lanka would have been divided today.
You also could be one of displaced or dead people due because of this tragedy.
Yeah reconstruction of old rail line which has no significant of what so ever and restructuring the southern line to 100 kmph but still trains can't run on that speed. Totally useless project.

The list on Indian investment or such scale drags on and on.

IPKF was a doomed project from the beginning. Before IPKF was here, Sri Lanka army was on a verge of the victory. If it wasn't for India; LTTE would've being finished way back in 1986. IPKF had worsened the situation.