Why does Pakistan name its weapons after foreign invaders and Indian Kings?

Dreamhunter

It has even nothing to do with expansion. Otherwise there's Bengal in East.
Pakis thought they are superior Muslim fair and tall mard i mommins against yevil yindoo kufuur Bharati Baniyas. So, they decided to make another nation on name of Islam.
No matter, it could be formed anywhere.
This is debatable.
One of the reasons for the lack of resistance against foreign invaders in Pakistan is because there was not a strong national or even cultural identity in Pakistan during ancient and medieval period. This is probably also the reason why Pakistanis quickly adopted the Arab religion, script and even Arabic names after the Arab conquest of Pakistan.

Syama Ayas

What do you think of this?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Miani

From Wikipedia:

"The Battle of Miani (or Battle of Meeanee) was a battle between British forces under Sir Charles Napier and the TalpurAmirs of Sindh, of today's Pakistan. The Battle took place on 17 February 1843 at Miani, Sindh in what is now Pakistan. According to Nadeem Wagan [Sindh Writer] The primary causes of the battle were that the British desired to expand their British Raj and the British General Charles Napier's ambitions.The General had held previous position as Governor of the Greek island of Kefalonia with very limited scope for glory. TheTalpur kingdom of Sindh was inefficiently and loosely governed by the Amirs and a relatively easy target as opposed to the Sikh kingdom of the Punjab. Napier moved his army aggressively from the East India Company's Bombay presidency area and entered the Sindh border. Negotiations ensued between the Talpur Amir in Hyderabad and Napier. An agreement was reached after the Amir gave significant concessions. Napier then started to move his army back towards Bombay and the Amir disbanded his army that had been mobilised. However, Napier was firmly determined in conquering Sindh and Hyderabad. Whilst moving towards Bombay and giving the impression of keeping the agreement that had been reached, he suddenly turned back towards Hyderabad on the pretext of hostile intentions by the Amir and marched with great speed towards the capital."

The article in wikipedia is woefully lack on citations...but, there is one instance of resistance I have come across. But it wasn't much of a resistance as much as a case of humiliation.

Quite interesting observation from the From the article:

A British journal said of the captive Sindhi Amirs: "The Amirs as being the prisoners of the state are maintained in strict seclution; they are described as Broken-Hearted and Miserable men, maintaining much of the dignity of fallen greatness, and without any querulous or angry complainngs at this unallivable source of sorrow, refusing to be comforted"

I use the phrase "successful" resistance/defense.

Battle of Miani is an example of a "failed" defense.
There are many more examples of failed effort against invaders both in India and Pakistan
example:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1898_Baloch_uprising

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polygar_Wars

A successful resistance is when you are conquered by an enemy but put resistance and eventually overthrow the enemy permanently.

Example Mughal Marathas wars:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mughal–Maratha_Wars

Rana Sanga's reconquest of Rajput states from Delhi Sultanate stragglers

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rana_Sanga

A successful defense is when under invasion or threat of invasion, the empire/kindgom successfully defends itself and destroys the invading forces.

Examples

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seleucid–Mauryan_war

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Afghan–Sikh_wars

Arab-Rajput wars

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Rajasthan

for truth

On topic of why Pakistan names its missiles after invaders?

Well, a look at how DRDO names its weapons systems will give you an idea that they do put a significant amount of thought on what they would like to name it. They derive mythological meanings and links before any weapon system is named. Probably, they have experts who provide historical context/role/significance of those whom they would like to name the weapons on.

But in case of Pakistan, they thoroughly lack an organisation like DRDO. Most of their research organisations are almost defunct (like SUPARCO) or either staffed with employees who licence produce weapons when they feel like to and at other times put up their legs on tables farting all day while playing solitaire on computers. When Pakistan came into existence, the quest to understand Pakistan was almost invariably associated with Islam (Pakistan ka matlab kya hai?). From what I have come to understand, it is only recently that they have started to preserve the un-Islamic identity (I could be wrong though).

The answer is quite simple,Pakistan army is a different unit, decoupled from the scrutiny of government and detached from government owned organisations, they are a class of elite Muslims living posh lifestyle while projecting themselves as epitome of martial races on the masses of Pakistan.They always had a jihadist mentality, and they are to this day a jihadist unit. Maybe some genius jihadi among-st Pakistani military ranks came up with a brilliant idea that they should honor the Muslim invaders who waged jihad on India....ergo the honoring of the foreign invaders.

Reactions: MKM

This is debatable.
One of the reasons for the lack of resistance against foreign invaders in Pakistan is because there was not a strong national or even cultural identity in Pakistan during ancient and medieval period. This is probably also the reason why Pakistanis quickly adopted the Arab religion, script and even Arabic names after the Arab conquest of Pakistan.
There was no pakistan in ancient and medieval period. :doh:

Reactions: MKM

for truth

I use the phrase "successful" resistance/defense.

Battle of Miani is an example of a "failed" defense.
There are many more examples of failed effort against invaders both in India and Pakistan
example:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1898_Baloch_uprising

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polygar_Wars

A successful resistance is when you are conquered by an enemy but put resistance and eventually overthrow the enemy permanently.

Example Mughal Marathas wars:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mughal–Maratha_Wars

Rana Sanga's reconquest of Rajput states from Delhi Sultanate stragglers

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rana_Sanga

A successful defense is when under invasion or threat of invasion, the empire/kindgom successfully defends itself and destroys the invading forces.

Examples

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seleucid–Mauryan_war

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Afghan–Sikh_wars

Arab-Rajput wars

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Rajasthan
I'm going kinda of-topic here...

When the foreigners invaded, what were the first interactions between them and us based on?

I believe for them to establish their rule, they need a common platform(language) so that they can enforce their rules on us. How did they go about establishing these platforms?

DEJAVU

Why you people afraid of Tipu, ghori, mughal, ghazni and others.
Its your inferiority complex thats allows you to think like that.
Some of the members always disrespecting Prophet and Holy book, why you guys do that?
Stop that otherwise conquering India dream will continue and will be a nighmare for your future.

for truth

@saty
Shiva Ram Brahma are not gods but a human being.
May be they were messengers.
Your god is dead now.
My God has no shape body physique Father Mother. A source of huge energy or light.
Youe belive in human god.
I don't know much about Hinduism..

But the concept of god is same in Hinduism as you mentioned it is in Islam..as "no shape body physique Father Mother. A source of huge energy or light."

As to "Shiva Ram Brahma are not gods but a human being".....they are regarded as incarnations/avatars of god.

And you're talking bullshit here now...so stop.

Syama Ayas

I'm going kinda of-topic here...

When the foreigners invaded, what were the first interactions between them and us based on?

I believe for them to establish their rule, they need a common platform(language) so that they can enforce their rules on us. How did they go about establishing these platforms?
Almost every foreign invader prior to invasion had trade relations with some Indian kingdoms, whether it was the Greeks, Turks or Arabs.

To enforce rule upon conquered population in the short term one needs to overthrow the power centers such as military and influential nobles.

In the long run the invader would need to change social structures, religious institutions and court language etc to benefit of his ethnic group.

Example During the Delhi Sultanate a non-Turk was not allowed to be part of the nobility irrespective of the fact whether he was Muslim or Sunni.Any relations with non-turk was sneered upon. Razia sultana's relationship with her African Siddi slave Jamal-ud-Din Yaqut led to her being ostracized.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamal-ud-Din_Yaqut

Syama Ayas

@saty
Your god is dead now.
My God has no shape body physique Father Mother. A source of huge energy or light.
Some of the members always disrespecting Prophet and Holy book, why you guys do that?
Stop that otherwise conquering India dream will continue and will be a nighmare for your future.
Yours posts are confirming what being stated about your countrymen here.

for truth

Almost every foreign invader prior to invasion had trade relations with some Indian kingdoms, whether it was the Greeks, Turks or Arabs.

To enforce rule upon conquered population in the short term one needs to overthrow the power centers such as military and influential nobles.

In the long run the invader would need to change social structures, religious institutions and court language etc to benefit of his ethnic group.

Example During the Delhi Sultanate a non-Turk was not allowed to be part of the nobility irrespective of the fact whether he was Muslim or Sunni.Any relations with non-turk was sneered upon. Razia sultana's relationship with her African Siddi slave Jamal-ud-Din Yaqut led to her being ostracized.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jamal-ud-Din_Yaqut
Thanks for the info.

I have never been a history student myself, so pardon my ignorance when I couldn't see the "successful resistance" part in your earlier comment. What I was looking at was any historical mention of any Indian interpreter or translator who played significant role acting as connecting bridge between invaders and locals. I haven't heard of any......but it could be my plain ignorance. I have heard of only the rulers/invaders/conquerors...but the silent players behind the screen like interpreters or translators who would take the texts or speeches of the invaders to the locals. Anyway, once again thanks for all the info.

Afraid? who is afraid of them? :lawl:
@saty
Your god is dead now.
If you one will not be telling us about religion would be better because most of Indians on DFI are either Atheist or Agnostic.
Religion isn't as important for us as it is for you.
Nor, we will ever blast themselves on of God.
You say God has no shape, then, what made you guys think that he will deliver 72 virgins resulting Islamist across the world are dying and killing? o_O

And what a Muhajir (Indian origin) has to do with Turko Mongols and central Asians ?

Also don't distort history Tipu had no achievement he was killed by Hindu Troops of Madras Presidency under Arthur Wellesley.There was a combined hate for him in Hindu Troops and Christian commanders of East India company.

He never won any significant war and killed like a fat Pig, his family was deported to Bengal.

Pakis named a Naval ship after him which should have been sunk by IN along with PNS shahjehan a mughal who had sexual relationship with her own daughter (European account)

So keep naming your weapons after Homosexual (Babur) looser (Tipu) and Rapist of Pakis (Central Asians)

musalman

پاکستان زنده باد
When we name them those names, you Indians shit in your pants. And that shitting is the reason you people are discussing this topic.

DEJAVU

The name given is just psychological.
Second, Allah has no shape or physique. One comment made that why Allah silent on 1971 or other?
Bhai Allah Bhagwan God has not any emotions that will make him to take revenge on that. Allah is Lord for everyone not for muslims only.
Quran clearly indicates that Allah is the lord of whole humanity and in Quran Allah speaks to Human not muslims.
Word is used.
"Aye Insanon"

DEJAVU

I don't know much about Hinduism..

But the concept of god is same in Hinduism as you mentioned it is in Islam..as "no shape body physique Father Mother. A source of huge energy or light."

As to "Shiva Ram Brahma are not gods but a human being".....they are regarded as incarnations/avatars of god.

And you're talking bullshit here now...so stop.
Its good to see that now hindus reading Vedas and understanding dharmic religion. Vedas speaks about one God, revelations, and mirror image of Quran except some mis-intrepretations which was lost due to time ages and natural disaster.

Panjab47

सर्वाग्रेक्षत्रियाजट्टादेवकल्पादृढ़व्रता|੧੫|
@DEJAVU yes yes, you are right as quran came 1000s years after Vedas some stuff will be lost due to time & natural disaster.

I would say, knowing this the best possible solution is to burn the quran & go back to the Vedas with Tulsi leaf in your mouth.

Or you know.. ;)

FRYCRY

The name given is just psychological.
Second, Allah has no shape or physique. One comment made that why Allah silent on 1971 or other?
Bhai Allah Bhagwan God has not any emotions that will make him to take revenge on that. Allah is Lord for everyone not for muslims only.
Quran clearly indicates that Allah is the lord of whole humanity and in Quran Allah speaks to Human not muslims.
Word is used.
"Aye Insanon"
Its good to see that now hindus reading Vedas and understanding dharmic religion. Vedas speaks about one God, revelations, and mirror image of Quran except some mis-intrepretations which was lost due to time ages and natural disaster.
Jesus was better than mohammad..

"Love thy neighbor as you have loved me - Jesus

"I have been ordered to wage war against mankind until they testify La ilaha il Allah" -Muhammad (Sahih al Bukhari)