Why cant Bollywood make good action movies like Hollywood?

jouni

I think you are missing one crucial point. Some masterpieces of filmmaking can have a meaning well beyond being just films. Some films can define a nation, give people hope for generations, bind people from different background together. Films like Godfather (us), Moscow does not believe in tears (cccp) and Unknown Soldier (fin) are such films. It makes me sad if you dont have had such an experiences in your life. If your film industry cannot give you these masterpieces.

Of course I cannot understand your culture. 1.25bn people living in warm climate, where basic needs are few, maybe it is not needed for such experiences.

anupamsurey

Indians can do it, but what will be the catch..i personally feel that Indians love comedy, and romance more than action, and remember last time someone tried to make the action movie (that to a sci-fi- yes i m talking about Ra One) with Indianness in it and you know what..... the Indian Drama practically made crap out of the movie. there was a time when actors like sunil shetty and his like made good name with the shitty action movies, but they fade out without real talent. our actors are good and they cater to the demand of Indians in India and abroad.

and yes technology and budgets are also a constraints (why to make a movie which i will probably forget in few months instead of say a Mars mission) ...we are just starter in 3D so soon you may also see heavily graphics oriented action movies.

anupamsurey

I think you are missing one crucial point. Some masterpieces of filmmaking can have a meaning well beyond being just films. Some films can define a nation, give people hope for generations, bind people from different background together. Films like Godfather (us), Moscow does not believe in tears (cccp) and Unknown Soldier (fin) are such films. It makes me sad if you dont have had such an experiences in your life. If your film industry cannot give you these masterpieces.

Of course I cannot understand your culture. 1.25bn people living in warm climate, where basic needs are few, maybe it is not needed for such experiences.
it is not that we don't have our own master pieces.....check in internet and you will probably find 100s of them. but the perception vary among people (their language, culture and religion are not the same always) so some one who doesnt like action movies will not watch it.

jouni

Yeah, that explains it : you love sing and dance, no need for deeper drama. I kind of envy you. Here in the cold north we have too much time to bother us with all kind of deeper stuff.

Ashutosh Lokhande

Yeah, that explains it : you love sing and dance, no need for deeper drama. I kind of envy you. Here in the cold north we have too much time to bother us with all kind of deeper stuff.
you are just being ignorant.
you have no idea about bollywood classics. we do have deeper drama type of films and there are many of those kind. if you dont know just ask or research before commenting.

Soul83

love movies are ok but there should be also other type of movies and all that dancing is really annoying, suddenly they dance out of nowhere for no reason

Soul83

the best indian movie who could rival hollywood was slum dog millionaire

Ashutosh Lokhande

the best indian movie who could rival hollywood was slum dog millionaire
ya but that movie sucked. if you ask any indian if you like the movie 4 out of 5 who have watched the movie will say NO. that movie was very overrated. it showed the west what they want to see about india thats why it got so well recived over there.

Soul83

ya but that movie sucked. if you ask any indian if you like the movie 4 out of 5 who have watched the movie will say NO. that movie was very overrated. it showed the west what they want to see about india thats why it got so well recived over there.
ok i didnt meant the stereotypes about india like poverty etc. but that it was action and adventure and criminal etc. it was thrilling

Soul83

also good movie was hollywood bollywood that was the name of the movie. it was about a escort girl and rich indo-american guy and they fall in love

Soul83

@Soul83 how many Indian movies have you watched?
a few. kuch kuch hotta hai was really good. hollywood bollywood and the one where sharukh khan played the lover of rani mukherjee (who had a husband and cheated on him)

ghost

@jouni and @Soul83 here are the trailer of few Indian movies in"action and thrill' which I feel you would like,try to find the full movie with english subtitles.

And please note that the budget of these films compared to Hollywood is just peanuts.Emotions is the main content of the Indian films,as "emotions " is something which a common Indian identify with.Still there are lot number of films which have a deep message .And slumdog millionaire is below average for me.

This is not a movie but a patriotic song ,which is very close to my heart and it has a very good video.

Free Karma

a few. kuch kuch hotta hai was really good. hollywood bollywood and the one where sharukh khan played the lover of rani mukherjee (who had a husband and cheated on him)
I googled for hollywood bollywood, it's not an Indian movie, made by Canadian guys, the other two are typical srk....try others.

jouni

@ghost, great looking films. We here are sure lacking in the emotion side of films. If I cant find these I will watch Oliver Stone's Alexander tonight. It is great film.

EXPERT

I think until we the viewers keep viewing these stupid films and keep giving them business of hundreds of crores of rupees, they will continue to make shitty movies.
see in the case of BANG BANG, the film did very well on Box office. now it has encouraged a lot over producers to do a Hollywood remake film .

plz plz don't let them do this , start boycotting them from now onwards otherwise they will not stop.

Simple answer is Bollywood is not the only film industry is india , we have Tollywood for Telugu speaking, Kollywood for Tamil speaking, sandalwood for Kannada speaking, Bengali and Bhojpuri film industry. So there is a fundamental language issue.

And second issue is audience perception levels vary based on urbanisation levels of cities towns and villages.

So it is difficult for a producer or director to make a movie which can outreach all language and economic barriers.

jouni

Simple answer is Bollywood is not the only film industry is india , we have Tollywood for Telugu speaking, Kollywood for Tamil speaking, sandalwood for Kannada speaking, Bengali and Bhojpuri film industry. So there is a fundamental language issue.

And second issue is audience perception levels vary based on urbanisation levels of cities towns and villages.

So it is difficult for a producer or director to make a movie which can outreach all language and economic barriers.
You Indians need your own "crouching tiger hidden dragon" movie. Before that we knew nothing about ancient China now we love their history and culture.