Why are indigenous weapons discouraged in India ?

Jagdish

Hey common guys cease fire , watch this general VK singh says INSAS is a good gun but DRDO & OFB should have worked on follow-up variant which can be used effectively in terror operation , He also brushed upon 105mm Indian field gun appreciating its performance again blamed DRDO & OFB not working on other longer range variants after closure of 105mm gun supply

INSAS cannot fire multi-caliber ammo. Army wants multi-caliber rifles now, hence the need for INSAS is significantly less. We don't know anything about the F-INSAS project, so all we can do is wait and watch until prototypes are revealed.

LCA Tejas should have completed 4500 test flights by now. 2050 flight tests is paltry. First flight to IOC was supposed to be less than 1000 hours, but it didn't happen. More flight tests were required to complete tests. IOC to FOC is 1000+ hours of flight tests. So another 2000-2500 flight tests are still pending. Apart from that it is obsolete. Even the Mk2 is less relevant, especially considering the time frame. When Mk2 will be inducted, other air forces will be phasing out similar aircraft.

Tejas with twin engines is a fools errand. Nobody does it. It is entirely pointless. Dassault attempted something of the sort, called Mirage-4000. ALA did not even look at it. Instead Rafale was developed as a new aircraft. Also designing a two engine Tejas is not a 2 or 3 years work, it is a full scale project that should take around 16 years if not more.

Arjun is obsolete, which was designed and built by "novices" according to current designers, hence an improved Mk2. But the army has decided on a FMBT instead which will mature side by side with the Mk2.

Our indigenous systems are mainly concentrated around using obsolete methods and practices. It takes time to learn and re-learn. This is a 20-30 year process. So, wait.

hello_10

Controversial arms agent Abhishek Verma's name has once again surfaced for allegedly bribing Home Ministry and Defence Ministry officials in securing a defence deal in favour of US small arms manufacturer Sig Sauer.

NDTV has accessed extensive correspondence between Abhishek Verma's wife Anca Neacsu and Sig Sauer officials, which show the US company was using Mr Verma and his associates for gaining entry into the Defence Ministry and Home Ministry.

Eyeing a $1 billion contract to replace Indian Army's Insas Assault rifles, Sig Sauer conspired with Mr Verma using his two front companies - Ganton USA and Ganton India. Documents show Sig Sauer agreed to pay 10 per cent commission to Mr Verma.

The documents, which include bank transactions, show that payments of $50,000 and $125,000 were made to procure two tenders. The documents have also named several top officials which influenced the deal, including officials of Joint Secretary level in the Home Ministry.

The documents are being investigated by the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) including videos taken in the Home Ministry and Defence Ministry.

Abhishek Verma is currently in Tihar jail on charges of illegal arms dealings. He was arrested in December 2012.

America's Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) is verifying the authenticity of correspondence between Mr Verma and his estranged partner C Edmonds Allen, who was the president of New-York based company Ganton.

Mr Allen has alleged Mr Verma's involvement in the Rs. 3,600 crore VVIP chopper deal with Anglo-Italian company AgustaWestland. He forwarded emails between Mr Verma and AgustaWestland to Indian agencies in the last week of February, but investigators are yet to find any evidence of Mr Verma's involvement in the chopper deal, which is also being probed by the CBI.

US firm Sig Sauer paid arms dealer Abhishek Verma to secure rifle deal in India, show documents | NDTV.com

Insas is a great rifle.No one as any prob with it.But these corrupt babus makes money by destroying indian weapons. This is why we dont have Tejas and other projects not completed.. SHAME

New evidence links Abhishek Verma to Sig Sauer's deals

Fresh evidence has been received against controversial arms agent Abhishek Verma suggesting that he bribed top military, police and Home Ministry officials as well as obtained secret documents to fix deals for leading US small arms manufacturer Sig Sauer.

The arms manufacturer allegedly employed him and his wife Anca Neacsu to procure deals for the Army, National Security Guard (NSG), Ministry of Home Affairs as well as state police departments.

While investigative agencies are still going through the evidence — received in the form of documents, e-mails and files last week by the Defence and Home Ministry, besides investigative agencies — sources said several files point to violation of the Official Secrets Act (OSA), Indian anti-corruption laws as well as the US Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA).

Sig Sauer did not respond to a detailed questionnaire sent by The Indian Express. The documents name several top officials, including of joint secretary level in the Home Ministry.

The new evidence also suggests that Neacsu shot secret videos from a hidden camera during visits to Home Ministry departments in the Capital and meetings with senior officials handling procurement of small arms as "proof" of their high connections.

Verma and Neacsu are already in jail facing charges under the OSA and of forgery. The new batch of information will add to the ongoing CBI probe into their dealings in allegedly receiving and paying commissions to swing arms deals.

The new allegations specifically are:

* The Sig group conspired with Verma and his associates to sell arms to India in violation of the FCPA and Indian laws. A JV called Sig Sauer Asia LLC was created with the sole purpose of paying 10 per cent commission on all arms deals made with the Defence and Home ministries in India.

* Home Ministry procurement officials, senior police officers and bureaucrats received favours to swing deals, in the guise of foreign tours, dinners and site visits.

* Illegal videography and photography was carried out by Neacsu and her associates in sensitive locations as "proof" of their high connections. This included the Home Ministry.

New evidence links Abhishek Verma to Sig Sauer's deals - Indian Express

the same issue I also discussed in my thread as below, with giving example of China, the first 7-8 posts. that, "India would either have its own weapons or its would come with 'enough' technology transfer to help the next projects. like how we have some back from SU30mki/Rafale/Tejus for AMCA project..." means, either India would have arms with full technology transfer, as in case of Russia, to help the home Arm industries, or, it may hardly consider few key arms like P8I without tech transfer..........

=> http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/...iends-indias-strategic-defense-relations.html

INSAS is a thousands rupee answer to million dollar question, It is not difficult to re-chambered the existing rifle in class of 7.62 Insas both in Soviat and Nato rounds, as demanded by Indian Army rather purchased new unproven Rifle, which need new spares and instructions & Training..

Nepalese army use Insas so does the rebel used too, Nepalese army prefer INSAS over AK and use it along G36 and M16 in there Infantry..

=====================================

LCA MK1 is unique and even a heavy thread to most 4.5gen fighter even 5tth gen fighter, MK-2 is almost 4.8gen fighter..

Arjun already proved its durability against T-90S and proved itself, Both Army and DRDO have there separate reports for its success in both vid and written..

It is imperative we must move with National product and dont relay on foreign arms which dont want India to be free as its bad for there business..

Mariner HK

INSAS cannot fire multi-caliber ammo. Army wants multi-caliber rifles now, hence the need for INSAS is significantly less. We don't know anything about the F-INSAS project, so all we can do is wait and watch until prototypes are revealed.
Am saying again to u. If our army need multi caliber ammo fired gun INSAS should be upgraded.What stops DRDO .Ordinance factory and other defence PSUs to invent a new rifle system ? Any good reason form them? I tell u whagt it is .Its a 7 billion + 1 Billion $ scam revealed just few days before .VERMA who is in jail now did it.

LCA Tejas should have completed 4500 test flights by now. 2050 flight tests is paltry. First flight to IOC was supposed to be less than 1000 hours, but it didn't happen. More flight tests were required to complete tests. IOC to FOC is 1000+ hours of flight tests. So another 2000-2500 flight tests are still pending.
RESPECT ! If we had tejas mass produced then how will our babus netas get bribe and kick backs by buying rafale or super or sukoi or upgrading mirrage at the cost of new mirrage fighter ?

Apart from that it is obsolete. Even the Mk2 is less relevant, especially considering the time frame. When Mk2 will be inducted, other air forces will be phasing out similar aircraft.

Tejas with twin engines is a fools errand. Nobody does it. It is entirely pointless. Dassault attempted something of the sort, called Mirage-4000. ALA did not even look at it. Instead Rafale was developed as a new aircraft. Also designing a two engine Tejas is not a 2 or 3 years work, it is a full scale project that should take around 16 years if not more.
16 years? Why ? We have a sample flatform flying now.Now we have good knowledge on merits and de merits of tejas .If we need to add another engine even a simple aam admi know that Frame must made stronger with increasinfg its load and other capability ,Provide additional space for one more wngine .Increasing the fuel capacity and much more with can be done in 2 years.. if we have good planning etc..As hal upgraded many AC on their own.. Is it not possible?

Arjun is obsolete, which was designed and built by "novices" according to current designers, hence an improved Mk2. But the army has decided on a FMBT instead which will mature side by side with the Mk2.
It not because mk2 is bad.. Its because army want light weight T90 so kickback will be gained. Arjun is a very good tank out matched t90.How a light weight tank will wars ? THIS IS NONSENSE we neeed Heavy tanks also .If it is ARJUN it can be mass produced and number can be kept in secrecy... Its an advantage.Our army must be told to live with wat we have..So they will learn how to use this tank in efficient manner than just opting for t90 new model revealed in DEFO india

Our indigenous systems are mainly concentrated around using obsolete methods and practices. It takes time to learn and re-learn. This is a 20-30 year process. So, wait.
WAIT ? yeah my father's gen waited ,now am waiting sure my son will wait too.. WE WILL WAIT untill weapons mass produced by chines.After the invaded and take control of this nation ...

shom

Are you talking about Nepalese infantry? I think they sent them back.
Kunal da said about our army ,,, and if u r talking about return of insas the the story goes lyk this. INSAS rifles were supplied to the Nepalese Army at a 70% subsidy price. Due to its faulty mode-switch system during the initial use in the Maoist-Insurgency, Ministry of Defence is considering to replace all of it with M-16, although the system has been repaired. INSAS will be then transferred to Armed Police Force. Source:- Nepalese Army - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

shom

Am saying again to u. If our army need multi caliber ammo fired gun INSAS should be upgraded.What stops DRDO .Ordinance factory and other defence PSUs to invent a new rifle system ? Any good reason form them? I tell u whagt it is .Its a 7 billion + 1 Billion $ scam revealed just few days before .VERMA who is in jail now did it.

RESPECT ! If we had tejas mass produced then how will our babus netas get bribe and kick backs by buying rafale or super or sukoi or upgrading mirrage at the cost of new mirrage fighter ?

Apart from that it is obsolete. Even the Mk2 is less relevant, especially considering the time frame. When Mk2 will be inducted, other air forces will be phasing out similar aircraft.

16 years? Why ? We have a sample flatform flying now.Now we have good knowledge on merits and de merits of tejas .If we need to add another engine even a simple aam admi know that Frame must made stronger with increasinfg its load and other capability ,Provide additional space for one more wngine .Increasing the fuel capacity and much more with can be done in 2 years.. if we have good planning etc..As hal upgraded many AC on their own.. Is it not possible?

It not because mk2 is bad.. Its because army want light weight T90 so kickback will be gained. Arjun is a very good tank out matched t90.How a light weight tank will wars ? THIS IS NONSENSE we neeed Heavy tanks also .If it is ARJUN it can be mass produced and number can be kept in secrecy... Its an advantage.Our army must be told to live with wat we have..So they will learn how to use this tank in efficient manner than just opting for t90 new model revealed in DEFO india

WAIT ? yeah my father's gen waited ,now am waiting sure my son will wait too.. WE WILL WAIT untill weapons mass produced by chines.After the invaded and take control of this nation ...
With due respect ,, we are all talking about money and govt.... let me point out something:-\
1) Govt is corrupt that is becoz of us,,, we let them be corrupt,,, as our system is very much democratic we have the power to stop this catastrophe,,, it is just that our citizens or mass as we call it must be a little educated and aware of voting,,,, we never do any homework before voting,,, homework is necessary ,, their must be a evaluation of work for past 5 years in every sphere of elections,,, evaluation on every thing from roads to Air routes,,, Railway to Ropeway ,,, arms to needles ,,, public service to personal service ,,, everything,, then we should vote sumone ,,, 65% of us even dont know that there is an option while voting which is called rejection of candidate,,, we can reject all the candidates and that is to be counted as a vote by the election commisioner. Instead what we do is we go to the booth and cast our vote in favor of the "direction to which the wind blows". Before just abusing govt we shud know that we are abusing ourselves only and we are responsible for whatever is happening and it is only us who can change it,,
2) In past 6years 630 DRDO scientist has left left the organisation from 2007-2011 and 50 more have gone till 31st October 2012,,,,, though they have sited their own reasons but the basic reason is growing opportunity and incentives in other countries and organisations,,, if you consider this then there are two reason...
a) Money has corssed Patriotism for new era techies and students,, patriotism has become just a Cricket match matter for these people. I am saying this becoz they a salary of DRDO scientist is well enough to carry on with family. But they are preferring money. Now please dont tell me that money is the most important thing in lyf. Money is just a need when u need it for ur basic needs of lyf and above all it is bloody luxury and nothing else.
b) Our govt is not taking any initiative to bring them back. What initiative can govt take on bringing them back????? we have a bloody constitution damn it ,,, it is the best in the world ,,, we promise personal liberty to everyone ,,, we just cannot force them. It is there morality that shud force them to come back and work.

Designation Pay Scale ( Basic Pay Rs.) Grade Pay
Scientist 'B' 15,600-39,100 5400/-
Scientist `C' 15,600-39,100 6600/-
Scientist `D' 15,600-39,100 7600/-
Scientist `E' 37,400-67,000/- 8700/-
Scientist `F' 37,400-67,000/- 8900/-
Scientist `G' 37,400-67,000/- 10000/-
Scientist `H' 67000-79,000/- ----
Distinguished Scientist 75,500-80,000/- (HAG+Scale)
Secretary DRDO, DG R&D and Scientific Adviser to Raksha Mantri (SA to RM) : Rs. 80,000 (Fixed)
data Source:- DRDO

Mariner HK

With due respect ,, we are all talking about money and govt.... let me point out something:-\
1) Govt is corrupt that is becoz of us,,, we let them be corrupt,,, as our system is very much democratic we have the power to stop this catastrophe,,, it is just that our citizens or mass as we call it must be a little educated and aware of voting,,,, we never do any homework before voting,,, homework is necessary ,, their must be a evaluation of work for past 5 years in every sphere of elections,,, evaluation on every thing from roads to Air routes,,, Railway to Ropeway ,,, arms to needles ,,, public service to personal service ,,, everything,, then we should vote sumone ,,, 65% of us even dont know that there is an option while voting which is called rejection of candidate,,, we can reject all the candidates and that is to be counted as a vote by the election commisioner. Instead what we do is we go to the booth and cast our vote in favor of the "direction to which the wind blows". Before just abusing govt we shud know that we are abusing ourselves only and we are responsible for whatever is happening and it is only us who can change it,,
2) In past 6years 630 DRDO scientist has left left the organisation from 2007-2011 and 50 more have gone till 31st October 2012,,,,, though they have sited their own reasons but the basic reason is growing opportunity and incentives in other countries and organisations,,, if you consider this then there are two reason...
a) Money has corssed Patriotism for new era techies and students,, patriotism has become just a Cricket match matter for these people. I am saying this becoz they a salary of DRDO scientist is well enough to carry on with family. But they are preferring money. Now please dont tell me that money is the most important thing in lyf. Money is just a need when u need it for ur basic needs of lyf and above all it is bloody luxury and nothing else.
b) Our govt is not taking any initiative to bring them back. What initiative can govt take on bringing them back????? we have a bloody constitution damn it ,,, it is the best in the world ,,, we promise personal liberty to everyone ,,, we just cannot force them. It is there morality that shud force them to come back and work.

Secretary DRDO, DG R&D and Scientific Adviser to Raksha Mantri (SA to RM) : Rs. 80,000 (Fixed)
Wat do u mean "we let them to corrupt" ? When did the last time u allowed then to corrupt? Stop this Chaltha hai attitude dude. Systems and law is so weak.YES AGREED. But did Kirana Shop wala or mechanic or poor farmer or U or ME made this law ? Who made this law? THEN HOW CAN PPL HELD Responsible for these corruption in this country.These crooks are currupt because they do it for personal benifits.Our poor peeps dont even have decent food to eat or decent accomedation to live,or decent salary to live respectable life .. How can these poor people of India held responsibleor made these week law? They are poor man they vote each and every time so that someone may help them to live is it wrong?
Stop blaming urself or people.We elect them to rule us and do good reforms so we all live happily not to do scams and corruptions... Its not WE reseponsibl Its THEM !THEM ! THEM ... No nation is cprrupt free.Curruption exist every wr BUT to do bad ilegal things which are against the LAW , But in INDIA one need to PAY BRIBE just to do wat he should be doing. Now here its the problem from birth certificate to death certificate its all corruption.I wonder us or uk citizen dont even belive the things going on in this country. He rather SALUTE our people for living this hell like heaven.

Mariner HK

WOOOW ! Its the great offer one can have for doing NOTHING...Wish i get one job in drdo ..sadly i aint the son of politician or PSUs seniors.

shom

WOOOW ! Its the great offer one can have for doing NOTHING...Wish i get one job in drdo ..sadly i aint the son of politician or PSUs seniors.
That is a good ambition ,,, if u are eligible then apply for it ,,,, Nepotism is not so much valid in India that a DRDO scientist wud be placed in there with the help of Netas ,,, dont be a fanatic that nothing in India is good ,,,

shom

Wat do u mean "we let them to corrupt" ? When did the last time u allowed then to corrupt? Stop this Chaltha hai attitude dude. Systems and law is so weak.YES AGREED. But did Kirana Shop wala or mechanic or poor farmer or U or ME made this law ? Who made this law? THEN HOW CAN PPL HELD Responsible for these corruption in this country.These crooks are currupt because they do it for personal benifits.Our poor peeps dont even have decent food to eat or decent accomedation to live,or decent salary to live respectable life .. How can these poor people of India held responsibleor made these week law? They are poor man they vote each and every time so that someone may help them to live is it wrong?
Stop blaming urself or people.We elect them to rule us and do good reforms so we all live happily not to do scams and corruptions... Its not WE reseponsibl Its THEM !THEM ! THEM ... No nation is cprrupt free.Curruption exist every wr BUT to do bad ilegal things which are against the LAW , But in INDIA one need to PAY BRIBE just to do wat he should be doing. Now here its the problem from birth certificate to death certificate its all corruption.I wonder us or uk citizen dont even belive the things going on in this country. He rather SALUTE our people for living this hell like heaven.
Dude dont be over whelmed we send the lawmakers in India ,,, plzzz study Political Science and Constitution before u comment on system,,, u know what is democracy???? do u have any idea about Republican State ,,,, dude u can blame anyone as u lyk ,,, but blaming wud never change society,,,,,,

Mariner HK

Dude dont be over whelmed we send the lawmakers in India ,,, plzzz study Political Science and Constitution before u comment on system,,, u know what is democracy???? do u have any idea about Republican State ,,,, dude u can blame anyone as u lyk ,,, but blaming wud never change society,,,,,,
SHOM SHOM SHOM .... So wat do u suggest punish ppl who voted for congress because of 2g,CWG Coal scam,Bofor,Food scam,irrigation scam,chopr scam ,rifle scam,navy room leak etc? NAAAA ! it dont work like that .DID our indian constitution says this? public responsible for scams by elected netas? Comon my friend Its not blaming shom. Its a out cry of betrayal.These guys told me something but did something else.How i am responsible for this? U talk like DIG VIJAY SINGH now... :D Its about punishing the corrupt not ppl who voted [video=youtube_share;IT5VmvsjdLU]http://youtu.be/IT5VmvsjdLU[/video]

shom

SHOM SHOM SHOM .... So wat do u suggest punish ppl who voted for congress because of 2g,CWG Coal scam,Bofor,Food scam,irrigation scam,chopr scam ,rifle scam,navy room leak etc? NAAAA ! it dont work like that .DID our indian constitution says this? public responsible for scams by elected netas? Comon my friend Its not blaming shom. Its a out cry of betrayal.These guys told me something but did something else.How i am responsible for this? U talk like DIG VIJAY SINGH now... :D Its about punishing the corrupt not ppl who voted [video=youtube_share;IT5VmvsjdLU]http://youtu.be/IT5VmvsjdLU[/video]
Yaa punish them ,, but punishment wud not change crime status ,,,, in criminology and theory of punishment it is evident that punishment has never changed crime ,, it has changed criminals ,,,, to change crime there must be reforms ,,,, social reforms,,, like u r aware of things a day will come when everyone will be aware then no politician wud dare to take a bribe. You know why they take bribe ,,??? it is just becoz they know that people who votes them forgets scams and negative cases very early as they dont follow a strict vigil on the society,,, and when the election comes they make us remember all the good works and we vote them,,, once we are aware and start keeping data of their ill works they will fear us and then real change wud come,,,, we can make this change,,, if you tell ur nearest person to keep a strict record on every good/bad work of govt from panchayat to Loksabha and he tells the same to his nearest and this chain goes on,, our country wud be developed within 10 years ,,,,, mark my words mate,,,,,,,,

INSAS is a thousands rupee answer to million dollar question, It is not difficult to re-chambered the existing rifle in class of 7.62 Insas both in Soviat and Nato rounds, as demanded by Indian Army rather purchased new unproven Rifle, which need new spares and instructions & Training..

Nepalese army use Insas so does the rebel used too, Nepalese army prefer INSAS over AK and use it along G36 and M16 in there Infantry..
Is that why Nepalese Army and Indian Army dumped and are dumping INSAS?

Bachchu Yadav

Some points I know but detailed analysis can provided by Seniors

1. Insas is not reliable in cold conditions, this problem has come to surface when Nepal army complained about cracking of magazines during war with Maoists.

2. Insas do not have new features which are being sought in modern rifle, Multi barrel ,adding granade launcher under barrel, ambidextrous control (i.e. can be locked/unloacked with both right and left hands).

If someone told you so his ideas are from air or just media who are claiming SIG is winning other Berrata and other just IWI ever day ..

In Army is exactly opposite, We are getting Improved INSAS 1B1 & One of them is on my avatar :) ..

===================================

About Nepalese INSAS, this is for all those who dont know that INSAS given to Nepalese Army back in days did not malfunction due to there design but due to lack of maintenance as proper instruction and training was not given to the Soldiers resulted in malfunction in battle, Latter OFB tem went to Nepal and used same INSAS and least fired 100rnds in front of top Nepalese Official at non-stop, After that Nepal re-issued INSAS to there soldiers so does proper cleaning and training manual ..