Why 1962 will not be repeated

On October 20, very few in India remembered that 49 years ago, the Chinese People's Liberation Army massively attacked India. Tawang district, Arunachal Pradesh, bore the brunt of the aggression. Since then, the names Thagla ridge and the Namkha Chu have become synonymous with defeat, humiliation and shame.

The wise man will say, 'the past is past'; but the question remains, could the debacle be repeated?
In recent months, the Indian press has been full of reports about the amazing infrastructure development to the north of the LAC: new airports, four-way highroads, five-star hotels, and a railway line coming closer and closer.

Wanting to find out for myself, I travelled to Tawang. Though most of the border areas are still 'restricted' to ordinary citizens, after spending a few days in Tawang and listening to the local people, one gets a fair idea of the situation.

The answer to my question is definitively, 'No, 1962 will not be repeated.'

During the last decades, many things have changed in India. Just after independence, the principles of the administration of the Northeast were laid down by Verrier Erwin, the guru of soft integration of tribal areas: "We should avoid imposing anything on the local people."

It had disastrous consequences as far as infrastructure was concerned. In October 1962, when the Chinese entered Indian territory, north of Tawang, Nehru was forced to wake up from his romantic dreams.

In January 2008, during a visit to Itanagar and Tawang, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh announced a Rs24,000 crore package for the state. Priority was given to roads (in particular, the construction of a Trans-Arunachal Highway).

With the road being enlarged between the plains of Assam and Tawang, one drives on the messiest imaginable construction site. It is the favourite topic of local jokes: some say if the Chinese dare to come again, they will break their vehicles and their noses; others curse the army's Border Road Organisation for having started work on all the stretches simultaneously.

The fact remains that the present state of the road is not propitious for an armed conflict. There are other differences between 1962 and 2011. The then foolish leadership did not dare to use the air force, it will not be the case today; especially after a full squadron of Sukhoi-30 aircraft have been deployed at the Tezpur air base in Assam (another squadron has been brought to Chabua in Upper Assam).

Further, the IAF is planning to open six Advanced Landing Grounds, as well as several helipads in areas close to the border.

If India was attacked today, it would not remain a localised conflict like in 1962; any Chinese misadventure would trigger an 'all-out' conflict. The Chinese are aware of this. It has been in the public domain that two new infantry divisions (with their headquarters in Zakama, Nagaland, and Missamari, Assam) have been raised and that the government is looking for a place in the Northeast to set up the headquarters of the Mountain Strike Corps.

Walking in the bazaar in Tawang, one has a feeling of a harmonious relation between the army and the local population. This is a crucial factor that was not here 50 years ago. I was told that some villages fully supported the invading Chinese troops in 1962. This explains how the PLA was able to build a road from Bumla, the border pass, to Tawang in 18 days. One can imagine the amount of accurate intelligence required for this feat. Such a situation does not exist in Tibet where the alien PLA has to deal with a resentful local population.

Though it cannot be construed as a sign that nothing untoward could happen, today there is relative peace and bonhomie on the border. Indian tourists can get a pass from the deputy commissioner's office for a darshan of Tibet at Bumla border post. I was told that on October 1, 300 Indian and Chinese visitors participated in a mela on the occasion of China's Republic Day.

The general comment was that Chinese noodles are not as good as Indian parathas and sabzis.

Lastly but most importantly, the local Monpa population is among the most patriotic in India. Though the Chinese propaganda calls this area 'Southern Tibet', this will never be accepted by the local population. Once, there was a demonstration of the local population chanting 'Dudh mangoge to kheer denyenge, Aruncahal mangoge to chir denyenge' (If you ask for milk, we'll give you kheer; if you ask for Arunachal, we'll give you arrows).

If China wants again to 'teach a lesson' to India, it will be a Himalayan task, and in the process, the PLA may get a 'bloody nose', as they say in the army.

Why 1962 will not be repeated - Analysis - DNA

Giving a "bloody nose" isn't enough. Whole nose should be cut off!

Infrastructure needs to be build and more surveillance should be done.

We have the capability to do that but we don't attack unless we are provoked. We INDIANS do not conquer anyone.

captonjohn

Giving a "bloody nose" isn't enough. Whole nose should be cut off!

Infrastructure needs to be build and more surveillance should be done.
A bloody nose would be enough at present until we don't get enough strength and superiority in technology and military modernization along with superior infrastructure. After we get enough strength why focus on nose only? Cut the whole neck if they try to teach us lesson.

Well if someone ask about the Indian capability , I think Indians tried in 71 .

I think in 1971 INDIA thrashed pakistan in 10 days, but the Americans are trying this for 10 tears but they have achieved very little after those 10 years of conflict. This shows the capabilities of the INDIAN ARMY.

niceguy2011

A bloody nose would be enough at present until we don't get enough strength and superiority in technology and military modernization along with superior infrastructure. After we get enough strength why focus on nose only? Cut the whole neck if they try to teach us lesson.
when will u have the strength, after lesson or 30,50 years? LOL

Honestly, how hard is it to beat backwards Chinese? We did it twice...

DMF

Honestly, how hard is it to beat backwards Chinese? We did it twice...

China has been backward for the last 200years, and got beaten up by all of the G8 countries, even in 2001 almost got beaten again by the USA led NATO, if not for Mr bin laden stepped out to receive the bullet, and then the Iraq war follows.
But China's heavy industry already has the turning point in 2004, and around year 2030, China's industrialization will complete then, the new structure of world power will be formed.
Look at the G20 meeting just concluded, you already can get some clue

The Chinese president displays an Elizabeth Taylor-like gift for lateness - Telegraph
[video]http://www.youtube.com/embed/gHHNW9Zb2vw[/video]

What? Hu Jintao gets lost to his place on the world stage... :laugh:

1962 will not be repeated because now we have nukes and A3 is ready and inducted and A5 is coming. Do you guys hear arihant, oops it does not make any sound.

China has been backward for the last 200years, and got beaten up by all of the G8 countries, even in 2001 almost got beaten again by the USA led NATO, if not for Mr bin laden stepped out to receive the bullet, and then the Iraq war follows.
But China's heavy industry already has the turning point in 2004, and around year 2030, China's industrialization will complete then, the new structure of world power will be formed.
Look at the G20 meeting just concluded, you already can get some clue

The Chinese president displays an Elizabeth Taylor-like gift for lateness - Telegraph
[video]http://www.youtube.com/embed/gHHNW9Zb2vw[/video]
Indeed China has come a long way from the days when Mao was insisting that all make steel in their backyard while at the same time, leaving China starving as all were busy making crude steel that was of no use to man or beast!

and anyway, who is this Hu who is a Jinn and practising Taoism?

niceguy2011

1962 will not be repeated because now we have nukes and A3 is ready and inducted and A5 is coming. Do you guys hear arihant, oops it does not make any sound.
We know what u got,but may be not the same as GOI want you to believe . LOL