Were Vijayanagar and Marathas the only imperial powers which defeated Turkic Dynasties?

Dreamhunter

The Vijayanagar Empire under Devaraya and Krishna Devaraya defeated the Bahmani Sultanate after which the Sultanate collapsed in 1527 CE.
The Maratha Empire under the leadership of Baji Rao and Mahadji Shinde defeated the Mughal Dynasty and made the Mughals puppet kings of Delhi which was basicallly the end of the Mughal Dynasty.
Were there any other Hindu powers which were able to destroy a Turkic Dynasty?

Yggdrasil

Let us not forget about these guys.

The Battle of Saraighat was fought in 1671 between the Mughal empire (led by the Kachwaha king, Raja Ramsingh I), and the Ahom Kingdom (led by Lachit Borphukan) on the Brahmaputra river at Saraighat, now in Guwahati, Assam, India.[1] Although much weaker, the Ahom Army defeated the Mughal Army by brilliant uses of the terrain, clever diplomatic negotiations to buy time, guerrilla tactics, psychological warfare, military intelligence and by exploiting the sole weakness of the Mughal forces—its navy. This battle started during the reign of Chakradhwaj Singha and the Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb

The Battle of Saraighat was the last battle in the last major attempt by the Mughals to extend their empire into Assam. Though the Mughals managed to regain Guwahati briefly after a later Borphukan deserted it, the Ahoms wrested control in the Battle of Itakhuli in 1682 and maintained it till the end of their rule.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Saraighat

Dreamhunter

The Sikhs destroyed the Durranis and the Afghan rule in Punjab and almost the entire North West.

Marathas also played a big role in the dispatch of Tipu Sultan to jahannum.
Tipu Sultan was not a Turk but he was an Indian Muslim who was actually a decent ruler.
He also fought the British until his death unlike the Nizams who were Turkic cowards and who were the earliest rulers who signed treaties with the British.

Bharat Ek Khoj

Tipu Sultan was not a Turk but he was an Indian Muslim who was actually a decent ruler.
He also fought the British until his death unlike the Nizams who were Turkic cowards and who were the earliest rulers who signed treaties with the British.
- Rajarajeshwara temple of Kerala. Destroyed by the forces of Tipu Sultan during the invasion of Malabar(c.1789)
- Anantanatha Jain temple. Wayanad(kerala). Temple called "Sultan's battery" since Tipu sultan destroyed it and used it as ammunition store
- A Portuguese traveller who witnessed the barbarity of Tipu Sultan writes "Mothers were hanged with children tied to their necks. Tipu tied naked Hindus and Christians to an elephant and made it move around until Kafir bodies were torn to pieces.Most of men and women were hanged"
- Kerala(Chirakkal) Hindu king, offering presents, requests Tipu Sultan-"Tipu, please spare our temples. I will give you 4 lakhs and plates of gold" Tipu Sultan-" No, I wont spare Hindu temples even if you give me all the treasures of the world"

Very decent ruler.

Dreamhunter

- Rajarajeshwara temple of Kerala. Destroyed by the forces of Tipu Sultan during the invasion of Malabar(c.1789)
- Anantanatha Jain temple. Wayanad(kerala). Temple called "Sultan's battery" since Tipu sultan destroyed it and used it as ammunition store
- A Portuguese traveller who witnessed the barbarity of Tipu Sultan writes "Mothers were hanged with children tied to their necks. Tipu tied naked Hindus and Christians to an elephant and made it move around until Kafir bodies were torn to pieces.Most of men and women were hanged"
- Kerala(Chirakkal) Hindu king, offering presents, requests Tipu Sultan-"Tipu, please spare our temples. I will give you 4 lakhs and plates of gold" Tipu Sultan-" No, I wont spare Hindu temples even if you give me all the treasures of the world"

Very decent ruler.
He was merciless to his enemies but he did not suppress his subjects unlike the Turkic Nizams and Delhi Sultanate rulers as he was an Indian Muslim. He even wanted to forge an alliance with the Marathas to destroy the British power in India. He did not consider himself as a foreigner unlike most of the Mughal rulers. Even Mughal rulers like Akbar and Shah Jahan, who are praised by several historians, considered Central Asia their ancestrial homeland and did not consider themselves Indians.

Good thread ! keep it up .......................

Bharat Ek Khoj

He was merciless to his enemies but he did not suppress his subjects unlike the Turkic Nizams and Delhi Sultanate rulers as he was an Indian Muslim. He even wanted to forge an alliance with the Marathas to destroy the British power in India. He did not consider himself as a foreigner unlike most of the Mughal rulers. Even Mughal rulers like Akbar and Shah Jahan, who are praised by several historians, considered Central Asia their ancestrial homeland and did not consider themselves Indians.
So if Tipu was an indian, then who were his enemies ?? Women and children whom he butchered mercilessly ?
Is this how you describe a decent ruler ?? You brought a special kind of taquiya.

It doesn't matter what colour is the snake if it poisons and kills your people.

Tipu Sultan was a mass murderer and a bigot who took pride in killing and converting the Hindus whenever he could, especially Malabar.

The only unfortunate thing about his dispatch to jahannum was that it did not come sooner. AT least his family lineage was largely extinguished after that.

The remainder were exiled to Kolkata- Tipu Sultan Mosque ring a bell? aur nateeja saamne hai.

After all blood will tell.

Dreamhunter

So Tipu was indian, then who were his enemies ?? Women and children whom he butchered mercilessly ?
Is this how you describe a decent ruler ?? You brought a special kind of taquiya.
Lets be honest. This was part of medieval warfare in most parts of the world. Akbar who is praised by many historians was also responsible for many atrocities. But of all the Muslim rulers India ever had Tipu Sultan and Akbar are still ranked among the best. Because of the atrocities that were caused by the soldiers, many people seem to be unaware of the patriotism that Tipu Sultan and the Maratha rulers like Yashwantrao Holkar had. Both rulers were very aware of the British danger and they put all their effort to drive the British out of India. On the other hand many other rulers of that time like the Nizams, Nawabs and the Rajputs were mostly interested in preserving their petty kingdoms to the extent that they were even willing to collaborate with the British

Bharat Ek Khoj

Lets be honest. This was part of medieval warfare in most parts of the world. Akbar who is praised by many historians was also responsible for many atrocities. But of all the Muslim rulers India ever had Tipu Sultan and Akbar are still ranked among the best. Because of the atrocities that were caused by the soldiers, many people seem to be unaware of the patriotism that Tipu Sultan and the Maratha rulers like Yashwantrao Holkar had. Both rulers were very aware of the British danger and they put all their effort to drive the British out of India. On the other hand many other rulers of that time like the Nizams, Nawabs and the Rajputs were mostly interested in preserving their petty kingdoms to the extent that they were even willing to collaborate with the British
First of all, you need stop comparing which butcher was less evil.
There was a large number of Jews in Hitlers army who fought for him. Did it stopped genocide of Jews ?? So all your patriot arguments falls flat.

itsme

In those days almost all kings when they conquered enemy land did commit horrible atrocities irrespective of the religion.

Ranked best? By whom? I have often heard some claim that Sher Shah Suri being called the best Muslim ruler India had.

Akbar should not be given a free pass either, but to his credit he all but renounced Islam and started deen-e-ilaahi. Tipu was an Islamist till the very end.

Maratha blunders are matter for another discussion.

Dreamhunter

First of all, you need stop comparing which butcher was less evil.
There was a large number of Jews in Hitlers army who fought for him. Did it stopped genocide of Jews ?? So all your patriot arguments falls flat.
I do understand that you hate him and I am also not a fan of Tipu Sultan. But when we deal with history we have to be objective. In the late 18th century Tipu was with Shinde and Holkar the 3 greatest rulers in South Asia as all 3 rulers ruled kingdoms which were economic and military powerhouses who were feared by the British

R A Varun

did you just said tipu a descent ruler, i hail from the mysore state and in no way tipu was a descent he was the worst of all the muslim rulers who wanted to turn india into a muslim state.

he has barbarically fed his prisoners to the tigers he held in captive and joyed watching it, he forced the hindu women who forced to convert into the brothel houses and to his soldiers, he was a crusader worse than the hitler, he made the western ghats a place of hell by killing thousands of hindus who refused to convert in to islam, they also killed their allied palegara's who refused to convert to islam.

Bharat Ek Khoj

I do understand that you hate him and I am also not a fan of Tipu Sultan. But when we deal with history we have to be objective. In the late 18th century Tipu was with Shinde and Holkar the 3 greatest rulers in South Asia as all 3 rulers ruled kingdoms which were economic and military powerhouses who were feared by the British
When you have nothing come up with, me become a hater. Wow !
Let me know how many women and children were butchered mercilessly by Shinde and Holkar. How many people were tied to elephant and made it move around until the bodies were torn to pieces.

Man this must be a good view by a so called decent ruler and so called patroit.

R A Varun

whose history are you refering too, the one that was created on the false hoods or the one that really did occured, tipu was never a warrior, he was famed to be a warrior, he was spared more than twice by the king of chitradurga Madhakarinayaka, and to say frankly, it was the poornayya, who actually had the power in the back, he was a advisor to the dalovoyes who seized the power from royal throne of mysore and led the free rule, poornayya along with the hyder ali, capture the power by killing those dalovoyes and fooling the royal family, poornayya even turned the battle towards his allies when the king Madakari allied with the wadeyars, the royal family of the mysore kingdom, and later played the game of religion and betrayel, which turned the muslim commanders in the Madakari's forces join the hyder forces and opened the secret gates, which at last didnt even spared those who helped hyder ali,

and it was a tactic of the poornayya to see the tipu who was in favor of him and a close friend of him, would make to the throne of nawabgiri in a tussle between the relatives of the hyder ali, and it was he who at last concluded the death of tipu, when tipu found the real aspects of the poornayya.

proud_indian

did you just said tipu a descent ruler, i hail from the mysore state and in no way tipu was a descent he was the worst of all the muslim rulers who wanted to turn india into a muslim state.

he has barbarically fed his prisoners to the tigers he held in captive and joyed watching it, he forced the hindu women who forced to convert into the brothel houses and to his soldiers, he was a crusader worse than the hitler, he made the western ghats a place of hell by killing thousands of hindus who refused to convert in to islam, they also killed their allied palegara's who refused to convert to islam.
then why is this fetish of current katakana government to declare him "Freedom Fighter".

Don't they need hindu votes or the hindus there doesn't care?