Watch what you say- You are watched today

From Vicky Nanjappa's blog.

Watch what you say- You are watched today

Starting today your experience on the phone or the internet will be different. India's snooping programme is underway and suspicious actions will be watched by multiple agencies using both Netra and the National Cyber Coordination Centre.

It is not intended to invade into privacy an official with the Intelligence Bureau tells rediff.com. The response mechanism has been late all these days while handling issues on the internet and through such programmes we will have real time information.

When compared to Netra, the NCCC has a wider role to play. It would be the first layer of cyber threat monitoring. All the communication that passes through both government and private service providers would go through this agency. It basically does the job of a control room monitoring the entry and exit which also includes international gateway.

Netra on the other hand devised by the Defence Ministry will catch suspicious words which are used on social networking sites. Words such as attack, bomb, kill, plan, execute etc will all be picked up. The data would be sent to the NCCC in real time which in turn would scrutinise the same. The Netra would not only pick up words from social networking sites, but it would also keep tab on voice over internet calls through the various services available.

The NCCC would also look into blogs apart from emails and social networking data. Complaints that are received by cyber crime police stations would also taken into account by the NCCC and aide would be provided in nabbing down the culprits.

Privacy- The issue of privacy is something that has been raised following such steps taken by the Government of India. Officers say that there is nothing to be worried provided you are clean on the internet. It is not as though people will get arrested for random chat. There is a proper mechanism in place which scrutinises everything and studies a pattern. The programme is more for the agencies to stay alert all the time. As pointed out earlier the response time was very bad in case of cyber terrorism. Terrorists often got away with at least 30 hours of benefit due to the lag in response. Keeping a tab real time will only prevent the offence, the official also points out.

Legal experts however point out that as long as it is for a proper cause it is fine. Snooping in conversations that are political or business related is not the job of this agency. We have witnessed many times in the past that conversations are snooped into through telephone tapping and this has often been to keep tabs on political rivals. The government in power always uses the agencies to get dirty work done and we hope that this is not the case in the case of either Netra or NCCC.

The NCCC will be under the control of multiple agencies:

National Security Council Secretariat (NSCS)

Intelligence Bureau (IB)

Research and Analysis Wing (RAW)

Indian Computer Emergency Response Team (CERT-In)

National Technical Research Organisation (NTRO)

Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO)

DIARA (Defence Information Assurance and Research Agency)

Army, Navy, Air Force

Department of Telecommunications

This would mean that there would a connection with the National Intelligence Grid as well. An officer says that it would be linked to the NIG as well. It is all part of the same work. Intelligence is not just restricted to that on the field. The NIG would collect the data passed on by the NCCC and Netra as well and analyse the same. The NIG would coordinate with the NCCC to collect intelligence. It would then be analysed following which a decision would be taken to find out if it is actionable or not.

This is a very ambitious project for India. The NCCC alone costs around Rs 1000 crore. It is of utmost importance for India as it has become an epicentre for jihadis who operate from Pakistan and Afghanistan. Most of the communication these days has been on the net and hence such an agency becomes extremely important, the IB says.

The need for such agencies can be justified with statistics.

133 Government websites were hacked during January to March this year.
In 2011, US $ 4 billion were lost due to cyber crime in India.
80% of the people surveyed experienced cyber crime.
According to Reserve Bank of India, 2232 Internet fraud cases involving Rs 1234.94 lakh were registered in the year 2010. CBI registered 2 cyber crime cases involving Rs. 17 Lakhs in 2010.
Measures to be taken as per government of India
Legal Framework in the form of Information Technology Act, 2000. The Act provides legal framework to address the issues connected with cyber crime, cyber attacks and security breaches of information technology infrastructure.
Setting up of Early Warning and Response to cyber security incidents through the Indian Computer Emergency Response Team (CERT-In) and collaboration at national and international level for information sharing and mitigation of cyber attacks.
CERT-In regularly publishes Security Guidelines and advisories for safeguarding computer systems from hacking and these are widely circulated. CERT-In also conducts security mock drills, workshops & training programs on regular basis to enhance security posture of infrastructure and awareness.
The organizations operating critical information infrastructure have been advised to implement information security management practices based on International Standard ISO 27001. Ministries and Departments have been advised to carry out security audit of their information technology infrastructure regularly to ensure robustness of their systems.
Government is facilitating skill & competence development in the area of cyber security by providing domain specific trainings on Cyber Forensics, Network & System Security Administration. Labs for training in collection and analysis of digital evidence for Law Enforcement & Judiciary have been setup.
The Government has formulated Crisis Management Plan for countering cyber attacks and cyber terrorism. This is being implemented by all Ministries/ Departments of Central Government, State Governments and their organizations and critical sectors.

(Story first published on rediff.com)

dhananjay1

There is no privacy on the internet. Anything one posts on the internet with our without using a real name could be easily traced and used in the court if it comes to that.

kseeker

How to remain anonymous online

The lengths to which you must go to remain anonymous online depend on whether you're trying to hide your tracks from your partner or the Pentagon.

Former US National Security Agency computer specialist Edward Snowden lifted the lid on just how extensively the US government and partners, such as Australia, are spying on us. You don't need to be a suspected terrorist for the spooks to trawl through your phone, SMS, browsing, email and chat records. Meanwhile, the US Patriot Act lets them search your email and cloud back-ups in data centres on US soil, or elsewhere if they are controlled by US companies.

You should always assume that someone, somewhere, is watching. Tricks for gaining a little privacy depend on whether you're worried about hiding from members of your household, your internet service provider (ISP) or the government.

Your web browser's ''private browsing'' mode deletes your history and temporary files such as cookies, but it doesn't stop your broadband modem or router logging the websites you visit. Your ISP can also see where you've been, so government agencies can too.

A proxy server offers an extra level of privacy by sending requests to websites on your behalf and sending back pages. The website doesn't know who you are and your ISP doesn't know which site you're visiting, making proxy servers a common way to bypass filtering.

The next level of security involves a virtual private network, or VPN, which can also bypass filtering.

VPNs encrypt all the internet traffic between your computer and the VPN provider. The encrypted link stops people snooping on your internet traffic when you're using a public Wi-Fi hotspot. Your ISP can't even see what you're doing, but it can tell you're using a VPN. There are many options available online for both paid and free VPN and proxy server providers. Unless you enable private browsing, your browser will still track your web history when using a VPN or proxy server. These tricks offer a certain level of anonymity but stubborn cookies, network metadata and even your computer's ''fingerprint'' - the specific characteristics of your machine and software - can still make it possible to identify you.

Using a VPN tricks websites into thinking you're located in the same place as the VPN server, so connecting to a US-based VPN often lets you bluff your way into US-only video services such as Hulu. It might not be able to tell you're in Australia, but Hulu can see the web address of the VPN server. It has been known to block traffic from popular VPN servers in an effort to keep out foreigners.

VPNs might let you bend geo-blocking rules, but they're not a foolproof way to avoid the long arm of the law. Government agencies can demand records from VPN providers and ISPs to trace traffic back to you, plus they might examine your computer's fingerprint. Fake email addresses also only offer limited anonymity for the same reasons. The authorities might go through Google, your VPN provider and your ISP to track you down as the owner of [email protected].

The heavy-handed tactics of the US government have even seen secure email services such as Lavabit and Silent Circle pull the plug because they can't guarantee privacy. To send secure messages you can use Pretty Good Privacy (PGP) to encrypt emails. Each PGP user is allocated a public and private encryption code. Anyone can use your public code to send you an encrypted message, but you need your private code to read it. You can also hide messages inside other files such as digital photos - known as steganography.

Political dissidents and whistleblowers often use TOR and I2P to hide their online activities, but these are also used by people with less noble intentions. You can run TOR from a USB stick and it will encrypt your traffic and bounce it through a string of servers.

Not even TOR is infallible, though, with a recent attack on TOR for Firefox on Windows designed to identify users.

It appears the attack may have been launched by US law enforcement agencies to help bring down a secretive child pornography ring.

Someone, somewhere, is always watching.

Deccani

There is a large proxy war is being waged against Indian nation and India as a country is a victim of cross border terrorism , proxy war and on that internal radicals who make life hell of other Indians just because of their religion or caste etc .

Internet Surveillance is needed but i don't think that all this would stop normal Indians to express themselves and tell their grievances.