Was creation of bangladesh a blunder?

NSG_Blackcats

Member of The Month OCTOBER 2009
I do not feel creation of Bangladesh is a blunder. Rather it is good for us that we have fewer problems now without Bangladesh. Some members are expressing that if an independent BD was not created we would have faced nukes from both sides. I do not agree with that view. It was impossible for Pakistan to logistically support its defense forces in Bangladesh. So sooner or later it was bound to happen.

We Indians should forget that we have helped Bangladesh in getting her independence. It is time to move on. Both India and Bangladesh should have a relationship that is beneficial to both of us. Regarding radicalization in Bangladesh, I have no doubt in my mind that if you compare it with Pakistan; BD is lot more peaceful. There is problem of water sharing between India and BD. Some political parties in DB are exploiting this. It is more like some political parties in India exploiting terrorism with Pakistan for vote.

History is the version of past events that people have decided to agree upon.

—— Napoleon Bonaparte

Param

I do not feel creation of Bangladesh is a blunder. Rather it is good for us that we have fewer problems now without Bangladesh. Some members are expressing that if an independent BD was not created we would have faced nukes from both sides. I do not agree with that view. It was impossible for Pakistan to logistically support its defense forces in Bangladesh. So sooner or later it was bound to happen.

We Indians should forget that we have helped Bangladesh in getting her independence. It is time to move on. Both India and Bangladesh should have a relationship that is beneficial to both of us. Regarding radicalization in Bangladesh, I have no doubt in my mind that if you compare it with Pakistan; BD is lot more peaceful. There is problem of water sharing between India and BD. Some political parties in DB are exploiting this. It is more like some political parties in India exploiting terrorism with Pakistan for vote.
Nobody is exploiting terrorism for votes. Terrorism is a reality and those parties are the ones who are tough on the terrorists & their supporters. The real scum are those indulging in votebank politics & minority appeasement . For them the biggest terrorist strike is malegaon, they dont care what happened in Mumbai.
Btw water is not the only problem with BD . WHY DONT WE ACCEPT THE TRUTH THE RELIGIOUS BROTHERHOOD BETWEEN BD & PAK WOULD REMAIN STRONG no matter whatever friendly gestures are made from our side.

neo29

WHY DONT WE ACCEPT THE TRUTH THE RELIGIOUS BROTHERHOOD BETWEEN BD & PAK WOULD REMAIN STRONG no matter whatever friendly gestures are made from our side.
Extremists in both countries will be brothers of each other forever. Infact the opposition party in BD does not favor relations with India. Only Sheikh Hasina govt has been close to India.

But practically BD does not show any gratitude to India for its independence. Most think Mukti Bahini won the war with little help from India. India too helped split Pak not liberate Bangladesh.

civfanatic

Extremists in both countries will be brothers of each other forever. Infact the opposition party in BD does not favor relations with India. Only Sheikh Hasina govt has been close to India.

But practically BD does not show any gratitude to India for its independence. Most think Mukti Bahini won the war with little help from India. India too helped split Pak not liberate Bangladesh.
Let them think whatever they want! Bangladesh is already in Top 20 failed states. Soon they will rejoin their Pakistani brethren, by becoming two of South Asia's most failed states!

GoI, wake up and just build a damn fence around the damn country, please. The Bangladeshis obviously haven't heard of BIRTH CONTROL, so let them invade Myanmar and China, not us.

NSG_Blackcats

Nobody is exploiting terrorism for votes. Terrorism is a reality and those parties are the ones who are tough on the terrorists & their supporters. The real scum are those indulging in votebank politics & minority appeasement . For them the biggest terrorist strike is malegaon, they dont care what happened in Mumbai.
Who is denying that terrorism is a reality!! But you need to understand that it is absolutely rubbish to link terror with any religion. Now according to you BJP is tough on terror. I like to disagree. Parliament attack does happen at the time of their tenure. Everyone knows what action they took. So let's not talk about political parties here. Every political party use terror of some kind for their own advantage. Only we common man has to suffer.

Btw water is not the only problem with BD . WHY DONT WE ACCEPT THE TRUTH THE RELIGIOUS BROTHERHOOD BETWEEN BD & PAK WOULD REMAIN STRONG no matter whatever friendly gestures are made from our side.
BD is peaceful compared to India and Pakistan. If religious brotherhood is the reason behind terrorism, than Indian had more Muslim population than BD. As a big nation it is our responsibility to reach out to our smaller neighbors like BD, Nepal and SriLanka. We must not behave like the USA of South Asia.

NSG_Blackcats

Let them think whatever they want! Bangladesh is already in Top 20 failed states. Soon they will rejoin their Pakistani brethren, by becoming two of South Asia's most failed states!

GoI, wake up and just build a damn fence around the damn country, please. The Bangladeshis obviously haven't heard of BIRTH CONTROL, so let them invade Myanmar and China, not us.
Dear lets come out of our India shining days. If you look at the standard of living of our people, we are no better than BD or Pakistan. Every country has some issues regarding development, poverty and security in South Asia. So it would be better to look within us before pointing a finger to others.

civfanatic

Dear lets come out of our India shining days. If you look at the standard of living of our people, we are no better than BD or Pakistan. Every country has some issues regarding development, poverty and security in South Asia. So it would be better to look within us before pointing a finger to others.
Yes, India has lots of problems. And one of those problems is illegal immigraton from BD! Unless these illegals are forcibly evicted and the Indo-BD border is sealed off, these Bengalis will severely hinder our economic growth, threaten our security, and stretch our limited resources even further.

If we have to point fingers at other countries to ensure our prosperity and security, so be it. It's a small price to pay.

NSG_Blackcats

Yes, India has lots of problems. And one of those problems is illegal immigraton from BD! Unless these illegals are forcibly evicted and the Indo-BD border is sealed off, these Bengalis will severely hinder our economic growth, threaten our security, and stretch our limited resources even further.

If we have to point fingers at other countries to ensure our prosperity and security, so be it. It's a small price to pay.
Illegal migrant is a big problem. But again to get their votes some political parties in India are helping them getting voter ID cards. Also the border fencing work is going on for years now. So here we have to blame ourselves not Bangladesh. If pointing fingers at other solves our problem and it works for you than I have nothing to say.

neo29

Illegal immigrants from BD are in millions. Its difficult to find track them and catch them since most are settled and have managed to get indian documents. Supposing we catch lakhs of them its going to be a headache deporting them since BD may not accept them. All we can do is protect our border. Introduce shoot at sight on BD borders. This move should make illegal immigrants scared. Currently they know that crossing the border will lead to arrest and deportation, nothing more. They can keep trying again.

vishal_lionheart

Plassey to Bangistan dream to Bangladesh to Brohit Bengal​

http://moinansari.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/brihot-bangladesh-bangistan-or-gr-bangladesh.jpg?w=468&h=324

Dhaka Diary: Bangladesh fights India's hegemony designs

lot of water has gone down the Brahmaputra since December 16th 1971 and August 14th 1975. After becoming a country in 1971 Bangladesh reversed course on August 14th 1975 and told the world that it did not want to become a colony of West Bengal, and did not want to be secular (euphemism for Hinduism light). The Bengali patriots who killed the Indian agent Mujib Ur Rehman informed the world that the 100 year struggle that began on October 24th 1906 for the creation of Muslim Bengal was alive. Konkkor Mushtaque and General Zia tore up the 'treaty of friendhip" with India and told Ne Delhi that it did not want to be a Sikkim. Today bangladesh is the major impediment to the hegemony designs of India
India wants hegemony over the region: says BD newspaper
A leading weekly newspaper of Bangladesh "The EkalerKatha" in its latest issue has strongly criticised India for its negative behaviour withneighbouring countries.The newspaper in its editorial said India extremely violates all norms of peaceful coexistence.In its June 17-23 issue, the weekly wrote, "Instead of coexistence withits neighbours with equal status and sovereignty India wants to forcibly realize submissive loyalty from its neigbours."
India shows such attitude, as if, other sovereign countries of South Asian region will have to act on whatever India may dictate them to act and they will formulate their internal and external policies, even defence arrangements, according to India's will and whims."
The weekly says, India desires its neighbouring counties will obey and do whatever and whenever India asks them to do. "It means the expansionists of New Delhi will determine the extent of independence and sovereignty their neighbouring countries will enjoy," it said.
Referring the recent comment of M K Narayanan, the weekly alleged, "India very recently bid to set such an example. India unjustifiably rebuked and scared Sri Lanka when she (Sri Lanka) expressed her desire to collect traditional, but effective, radars and other smaller equipments from Pakistan and China due to inability and failure of India-origin radars to detect air attacks of Tamil rebels."
"Ignoring and reputing Sri Lanka's sovereign and independent status, and violating all limits of shamelessness, M K Narayanan, India's National Security Advisor, on May 13, 2007, thundered out like a so-called superpower declaring, "We are the big power in this region. Let us make it very clear. We strongly believe that whatever requirements the Sri Lankan government has, they should come to us. And we will give them what we think is necessary. We do not favour their going to China or Pakistan or any other country.
"M K Narayanan more nakedly said, we will not give such strong deterrents and arms to Sri Lanka that will ensure superiority of the Sri Lankan Armed forces over the Tamil guerrillas. It means, India wants to continue Sri Lanka's war withthe Tamils so that India can sell arms bothto both the parties."
The weekly asked, "In what power and sense India expresses its intention to impose such disgraceful and shameful precondition on Sri Lanka that she will not be able to collect arms from other sources according to her own requirements and policy."
"India's such audacious threatening is also an awful warning to other sovereign and independent nations of the region. If the adventurous and audacious precondition that India designs to impose on Sri Lankais not responded befittingly with equal tone, India will tomorrow dare to impose such preconditions on other counties of the region as well," the weekly warned.
Referring to the urgency of defence factor among the neighbouring countries of India, the weekly suggested, "To deter India's aggressive attitude, all other countries of the region immediately should form a strong forum with strong military might. It is imperative to develop such strong and effective defence arrangement, so that India does not dare to extend its paw on any country of the region."
Moreover, to make international community aware of the situation, the issue must be raised in the international forums uncovering India's hegemonic designs that may irk unrest and violence, even war in the region, the weekly warned.
"No nation having minimum sense of prestige will tolerate or consume such insulting deliberation. So it is the responsibility of the international community to take initiative to bridle the expansionist paw of India and compel India to shun her aggressive and hegemonic design so that no evil shadow can overcast the region. No country in the region will accept the roar of so-called big power, named India," the weekly opined.
The daily said, the concerned countries of the region have already made it clear that they will not accept such bully in the region. "Sri Lankan government itself officially conveyed the message to India and all concerned that Sri Lanka reserves the freedom to acquire necessary and suitable equipments from wherever this was available, particularly in view of the fact India was unable to meet Sri Lanka's perceived needs.""The spokesman of Pakistan Foreign Ministry said, Pakistan would not accept the hegemonic tendencies from any country in the region and added, the matter primarily for Sri Lanka to decide," the weekly quoted Pakistan's reaction.
The weekly said, India's statement virtually questions India's attitude and policy to its neighbouring countries. "It is hoped good sense will develop in the mindset of Indian leadership. India for her own interest will shun its expansionist mentality and attitude and follow the policy of peaceful coexistence."
"Otherwise India will have to compensate heavy price for its policy," the weekly cautioned and added, "India should keep it in mind, the independent nations of this region will never accept Indian supremacy, i.e., slavery under any circumstances.
http://www.app.com.pk/en/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=11073&Itemid=2"²

Bangladeshis could be brought down to talks and negotiations but I don't think we would be where we are today if there was needling from two sides .. right now PC is doing a good job in negotiating with them and in turn neutralizing ULFA.

Vinod2070

मध्यस्थ
Many of these peopel are just pathetic. Ungrateful wretches!

Well, we did what was right in saving their women from being raped and their men and children from being killed en masse in the bigest genocide after WW-2.

If they still want to be thankless wretches and hostile, it is their choice. They will be the losers for it.

blade

Hate is something like the intention of that evil wold who any how wanted to munch the goat if not for its own misdeed then for something its father had done.Its more about one own psychological structure than any reason or justification.Be it a person or a nation , which has been systematically trained to hate since its birth will always find reasons to justify itself.The creation of Bangladesh possibly one of those rare bold & path breaking achievements of modern & independent India which will continue to help us strategically as well as diplomatically for a long long time to come.

Reasons: 1. Ever since its inception animosity with India had always been a state sponsored philosophy of pakistani leadership whose action had time & again proved itself even much earlier to 1971.
2. A bigger pakistan means a stronger pakistan. More resources.More aspiration, More confidence against India leading to more assertiveness.
3. The nuclearisation of south asia began with chinese aspiration which at some point had to be addressed by India, & pakistan had to following the same path any how.Hence Presence of Bangladesh as pakistan means another dimension to the nuclear threat toward India.
4. presence of bangladesh within pakistan would have severely compromised India's strategic depth which India enjoys currently.A much greater force level & Early warning would have been required.Especially Airforce & navy had to take blow.Greater defense spending would have caused slower development of India.
5. Terrorism would have been prevalent in larger part of India with more severeness.Even chinese involvement would have been more.Pak-mayanmar collaboration would have added new dimension to Anti India terrorism.Over all effect on Indian security would have devastating.
6. 1971 war had a devastating effect on the psyche of pakistani military (more than once they even accepted it).Shock was so awesome that they had to leave the Idea of a direct confrontation with India & pumped up their infra for a proxy war. Though its hard to believe, pakistan indeed convinced many western nations to believe that they can indeed defeat India in a head to head clash & this is where their ego, as well as over self esteem was crushed.This shock , I will say has saved this continent from watching a lot many more flood feud.Pakistani's were made to believe they can really defeat India and the opposite & conclusive out come of 1971 war had permanently sealed any whole heated pakistani offensive until day.We have indeed enjoyed a great deal of peace out of a seperate Bangladesh.

7. With Bangladesh within pakistan, China could have certainly found a much more feasible military post with a devastating effect on the Indian aspiration to control malacca strait.As the supply chains would have been much more secured in a large scale Direct military involvement for china via foreign border would have certainly become much easier.
8. Though never as much it was desired Bangladesh as a state has fared far better than pakistan.Its democracy is not as fragile as that of pakistan.Much less uncertain compared to pak.
9. In the form of a New Bangladesh India got more option to negotiate diplomatically & sensibly. For the same amount of foreign land Currently india has more option to negotiate ( with two seperate gov) thus increasing the scope of maneuverability.It was a weakness of indian diplomacy that had seen bangladesh moving away from indian influence but now things are changing."Akhir pagal bhi khud ka bhala samajhta hai"
10. There were certainly a lot of pro pakistani elements within bangladesh at every level. It began with a false religious unity feeling which later on was added up with a sense of loss as well. "Pakistan, A nuclear nation, Taking big against a much bigger opponent , defeating them in cricket & hochey, testing missiles which never fail and see we People are left out of the party" ---- was a prevalent languish around early 2000.This is something i learnt from my own experience while dealing with a considerable number of bangladeshi's. But With the rising trouble of different nature & dimension has certain put them off. We are doing our diplomacy better than before these days.So Bangladesh as a separate nation will evolve as a more prominent advantage for India than ever before.

peacecracker

Illegal immigrants from BD are in millions. Its difficult to find track them and catch them since most are settled and have managed to get indian documents. Supposing we catch lakhs of them its going to be a headache deporting them since BD may not accept them. All we can do is protect our border. Introduce shoot at sight on BD borders. This move should make illegal immigrants scared. Currently they know that crossing the border will lead to arrest and deportation, nothing more. They can keep trying again.
2/3 rd of their country is infested by water logging.that country will be at risk due to global warming. http://technorati.com/lifestyle/green/article/bangladesh-is-sinking-due-to-global/

Many of these peopel are just pathetic. Ungrateful wretches!

Well, we did what was right in saving their women from being raped and their men and children from being killed en masse in the bigest genocide after WW-2.

If they still want to be thankless wretches and hostile, it is their choice. They will be the losers for it.
Golden Words VinodDa Golden Words! I feel the same, better would have been a prolonged engagement of Failed beggar State pakistan and its Dollar funded mercenary army in East Bengal, eventually after the end of cold war and lack of alms to pakistan the whole of pakistan would have disintegrated but now they have one less problem to take care.

.the newspaper in its editorial said india extremely violates all norms of peaceful coexistence.in its june 17-23 issue, the weekly wrote, "instead of coexistence withits neighbours with equal status and sovereignty india wants to forcibly realize submissive loyalty from its neigbours."
india shows such attitude, as if, other sovereign countries of south asian region will have to act on whatever india may dictate them to act and they will formulate their internal and external policies, even defence arrangements, according to india's will and whims."
the weekly says, india desires its neighbouring counties will obey and do whatever and whenever india asks them to do. "it means the expansionists of new delhi will determine the extent of independence and sovereignty their neighbouring countries will enjoy
poor english two sentence implying same maening

Creating a Bangladesh that rapidly got infiltrated by ISI's Islamist forces into making a large section of today's Banglas forget their reason of existence and make them into Islamist fundamentalists, was the biggest mistake RAW did. Instead of maintaining aggressive presence there and keeping communal balance in the country, RAW gave its governors a free hand and see where it has ended today. We have radical migrants attacking indigneous people here in northeast daily and nothing is reported.

India should have known that Bangladesh emerged as a nation fresh from a jihadi Islamist fundamentalist rule from Pakistan's anti-India regime daily and therefore should have extensively taken steps to mould the mentality of people of Bangladesh than let them mature themselves. ISI is a meddlesome agency and RAW knows this too well. The simple reason why ISI is so effective is because they use cover of religion against India while we're not able to do the same. Another reason is that they get free-hand in operating anti-enemy operations similar to MOSSAD of Israel which operates with lethal precision and dedication that no agency has on this planet. ISI was moulded after MOSSAD.

A small idea about MOSSAD: Having Jews from different countries, races and cultures, they are able to dispatch these agents around the world in troublesome countries easily; like Arab Jews into their Arab enemy countries and get rid of their threats. Same way ISI is able to use the religion cover and since we're racially very similar, they tend to use "Indian Muslim" cover and operate effectively, all while cleansing of non-Muslims in Pakistan systematically so that we're not able to blend in.

RAW needs to get a semi-free hand in managing the national intelligence because if it has to wait for signal everytime from PM then it cannot be as ruthlessly effective as MOSSAD is. Bangladesh is their biggest mistake. Though I would favour an occupation of northern Bangladesh, simply to 'thicken' the width of Siliguri corridor which Mujibur Rehman would have easily agreed to in gratitude, now it is too late.

I believe there are two questions in the topic
1)was the creation of Bangladesh as it stood in 1971 a blunder?
The answer to this is an emphatic and clear no! by creating Bangladesh we hit the proud and arrogant Pakistani military with a roundhouse kick that still has them reeling, we saved a people from genocide and protected our strategic interests while doing it.
2)Was the creation of Bangladesh as it stands today a mistake?
Absolutely!however the blame for this must lie with our myopic foreign and external affairs ministry that had not planned on how to deal with an independent Bangladesh. i.e our army was ready to free Bangladesh and did so in 1971, however our politicos has no bloomin idea on how to handle an infant nation and groom it into an able and willing client state(or at least friendly state). We let our clout with Bangladesh want then watched from the sidelines as Mujib's assassins went bout eroding our presence in Dacca, we let the man who was our greatest friend in Bangladesh die and his family be exiled.we watched mute from the sidelines as saudi money flew into Bangladesh to fund islamist ideology and did nothing to counter it by funding maybe moderate madarasas(secular schools with Islam as part of the curriculum) of our own!What Bangladesh needed was an Indian Marshall plan to get it out of the morass where decades of neglect from Islamabad had dragged it , we let others pull it out while we watched blankly!The Bangladesh military has its origins in the Mukti Bahini forces that were trained and equipped by us the leaders of the mukti bahini went on to become the chiefs of staff of the fledgling Bangladeshi military, we allowed that initial bonhomie and brotherhood to die by ignoring them when they wanted help , we pushed them into Chinese hands and Islamist hands. Lord Curzon once looked out over the Indian ocean from a position of Indian Supremacy,we have lost that vision and we have only ourselves and our inwards looking political class to blame!