US state department shows PoK as part of Pakistan

India's map in the official website of US state department completely ignores India's claim over PoK by not even acknowledging its disputed status.

US state department shows PoK as part of Pakistan - The Times of India

As usual we keep cribbing about maps but never do anything serious to reclaim those parts. We have never put pressure on Pak to talk about those areas. Talks have always been on what to do about the Kashmir we hold. India has to start raking up GB and Pak held valley every time.

We have never put pressure on Pak to talk about those areas. Talks have always been on what to do about the Kashmir we hold. India has to start raking up GB and Pak held valley every time.
You wish.

I'm looking forward to the day when we will be talking about Balochistan..not the disputed nature of it..but about our interference there..ala Sharm-El-shaikh.

I dont know what to say about our diplomacy. We are good elsewhere but when it comes to Pakistan we inevitably screw up.

You wish.

I'm looking forward to the day when we will be talking about Balochistan..not the disputed nature of it..but about our interference there..ala Sharm-El-shaikh.

I dont know what to say about our diplomacy. We are good elsewhere but when it comes to Pakistan we inevitably screw up.
we are not aggressive in diplomacy against Pakistan since Nehru made a fool out of himself in the UN. Pakistan has many supporters who have forgiven nuclear proliferation do you think they care about a stupid map?

Until and unless, There won't be strong nationalist leader @ centre backed with strong defence, Nothing will happen. What U.S. is doing is nothing wrong. It's not about our claim but currently Pakistan is ruling. U.S. don't see legal or Illegal but as per government and administration of any particular territory. Why complaining about a printed map when we will not take action and reclaim our land?? Jab apna sikka hi khota hai to doosre ko kya kehna ?? :frusty:

Poseidon

I think we should be realistic US,EU are neutral to Kashmir dispute so they have to show full neutrality in this case.
Taiwan is shown as independent despite China claiming it.
Lets be practical. If some region of Kashmir which has been in control of Pakistan for several decades and India has not been able to take it back means, India has no stake in it. If India really feels that the so called POK is a part of India, then get it back by any means and then you can claim ita s part of India. If today India says that since once entire Pakistan was a part of India does not mean the map will start showing so. Lets be real and face it that might is right. Indian political system does not have guts to fight for the nations self respect.
For eg:
Google USA shows AP as disputed.
Google India shows AP as part of China.
Google China when it was there showed AP as China's.

Until and unless, There won't be strong nationalist leader @ centre backed with strong defence, Nothing will happen. What U.S. is doing is nothing wrong. It's not about our claim but currently Pakistan is ruling. U.S. don't see legal or Illegal but as per government and administration of any particular territory. Why complaining about a printed map when we will not take action and reclaim our land?? Jab apna sikka hi khota hai to doosre ko kya kehna ?? :frusty:
You are right. Even our government has stopped asking for PoK. They always talk about "LoC as international border" to settle the dispute. It is a different matter that the Pakis are not satisfied even with that, but when GoI has settled for quid pro quo, how can we expect the US and others to openly endorse PoK as part of India???

The US shows Arunachal Pradesh as part of India, and that is because that territory is administered by India. They are following the same policy for PoK, so one can hardly blame them. At least they are consistent.

Foreign Secretary Ranjan Mathai says US showing PoK as part of Pak, being discussed in MEA, and will be taken up with US.
These armchairs will only register complain but won't take any serious step to reclaim our land. :rolleyes:

India's map in the official website of US state department completely ignores India's claim over PoK by not even acknowledging its disputed status.

US state department shows PoK as part of Pakistan - The Times of India

As usual we keep cribbing about maps but never do anything serious to reclaim those parts. We have never put pressure on Pak to talk about those areas. Talks have always been on what to do about the Kashmir we hold. India has to start raking up GB and Pak held valley every time.

Not only US state deppt. But all western govt thinks and shows POK as part of Pakistan on there maps and govt papers

amitkriit

Don't expect others to fight our war. USA is not pro-India, SA is just looking after it's interests.
It's in interest of USA to get the Kashmir issue settled in favor of Pakistan to make it's allies in Arab and Pakistan happy.

Well they know how India and Pakistan are going to settle this issue.

What has the US to say of this?

when I was on an international flight (Air India,last time i ever flown it) They showed what they called a "non-political" map of India and they had POK shown the same way.

What has the US to say of this?
It might be useful to compare US DoS maps with CIA maps.

Also there is this page on the subject:

India Map Controversy

Wiki has a series of area maps with dates.

File:Kashmir map.jpg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

As to what the US has to say, maybe a reporter can ask the question at the next White House press briefing, in the context of the Presidents Asia trip and consultations. I do not know it any Indian news organization is represented in the WH news corps.

I think India is represented in the WH Briefing.

However, it all depends if he/she is allowed to ask the question!

Poseidon

22 November 2011 Last updated at 07:12 GMT

US state department removes India-Pakistan maps

The US state department says it has removed what it called "inaccurate" maps of India and Pakistan from its website.

The maps failed to show the divided territory of Kashmir as a disputed region, Indian media reports say.

India and Pakistan have fought two wars over Kashmir and both countries claim the region in its entirety.

Most maps depict Kashmir as a disputed region provisionally split into areas under Indian and Pakistani control.

"We have taken the map [of India] off the website. It did contain some inaccuracies which were associated with the boundaries of some geographic features," state department spokesperson Victoria Nuland told reporters on Monday.

"We will put up the new map when we acquire one that we are confident is accurate," she said.
Highly sensitive

The move comes after Delhi reportedly raised objections with the US that the India map ignored India's claim on Kashmir while the corresponding map of Pakistan showed Pakistani-controlled Kashmir as part of Pakistan without acknowledging its disputed status, according to Indian media reports.

The disputed border between India and China in the Aksai Chin region in the north, however, did reportedly acknowledge an Indian claim.

"The government has consistently rejected incorrect depiction of India's borders on maps used by the US government," the Indian ministry of external affairs said.

Earlier in November, China's ambassador to India became involved in a heated exchange with an Indian journalist at a business function over a map that showed parts of India within China's border.

The map showed the state of Arunachal Pradesh and Ladakh in China and a disputed part of Kashmir as Pakistani territory.

Correspondents say the depiction of the disputed borders between India, Pakistan and China are highly sensitive and potentially incendiary issues in the region.