US & Pakistan: The Growing Tensions

Mr Mullen ,we had enough of words. Time for some joint action,:usa::india::israel:

asianobserve

Pakistan needs calibrated and well thought of response. Too much pressure might send that country to collapse. Note that it has a ridiculously high number of nuclear warheads in its inventory that could fall into the hands of jihadists in case of Pakistan's collapse. In that case it'll not be too far fetched to assume that at least one of these bombs will end up in Mumbai (which is proving to be a soft target for terrorist operations).

How close is Pak now to be declared a terrorist state?

Day by day more and more evidence of pak role in sponsoring terror is coming up. How close is Pak now to be declared a sponsor of terror. There is more evidence about Pakistan than anyone could provide to prove Syria and Iran as terror states.

The ISI specifically directed the Haqqani network to carry out the September 13 attack on the US embassy and the Nato headquarters in Kabul, US officials said.

http://toi.in/nOCEMb

Will not happen until

- Pakistan is of no use to anyone anymore, especially US

- Their nukes are defanged.

How come? I'm rather glad they are not with the Taliban.
Defanged as is made duds or destroyed so that Pakis cannot use them for blackmail. Much of their current posturing comes from Chinese/North Korean supplied nuclear arsenal. Take it away and you'd cut there belligerence off at the knees. Maybe many ways of doing that- B-52 bombing of their nuclear sites, internal sabotage like it was done to Saddam, to Syria.

I did not get your second point though. What do defanged Paki nukes have to do with Taliban?

The risk of mushroom cloud over mumbai is equal even if nukes are in GOP's hands.

Pakistan had 10+yrs to get itself together. Too much pressure now? Let me say this, pakistan is more responsible than rest of the world in allowing to build up this much pressure.

You don't hold any sympathy if you can't look beyond ramifications of your action. And what's left for Pakistan's collapse? Its already smashed beyond repair.

---

Mullen is furious & I can only see orchestra unifying for the climax.

Parthy

Air Warrior
'You will lose an ally' if accusations continue, Pakistan warns US

Game Starts now :whistle:

Pakistan's foreign minister said on Thursday that the United States risks losing an ally if it continues to publicly criticise Islamabad's performance in the war against militancy.

"You will lose an ally," Hina Rabbani Khar told Geo TV in New York. "You cannot afford to alienate Pakistan, you cannot afford to alienate the Pakistani people. If you are choosing to do so and if they are choosing to do so it will be at their (the United States') own cost."

Khar was responding to a Senate testimony by the outgoing chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Admiral Mike Mullen, who said Pakistan's top spy agency was closely tied to the Haqqani Network, the most violent and effective faction in the Afghan Taliban insurgency.

'You will lose an ally' if accusations continue, Pakistan warns US - The Times of India

great............self destruction count down started........................................

Blackmail continues. We will support terror but we will also fight it. We will attack your bases and troops, but you should not prove our duplicity publicly. Kya baat hai.

When were they allies in the true sense anyway?

Actually, if the US loses an ally in Pakistan, it will be able to operate more freely and ensure that the Taliban area is kept on the hop.

Brave words of a beautiful woman, but then she is new to diplomacy.

She does forget that the US is Sugar Daddy to Poor Orphan Annie.

No money, no arms and the country keels over and it will be for real.

Currently, Pakistan keels over and plays dead, only when Master US tells them to do so for the guests!!

Hahaha since when beggars become an ally.

Mr minister ,your new papa (china) don't give cash, keep in mind. how will you make property abroad ???? how will you wear Armani suits and omega watches??:whistle::whistle::whistle:

Above all ,,your new papa( china) can't give you American citizenship to you and to your family. So, ask your family members do they want Chinese citizenship????

No. US will not loose ally, it'll loose another rabid dog :laugh:

I don't think US will boldly abandon Pak unless it establishes sustainable military/political support in asia.

How the Haqqani network is expanding from Waziristan

The recent spate of spectacular attacks in Kabul reveals as much about the struggle for supremacy within the Af-Pak insurgencyitself as it does about the war between the insurgents and NATO. In the span of a single week, Afghans witnessed, first, the closing down of the center of the capital during a 20-hour siege on the U.S. Embassy, and then, exactly a week later, this past Tuesday, a political assassination: a suicide bomber packed his turban full of explosives and killed the chief of the High Peace Council, Burhanuddin Rabbani, a former president of Afghanistan.
Taliban spokesmen claimed responsibility for the Rabbani killing on Tuesday, but the group firmly denied any involvement on Wednesday. Investigations into Rabbani's death now need to establish exactly who tasked the suicide bomber; if the Quetta-based Afghan Taliban in fact assassinated one of the group's main interlocutors, the movement cannot seriously expect to move forward as a key player in a political process. Another possible scenario exists: one in which regional spoilers who want to sustain the armed struggle are acting on their own. If the operation was run from the Pakistani tribal area of Waziristan, as some are now suggesting, the Rabbani assassination may be an operation on which the Quetta-based Taliban leadership simply was not briefed.
Think back to the attack on the embassy in Kabul. Immediately following the siege, nearly everyone pointed at the so-called Haqqani network, since the tactics used mirrored those of their previous exploits, such as the June attack on the Hotel Intercontinental and the August assault on the British Council. Yesterday, even the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Admiral Mike Mullen said that the Pakistani intelligence services, or the ISI, were involved. But blaming the Haqqani network is like using a kind of militancy shorthand, as the much-used moniker fails to capture the complex nature of the politico-military organization that is expanding its scope, network, and political aspirations from a base in North Waziristan.

How the Haqqani Network is Expanding From Waziristan | Foreign Affairs

debasree

i am not sure,there are many pak loving guys in pentagon and senate,basically they are the old guys of cold war era

The US should start back channel negotiations with Iran. Maybe with the help of an intermediary. The Chabhar port should be developed, and a good supply chain from Chabhar to the Western borders of Afghanistan should be established. Then the US will no longer be subject to the whims and tantrums of Pakistan.

Pakistan didn't order attack on US embassy. Its just few rouge officers of ISI doing these things. A probe is being ordered to suspend them. Pak is committed toward regional stability & global peace. Pakistan is not a terrorist state, its the victim.