Ukraine sends first batch of air-to-air missiles to India

Ukraine sends first batch of air-to-air missiles to India | idrw.org

SOURCE: Interfax-Ukraine

The state-run joint stock holding Artem (Kyiv) has sent the first batch of R-27 medium-range air-to-air missiles produced for the Indian Air Force to the customer, the Ukroboronprom concern has reported, with reference to its director general, Serhiy Hromov.

"The first batch of missiles has been shipped to the customer, and the next batch is being prepared for delivery," Hromov said, noting that the execution of the Indian contract will allow the full utilization of the enterprise's capacity until the end of 2013.

He expressed the confidence that the Ukrainian-produced high-precision aircraft weapons will continue to be in demand in the regional markets for conventional weapons.

"We're not limiting ourselves to the Indian contract. Our representatives are actively working with traditional customers from Southeast Asia, North Africa and other regions," the state enterprise director said.

Hromov also said that the state should grant the Artem holding tax benefits provided by the law of Ukraine on the state aircraft industry, which will allow the company to increase its working assets, as well as to use credit resources more efficiently, he said.

Artem signed a contract with the Defense Ministry of India for the supply of R-27 missiles to the Indian Air Force in March 2012. The contract, worth $250 million, is to run from 2012 to 2013.

Artem holding company was created in September 1996 on the basis of the Artem Kyiv Production Amalgamation, and is one of the leading aviation companies in Ukraine.

this is surprising - we had a statement sometime recently from a high level ( was it dr saraswat ? ) that we ( india ) have the best missile scientists and engineers ( in the world ) ( we had quite a debate about that on this forum ) and here we are not just buying a few ( to compare technology and learn, .......well alright we have to buy more than a few but this is a quarter of a billion dollars worth ) ....so why are we buying large-budget style ?

anyone ( from india ) have some notion why ?

Reactions: sob

I guess interim solution till Astra is inducted.

this is surprising - we had a statement sometime recently from a high level ( was it dr saraswat ? ) that we ( india ) have the best missile scientists and engineers ( in the world ) ( we had quite a debate about that on this forum ) and here we are not just buying a few ( to compare technology and learn, .......well alright we have to buy more than a few but this is a quarter of a billion dollars worth ) ....so why are we buying large-budget style ?

anyone ( from india ) have some notion why ?

Payeng

Daku Mongol Singh
@roma their is some reason I live with such a creepy signature :truestory:

We have the R 77 so now why R 27? Both are BVR

WMD

We also have R-27(ER and ET version). These missiles are much cheaper compared to R-77 or any Euro BVRAAMs and AIM-120. We are buying 500 RVV-AE missiles from Russia(we already have more than 1000) with the cost being upward of USD 450 million. These R-27 missiles from Ukraine is a part of USD 246 million deal for 500 missiles.

Missiles comes with a expire date, R-77 first batches were faulty the few next were seem ok except few duds..

The remaining R-77 are too old to be used as they can malfunction and can be a serious thread for aircraft and pilot..

Also Russian no longer export R-77 as they are working on a new one which will be available with induction of FGFA..

So, the new batches of R-27 from Ukraine.

Akim

Currently, "Luch", together with "Artem",on the basis of the R-27M is developing a medium-range SAM systems, to replace S-300PS. Continuation of work, became possible, on money received from the "Indian contract."

Dinesh_Kumar

Roma ji, AFAIK, we good in long range ballistic missiles, which are "strategic" in nature, and not available to us from any source due to technology denial policies.

Tactical missiles have been traditionally available to us from Russia, UK, France and now Israel.

Under "Tactical", we get SAMs, Anti-Tank, Anti-Ship, Point Defence, Cruise, etc.

Tactical is where most of our requirements are, and hence more money and numbers for this category.

For example, we have few Agni missiles, but need 1000s of R-77 Air-to-Air missiles for Operational , training and attrition requirements - (used on Mig-21, 29, Su-30 and reportedly capable on Mirage-2000.)

As no bottlenecks in the past to obtain such systems, development in these areas have traditionally been limited to supplanting existing systems (Akash to replace SA-6, NAG as a 3rd Generation Missile, etc.).

I see your point, as most of requirements in this category, as well as most of the expenditure, we need more desi systems here.

this is surprising -

The Last Stand

Ukraine is trying to pull itself together by selling updated Soviet tech to anyone who wants it.

Interesting, but all the better for us.

It would be great if they involve in our tank projects specially helping making heavy ERA and Armour modules so does tank guns ..

Ukraine is trying to pull itself together by selling updated Soviet tech to anyone who wants it.

Interesting, but all the better for us.

R-27 is faster and has more range. It has greater combat potential when you have the range advantage in detecting the enemy.

R-77 is much more maneuverable while having lower speed and range. 12G target capability vs 8G for R-27.

R-77 SD catches up with the R-27 in range terms, but it still has a smaller motor.

Both are excellent considering they complement each other. R-27 has IR and Semi-active seekers while R-77 has an active seeker.

We currently have not heard about any deals with Russia for R-77s, but the deals have been quite consistent. Our past orders are for 2000 R-77s which are supposedly being delivered even today while new orders are for 500(Mig-29 upgrade) + 100 (I forgot for which aircraft) + 40(Navy Mig-29Ks). Not reported in the media.

Which versions did we order I hope more R-27ER/ET versions, should give an advantage when deployed from MKI or Mig-29s against the F-16s.

Agnostic_Indian

we should have ordered RVV SD,the RVV AE we have is too short ranged, 80km for bomber sized target, 50km for fighter sized target, we are at disadvantage against Aim120c5.

Agnostic_Indian

R-27 is faster and has more range. It has greater combat potential when you have the range advantage in detecting the enemy.

R-77 is much more maneuverable while having lower speed and range. 12G target capability vs 8G for R-27.

R-77 SD catches up with the R-27 in range terms, but it still has a smaller motor.

Both are excellent considering they complement each other. R-27 has IR and Semi-active seekers while R-77 has an active seeker.

We currently have not heard about any deals with Russia for R-77s, but the deals have been quite consistent. Our past orders are for 2000 R-77s which are supposedly being delivered even today while new orders are for 500(Mig-29 upgrade) + 100 (I forgot for which aircraft) + 40(Navy Mig-29Ks). Not reported in the media.
There is another version R 27 AE, isn't that also part of the deal ?
@Decklander