The Greatest Kings in Indian History

Who is the Greatest King in Indian History?

• Chandragupta Maurya

Votes: 115 33.7%
  • Ashoka

Votes: 45 13.2%
  • Raja Chola

Votes: 34 10.0%
  • Akbar

Votes: 16 4.7%
  • Sri Krishna Devaraya

Votes: 18 5.3%
  • Chatrapati Shivaji

Votes: 58 17.0%
  • Tipu Sultan

Votes: 9 2.6%
  • Ranjith Singh

Votes: 10 2.9%
  • Samudra Gupta

Votes: 11 3.2%
  • Chandragupta Vikramaditya

Votes: 20 5.9%
  • Harsha

Votes: 1 0.3%
  • Kanishka

Votes: 4 1.2%

Ashoka himself an imperialistic,he ruled Afg to Burma and even spread Buddhism as a religion to connect far away people&lands..... ... After 300 years Xianity ..... After 700 years islam did the same thing.Buddhism immensely effected entire CONTINENT of Asia In/directly or 60% world population IS just a MAGIC.

2.You misunderstood Ashoka ideals he professed non violence & vegetarianism not IMPOSED. He didn't punished/killed if you ate non-veg food, as far as non-violence to maintain 'Rule of law' or 'Dharma' it is mandatory.

Ex: Our present king Modi is also Vegetarian, advises people to eat veg&non-violence methods ...... how many takers? a few but as a King his duty is profess........ follow or not that is your wish.
You are making a wrong analogy,Modi is not a warrior may be a leader but definitely not our king.

So it doesn't matter if he is veg or non veg there are certain things which are prescribed for warriors like territorial expansion, training uphold the Dharma.

Ashoka renounced everything i mentioned above resulted in Mauryan downfall with in years after his death.

Warrior culture ended in Middle ages.Many kings in middle ages are also not warriors .....Anyway the saga was Hitler,Britain/Jap/US empires their kings and queens are also not WARRIORS. :rofl:

Stop seeing everything in narrow view.Ashoka was/is/will be ONE of the Greatest King all the time not only India but also World's.The first EXPORTER of Soft Power(Buddhism),united huge continent,Given values&direction to the people.
Again making a mistake with Kshatriya varna with Warriors.Learn the difference.

Also,the dynasty which replaced Mauryans were shungas and Satvahanas both weren't Kshatriya but Brahmins but excellent warriors.

Similarly Nandas before Mauryans were shudras.

Lastly soft power don't give you anything,it never was what matters is fist and boots.

Dark Soul

Chandragupta Maurya Of Course, he single handily Created Waste Mauryan Empire, Killed Large no of Greeks and married to one Greek Princess :D

Dark Soul

exactly every time I here that from Indians living in India I just give myself the facepalm and think "................................kya kare ho?"
These idiot's will destroy India one day. mark my words sir.

look at our country.

1) half of Indians are living in extreme poverty still our Government is Throwing billions of dollars as Aid to ther Countries. :facepalm::facepalm::facepalm:

2) Million of Indians can't get Admission in one of the Best Indian universities/colleges but Foginesrs and easily join them they even get fucking Discounts !:mad2:

we need Chinese style Revolution so these dumb ass People will learn and be Realistic, and proud of our/their Heritage. other wise we will Import large no of Foreigners to Promote Multiculturalism and Diversity like Europe. :frusty:

Edit :

@VaghaDeva just noticed that newest member of this forum is "Peace for Humanity":hail:

Warrior culture ended in Middle ages.Many kings in middle ages are also not warriors .....Anyway the saga was Hitler,Britain/Jap/US empires their kings and queens are also not WARRIORS. :rofl:

Stop seeing everything in narrow view.Ashoka was/is/will be ONE of the Greatest King all the time not only India but also World's.The first EXPORTER of Soft Power(Buddhism),united huge continent,Given values&direction to the people.
That is not Buddhism, it is basically Dharma !

Buddhism, Hindusim etc..etc.. are the classification given by the people who do not understand the very essence of this topic.

VaghaDeva

sum gai
Ushio>Daddy why can't we have Hindu Rashtra?

Tomoya> Because Samrajya is dead and we are ruled by leftist republicans who deny the divine right of kings but at the same time jack off to mauryan symbols because apparently older ashoka is "progressive" and "tolerant" to the point where he gave his blind son the throne and destroyed our fighting spirit and our empire with his hippy ahimsa bakwas which we NEVER EVER recovered from completely.

>later that day

What is your problem? you are talking like a Porki muslim they always boasts meat eating Muslims defeats grass eating Hindu Army (Many Jats/Sikh are Veg,even our intake of non-veg is very low vs Pakis) but finally ended up as sore losers. :p

Even many of our Olympic medalists are Vegetarians.Don't forget UK ruled 200yrs because many Indians accepted their rule now US is ruling world because many countries accepted their rule that is due to only reason 'SOFT POWER'.You don't know the power of Soft power even democracy is also come in soft power but democracy is equally violent.
Dude cut the crap !

Reread my posts slowly and make sense out of it which has nothing to do with food habits.

k murali

Chandragupta Maurya Of Course, he single handily Created Waste Mauryan Empire, Killed Large no of Greeks and married to one Greek Princess :D
Guptas never set foot in Tamil Nadu. According to the History of Cherans, they were turned back at the borders.

Panjab47

सर्वाग्रेक्षत्रियाजट्टादेवकल्पादृढ़व्रता|੧੫|
@k murali you really take pride in being an idiot don't you?

@saty Guru Gobind Singh Ji on forming the Khalsa ordered the Singhs to go hunt & eat meat. Those who did not want to fight, were told to avoid it.

Sikhs call meat mahaprashad & many consume it everyday. Sikhs especially Nihangs used to hunt boar & force maulvis to carry it around.

Fuck ashoka it's true dasi putra will show his aukaat by murdering his brothers & uprooting this land.

Fact is, ashok did force veganism & tell warriors to not fight. Go see thread on this very forum, ashoka the not so great. He also oppressed Brighus hence Sunga rebellion.

@rockey 71 you dirty melech, the name of this place is Bharat. You will remember this name, when his sons are putting your mecca medina jerusalem rome london to the sword.

Panjab47

सर्वाग्रेक्षत्रियाजट्टादेवकल्पादृढ़व्रता|੧੫|
@saty yes saty under Chandragupt Ji's time we were stealing Iran & making greece our sex slave.

150 yrs after ashok u have random 'yuezhi' basically half turk half greeks raiding PatialiPutra & taking over land past Sindh.

It's even in Buddhist history:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tianzhu_(India)

After Ashoka, we basically went through 8 centuries of invasions with only Guptas in between; then after that, you have islam.

Dogras used to demand Royal Musalman women for their Harem whenever they defeated Musalman chiefs of Kashmir and Punjab.

Ranbir_Singh_Maharaja_of_Jammu_and_Kashmir.jpg

Few facts about Dogra rule in Jammu and Kashmir

1792 = Birth of Maharaja Gulab Singh

1808 = Maharaja Gulab Singh defended Jammu against Sikh.

1809 = Maharaja Gulab Singh enlisted in Ranjit Singh's army.

1812 = Raja Dhian Singh joins Sikh army.

1816 = Maharaja Gulab Singh conquer Multan for Sikh empire.

1816 = Maharaja Gulab Singh conquer Reasi.

1821 = Maharaja Gulab Singh conquered Rajouri from Aghar Khan.

1821 = Maharaja Gulab Singh conquered Kishtwar from Raja Tegh Muhammad Singh.

1821 = Maharaja Gulab Singh took part in the Sikh conquest of Dera Ghazi Khan.

1821 = Maharaja Gulab Singh captured and executed his own clansman, Dido Jamwal,

1821 = Maharaja Gulab Singh ousted Bhupendra Dev from Ramnagar

1821 = Maharaaja Gulab Singh conquered Kishtwar Raja Mohd Teg Singh surrendered without any resistance

1822 = Maharaja Gulab Singh was confirmed as Raja of Jammu by Maharaja Ranjit Singh.

1822 = Maharaja Gulab Singh was sent on an expedition against Azam Khan of Tihri on the frontier.

1822 = Raja Suchet Singh appointed as Raja of Samba.

1824 = Maharaja Gulab Singh captured the fort of Samartah.

1827 = Maharaja Gulab Singh defeated a horde of Afghan rebels led by the fanatic Sayyid Ahmed.

1827 = Raja Dhian Singh titled the raja of chibbal and bimbher.

1829 = Maharaja Gulab Ranbir Singh, born at Ramgarh

1831-39 = Maharaja Gulab Singh got the jagir of the salt mines in northern Punjab, and Punjabi towns Bhera, Jhelum, Rohtas, and Gujrat.

1833 = Maharaja Gulab Singh designated Zorawar Singh as Titular Raja of Bhadarwah and was termed as Chhota Raja.

1834 = Dogra army invaded Ladakh under Zorawar Singh

1841 = Zorawar Singh advanced up the Indus and conquered Rudok and Garo

1841 = Zorawar Singh with 5000 Dogras and Laddakhi with a pledge not to return to Leh till had conquered Lhasa.

1841 = At a height of about sixteen thousand feet above sea level proved disastrous for Zorawar Singh who died fighting.

1841 = Both Dhian Singh, the ablest leader and Prime Minister of the Lahore Kingdom, and Suchet Singh c-o- c of Sikh army were brutally murdered.

1842) by Diwan Hari Chand and Wazir Ratnu on behalf of Gulab Singh and Kalon Surkhan and Depon Pishy on behalf of Dalai Lama. By this treaty, the traditional boundary between Ladakh and Tibet 'as recognized by both sides since olden times,' was accepted as boundary between Jammu and Tibet. The village and area around Minsar near Mansarover lake which was held by the Rajas of Ladakh since 1583 was, however, retained by the Jammu government.

1842 = Astore was occupied by Nathu Shah and Gaur Rahman was defeated. Though recalled for a short time, during which Gaur Rahman inflicted a defeat on the sikhs, Nathu Shah was sent back again, and successfully pacified the border, taking in marriage the daughters of Gaur Rahman, and of the Mirs of Hunza and Nagar Karim Khan,

1846 = Maharaja Gulab Singh was given full powers to negotiate on behalf of the Lahore Darbar

1846 = 16 march 1846 Kashmir valley was annexed in Dogra riyasat after paying Rs. 75 lacs,

1852 = A powerful force under Dewan Hari Chand, Colonel Buji Singh, Colonel Jowahir,and Dewan Thakurdas was despatched in the spring of 1852. As soon as the winter was over Chilas was surrounded and besieged. 1856, Maharaja Gulab Singh formally installed Ranbir Singh on the gadi and himself accepted the position of Governor of Kashmir Territories,

1858 = Died at the age of 66 Maharaja Gulab Singh was one of the most Remarkable men that India produced in the 19th century. There had been others in the eighteenth century, such as Haidar-Ali and Maha- raja Scindia, who, beginning their life in obscurity, founded kingdoms and dynasties. But his is the only case in nineteenth-century India where a man beginning as a petty official in a Court conquered kingdoms and territories and established himself as a Sovereign. In a century barren of historical achievement in India Gulab Singh stands out as a solitary figure of political eminence.

1860 = Gilgit was finally added in Dogra kingdom.

1870 = Ponial, Yasin, Darel, Hunza and Nagar by the maharaja Ranbir Singh

1876 = Chitral also accepted his sovereignty of Dogra kingdom.

1877 = An agreement was reached with Maharaja Ranbir Singh for the establishment of a Political Agency at Gilgit.

1880 = Maharaja Ranbir Singh took up the construction of a cart road from Srinagar to Rawalpindi (Pakistan).

1885 = Maharaja Ranbir Singh passed away.

1895 = Raj Rajeshwar Maharaja Adhiraj Maharaja Hari Singh Bahadur, Inder Mahinder, Separ-Saltanati Inglishia, G.C.S. I, G.C.I.E, K.C.V.0, was born

1889 = when the Jhelum Valley Card Road, "the most wonderful mountain road in the world", from Kohala to Baramulla was completed. It was extended to Srinagar In 1897.

1905 = Sri Pratap College established at Srinagar

1907 = Prince of Wales College, established at Jammu

1922 = Another great highway, the Banihal Cart Road, which connected Srinagar, the summer capital, with Jammu and the winter capital of the state was thrown open to the public.

1929 = marriage of boys and girls under 18 and 14 years respectively was forbidden.

1930 = A nationalist at heart, the Maharaja went to attend the First Round Table Conference at London in, and addressed it in the following words:

"As the Allies of Britain, we stand solidly by the British connection. As Indians and loyal to the land of our birth, we stand as solidly as the rest of our countrymen for our India's enjoyment of a position of honour and equality in the British Common- wealth".

1932 = Muslim conference formed under President Ship of Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah.

1934 = Maharaja Hari Singh sanctioned the creation of a Legislative Assembly called the Jammu and Kashmir Praja Sabha

1939 = Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah broke away from the Muslim Conference and established a new party, the National Conference.

1937 = The Department of Rural Development was established.

1943 = Maharaja Gulab Singh Hospital opened at Jammu.

1938 = The Jammu and Kashmir Bank was established and it took over the government treasury both at Srinagar and Jammu.

1939 = Hari Singh appointed Yuvraj Karan Singh, who at that time was hardly seven years old, as 2nd Lieutenant in the State Forces.

1940 = Jawaharlal Nehru's visit to Kashmir.

1941 = Maharaja Hari Singh helped the British during the Second World War with men and money. He also personally visited the Middle East to boost the morale of his men fighting on the front.

1944 = Maharaja Hari Singh again went abroad, and met a section of his troops in Persia.

1944 = Mohammad Ali Jinnah also visited Kashmir. Jinnah had been in Srinagar for about six weeks during which he made the futile bid to sell the two-nation theory to Sheikh Abdullah.

1949 = Dr. Karan Singh was appointed Regent by his father on the intervention of Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. Thereafter he was head of the Indian State of Jammu & Kashmir for the next eighteen years as Regent, as elected Sadar-i-Riyasatand lastly as Governor.

For me Hinduism(as a culture) is Hindu+Buddhsim. FYI Ashoka sent Buddhist MONKS all around the Asia not Hindu pundits.

Yes Hinduism(Hindu kings) turned little pacifists after Ashoka,Buddhism was included in Hinduism, that is what we are,our 2000 years Civilization&History.

Re Buddhist monks. :)
In those days it is referred as Dharma, even Hindus also referred what they followed as Dharma. the classification is a recent one.

Yes the practices and beliefs differ and they are different from Brahmanism.

Dark Soul

Dude cut the crap !

Reread my posts slowly and make sense out of it which has nothing to do with food habits.
it's all about your heritage.

Ancient Indo Aryans used to eat meat so they were Tall and well built but to defeat Buddhist influence, we stopped eating Meat and now we are nothing more than 5.5' clath hanger.

Dark Soul

@k murali you really take pride in being an idiot don't you?

@saty Guru Gobind Singh Ji on forming the Khalsa ordered the Singhs to go hunt & eat meat. Those who did not want to fight, were told to avoid it.

Sikhs call meat mahaprashad & many consume it everyday. Sikhs especially Nihangs used to hunt boar & force maulvis to carry it around.

Fuck ashoka it's true dasi putra will show his aukaat by murdering his brothers & uprooting this land.

Fact is, ashok did force veganism & tell warriors to not fight. Go see thread on this very forum, ashoka the not so great. He also oppressed Brighus hence Sunga rebellion.

@rockey 71 you dirty melech, the name of this place is Bharat. You will remember this name, when his sons are putting your mecca medina jerusalem rome london to the sword.
in Ancient times Indians used to eat meat, thats why we were Tall and Jacked, don't believe in this Hindu Propaganda, we lost half to our Country thanks to this Idiots and we will loose more if there Idiots keep spreading their peaceful bla bla lies.

Dark Soul

@saty yes saty under Chandragupt Ji's time we were stealing Iran & making greece our sex slave.

150 yrs after ashok u have random 'yuezhi' basically half turk half greeks raiding PatialiPutra & taking over land past Sindh.

It's even in Buddhist history:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tianzhu_(India)

After Ashoka, we basically went through 8 centuries of invasions with only Guptas in between; then after that, you have islam.
We are discussing here Ashoka's Non-violence,Vegetarianism, Feminism and that leads to Ground fall of great Hindu rule (or)made Hindus weak..... as per your theory

My mind is still stuck on above.
not Rulers but later Dharmic Faiths. ancient Vedic Religion (just like Sikhism) was a Martial Religion. that's why just bunch of Brahmins/Kshatriya and Veshyas conquered Dying civilization and whole North South Asia in less than 500 years.

India in Ancient Times.

Ancient Indian People

modern Veggie Eater Indians (also who believes in nonviolence, who are peaceful and who cries after listening Petrotic songs ):lol:

VaghaDeva

sum gai
To this day I have only seen two gujjus who are taller than me and only one of them eats meat